Over in Australia, the pricing and specifications for the fifth-generation Honda CR-V have been announced ahead of its market debut in mid-July.
Four grades – and five variants – of the RW will go on sale there, and only one powertrain will be available, the 1.5 litre VTEC turbo, good for 188 hp (or 190 PS) at 5,600 rpm and 240 Nm at 2,000 to 5,000 rpm, similar to that for the Indonesian market. The mill is paired with an Earth Dreams Technology CVT.
Late last year, it had been reported that Australia was set to get Thai-made CR-Vs in both 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated and 1.5 litre turbo forms, but it looks like plans for the former have been dropped.
Pricing will start from A$30,690 (RM97,800) for the baseline VTi right up to A$44,290 (RM141,200) for the VTi-LX. Of the five variants available, three are front-wheel drive and two, all-wheel drive, and four of the models are five-seaters.
The base VTi is a front-wheel drive offering and rides on 17-inch alloys, which moves up to 18-inch units for the rest of the grades. Standard equipment includes smart keyless entry with push-start ignition, dual-zone climate control, halogen projector headlights with LED DRLs, fabric seats and a reverse camera.
Also on, front fog lights, roof rails and an eight-speaker Advanced Display Audio system with a 7.0-inch colour touchscreen as well as Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support. Safety-wise, the Australian-spec CR-V comes equipped with dual front, side and curtain airbags, hill start assist, VSA, trailer stability assist and a driver attention monitor from the baseline model.
The next five-seat variant is the VTi-S, which is available in both front-wheel drive and AWD configurations. This adds on an electric tailgate (with height adjustment), built-in satellite navigation, front and rear parking sensors, a leather-wrapped steering wheel and Honda’s LaneWatch camera system.
This is followed by the VTi-L, which is a front-wheel drive offering but is the only one offering a seven-seat layout in the line-up. The equipment level is identical to the VTi-S, but adds on a number of items.
These are a panoramic sunroof, automatic rain-sensing wipers, third-row ceiling air-con vents, heated and powered front seats (eight-way driver with lumbar and position memory, and four-way passenger) and partial leather upholstery.
Topping the Australian CR-V model line-up is the VTi-LX, which is a five-seater AWD unit. The flagship gets a raft of kit, led by the inclusion of Honda Sensing – the suite of driver-assist technologies available under the system include adaptive cruise control (ACC) with low speed follow (LSF) and forward collision warning (FCW).
There’s also collision mitigation braking system (CMBS), lane departure warning (LDW), road departure mitigation system (RDMS) and lane keep assist (LKAS) in the mix.
The headlights also move up from halogen to full LED units, with active cornering lights and high-beam support, and LED front fog lights go on. Additional equipment includes privacy glass, an auto-dimming rear view mirror, digital radio (DAB+), heated door mirrors and a leather-wrapped gear shift knob.
GALLERY: Honda CR-V 1.5L VTEC Turbo, seven-seat Indonesian-spec
Once reach here the price suddenly increased by RM50k and airbags reduced to 2. All thanks to the Proton idiot creator who started all these mess!!
Proton dah turun, harge DRB Honda bila nak turun??
Ari nie minyak turun ke?
Proton also got 6 airbags :)
you cannot afford now you blame proton… so funny.. hey bro, work harder to buy your dream car :)
So remember where that idiot is now. Dun go of choosings his side.
Why is it so much cheaper than in Malaysia? Imported from Thailand sommore
So high car taxes in Malaysia
So high fuel price in Malaysia
already try compare thai n australia pricing? u will see honda pricing is suck in ASEAN not oni in bolehland
Bashers says its cuz our currency better wor…
$30,690 cheap…my 3 months pay.
Australian average salary much higher than Malaysian, but cars in Australia is much cheaper than Malaysia. Envy….
In Australia, they earn about AUD30 per hour. Even the McDonalds waitress also can buy this CRV after saving for 1 year. She does not need to take loan also to buy this car.
And the best part is, the CRV is CBU. Our CRV car, CKD Made in Malaysia quality also, we pay RM150k. Even doctor or lawyer must take loan to buy this car
Where is the promise to reduce car prices by 30%?
So what is the price in Thai again? n compare it with Australia
See the GDP per capita of Australia. Far far far higher than Malaysia and yet, car prices are cheaper.
Try to google GDP per capita and Big Mac PPP Index if you are confused
But why when u compare w/ tomyam, u dun say GDP & Big Mac?
Msia 27. Aus 20. Where is ur far far far higher? U might want to go back to school Kinte. Go and read PPP and it will explains why the car price there are cheaper.
Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
Which world u came from that has bog std cars RV higher than purchase price?
Yea wait till u deduct the tax portion. U know how high Aussie tax is compared to Malaysia???
How about service costs, fuel prices, income taxes, food prices etc? Don’t be a dumbass that only look at one side of the figures.
We Aussies heard Malaysians do not pay service costs, fuel prices, income taxes, food prices etc. Envy….
So Malaysia got BR1M to cover all this cost u mention?
even pay 45% tax also, education and healthcare is FREE. And food is cheaper FYI. I lived in UK last year and what I spend RM500 per week in Malaysia for groceries only come up to 30 pounds per week Same groceries.
My TNB bill RM500 per month. My UK electric bill 20 pounds.
My Unifi RM200. My UK broadband 10 pounds. Same speed.
etc etc
And to those not knowing – the standard of health care in the UK is high. They don’t even need private hospitals. And only those earning high income pay more in tax. Its like they are paying partially for education and healthcare for the lower income group.
Meanwhile M’sia collect alot car taxes but hospital habis ubat.
Which hospital habis ubat?
Australia $45K, MY $26K per capita…
but CRV in Australia is much cheaper RM97,800 than Malaysia RM140,000. Envy….
However, their living cost are among the highest in the world. Especially in big cities such as Melbourne & Sydney.
If wanna compare car prices then south overlord is mucho failure.
Malaysian’s are richer. Cos we can afford twice the amount of Aussie.
Australian can only afford City in Malaysia for that price. Looser.
so what? Promise is promise. Where is 30%? Giving a empty promise is worse than never give. Donkey Brain!
So what? Bashers says better have high RV prices otherwise RV gone. So which basher wants?
So what? Hu ever has promised for high RV????? Show us pls! Dun convert ur incompetency to Malaysia citizens’ fault everytime. Feeling u r so hai
LISTEN UP HONDA MALAYSIA. THESE ARE THE FEATURE THAT WE WANT AS CONSUMERS FOR THE ALL NEW CR-V. 1.adaptive cruise control (ACC)
2.low speed follow (LSF)
3.forward collision warning (FCW).
4. collision mitigation braking system (CMBS), 5.lane departure warning (LDW),
6.road departure mitigation system (RDMS) 7.lane keep assist (LKAS)
Which is essentially just Honda Sensing.
Simple, right?
Sure thing sir.
That will be at a low low price of RM88,888 for the Premium Package Accessories..
HONDA CR-V topline model, RM 198,800.
Simple, right?
How to disagree with U when U are asking these benefits for us. Can I also ask that the price start from RM 98k ??!
Sure thing sir.
That will be at a low low price of RM88,888 for the Honda CR-V W/O airbags, ESC, power windows, air conditioning, reverse sensor.
Lolz! Troll the basher real gud. High five!
HM, please provide the option for 7-seater please…
Price comfirm from RM150k (low spek 2.0L) to RM175k (High spek 1.5T)
when they are going to launch in Malaysia?
That 1.5 turbo engine that almost every Malaysian is jizzing about is taken from the old 1.5 vtecs that used to run in the city generation 2 10 years ago… u try to order a spare parts and see la bang…
it sounds like I’m bashing honda without any base but i’m just tired with how honda Malaysia is getting away with mediocre products….this is a fact…through clever rebranding and updating ‘enough’ parts…
Honda has managed to extend the lifecycle of their engineering for 2-3 generations…
that’s not necessarily a bad thing and lots do it..but Honda has managed to stretch it through 3 lifecycles (and people go insane about vios having same engine and gearbox..this practice is an entire brand and range of cars!).. that r and k series engine in the hrv, accord etc also dinosaur age d…the earth dreams is just a new name and ec and injectors..even the cvt gearboxes they use are of an older type compared to Nissan etc..
Ok so engineering lama d…how about design bro??..Look at that CRV..that rear end is hideous…the civic is hideous after looking at it for more than 10 seconds..The hrv looks like a jinjang mobile….the only sorted design in the range is city/jazz and maybe the accord
but……….because most Malaysians jizz at anything with an H badge on it..just like their fathers and older siblings did about 10 years ago with the ‘T’ symbol… this under engineered under specced Malacca piles of metal rubbish will still sell….Those that in the know..will understand what I’m saying…sadly..most won’t and think I’m a bashing rival brand salesman…… Sekian…
I don’t like the design. The front look meh. The back look too busy. The side is ok.
Somehow the design look pale in comparison with what the Koreans can churn out nowadays.
My reaction to this news is: so? What’s the significance of this car launching in australia? It’s not like no one has seen the new crv before. Will its presence in Australia affect other regions?