New fourth-gen Lexus RX launched in Malaysia – 200t, 350, 450h and F Sport variants, from RM389k

Lexus RX Inline 1

Here it is, the new Lexus RX officially launched in Malaysia. Lexus Malaysia is bringing in the entire range of the fourth-gen SUV, and we get the RX 200t (in Premium, Luxury and F Sport trim levels), the RX 350 (Luxury and F Sport) and the hybrid flagship RX 450h.

First, an intro. The fourth-gen RX made its debut at the 2015 New York International Auto Show in April this year. Now that it has smaller sibling NX to take care of the compact SUV market, the best-selling model in Lexus’ 26-year history has been given freedom to grow – its wheelbase is up by 50 mm to make 2,789 mm. The exterior is as you’d expect from a modern Lexus – spindle grille, super sharp and edgy.

Chief engineer Takayuki Katsuda said that his team aimed for better ride and handling, as well as more power and fuel efficiency for its SUV. The challenge was to build a breakthrough RX, yet one that’s true to the RX lineage. See videos of the CE and chief designer explaining their creation here.

Lexus RX Inline 2

The RX 200t replaces the RX 270 variant of the previous-gen. It uses a 2.0 litre turbocharged engine that was first seen in the NX last year, and now available in the IS sedan, facelifted GS sedan and RC coupe.

The direct-injection 8AR-FTS utilises a twin-scroll turbocharger and Dual VVT-iW (Dual Variable Valve Timing-intelligent Wide) for maximum torque at low revs. It does 235 hp at 4,800 to 5,600 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,650 to 4,000 rpm here, which looks very good next to the old RX 270’s 187 hp and 252 Nm (at 4,200 rpm) from 2.7 litres, 27% more power and 39% more torque to be exact. The 160 kg four-pot is paired to a six-speed conventional automatic gearbox.

If the idea of a large premium SUV with a 2.0 litre engine doesn’t go down well, the RX 350 is available for the traditionalist. This variant gets a new 2GR-FKS 3.5 litre V6 engine with 295 hp at 6,300 rpm and 370 Nm of torque available from 4,600 to 4,700 rpm. This naturally-aspirated six-pot with VVT-iW (can switch between Otto and Atkinson cycle) and D-4S (pairs port injection with direct injection) is paired with a new eight-speed automatic ‘box. This engine does not come with auto start-stop, unlike the 200t and 450h.

Lexus RX 350 F Sport Launch 14

The RX 450h’s hybrid system combines a 3.5 litre V6 Atkinson cycle 2GR-FXS engine (with D-4S and fuel saving tech such as cylinder heads with enhanced exhaust gas cooling) with an electric motor, NiMH battery and E-CVT gearbox. The V6 alone does 258 hp and 335 Nm, but system combined output is 308 hp, or 230 kW. EV Drive mode is pure electric, zero emissions. The car has an electric air conditioning system so the cabin continues to be cooled when the engine is off.

The new RX range is big, and starts from the RX 200t Premium, which is priced at RM388,800 on the road with GST, without insurance. The entry-level variant is pretty well stocked. Included in the standard kit list are triple L-shaped LED headlamps, LED front fog lamps with cornering function, powered rear hatch, smart entry and push start, electric parking brake and 20-inch five-spoke alloys (235/55 rubber for the whole range).

Standard comfort features include dual-zone auto air con with rear vents, eight-inch central screen, rear window manual sunshades and semi-aniline leather for the seats. Safety wise, 10 airbags (including front knee bags, rear side bags), VSC, hill start assist, tyre pressure warning system, blind spot monitor, rear cross traffic alert (RCTA) and rear view camera are standard.

Upgrade to the RX 200t Luxury and you’ll get (over the Premium) a moonroof, smart card key, Lexus’ EMV Remote Touch Interface, navigation, Qi wireless charger, powered 60:40 rear folding seats and a panoramic view monitor (bird’s eye) to help parking.

The car with the more aggressive face is the RX 200t F Sport. Besides the grille and front bumper, the F Sport gains multi-spoke grey wheels, aluminium roof rails and black wing mirror caps. Inside, the sporty trim comes with unique F Sport trim and leather, scuff plates, sport instrument cluster with digital speedo (with G-Ball & Boost meter in the MID), steering paddle shifters and black headlining.

The drive modes add on Sport+ and Customize to the regular Eco, Normal and Sport. Adaptive Variable Suspension (AVS) is exclusive to the F Sport, as are performance dampers.

From L-R: Standard wheel design, F-Sport exclusive multi-spoke rims; both are 20-inch items

The RX 350 brings a unique way of opening the hatch. Touchless Power Back Door allows one to wave a hand at the Lexus emblem with the key in possession to open it. Choosing the V6 also brings a wider 12.3-inch central screen.

The RX 350 F Sport gets the 350’s goodies, while adding on the F Sport pack detailed above. The two extra items that come in at this level are a colour head-up display (HUD) and if you’ve been waiting for it – a 15-speaker Mark Levinson audio system (the non-branded system has 12 speakers). Finally, the RX 450h gets the RX 350 F Sport’s highest level of equipment, without the F Sport pack. Its blade-design rims are two-tone, body-colour coded by default, but this trim can be swapped to the colour of your liking as a future optional part.

