DRIVEN: Lexus IS 200t Turbo – downsized, at a price

Lexus IS 200t Review 13

It’s a rare sight. The third-generation Lexus IS has been with us since 2013, but is still very much a novelty in these parts due to a combination of factors.

Launched locally in June 2013, the IS came in as a high cost Japanese CBU import with a 2.5 litre naturally-aspirated V6 engine, attracting high road tax. Its task against the German heavyweights is monumental on an equal footing; encumbered with such price/cost disadvantages, the Lexus never stood a chance.

Ever since the second-gen, the IS has been crying out for a downsized turbo engine to at least have both hands in the fight. They took awhile, but Lexus finally has one, and the blown 2.0L has in a short period gone into the whole range – NX, RX, RC, GS and this IS 200t. Is the IS finally in with a shout?

Lexus IS 200t Review 21

Replacing the IS 250, the IS 200t is powered by the 8AR-FTS 2.0 litre turbocharged engine also found locally in the NX and RX SUVs. The in-house designed twin-scroll turbo engine with Dual VVT-iW (Variable Valve Timing-intelligent Wide) pushes out 241 hp at 5,800 rpm and 350 Nm from 1,650 to 4,400 rpm here, six horses more than in the 200t NX and RX, although the SUVs produce peak power from 4,800 to 5,600 rpm.

The figures are healthy, and are good for a 0-100 km/h time of seven seconds flat and a top speed of 230 km/h. Unlike the six-speed auto NX/RX, an eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission sends drive to the rear axle here, as in the BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class. RWD is of course a class norm that only the Audi A4 dares to defy.

Speaking of the Germans, the IS 200t does not go up against the 320i and C200 despite the badge similarities. In power terms, and in Malaysia, the 200t is shoulder to shoulder with the facelifted BMW 330i M Sport (252 hp, 350 Nm, 5.8 seconds) and the C250 AMG Line (211 hp, 350 Nm, 6.6 seconds). The C300 available elsewhere has 248 hp and 370 Nm.

Lexus IS 200t Review 15

Now that they’ve decoupled engine size with variant names, both 330i and C250 are also powered by four-cylinder 2.0 litre turbos despite the bigger ’30’ and ‘250’ designations. Both are significantly faster than the IS 200t F Sport, even the Mercedes with 30 hp less, which could be down to the Lexus’ 1,620 kg kerb weight and tuning (330i 1,545 kg, C250 1,480 kg).

What’s undoubted is the IS 200t’s higher level of performance compared to the old 2.5 litre naturally-aspirated V6. With 205 hp at 6,400 rpm and 252 Nm at 4,800 rpm, the IS 250 did the benchmark sprint in 8.1 seconds and a top whack of 225 km/h – for RM500 more in annual road tax. The gulf between 2.0T and 2.5 V6 is even bigger in practice, as we found out over a weekend.

The IS has looked sharp since the second generation, but the IS 250’s V6 drivetrain never quite lived up to expectations that the sporting looks promised. It was smooth revving, but one had to work hard to squeeze out the juice. I personally like NAs, but effortless performance counts for a lot in this class.

Five minutes in the IS 200t is all one needs to banish the memory of the IS 250’s delivery – this thing builds up speed very fast, and the turbo effect is pronounced. The fact that my bum was a lot closer to the ground could be a factor, but the IS feels more rapid than what I remember of the NX. It’s very smooth revving and refined too, certainly more cultured than BMW’s direct-injection turbo units in the 3 Series.

Similarly quick and smooth are the gearchanges, but the transmission is culpable for the partnership’s less than perfect response.

There’s noticeable lag during take off, and when coming back on the throttle. The hesitance isn’t a big issue when you’re driving fast in a progressive manner, but can be annoying during quick overtaking moves or when driving spiritedly. A trait also detected in the NX, it’s a blot on the copybook of an otherwise decent powertrain showing.

The ride comfort was a pleasant surprise, more so with this F Sport variant’s gorgeous 18-inch alloys with 225/40 tyres in front and 255/35 rubber at the back. I feared the worse driving around Petaling Jaya (does the MBPJ mayor commute via chopper?) but the low profile-tyred IS soaked up the blacktop mounds and craters pretty well, and quietly too.

The firm but not uncomfortable adaptive suspension had good control over body movements and roll was well contained. Even the steering is improved over the previous gen IS – tight and safe at high speeds but not too cloying at low speeds, surprisingly hefty with some lock on. The fat Bridgestones (Turanza not Potenza, a curious choice) aren’t the quietest during high speed cruising, though.

