Bose Ride suspension seat concept debuts at CES

Bose, a company better known for its audio systems, has unveiled the perfect seat concept for autonomous vehicles of the future at the ongoing Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas.

Called the Bose Ride suspension seat, the company claims that it is capable of isolating passengers from road vibrations, shaking and unwanted motion via the company’s patented personal suspension technology.

Why the need for such a fancy chair? Well, if you were going to spend most of your time being chauffeured in a self-driving car anyway, you may as well have it feel like your living room or office, right?

Bose’s creation would certainly help to make tasks like listening to music, catching up on the latest Premier League action or watching a movie, a more pleasant and comfortable experience.

“No one can predict exactly what vehicles will look like or how they’ll operate in the decades ahead, but our personal suspension technology is already proven, and it can dramatically enhance the passenger experience regardless of how transportation evolves,” said Marc Mansell, vice president of Bose Automotive Systems.

Of course, this invention wasn’t dreamt up overnight, as the company has been looking into the technology since the 1980s with Project Sound, a research project launched by Amar Bose to improve automotive suspension systems.

The result of the research was the Bose Ride system, which uses a single-axis motion control for heavy-duty trucking, introduced in 2010. The seat you see here features a multi-axis design for a wider range of vehicles, including passenger cars.

“If there are cars, there are roads. And there simply is no other system that makes a ride — any ride — as smooth as Bose,” Mansell stated.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 06, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Proton will need this technology cause when you drive a Proton, all you hear is road noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • This is for comfort seating, not noise isolation.
      Adoi! Do u even look at the article picture b4 bashing? I knows u dun read anymore.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 06, 2017 at 5:12 pm

do get up from your deep slumber bro. Try to work hard.

• Yeah, continue to thumbs up urself. Sendri syiok whats the point? Balik tadika lah!

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 06, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Put this in Myvi and Wira, Malaysians will never change cars. great great grandson can inherit great great grand daddy car.

• Looks like air suspension seat alredi on trucks & bus.

• karam singh on Jan 06, 2017 at 3:17 pm

this i know already use in express buses and prime mover trailers long time ago. the driver lah. not passengers. old news. stupid bose.

• Mikey on Jan 06, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Bose, it’s time U make a seat/seats for your Bose audio system. Am sure many like me want 2 buy one 2 complement our existing Bose sound system.