Lastly, both F Sport models and the 450h get Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management (VDIM), which integrates brake control, drive power control and steering control to improve dynamics, matched to the suspension and AWD. Lexus says that drivers won’t notice VDIM working in the background. Speaking of AWD, all RX variants get it and distribution ranges from pure FWD in regular driving to 50:50 when needed, automatically.

Eight colours are available, with one of it (White Nova) exclusive to the F Sport. Platinum Silver Metallic, Amber CS and Sonic Quartz are not available for the F Sport. The paint is a scratch-resistant, self-restoring coat. There are six interior colours including the new Noble Brown. F Sport variants get more aluminium trim, while the others get fine Shimamoku wood trim.

We finally come to price, which starts at RM388,800 for the RX 200t Premium. The RX 200t Luxury is priced at RM408,400 and the RX 200t F Sport RM422,990. The RX 350 Luxury comes in at RM457,800 and the RX 350 F Sport RM486,300. The RX 450h is yours for RM520,200. Prices are on-the-road with GST, without insurance.

The standard three-year or 100,000 km Lexus Malaysia warranty applies. The hybrid battery in the RX 450h has an eight-year warranty. Check out full specs for all six RX variants on CarBase.my.

Lexus RX 200t F Sport

Lexus RX 200t

Lexus RX 350 F Sport

Lexus RX 350 Luxury

Lexus RX official images

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Lexus - King of RV Depreciation on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Lexus maybe a good car but buyer beware. It is the King of RV Depreciation. 2010 Lexus LS460L top of the range now selling for RM120k. Used car dealers will beg you to even take it for RM99k even. Shocking because less than 5 years ago, the car was close to RM900k.

In 4 years plus your car can jatuh from RM900k to RM99k.
    That is how bad Lexus RV is. If you can afford to bear with the falling RV, go ahead and buy it and enjoy it.

Bear in mind also, most of the Lexus buyers, after susah payah paying 5 years every month, have to still top up berpuluh ribu their loan when they sell their car.

So besides super duper expensive parts, more expensive than even BMW, Lexus buyers always cry when selling their cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 37
    • King of RV Depreciation is good. Why? I can own a used luxury sedan (LS) at much cheaper price. People see me driving this car also salute me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
      • obamama on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:11 pm

Damn, look at the curves of the body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrrr on Nov 12, 2015 at 4:41 pm

When you could buy this RX, you don’t bother RV. RV is important to get you there, like Perodua => Toyota => Lexus.

And those sozai thought Lexus is same as Toyota, they are damn wrong. I can guarantee they never sat in Lexus before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
          • Because only sozai buys Toyota right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • The Archbishop of Banterbury on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:43 pm

and those sozais also thought Infiniti Q50 = Nissan Teana, Ferrari = glorified Fiat, Cadillac = glorified Vauxhall. As a G35 owner how pissed am I.

• toyotamacai on Nov 13, 2015 at 1:34 am

Only their supporters thought they are different.

• i thought u always emphasize in good RV for toyota…i think u r using ur own ‘stick’ to slap ur face now…lol

• the babe or the car?

• hailthepurist on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:07 pm

i love them all..

• flipper2uman (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:47 pm

Tired and fed up of your same posting every time. Can we talk about the merits of each vehicle rather than resale value all the time. Please enlighten me which luxury car in the market does not depreciate. If you have ever owned an S class or a BMW 7 the depreciation is just as bad. You have no clue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
      • drawing on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Agree with you on this. People who own luxury car would know it is never a sound investment.
        That’s the whole point of earning money at the first place, to spend on something they like.

As for the car itself, I should say that the current Lexus design language doesn’t agree with me, the whole spindle grill thingy and all the sharp edges… I just can’t wait for the next family face to appear.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 5:16 pm

Well you know these car manufacturers will move back and forward between sharp edges design to rounded designs. On the bright side of things, the models standing beside these cars are always refreshing :)

Cheers

• choha on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:49 pm

the spindle grille thingy is copied from audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • sam loo brother on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:22 pm

sam loo. where are you. answer please. they ruin our business, later close shop nobody want our car

• Don’t mislead the readers. You are talking about LS460L, it’s a V8 4.6L giant engine! You know how much the road tax is? Every Malaysian car with displacement more than 3.0L will get a very significant depreciation in RV. Why? Because if the RV too high, rich people will go for new car. If RV reasonable, but road tax is a big concern for those only afford at that price range. So the RV will go down even further to the bottom. Same as BMW 740 and Benz S400.

• Korean Fan on Nov 13, 2015 at 9:35 pm

Comparing RX and LS is not right. Its like comparing the depreciation of 7 series and 3 series.

RX is one of the strongest in RV when it comes to Lexus. Because most malaysian only know RX when it comes to Lexus.

• Sam LuLu on Nov 15, 2015 at 4:30 pm

Goes to show you are not quite ‘ there ‘ yet.
      If one can own brand new LS460L, the RV of that car is not an issue to that person.

