Toyota stands by natural aspiration for its engines – Dynamic Force for V6 and V8 mills are in the works

Like just about everyone else in the automotive industry today, the Japanese giant is working on engine technology towards gaining fuel efficiency, reducing emissions and increase performance all at once. Unlike most others though, Toyota isn’t planning to downsize and turbocharge its units across the board – in the United States at least, according to a report by Automotive News.

Dynamic Force is the name it has given its new and upcoming range of naturally-aspirated engines, which debuted in the 2018 Toyota Camry in 2.5 litre guise producing 205 hp, with a EPA-rated fuel consumption of 41 mpg (5.7 l/100 km). All Toyota engines will eventually receive the same technology, said Toyota Motor North America’s powertrain executive programme manager Ben Schlimme.

Key areas targeted for improvement in efficiency include friction reduction, exhaust flow, cooling and intake, and Toyota’s 2.5 litre petrol engine has managed to attain a high thermal efficiency of 40%. The engine’s intake system is a key part of the Dynamic Force engine strategy, according to Schlimme.

A swirling, tumbling flow of the air and fuel mixture improves combustion for better efficiency, resulting in greater power and reduced emissions. This is achieved by changing the angle of the intake valve, widening the angle between the intake and exhaust valve, courtesy of modified pistons and laser-cladded valve seats.

“Dynamic Force is not solely aimed at the 2.5 litre engine. We are working to bring it to other segments,” Schlimme said, adding that the Dynamic Force technology strategy for V6 and V8 engines are currently in concept form.

Toyota’s luxury sub-brand, Lexus does employ turbocharged petrol engines, however, with models such as the NX 200t, RX 200t, and the IS 200t – as their names imply, these are each powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine.

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Camry XSE

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kelab Kunta on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Toyota got focus. their engineers in Japan are constantly doing research and development. They don’t believe in having office love affairs or 8x teh tarik in the kantin. Even lunch also just 30 mins they take.

This is what hard work and research produces. Good engines without turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 13
    • xenith on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Proton spent alot on research and development though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Kelab Kunta on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:58 pm

What has come out of it? Taken rakyat’s money about RM20 bil but already bankrupt and losing RM4 mil per day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • Here u go:
          Waja
          Waja CPS
          Gen2 (RHD+LHD)
          Gen2 CPS
          Savvy
          Saga2 (RHD+LHD)
          Saga3 (RHD+LHD)
          Exora (RHD+LHD)
          Satria Neo
          Satria Neo CPS
          Preve (RHD+LHD)
          Iriz
          Persona
          Persona2 (RHD+LHD)
          Suprima
          Perdana2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 45
          • Rahim on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:20 pm

all failures. So, all money loaned to Proton is wasted.

If it is a normal bank, they would have made a call on their loan by now

• Staying in cave, of cuz u cant see them. Pls come to roads. Tenkiu.

• Its given for any company with R&D to spend huge chunks on it. Any tech that cost only peanuts wud have alredi been taken long ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
    • thepolygonal on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Yes, thermal efficiency must reach 100%. We do not want our cars to waste the heat. We already have the sun for that. If possible thermal efficiency of 200% is even better as engine will now also work as aircon as heat introduced is turned into work + generating cool air. This Toyota must work towards… this jepunis overlord commands!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Dinosar engines. In terms of combustion engines tech, toyota still lags far behind even bog standard VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • Er Mond on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:35 pm

Its not their fully hardwork…. It is product share tech between Mazda Skyactive Tech with Toyota Hybrid Tech..

• karam singh on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Honda done it with their K24A2 engine producing 205hp many years ago.
    Rezvani tune it to 600hp making it most bhp/litre 250hp/l in the world after the A45 AMG 190bhp/l
    making the Rezvani the lowest displacement for Supercar 0-100kmh in 3.2s in the Beast Alpha X

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • It’s not about speed we talking here, it’s about fuel efficiency. U can speed up to 200km in 3 sec also no use if it’s not fuel efficient

• Kari Sim on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:42 pm

This Karam Singh really has no idea what is this whole article is about, please forgive him.

• Kuinosan on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Let’s be honest and admit that you guys in Toyota are recycling your old engines again. Good for you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Marketing gimmick to con customers by saying their engine have gud Reuse Value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • I don’t agree with you.

If you go into deeper about internal combustion engine study, naturally aspirated (NA) engine is still the best model compare to charged-engine. We should feel bless at least one of the biggest auto maker in the world willing to take on the challenge and its responsibility to this industry to continue research on NA.

• With upgrades in design, technology, and performance, the all-new premium Toyota Camry is ready to re-define the sedan segment of Malaysia automotive industry. The D-segment powerhouse can be seen as a major upgrade for C-segment car owners and also a brilliant option for European car aspirants seeking better efficiency in the competitive prestige segment.

• The current Camry 2.5 Hybrid is already more advanced and better equipped than the Accord 2.4, yet sales continues to decline every year. Having the best car in the market means nothing if the appointed distributor has been shortchanging customers for years.

