Toyota set to invest heavily in Thailand – focus on compact car development and production centre

According to a report by Bangkok Post, Toyota Motor is set to invest heavily in Thailand to upgrade its compact car development and production centre for exports.

The move is part of Toyota’s emerging-market compact car scheme, which will be developed together with its fully-owned subsidiary Daihatsu. The company had previously announced the establishment of the new internal company, which was christened the ‘Emerging-market Compact Car Company’.

The company will develop compact cars specifically for developing countries, leveraging on Daihatsu’s expertise of producing quality and affordable products, and remaining “untethered by conventional practices and rules.”

Thailand’s deputy prime minister, Somkid Jatusripitak said Toyota will expand its investment in compact car development and production in tandem with pick-up trucks and electrified vehicles. This is to develop economies of scale for electric vehicles (EVs) and batteries in the future, he explained, quoting Shinya Kotera, managing officer of Toyota Motor.

In addition, Toyota will also help train human resources on new automotive technologies. “The decision is likely to be approved by Toyota’s board at its meeting in May,” said Somkid.

On a related matter, Toyota Motor Thailand is already in talks with the parent company about its investment policy in making hybrid vehicles and parts in Thailand. Ninnart Chaitharapinyo, the company’s vice-chairman said the plan is still awaiting the approval from Toyota Motor.

Ninnart revealed previously that the company has the capability to move into hybrid vehicle production in Thailand. He added that a feasibility study to establish a local battery manufacturing facility is currently in the works, and an investment plan could be revealed later on.

Toyota is looking to export hybrid vehicles from Thailand, although its production plan will focus largely on hybrid electric vehicles, as plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) and battery electric vehicles require more advanced technology.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:46 am

MAA, Aishah, Madani, Mustapha, what are your comments?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:44 pm

MAA very simple. Their whole organisation takes millions to run but all they do is tabulate sales figures of cars every month. Even SPM student also can do that part time.

MAI, don’t talk lah. Every year, gaji alone tens of millions. And every year, they will come out with charts. MAI is King of Carta and Graphs. That is all they do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Sama L00 on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:59 pm

Expected. Everyone knows you can’t be ASEAN hub but also protect the crippled Proton both on hands.

• Donno on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:05 pm

So Perodua will no longer be the golden child of toyota in South East Asia??

• Softloan on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:38 pm

We all must wait for Proton to find new partner first.

• Mikey on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:30 pm

P1 finding a new partner will NOT solved the 12,000 workers problem. In fact, it is the MAIN problem P1 cannot find a new partner. Better let P1 TIDUR for GOOD.

• Tabouleh liddat. Vendors how? Mouths to feed & overdrafts to pay…

• Mikey on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:23 pm

When the Vendors sells us cheap products, were they sorry or think of the Rakyat ??
            Nah, they did not even Thank U for your support.

• Albert on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:54 pm

They r busy debating whether it is SANE TO allocate another RM 1.8 B to ailing white elephant Protong.
      Now P1 crony suppliers…..all crying, cos gaji for workers 3 bulan belum bayar BUT secretly they organise 7 STAR hotel parties to celebrate the next rm 1.8B bailout package,cos the white knight is also waiting for a massive dowry of at least Rm2 Billion to absorb all bad debts.

• UMWT will invest approximately RM2 billion to build a new plant located in Bukit Raja, Klang taking on production of passenger cars, including Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEVs). It will be one of its most advanced plants in the world. Salam 1M

• fanofthisite on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:33 pm

May I ask what is the source of the news and what models . Is it export oriented or targeted for domestic market? Thks

• Nah

https://paultan.org/2016/05/25/toyota-confirms-new-malaysian-plant-in-klang-rm2-billion-investment-50k-capacity/

• Nasi goreng GST on Apr 26, 2017 at 3:36 pm

“I believe by 2025, all new models to be sold in Malaysia will definitely be EEVs” ??

But but…made in Thailand.

• K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:51 am

OMG OMG. Every other day we are hearing Indonesia or Thailand getting billions in investments.

Already we lost a few hundred thousand billions (RM trillions) in investments and few hundred thousand jobs to Thailand the past 30 years. How long is this going to go on to?

Malaysia was the CKD hub and the Detroit of Asia in the 80s. Because of ketuanan issues, all car companies lari to Thailand.

