No AES installations in Miri, says transport ministry

The transport ministry has denied the claim made by a Chinese daily that three Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras have been installed at three locations in Miri, Sarawak this year, Bernama reports.

The ministry said via a statement that only seven new areas have been identified as AES locations. The AES cameras and the Kejara demerit points system are integrated under Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS), which began operating on April 15.

“Reports that said 831 units of cameras were installed throughout the country, including 18 units in Sarawak is not true,” the ministry stated. It added that it had never set a specific number of cameras to be installed.

The ministry also refuted the claims made in the same report, which said that AWAS would take over the entire enforcement of traffic offences from the police, stating that both systems will be under the supervision of the police.

In related news, Bernama reports that AES cameras are being set up in selected locations on the Peninsular, along the East Coast Highway 2 (LPT2). The cameras are being installed by PLUS Malaysia on the highway stretches at Chukai, Kijal and Paka.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Speed Miri .. Speeeeeeedddd !!!

• Hamba Allah on Jun 19, 2017 at 10:46 am

Why no??? Double standard or Miri peoples drive slowly or…..

• Good timing to set up Ops Warta along PLUS highways to catch tinted cars, fancy number plates, traffic offenders with outstanding summonses, arrest warrants & illegal strobe lights.

• Bodo piang. He shud just say yes and let pipu guessing game where the camera places, meanwhile all pipu will slowdown and follows law.

Oso shud install each at every 3km on hiways both directions. Whether fake from Mr DIY or real, just let the pipu slowdown & guessing.

• Come on aes on Jun 19, 2017 at 1:09 pm

Why no?? Should have aes in Miri. One thing bad now a day Miri drivers, mostly like to drive slow on right lane. If honk, they angry honk back. No brain no law one. How if certain people have emergency need to speed up? Lastime said police n jpj announced will saman those slow on right lane, untill now never see polis or jpj stop those slow on right lane drivers, tin cola kosong only.

• AES is to catch speedsters, not selow pokes. Dun like pokes, drive a bigger truck.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jun 19, 2017 at 2:25 pm

No, because need vote

• During my stay in Miri for studies, I came to a conclusion where the local drivers there are real gangster jalanan.
    You would think luxury car drivers are more likely to be civilized on the road but really mostly, they are not. If you have been there, you would understand. Somehow it’s like they are immune to the traffic laws; generally cars that are RM100k and above can either park on yellow lines, double, triple park, park with one end of the car sticking out disrupting traffic flow, not to honk like west msians do but honk once for their obvious mistake and you will get the stare treatment. Be especially careful with dark tinted cars cos they can’t see well, so these drivers are often obnoxious.
    Real busy bodies too. They loved catching a glimpse of any accidents on the road while causing bottle necks.
    And yes, despite the signs, they are actually no fast lane there. u can take a stroll on the right lanes. Be careful on the right lane tho cos you’re likely to come across cars exiting from any junction and head straight to the fast lane.
    Be on the lookout for last minute lane switchers. They only flip signal switches while switching lanes. Speaking of which, at roundabouts particularly the one in front of the GK Supermarket Pujut area, cars from the outer circle (2 lanes) can swerve into your lane when you’re exiting the roundabout.
    Beware those of u who are thinking of driving in Miri.

• dude u obviously hadn’t been long enough in miri, and u had been unlucky. comparing to Bintulu. Mirians are driving politely.

if you have been to Bintulu, baru lu tau apa tu Cowboy Town.