Now in its fourth decade, the Coca-Cola Suzuka 8 hours Endurance Race (Suzuka 8 Hours) is legendary to superbike riders and Malaysian racer Zaqhwan Zaidi (22) will get the chance the show his skill this July 30. Racing under the Satu HATI. Honda Team Asia banner, Zaqhwan will be partnered by FIM CEV Moto2 rider Indonesian Dimas Ekky Pratama (25), and Asia Road Racing Championship rider Ratthapong Wilairot (29), from Thailand.

Honda is intent on showing the competition a clean pair of heels in the fortieth running of the Suzuka 8 hours, with no less than eight teams and 24 riders officially supported by Honda Racing Corporation, Honda’s racing arm with the CBR1000RR SP2. This does not include other endurance racing teams which will be running second-flight Honda racing motorcycles.

In its sixth consecutive year at the event, Satu HATI. Honda Team Asia was Honda’s best performing team last year with an eighth place finish. The all-Asian trio will be riding the new CBR1000RR, Honda’s entry into the superbike racing arena, which displaces 999.8 cc and pumps out 189 hp at 13,000 rpm and 116 Nm at 11,000 rpm in standard SP2 trim from its inline, four-cylinder power plant.

Top of the team list is F.C.C. TSR Honda, which is campaigning every round in the 2017 World Endurance Racing (WER) season. Riders for the team are Stefan Bradl, currently competing in the FIM Superbike World Championship and Dominique Aegerter, current FIM MotoGP World Championship (MotoGP) Moto2 rider, with a third rider yet to be announced.

Next up is MuSaSHi HARC-Pro Honda, who have Takumi Takahashi, three-time Suzuka 8 Hours winner and MotoGP Moto2 rider Takaaki Nakagami and 2016 MotoGP Dutch TT winner Jack Miller in the ranks. While Takahashi and Nakagami are no strangers to Suzuka, this will be the first time Miller is competing in the eight-hour race, and the team is hungry for victory, not having won here in three years.