What is MAI doing?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • Albert on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Kunta
      No sane investor will pump billions here anymore.
      Why? Look at the recent flip flop in the 5 % increase in excise duties for cars.
      After setting up plants here,suddenly another flip flop in duty structure..these giant auto companies may have to pack up,when their cars become uncompetitive and beyond reach of the masses.
      Thailand have multiple coup,n now military junta…but everything is running tip top,and Toyota japan is pumping Billions USD to upgrade existing plants there.
      In Bolehland…it is a whims and fancies AUTO POLICY.
      TOYOTA THAILAND…THE POWER OF SWEET DREAMS

• Cho Chua Kee on Apr 26, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Billion earned from heavy excise duty on current tax regime much profitable to government pocket than getting billion of investment.Why people still don’t understand the differences of economic environment between Malaysia,Thailand,Malaysia and Singapore? Thailand and Indonesia can produce cars at cheapest due to labour supply,cost,raw material and population.Don’t be such an ignorant human.If you are a businessman you would like to produce your product at the most profits you can get.Cheap and easy labour.Here you need to apply and wait for foreign workers (indon,bangla,burmese)Malaysia can’t support that such industries.Then why don’t you blame Singapore losing out to these industries? Singapore produce high end industries and Malaysia is trying to get there by providing similar but lower cost than Singapore.We can’t fight Thailand and Indonesia in term of cost but we are fight to cater spillover from Singapore that can’t grow as they have issues too like land scarse and higher cost.That’s we are going to achieve.We will lose out to Philippine too if not because strategic location even that we lose out on 30 million vs 90 million population and it much cheaper cost.That’s why populous country can rely on domestic consumption,that’s why Singapore targeting to be 7 million by importing foreign citizens from 5.5million now.Put us aside with Singapore not Thailand or Indonesia..you low mentality citizens!

• jinggo on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:32 pm

agree. u talk with brain. others talk with kapla lutut..

• 1. Billion earned from heavy excise duty on current tax regime much profitable to government pocket than getting billion of investment. >> excise duty apejadah lu spinning??
        Takde FDI. takde kelija. takde income. takde spending. takde ekonomi kukuh. takde Billion earned from heavy excise duty.

2. Here you need to apply and wait for foreign workers >> Salah siapa? Salah kelapa??.

3. Singapore produce high end industries and Malaysia is trying to get there by providing similar but lower cost than Singapore. >> Penguasaan bahasa Inggeris local graduate terus koyak masok longkang.

• K Kinte on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:54 am

At the rate things are going and the ringgit dropping non stop, I won’t be surprised if Toyota, Nissan and Honda of Japan close shop fully in Malaysia and start exporting their cars from Thailand into Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • Hot dog on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:59 am

They are moving forward , we backward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Tidor lagi on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:59 am

We knew it!
    National Automotive Policy (NAP) ftw!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • They support Thailand, we support them????

Sorry … no TOYOTA for me ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Don’t forget Toyota, you do have 2 plants in Malaysia. Your subsidiary Daihatsu has some shares in the perodua rawang plant, capable or churning out more than 250k cars a year. With some expansion plan, easily 500k.

Pls don’t invest that much money into Thailand.

Perodua also has engine and transmission plant in sendayan, n9 and now producing your very own 1.0 and 1.3 litre engines with dual VVTi.

Wait. Is this plan suggested by our PM najib, to make mahathir and his national car project look bad? Oh wai..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Apa?! How can they bypass my glorious P2?! We r bestest seller!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • MeToo on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:11 pm

And Malaysia is still saddled with the nation’s pride Proton while car makers moved to our neighbour…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • remox on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:17 pm

we can’t even be a hub for compact car in ASEAN….everything goes to Thailand.
    This shows something wrong with our National Automotive Policy as it fails to attract big Auto company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Faiz Roslan on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Since Malaysia is going to be a developed nation by 2020 right? Malaysia should not be part of the developing cars for developing countries. If we keep on having or developing cars meant for developing countries then how can Malaysia become a developed country? Malaysia should start selling and making cars at the bare minimum meant for developed countries like what Taiwan, South Korea, UK is doing. Making your people buy and drive cars meant for developing countries is like making Malaysia go backwards. I’m sure our government doesn’t want Malaysians to drive the same standard kind of cars as those pinoys, Bangladesh, Nepalese, Sri Kankan or Cambodians right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • palehotak on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Touch&go 30ringgit Topup pon payah nk beli.

Ada hati developed nation konon ….mat jenin btul laa

• Mikey on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:39 pm

When a Nation still have B40 category to our name, we can NEVER be a developed nation. Don’t be Delusional like our VIP.

• No problems … our G can increase GST to 10% … people still vote for them.

• Redbull on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:07 pm

Thailand under military rule still receiving most direct FDIs.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Another big FDI for Thailand. Congrats Thailand. Syukur Malaysia ada Proton & Perodua.