• Toyota seriously need to invest in their marketing in Malaysia. Seemingly, Malaysian auto market is heading all the way to charged engine. By saying that, I don’t mean charged engine is no good, but Toyota need to educate the market about the real reason behind their decision to stay with naturally aspirated (NA) engine, and what are the benefits and advantages of using an NA.

• taboogen on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:54 pm

(Like) 2018 Toyota Camry.
    (Dislike) 2018 Honda Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
    • Pakulupapito on Aug 04, 2017 at 11:33 am

2016 perdana suddenly looks nice when the pics of 2018 accord came out

• In the old days, Honda also said they would stick to NA engines, but they too, have gone the Turbo route.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • The research on NA is one of the biggest challenge in the history of automotive industry. It’s in the RedSea. It needs a lot of cash. They simply gave up, because of profit concern? I guess, you guess.

• bangiperdana on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Ada gaya, ada mutu, jimat minyak, dinamik force, tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, RV ada, mak mertua suka, beli je Toyota

• Mmg betul org yg tak pandai fikir dan naif pasal RV saja yg beli Toyota. Sales pitch salesman Toyota mcm ni 10 thn lepas boleh lh pakai, hahaha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • rchoo on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:09 pm

They always play it safe, that’s why renown for fake reliability.

• Dogbert on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Have owned both Honda and Toyota for 30+ years. Toyota reliability is not fake in my experience. Just UMW greed is tops

• maibatsu_thunder on Aug 03, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Well said Dogbert. My Corolla 1.6SEG still running smooth for 20+ years.

• Samlorrs son punya 30 yearold Saga1 still running strong. So apa kecoh?

• Kancil Hybrid on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:41 pm

30 yearold Saga1 is ekceli Mitsubishi Lancer still running strong. Ha3

• Still made by P1. So?

• Yes proton better reliability.

• From the bottom. Only maker in the world giving life time warranty for power window.

• BuyHonda on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:12 pm

haha.. No need to wait anymore…

I can buy Honda Accord 1.5T soon…

• Er Mond on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Product of changing tech between Mazda n Toyota. Toyota share their hibrid tech n Mazda share their Skyactive Tech. Mazda vision in tech is give cost effectiveness while give excellent fuel efficient and to follow euro 6 emissions.

• Ah Kow on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:44 pm

The white camry looks very Teana/Altima ish. I’m referring to the 2017 Tean by the way, which is not available in Malaysia :(

• Raja Bocor on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Toyota have long history in turbo engine so don’t worry it will never leak or burst OCH pipes.

• Toyota oso have history of cheating with their tebo engine too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • sushi bocor on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:57 pm

Leak or burst OCH pipes is old story, sudah basi.

• No to toyol on Aug 03, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Long history in turbo? My foot. Volkswagen have the longest history in turbocharged cars. If Toyota introduces a turbo engine, I will NOT buy because they are a newcomer.

• Kuinosan on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:35 pm

Dynamic force or full body kit. You guys in Toyota are running out of ideas to repackage your old technology and design. That’s the real reason for using normally aspirated engines in your so called new models. Nice try!

• Mikey on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Wow, a thermal efficiency of 40%. That will make Toyota one of the most if not the most efficient engine for internal combustion engine(ICE) car in the world.
    But I’m afraid Toyota basher will see it differently. Lets wait for john to give his input.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Toyota congratulating themselves on the wonderous improvements pioneered by Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Mikey on Aug 04, 2017 at 8:25 am

Bodoh statement. Going by your argument, it is the Orang putih who first pioneered an ICE.

At least Toyota IMPROVED on it by further doing Research & Development.

Why P1 cannot improved their engines to 40% thermal efficiency after spending billions of Ringgit??

• Do read further, they din IMPROVE ANYTHING. Whatever improvements r just from their partnership with Mazda that did the hardwork.

Mazda donkey did the heavy lifting, but its toyota gift horse that pranced in and claim the prize. Geddit?

• 12yrsold on Aug 04, 2017 at 4:51 pm

1st comment, U said something good about Mazda. That is a good start. Then, on your second comment, U bash Mazda by saying “Mazda donkey”.

U have proven your inherent bad DNA which is so prevalent of a Basher through & through. No wonder U have many “Fans” here. Have a good weekend.

• Clearly contextual english escapes ur limited knowledge on the language.
            Donkeys r beast of burden and in the past, its much more prized than a show pony. It works.

• jawabarat on Aug 04, 2017 at 12:58 pm

No improvement? The genes definitely play a big part.

• Because jepunis engine is fast on paper but on road slow like snail

• Dynamic Force!!! Banzaii!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:39 pm

skyactiv vs dynamic force

• toyotafan on Aug 04, 2017 at 9:17 am

No point efficiency when ppl here pay more roadtax than accord and passat. I wont say v6 v8 isnt good but not here in malaysia. Roadtax costs a bomb for those engines. Sorry Toyota u wont be getting much if u dont go downsizing route.

• I love NA engine. But on the road tax and its effect to the sales of NA model, I have to agree with you…

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Aug 04, 2017 at 11:35 am

Skyactiv ia the true boss is NA category

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Aug 04, 2017 at 11:37 am

Why everyone going for the sporty look, the D segment should focus on executive, rich, elegant looks. Reserve the sporty looks for C segment.