Despite the dynamic upgrades, the lack of ultimate finesse when pushed is still present – the IS wont’t allow you to feel your way to the limit, and while it’s agile enough, it’s not the most confidence inspiring drive when pushed. The VSC safety net is just a short leash away, something we’ve previously noticed in Lexus cars. Not quite sheer driving pleasure.

Lexus IS 200t Review 1

It’s no surprise to discover that the IS isn’t the best to drive in its class, turbo engine or not, but that does not mean that it’s without merits. Far from it, because the Lexus is a rather fascinating entry in a safe segment.

For a challenger brand, there’s no point in being a me too, and yours truly is a supporter of the bold design direction taken by Toyota’s luxury brand. Kudos to Lexus for having the balls to go bold; and by sticking to its guns, a signature look has been established. It’s easy to flip-flop your way around design, just ask Mitsubishi and Subaru.

The difference between this IS and its predecessor isn’t as big as that of the current GS versus the third-gen S190, but that’s because the previous IS was already an athletic-looking sedan.

Lexus IS 200t Review 49

The blend of sharp details and flowing lines seen here, while very Lexus, isn’t as extreme as on the NX and RX. However, befitting its position as the youngest Lexus sedan, the IS appears significantly bolder than the GS. For this writer, it’s the prettiest example of modern Lexus design, amped up by the more aggressive F Sport styling. I love it, but you could hate it – the IS is that polarising.

Likewise the cabin, which like before, offers a cocooning cockpit environment for the driver. The high centre console makes the working area nicely cozy, or annoying tight, depending on your preferences. Slightly more room than before though, if memory serves right. The F Sport specific seats are wonderful – firm and supportive for thighs and torso, but lined with soft leather.

Supple cowhide can also be found on all touch-points, and you’ll feel guilty soiling the brand’s typical deep pile carpets. The materials look and feel good, but I’m curious as to why Lexus is not into metal or metal-like trim – the IS’ gear knob and other silver dashboard bits could do with the cold touch.

Everything is solidly put together, but I did encounter one misaligned panel/sharp edge on the driver’s side of the air con control panel. Uncharacteristic and an isolated case, I’m pretty sure.

The overall feel from behind the wheel is one part sporty, one part high-tech. Elements that contribute to the latter include touch-drag air con temp strips and the mouse-style Lexus Remote Touch Interface that has been improved from earlier iterations. One can get used to both, but they’re not necessarily the most intuitive forms of control. Despite having a centralised control system, there are still plenty of physical buttons to add to the “cockpit feel” that previous-gen Audis had.

The centrepiece of our F Sport tester is the “LFA-inspired” digital instrument panel, which consists of a central rev meter housing a digital speedo. It’s cool as it is, but the party trick is the physical dial’s ability to slide to the right, revealing a colour multi-info display. The MID’s pages show everything from audio and navi info to gear position and a boost meter with oil pressure/temp gauge. A little gimmicky but cool nonetheless.

Lexus IS 200t Review 23

Less attention was paid to the more mundane things. There aren’t enough storage space for oddments, just the two cupholders and door bin in addition to the armrest box, which is difficult to access. No place for coins and keys if the cupholders are used for what they were designed for.

As premium compact execs go, the IS is a pretty selfish option. While the exterior dimensions track the F30 3 Series closely (at 4,665 mm by 1,810 mm, the Lexus is as wide as the BMW and 32 mm longer; 2,800 mm wheelbase is 10 mm shy), the cabin packaging doesn’t – the IS’ rear quarters are almost as cosy as the front section.

Rear headroom is at a premium – no room to spare for this 175 cm occupant – and while knee room is adequate, there’s no gap under the front seats for feet to tuck under, creating an uncomfortable position for longer distances. The rear bench is highly sculpted with a high and hard centre section – this, coupled with the high centre tunnel, means the Lexus is effectively a four-seater.

While others in the class have grown in size and scope (B9 Audi A4 and Infiniti Q50 are on the opposite end of the scale, pushing class boundaries), the Lexus keeps it true to the compact sport sedan template. Positive or negative depends on where you’re coming from, but the IS is probably the least suitable as an occasional family hauler.

Also unsuitable for many will be the price of this Japanese-made saloon. Our top of the range IS 200t F Sport has a sticker price of RM384,900 OTR excluding insurance, and the range starts from RM297,800 for the IS 200t Premium. Sure, it’s packed to the gills with kit, including the above-mentioned F Sport exclusive items plus a 15-speaker Mark Levinson audio system, but one can get a 5 Series from slightly over RM350k.

