BHPetrol opens EV charging stations in Kampung Sungai Kayu Ara, Sungai Besi – 22kW, free to use

Owners of electric or plug-in hybrid vehicles now have additional locations from which to charge their vehicles; BHPetrol now has two new EV charging locations, one at their Kampung Sungai Kayu Ara station in Petaling Jaya (on the approach to the Damansara NKVE toll), and one at Sungai Besi Harmony (after the toll plaza towards Seremban).

In collaboration with First Energy Networks, a fully-owned subsidiary of Tan Chong Group, BHPetrol has installed the charging facilities at a cost of RM40,000 per location, according to BHPetrol. The sole charger unit at each station is a Hager three-phase, 22kW AC charger, which First Energy Networks says will fully charge a Renault Zoe in approximately one hour.

All the user has to do is drive up – or, queue up – to the charging station, and plug in with the vehicle’s own Type 2 charging cable. Use of the facility and its electricity is free of charge, and no card is required for initiation. Availability of the charging facility is subject to the petrol station’s operating hours.

While just one charger per station has been installed at the aforementioned locations, BHPetrol will consider installing more EV chargers in the future should there be sufficient demand.

The charging facility just before the entrance to the North-South Expressway is intended as a top-up opportunity before EV users embark on longer journeys, said Tan Kim Thiam, managing director of BHPetrol. A lounge area will be set up within the station’s retail store, where users of the charging station can wait while their EVs or plug-in hybrids are being topped up at the charger, Tan added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Gaviny on Feb 14, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Whoever is helming BH petrol is one far looking , intelligent fellow. He /she must also be a very car person to understand about cars and trends and the technicalities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • pengayuhbasikal on Feb 14, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Nak shopping KLCC. Bolih parking BMW i8 kat BH petrol..Freeeee

• Once you occupied that slot, normally how long it takes for other E cars turn.

• It depends if the car owner is considerate enough to remove his car upon charged or taking his own sweet time. We know there are many “champions” out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Asal ada setarbak, tadak kesah brapa lama.

• Ah Kow on Feb 14, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Gomen should fund this instead of a stupid race track.
    Good guy BHP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • Then pipu will says Gov is funding for rich man playtoys. Yeah, we see that coming…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • This is no rocket science. The reason they are providing the charging facility for free is because customers would buy items from their BHP shop – this is where BHP reaps in profits. Many are not aware that all the extra stuff other than fuel in a fueling station actually brings in a lot of profits ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • thepolygonal on Feb 14, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Here is something to think about. Put a countdown timer on the charging station so others can see how long more to wait for their turn… something like the ones you have for traffic lights. Or if they can’t find the time required, put how long has it been charging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • fucukhotdog on Feb 14, 2017 at 2:35 pm

GreenTech has a partnership with Petronas to deploy 66 ChargEV charging stations at its Petronas service stations across the Peninsular. The first oil company in Malaysia to commit to this cause.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 14, 2017 at 2:38 pm

its like tenaga nasional encouraging people to use solar

• AcerMan on Feb 14, 2017 at 7:22 pm

TNB is encouraging to use solar. If you can generate more than you need, they are even willing to buy from you.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 20, 2017 at 3:40 pm

yea, but you are not allowed to use solar only…u have to sell back the solar power to them

• Well that bunch of millions dollar worth of cars there.
    But there is one in Petronas NKVE from subang to exit damansara.

Is it from the same company?

• Tuger88 on Feb 14, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Brillaint bhp keep it up really congrats and appreciate ur efforts

• Springan on Feb 14, 2017 at 4:17 pm

It is funny to see petroleum company support electric car industry by providing charging station at petrol station. Above all that, it is FOC. Reap profit from conventional petrol engine user and give donation to electric car user :D :D

• Ben Yap on Feb 14, 2017 at 5:31 pm

1 full charge is 1 hour… if there are 5 cars ahead of me, that’s 5 hours of wait…. thanks but no thanks.

• Shamsul on Feb 14, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Thank you. Although, in my experience using these charging stations at the present locations are not practical. I would prefer if the stations can be located in shopping malls and other parking places where the driver and passengers can attend to other business while their car batteries are being charged. Who wants to wait around at a petrol station for an hour or more where there is nothing to do?

• Uberian on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:13 pm

fully agree. Like what Jeremy Clarkson said, I’m not going to wait 1 hour to charge my car when I can just refuel in 5 minutes.

• 1 hour wait just to get home from work.

• Norman on Feb 15, 2017 at 9:28 pm

Ngv station pun limited..chit