Bike rental service introduced for Subang KTM station

AppleMark

Rail operator Keretapi Tanah Melayu (KTM) has introduced a bicycle rental service at its Subang Jaya KTM station, allowing commuters another mobility option to move to their preferred destination, Bernama reports.

The introduction of the oBike service, which is based on the concept of a ‘Station-less Bicycle Sharing Service’, will offer commuters a short distance solution in terms of movement from or to the station. A total of 15 oBikes will be available to the public and KTM commuters.

“The objective for us to have the bicycle rental service here is to further enhance the existing comprehensive transportation network between two destinations as we strongly believe that such services will allow KTMB to improve the first and last mile connectivity,” said Khair Johari Ishak, its GM for the commuter service.

“At the same time, such services will also be able to strongly promote and instill the idea of healthy living and ‘going green’ through cycling,” he said, adding that KTM has identified a few other stations suitable for the bicycle rental service.

AppleMark

According to oBike boss Ng Yong Ching, public reception towards the bike service has been very encouraging since its introduction in Bandar Sunway two months ago. To utilise the service, one just needs to download the oBike mobile app, which will allow a user to reserve and locate the nearest available oBike within the vicinity.

After a bicycle has been reserved, the app will prompt the users on the distance and time required to walk to their chosen bicycle. To unlock the bicycle, a user will need to scan the QR code located on the bicycle with the app.

Upon reaching the destination, the user can just park the bike at any designated public bicycle parking area and oBike’s on-ground team will retrieve the bicycle via the bicycle’s GPS. Ride charges are RM1 per 15 minutes, and payment is done by deducting the amount the users have pre-loaded into the app via their credit or debit card when they sign-up.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ben Yap on Jun 19, 2017 at 12:35 pm

so disappointed to find out that the bikes provided are so heavy. It should be about 8kg at most to make cycling easier and gears too for hill climbs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Do you know that if 8kg that bike will be a full carbon road bike that easily cost more than 10K?

• If light all wants to curi lah…

• Too complicated and too expensive. For rm1 per 15 minute, might as well Uber if the meeting is longer then 1 hour. We have this service in NL. Rental costs €3,50 a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Voiddance on Jun 19, 2017 at 3:36 pm

You pay from point A to B. When you reach your destination, just park and finish ride. Shouldn’t take more than what… 20 – 30 minutes ride. So, only RM2 one way. The rate will not increase during your meeting, just like uber won’t charge you during your meeting. D’oh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • This service is very popular in China. There were theft and vandalism cases in China. We can expect the same and probably the worse in Malaysia, especially theft. I think many of the bikes tyres will be gone and no GPS can trace the tyres.

• Ben Yap on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:09 am

no one will steal cheap tyres. if it’s continental, Vittoria or Maxxis maybe la.

• waters on Jun 19, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Sounds terribly dangerous to me. Have you seen the roads and the drivers in Subang?? This is the equivalent of suicide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Benjamin Choo on Jun 19, 2017 at 2:03 pm

Now we know why KTMB stopped allowing bikes on board.

• daimonpink on Jun 19, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Cute babe. Me wanna rent from her !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • use this bike share app and your phone screen will crack (see second image)

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jun 19, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Build bicycle lane first. Its so dangerous to cycle on the road together with the traffic. I can’t even walk or cycle out of subang over to glenmarie area. There is no proper safe path or bridge over federal highway. Similarly, I cant cycle to/from SJ & USJ, bicycle lanes needs to be build.

• Ah Kow on Jun 20, 2017 at 4:43 pm

We could have built bicycle lanes town by town in stages which can reduce pollution and congestion, too bad got “genius” think racetrack for kapcai more important

• Peter on Jun 19, 2017 at 6:45 pm

I think this is a good initiative and could help reduce car congestion in some areas.

• Peter on Jun 19, 2017 at 6:53 pm

I think this is a good initiative that could at least help reduce some car congestion in certain areas

• RakyatMalaysia on Jun 20, 2017 at 12:24 am

This service have exist in France for ages. I’m a former student in France and this type of bicycle rental service for a day or multiple days is a convenient method. They even have 24/7 self-service rental kiosk. All you must have is a working CREDIT/DEBIT CARD and sufficient balance for security deposit to prevent vandalism, stealing, or non-return of bicycle.

The only problem I see in Malaysia is that they have not exploit the use of CREDIT/DEBIT CARD or online payment in most service. In France, DEBIT CARD is widely use and it is the most convenient method of transaction and you can practically survive cashless if you have only a BANK CARD with VISA/Mastercard logo.

• Jack Maverick on Jun 21, 2017 at 6:36 pm

This would be excellent in Cyberjaya and Putrajaya.. oBike you listening? We got bike lanes, wide roads, low traffic, bawa your bikes here lar..

• Peter on Jul 01, 2017 at 12:06 pm

I think it’s already in Cyberjaya. https://www.facebook.com/mycyberjaya/posts/1881189048797473