Luck is not on Lexus Malaysia’s side. Just when the IS finally receives the downsized turbo engine it needs to compete, the current forex situation nullifies whatever advantage gained. Already a left-field option, such high prices compared to CKD locally-assembled Germans could render it a non-starter. That will be a shame, because there’s plenty about the IS to marvel over.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 276
    • Lugano on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:36 am

True. The IS just doesn’t quite cut it especially if you consider the competition which are in a similar or even slightly cheaper price point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 41
      • dont like that la. sam loo save money to buy this one second hand. luckily this car no RV so he can buy one after 10 years saving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 26, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Those who can’t afford luxury car, will always talk about Mercedes or BMW and ditch Lexus. I don’t blame them for their ignorance.

While Lexus has a lot of customer previously own Mercedes/BMW, they know Lexus is the right choice. Better accept the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
          • Same Lorrrr on Dec 27, 2015 at 11:03 am

Work hard so you can be like me, I have 4 Lexus at home and i buying my 5th Lexus next month. dont be jeoulous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • Sam Supporter on Dec 27, 2015 at 11:10 am

Support my showroom supervisor. You will not wrong with sushi
            https://m.facebook.com/SamLooRV

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 4:29 pm

Similar price point? All the competition’s top models are at least RM80k cheaper. Take the C250 AMG Line going for just under RM290k, that’s about RM100k cheaper than the top spec F Sport.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 25
        • Same L0rrrr on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:38 pm

If you can only afford second hand f30, just be with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 39
          • najjs on Dec 25, 2015 at 6:22 pm

yea so many lexus hater u know why? coz they only can afford a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • I bet he’s broke with his that F30 and going to stay along 5 years in at least

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 25, 2015 at 11:08 pm

Beemers, Benz and Audi will sui kwan and kwai tai.

Lexus and Toyota will not.

Imagine yourself in a C200 on the road shoulder with hazard lights switched on, hood and trunk popped up and a tow truck getting ready to lift the car up like tow mater.

Very fish one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Samecock loo on Dec 26, 2015 at 7:51 pm

Obviously sales man is still a sales man. Work hard uncle so you can afford a better car one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
      • Heng Lee on Dec 26, 2015 at 9:11 pm

Lexus is much more safe too: Although the IS 200t Turbo is more powerful than it’s German competitors, it’s much slower.

Combined with the very low designed topspeed of 110km/h, the Lexus is the safer car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • princess on Dec 28, 2015 at 1:47 pm

Could you enlighten us where about this information came from?

Please quote us the websites for our own research and information and not just talking in the air only .

I only know of Volvo car brand which is the world best in all aspect of car’s safety technology till todate NOT Lexus.

• BeemerFreak on Dec 24, 2015 at 8:09 am

Good car nonetheless but the lunatic pricing and the adamant Japanese mentality for overseas production means Lexus will always be a niche brand in our market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • Same L0rrr on Dec 24, 2015 at 9:24 am

all kimchi l drivers need to work hard for another 20 years to own one second hand unit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 29
    • Sam Zaik Loo Abdullah on Dec 24, 2015 at 5:11 pm

all ToYoTaiK jamban car drivers need to work hard for another 20 years to own one second hand unit (don’t syok sendiri with your taik cars thinking it’s a Lexus)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
    • Hyundai Engine Technology in 2016 Sonata Plug-in Hybrid finds place in Ward’s 10 Best Engines list

Better to buy Hyundai then buying this Lexus junk

Lexus car is not a leader in safety technology . the crown goes to Volvo.

Lexus car is not luxurious as compare to RR , bentley , Mercedes , jaguar

Lexus car is not sporty as compare to BMW

Lexus car is not a leader in quattro technology as with
      Audi

Lexus car is just a half way car brand comparing to other established technological Marques

Lexus car got no RV and becomes a total loss in latter years when it comes to selling.

Lexus car is only one step up above Toyota car technology

Lexus car spare parts is even more expensive than mercedes , BMW and Volvo.

Buying a lexus car could be the worst decision ever happen.Better avoid whenever possible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 45
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 25, 2015 at 11:16 pm

How can Lexus parts be more expensive than Beemers when they are all the same with Toyota?

High on Liagra?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
      • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 27, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Same part but with lexus logo. Everything double. Even toyota logo but for lexus use. Still double. This is how spare part shop make money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 27, 2015 at 1:19 pm

Kimchi owners will be licking their wounds after i show them the Hilux.