Otherwise he/she would have opted for Perodua / Toyota Vios.

So, if you cant afford to lose, don’t opt for LS460L. Besides, normally LS460L owners employ drivers to chauffeur them around.
      Do you also employ driver to ferry you around?

• Kiedis on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Pretty poor pricing and options. I’d rather posh-up and get a macan at these prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • People buy Lexus not because of it’s brand recognition only, but also the reliability…
      The owner of the company i’m working with now is driving an old Lexus LS, and my US colleague drive a 2010 BMW 740i (because it’s cheap in US, he bought at USD 50k used car), I told him how could you drive a car which is better than your boss? His response is just as a typical American, he said “man! his Lexus will last forever!”
      True Story…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Lexus Biscuit - buy BMW or Merc la on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:23 pm

2013 BMW F10 520i low mileage abt 10,000km now selling for RM190k.

2013 BMW F10 528i with super 240bhp powerful engine now can get for RM220k 240hp

If I buy a BMW, at least I can pull some girls. Lexus? Nobody can pull any girls. Maybe bapuk (akua) can.

I ask so many girls about Lexus, they said it is Munchy biscuit. They have no idea it is a so called luxury Toyota junk.

I might as well buy a good 2nd hand BMW or a Merc E250. At least people know I have succeeded in life as opposed to a glorified Toyota.

No wonder Lexus owners always go to Spa and Health Centre cause they cannot find or pull a life partner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 65
    • Interesting on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:55 pm

Owing bank hundred of thousands just to impress girls can hardly be viewed as success… Bapuk in this case is cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
      • Ray Teo on May 03, 2019 at 11:32 pm

His mind only girl that why he just another street punk not an successor

• Wayne on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:16 pm

lol u need cars to prove u succeeded? so sad.. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Seriously!!!! You have so low self esteem of yourself. Do you really think that by purchasing a “luxury” car people would think that you have succeeded in your life. You do not really need some dick head to tell you that you have succeeded in life or the reality is, “ARE YOU TRYING TO OVERCOME YOUR SHORTCOMINGS”. You don’t have to be shy, not all men are born equal ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • MrPoppyplants on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:19 pm

You need a nice car to get girls? I feel sorry for you. And please don’t relate your failure to get girls with cars. Also absolutely do not share your tips. No one needs them.

• Typical loser…
      Btw, you can’t get 2013 520i at 190k sohai (2012 possible)….even if yes, it must be a lemon…

• Zephyr on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:51 pm

High spec, keenly priced!
    Other than the ES, this RX can be another good seller..
    Nice competition vs BMW X3 & X4, Audi Q5, Porsche Macan, Infiniti QX, Mazda CX-9 and upcoming Merc GLC^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Interesting on Nov 12, 2015 at 12:59 pm

Fugly comes at no extra cost. I really hate these sharp lines that Toyota’s is trying to cut.

It like Michael Bay’s version of Transformer. gimme back my boxy and clean Prime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • NX200t on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:08 pm

haterz gonna hate..enuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Puteh on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:16 pm

Landie Discovery Evoque more oomph laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Looking at the specs and prices, suddenly Macan sounds like a steal

• forrest the tree on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:24 pm

Lexus need to produce higher power turbocharged engine to attract my attention, not this 2000cc turbo 235hp 350nm.

• SoftbankSucks on Nov 12, 2015 at 1:27 pm

I believe the engine soldered on RX350 is 2GR-FKS than 2GR-FE (K for Atkinson cycle, S for direct injection in Toyota’s engine naming nomenclature)

• Jon Snow (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Why entry level price hike from RM 355k to RM 389k?! Currency or profiteering? Looks like the latter as RX450h almost the same price: RM 524k vs RM 520k (new)…

• Danny tan doesn’t disappoint as usual

• DanedZ on Nov 12, 2015 at 2:50 pm

If you consider about RV better buy Lexus LFA..

• tinmilo on Nov 12, 2015 at 3:45 pm

judging by the quality of the promo girls, you would think that they are banging on this model (the car).

• Sammy Loo on Nov 12, 2015 at 8:57 pm

Best Luxury SUV in the market.

Please work harder to reward yourself with a Lexus, else you can always get the Vios and upgrade from time to time. Good RV vehicle allows you to upgrade without big lost.

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 12, 2015 at 9:37 pm

While its nice of Lexus to rid their image of safe but boring design. This one is taking things too far.

And that pricetag!! I’ve not even seen a single IS200t on the road since it was sold here – at the price its going for, i’m not surprised. Not expecting to see many of the new RX either, but i’m sure they’ll sell more than the IS.

• If only they could CKD the hybrid and make it cost around 300k…in our dreams haiz

• ruykava on Nov 13, 2015 at 8:36 am

They couldn’t be bothered to change the map from Santa Monica to Malaysia?

• jim labu on Nov 13, 2015 at 9:51 am

O.k la, I’ll take one…the F Sport in Platinum Silver please…and tapau for me also the 2nd girl in the pics, thank u….

• Got VSC ka?

• Bold new exterior design. Liking it. Dashboard- not so much. The girls – sure are a gifted lot – no doubt about that.