Mercedes-Benz S400h AMG Line debuts – RM599k

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has spruced up its sole W222 S-Class variant in the country with an AMG Line styling package, and this goes on sale here alongside the non-AMG Line version.

New bits on the S 400 h AMG Line are led by an AMG bodystyling kit and 19-inch five twin-spoke AMG light-alloy wheels. The kit was previously seen as an optional add-on, introduced in May last year.

Inside, the AMG Line features a new steering wheel, in the form of a three-spoke AMG multi-function sports unit, and AMG sports pedals help dress things further. The variant drops the Night View Assist Plus function, but otherwise specifications remain unchanged from before.

To recap, the car is powered by a 3.5 litre V6 CGI mill offering 306 hp at 6,500 rpm and 370 Nm at 3,500 to 5,250 rpm, and this is paired with a 27 hp and 250 Nm electric motor integrated between the engine and the 7G-Tronic seven-speed automatic transmission.

Standard equipment includes LED intelligent light system headlamps, an electric panoramic sliding sunroof, an Airmatic suspension system as well as an array of bits from a Driving Assistance package Plus.

Items in this one inclued Distronic Plus with Steering Assist and Stop&Go Pilot, Brake Assist BAS PLUS with Cross-Traffic Assist, Pre-Safe Brake with pedestrian detection, Pre-Safe Plus, Active Lane Keeping Assist and Active Blind Spot Assist.

The interior continues on with designo brown high-gloss sunburst myrtle wood trim elements, leather upholstery in either black or brown, a 590-watt, 13-speaker Burmester Surround Sound audio system and a rear seat chauffeur package.

Finally, pricing, and the Mercedes-Benz S 400 h AMG Line goes for RM598,888 on-the-road, without insurance, identical to the non-AMG Line unit, which we did a video review of recently.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Medic on Aug 02, 2017 at 8:42 pm

Still can’t afford

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Harga kereta di Malaysia adalah antara terendah di dunia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
      • Kelab Kunta on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:06 pm

This car supposed to be near to RM850k. But because of tax incentives our gomen gives, it now can be sold for RM599k

The same with the BMW x5. It was RM588k. But because of tax incentives given for hybrid, the X5 now is RM388k

But the hero is Honda City Hybrid. Before the Hybrid came out, the City was about RM80k. After getting tax incentive from the gomen, it goes up to RM90k!!!!

Everybody wondering why the rich get richer but the poor get poorer!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 3
        • Fenix on Aug 02, 2017 at 11:14 pm

It’s the majority poor subsidising the rich excesses. So big poblem.

• In nippon sells for RM75k. Demands sell here for RM60k. Oh wait, logic out the window

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
          • Otak Udang on Aug 03, 2017 at 12:01 am

In Nippon gaji 10x more than gaji in Malaysia.

Faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
          • In Nippon belanja 10x more than Malaysia .

Faham?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • Rahim on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:01 am

you trust a guy who says Malaysia got the cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest cars in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • So we shud trust a guy who claims all MY pipu only earns RM1500 like he does? Lolz!

• Kunta Multiple Dupes on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Still waiting for basher gip source saying that avg gomen servant income RM1500

• Kunta Multiple Dupes on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Still waiting for basher to gip source saying that average gomen servant gaji is RM1500

• Cipan on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Trying so hard ROTFLMAO

• Mesidis purposely use VW number plate to show their rival that this is the most prestigious VW that money can buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Kelab Kunta on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:18 pm

MBM very clever, new facelift S class going to come out. This is just to clear old stock. Why in the first place you never give AMG to your S class buyers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • AhKeong on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Just wait for the facelift S class. Most stuff updated.

• Ghazali on Aug 03, 2017 at 6:43 am

kits makes it sexy. Still the market leader. Orang Msia gaji RM8143. mudah beli kereta ini

• Earning 8k still wudnt able to pay for this. U need to work harder and dun be lazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
        • According to gomen, MY is high income nation. john shud change Gen2 for S keras.

• Who says I din have a S keras beside my Gen2?

• Grandfather stories on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:23 pm

That’s RM600k, in Singapore it just cost $450k and a government servant earn $8k can easy payoff within 5 years. While our government servant earn RM1.5k need 35years to payoff the loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • themechanic on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:24 pm

The Best just got better, Luxury in a sport suit.

• Mikey on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:35 am

Bro. The better one will come when they pushed out these older stocks. The 2018 replacement will have the 3-strip Led DRL for the front & a host of new techs/features that will blow you away. It’s a shame that they deleted the Night View Assist Plus function for this AMG line.

• SLK55 on Aug 02, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Merc Msia’s rival is not BMW, Merc had won the battle against grey recond importers. Not long ago majority of Mercs in Msia were sold via AP.

• markgoh on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:56 pm

clear stock..??

• Add A Comment on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:33 am

Am I the only one that can’t stand all the wood trims? Especially when you try to make the car sporty by adding AMG kits on it…the Wood totally spoil the interiro.

I can’t afford it now, but ya…maybe when the day comes and I will love wood in my car…maybe…

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Gaviny on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:35 am

2 years 30 percent value gone, 5 year 50 percent gone , by 7 year can pick it up for 80k , but one breakdown good luck

• 12yrsold on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:41 am

Think positive bro. In 2 years time, your salary will increase by 30%. In 5 years time, your wealth has grown by 50%. In 7 years time, you can own one of the finest luxury car in the world. All the best.

• Gaviny on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Lol, nobody ever buys cars like tis using personal wealth , I dare say 99% are company owned fleet meant for tax deduction which suits perfectly with rapidly deprecating value

• buy when value is 59k which wont be long..

• Bernard on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:50 am

Just wait a few years can buy cheap….no worries:)

• The Saint on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:24 am

It is good that the wheels have been downsized to 19″. The 20″ wheels plus RFTs which came with the s400h were very costly due to the weight of the car. the car typically goes through a set of 4 every 12-15k kms if the alignment is done well. For most people, it is 4 tyres a year. If the alignment is done by Ah Chong tyre shop, the tyres can be gone in 5k kms, especially the rear.

And because the 20″ has such low profile, the tyres also get damaged by potholes easily due to the weight of the car. Quite a few owners have downsized the wheels to 19″ previously.

Eventho most of these cars otr are company cars, one never like it when you need to pay 2k a pop for the tyre so regularly.

• kralkhan (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 11:23 am

Anthony, is the interior only available in either black or brown? No other options? Night View Assist Plus not even offered as an option?

• pondan on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:53 pm

amg line for e and c class, i get it. but for s class, wired. s class is a lux limo that meant to be comfy not sporty.

imagine go racing with a s class

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:43 pm

the wheels looks like its too small

• Moots on Aug 04, 2017 at 7:42 am

Didn’t Mercedes already launch a facelifted Mercedes a while back? This model here is still pre facelift.

• RAYCHEL on Apr 20, 2019 at 10:40 pm

May i knowstill available?