After that, they will be sushi owners forever

• Das Auto on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:12 am

IS200T..low sales, no RV. U be treated like a king though @ showroom by Lexus top salesman Sammy Loo LOL. My brother just bought Camry 2.0G 2014 for 108K, new car selling 160K. Toyota good RV? @@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
    • Uncle Sam Poor pakcik on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:07 am

Last sunday i was at toyota showroom and i saw this pakcik sitting there alone where no customers at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 20
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 25, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Don’t buy a new Honda or Toyota.

Buy a new Hyundai instead.

Need more sorhai tai lan ngongs to prime the 12 month old used car market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • paulnut on Dec 26, 2015 at 3:55 pm

If your son is only driving proton saga, please dont make silly comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
  • kenneth Fook on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:28 am

I would no way in both heaven or hell understand which kinda idiot would buy such a car. A total let down and a clear example of NO Innovation from lexus. BMW and Merc beats the crap out of this IS. And if lexus fan boys were to disagree with me, i feel sorry for yr blindless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
    • It is a difference range and class between of it big boy, never ever looks down on other brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • stilltoyot on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:30 am

Look from the front, side, back, top…or walk around all over. It’s a Toyota, made by Toyota but want to be equivalent to either BMW or Merc or something else..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • shawal on Dec 24, 2015 at 10:32 am

The facelifted model would probably hv a front end heavily inspired by thr rc…
    and it’ll adress all the niggling issues once n for all….

interior trumps d 3 series, its not better than the merc’s in my view…just different…..

• DonkeyKong on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:56 am

Had the previous IS250 for a short while years ago.. a 2007 unit that’s brought in by an AP holder and is “unregistered”. It was DREADFUL to say the least. All show, no go, handles like crap, can’t even seat 4 passengers comfortably. Another Lexus IS? No thanks..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Fuel consumption?

• YTD below 100 units, less than Proton sales. Like somebody said figures tell truth, so considered junk?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • heybadigol (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 2:14 pm

It’s miles better FC than the old V6 engine. But that V6 is miles more refined and sounds way better. So win some, lose some.

• Bob_B78 on Dec 24, 2015 at 8:16 pm

FC is pretty good for the last gen. Is250 considering its a 2.5l v6. Comparable to a 2.0l car

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 1:38 pm

I thought this is the 3rd generation, rather than 2nd? Of course, the 1st gen was never officially sold here, but I remember grey importers brought in many Altezzas, and I almost brought one too. Anyways, am not surprised it can’t beat the F30 in the driving dynamics side. In the end, it’s still a Lexus, which means it must coset and provide a luxurious and refined ride (in which it does beat the F30 at). So going all out on the dynamics side would be better off left to the F30.

Even the C Class and new A4 can’t match the F30 for driving dynamics. Each carving out their own interpretation of the sports sedan market (the C with it classy exterior design and amazing NVH, while the A4, like all Audis, are famous for build quality and interior design feel and look). Whether the IS is better than the class defining F30 depends on your preference. I prefer interior design, because as a driver/passenger, you interact with it the most. For that, the new A4 wins it for me hands down (it’s mouth wateringly gorgeous interior makes even the S Class looks dated). And the IS comes a close 2nd. But realistically, at that price tag, it comes in dead last (but then nobody knows yet how much the new A4 will cost here) If only it was more attractively priced (after TPAA perhaps?). At least one who buys the IS has the assurance that his ride will be very exclusive (I’ve seen more new supercars than the new IS). Unlike the F30 driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • Talk rubbish like Sam Loo on Dec 24, 2015 at 2:27 pm

Comment so much but all nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
    • I have, ans still have the 2nd gen IS250. Dynamically, it can’t beat BMW, Merc or Audi but for sheer comfort and refinement, it beats the lot hands down. Sam Loo will not like this, I am sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 26, 2015 at 4:29 pm

I hate people like you because you buy new sushi.

Love sorhais that buy new kimchis. They will be tai lan ngong 12 months later when i show them the Hilux

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 27, 2015 at 11:15 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• nabill (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 2:15 pm

atleast if the price was competitive , u can sacrifice some of the drawbacks(mainly interior space) ….
    but its very hard to stomach that OTT price…i dont even know if CKD this thing wd drop the price to a reasonable level…i dont know how to feel about this , that crazy price or the fact someone will go and buy one !
    it makes the f30 seems so affordable…nobody says its a bad car,far from it , but everything has a price , and this thing DOES NOT deserve this crazy valuation(forget the base spec , no one will buy that)

• ahmad on Dec 24, 2015 at 4:21 pm

with price RM300k, i better get Merc or BMW.
    if no money, i wait for 2016 Civic!!!

• seancorr (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 4:24 pm

DOA – Dead On Arrival

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • cendol (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 5:00 pm

People go and buy recond Mark-X and slap one Lexus emblem on it.
    Nobody will realize the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • den_y on Dec 24, 2015 at 7:09 pm

To each his own. You guys wouldn’t be bashing this if the price point is similar to C’s and 3’s. Lexus and Infiniti drivers looks for different things.. Not only technical specs etc etc. You have 200k to spend and you want to stand out? Well this is it. These ppl that have 200k to spend on a car don’t think like you guys do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Garbage comments. …you need check brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • Lugano on Dec 25, 2015 at 10:12 am

The problem is this car doesnt stand out

• Jimmy on Dec 25, 2015 at 10:46 pm

200k ringgit nia.

Sounds a lot ?

400k brandnew Japanese car, make sure it is your true love, truely desired.

Test drive kau-kau all of them before making your purchase. Pay meticulous attentions. Your money is hard earned since you are still in C-class category.

I bought the vehicles that I desired (some without test drive at all).

• Lugano on Dec 26, 2015 at 9:57 am

The majority of people who have at least 200k to spend on a car are OBVIOUSLY not buying the IS in this country

• Good to see an Asian mixing it up with the Germans. Something different and can still hold its own against the more established marques. Although the current exterior design can get a bit of getting used to, it’s still a solid performance sedan. Good job Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Good car? But somehow i won’t buy. Unless they make the price more competitive. Otherwise german marque is still a better choice.
    I don’t see the extra cost worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 25, 2015 at 11:17 pm

Head straight to a kimchi showroom and order a Sonata immediately.

Need more sorhai tai lan ngongs to prime the used kimchi market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Annoynimouse on Dec 24, 2015 at 11:45 pm

Lexus has to play the reliability card with this car to challenge the German marques, although I am not sure if they are reliable. In terms of design, I do like the interior and I agree with the article, they dare to do something different although some might not like.

• Jimmy on Dec 25, 2015 at 10:54 pm

Ha ha, you are not in the game.
      People who can truely afford German vehicles change their vehicles so frequently that they hardly encounter any maintainence issue with their vehicles, there is no issue on reliability to us; if there is, it is to the second-hand buyers. You pay peanut for monkey (you pay recond price for your bm, or you pay half price for your used MB, you get headaches). But make sure you dont pay gold price for a silver.

• Annoynimouse on Dec 26, 2015 at 10:33 pm

Not encountering maintenance issue because you change your car frequently still does not mean that the problem its not there. Issues with used cars re-cond or not will also affect the reliability reputation of the brand.

• proton hero on Dec 25, 2015 at 8:13 am

My Proton Neo can smoke kaw kaw this japanese junk. hahahahah….

• It is still a Toyota. No where near the Germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • cendol (Member) on Dec 27, 2015 at 3:48 pm

Will you go near Volkswagen?

• Sam Loo ( ori1 ) on Dec 27, 2015 at 4:01 pm

Go near new kimchis please.

Need you sorhais to prime 12 month old kimchi market

• Hahahah on Dec 27, 2015 at 5:14 pm

I wanna laugh when see all ur comment do u drive or test drive this is200t ? If not just silent make u like n idiot
    I can tell u I got few fren who own German car already switch to Lexus … Although I not Toyota fans but Lexus is different class and more reliable compare to German

• The problem with IS is that the three generations are totally different and targeted different market.

The first was basically a re-badged Toyota, with not much presence or performance. The second targeted those who drive BMW or similar but want something more comfortable and reliable. The current one is for boy racer with money to spend, not many of them here. There is no continuity like the 3 series, C class or A4s. At this rate Lexus IS will not sell in big number, at least here.

Comments from those who had never drove one, let alone own one are numerous but they are never potential buyers.

• Friends of friends on Dec 27, 2015 at 11:20 pm

I got friends too who own bentley and ferari and they all switch to proton neo…so what!!!!

• theanswer on Dec 28, 2015 at 9:01 am

not saying the car is bad..of course lexus got its own fans..reliable engine etc.. but most of us shared the same concern..pricing which leads to number of sales. good number of sales can result more service centre which can give better ownership experience throughout the country. my father is an avid fan of lexus..but lack of service centre is a turn down for him..not every buyer willing to travel far just to service his car even tho it will happen twice a year (maybe more).