Lexus GS300h introduced in Malaysia, GS350 updated

lexus-gs300h

In 2012, the GS was launched in Malaysia with a five-car line-up – the GS 250, GS 250 Luxury, GS 250 F Sport, GS 350 Luxury, and the GS 350 F Sport. Later, the hybrid GS 450h also appeared in the line-up. Lexus Malaysia has since revised the GS line-up a little – let’s look at what’s changed.

First is the addition of a new model called the GS 300h, which shares the same hybrid system as the smaller IS 300h. The more powerful GS 450h is now gone. The GS 300h uses a 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle combustion engine with D-4S injection, Dual VVT-i and a high 13.0:1 compression ratio to produce 178 hp and 221 Nm on its own.

Combined with the hybrid system, the car produces a combined system output of 220 hp and 300 Nm. A conventional transmission is not employed, instead it uses an E-CVT system which uses multiple electric motors to emulate gear ratios. Power goes to the rear wheels and 0 to 100 km/h takes 9.2 seconds.

lexus-gs-price

The spec list includes LED headlamps (rest of the GS range uses bi-xenons), LED daytime running lights and LED fog lamps, 18-inch wheels wrapped with 235/45 tyres, keyless entry and go, moonroof, leather and wood interior, 12.3-inch Electronic Multi-Vision infotainment display, Lexus Remote Touch, heads-up display, back monitor, Mark Levinson 17-speaker system, 18-way adjustment for the front seats, a full suite of stability control systems, and 10 airbags. Click here to view the full specs.

The GS 350 also gets an update. Its six-speed automatic gearbox has been upgraded to an eight-speed gearbox, which should lead to quicker and better shifts as well as better fuel efficiency.

As for pricing – here’s what’s interesting. The GS 300h has an estimated price of RM536,800, which is the most expensive GS in the range. This ‘estimated’ wording is also used for the GS 350 Luxury and the GS 350 F Sport, while the GS 250 range has no estimated word stated for its price tags. This leads us to believe these updated models haven’t received their confirmed pricing yet.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• think on Oct 20, 2013 at 9:44 pm

the price doesn’t worth the car….even the power of the car is outdated to be said…for lesser price we could buy the bmw 520d ,,which is very economical…latest generation of lexus vehicles is only an update on the exterior design…the vehicles drive-train is useless…think…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 27
    • Those are some pretty harsh things to say when you “think” only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 25
      • Coke is a nuub on Oct 21, 2013 at 7:27 am

he’s asking you to use your brain to think. nuub.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:26 pm

This is nothing but a mere Toyota. Bodoh to even pay half a million ringgit for a Japanese Toyota. LEXUS Malaysia think people are stupid?

Every panel in the car got the word, Made by Toyota. So, how can this car NOT be a Toyota? And you are paying RM500,000 for a Toyota? Better to buy a house. You house will be RM2 million in 15 yrs time from RM500,000.

Your Lexus will be RM50,000 in 10 years time. Lexus depreciates like gila. Can even get 3 year old Lexus LS460L for less than RM200,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
          • maserratiShameLoo on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:29 pm

Mengapa you bother kalau others can afford. not everybody like you who need make hard earn money. Lexus is beyond you punya category loser, pergilah comment dekat avanza atau saga. As for property, jangan talk the same bodoh story like your comment on car, again, this is not your field.

• Sam Loo The Troublemaker on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Sam is indeed a decent kimchi dealer, I was wrong about him all this while.

I can’t even get a dealer that wants to take in my 14 month old Elantra.

Without doubt, my next car will be a used Toyota or Lexus, coz even other kimchi dealers dun bother to tiew me for my used cabbage

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • In labuan, GS250 (CBU) is cheaper than 520i (CKD) , GS350 (CBU) is cheaper than 528i (CKD), which one will you choose ? Too bad already booked the 2014 528i m sport.. one of the factor is many reviewer said the previous 6 speed is not as smooth as bmw 8 speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • See :) on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:24 am

“The car doesn’t worth the price…” Peace

• Will be purchesed by big tauke. Singaporeans like lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:13 am

And also Hong Kong. Rich RHD Asian country love Lexus.

• No more tax exemption for hybrid cars?…The Audi A6 hybrid with exemption tax is much more cheaper…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • As much as I like Lexuses, the hybrid variants(bar the CT200h) isn’t worth the price they are asking. In my opinion. Thinking from the perspective of someone who can only dream of owning one, the problem with the GS300h lies in the performance, 9.2 seconds to the sprint, you are going to be out sprinted by another hybrid that is 1/4 its price, a manual CRZ. Add to that, theres the BMW Activehybrid 5 around, a car that cost less, has a better gearbox (an 8-speed, CVT bias here) and does the sprint in about 3 scond faster(this kinda matters in a car that cost this much, not much people who can afford it would care about the Fuel consumption much). Even the Audi A6 hybrid is better at half the price thou you are sacrificing RWD. Lexus are meant to be alternative to the Luftwaffes, but I can’t see any of that in the GS300h.

on the side nnote, The GS350 is at least making an attempt to become a serious Deutschland alternative with the introduction of the 8-speeder. Still a great looking car the GS (IMO, 2nd best behind the F10 5er), but the GS-hybrid just doen’t cut the cake, sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • frenzyaustin on Oct 21, 2013 at 9:15 am

The performance are spoiled by the E-CVT. It works on beige mobile like Prius but not premium sedan. Toyota new Hybrid-R technology is great and it’s nice to see Lexus can take a bit of it.

• takNakP1 on Oct 20, 2013 at 11:48 pm

I wonder what it feels like to carry half a million on the road.

• proton suprima is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
  • ecoterrorist on Oct 21, 2013 at 12:08 am

Rm 500k for a lexus ? Hell no, I take bmw, merc or audi anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • Kyoshoooo on Oct 21, 2013 at 12:19 am

Tax exemption only for hybrid 2.000cc and below.

• pudge on Oct 21, 2013 at 6:32 am

in b4 “ITS A TOYOTA”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:29 am

Is that 8 speed auto in the GS350 a ZF unit or an Aisin one?

• frenzyaustin on Oct 21, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Aisin definitely. Why Toyota buy other’s company product when their own company can produce the same?

• bob123 on Oct 21, 2013 at 8:52 am

I own a Lexus but I would not spend another RM1 or another Lexus with that garish front.

• not-my-name on Oct 21, 2013 at 10:13 am

Super bashed suprima can make 9.9sec sprint… what a shame

• Sam Loo The Troublemaker on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Kimchis can do the century sprint in 8 seconds, but your face will be hailat in 0.8 seconds after Sam shows you his 4 Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • maserratiShameLoo on Oct 22, 2013 at 10:31 pm

Another graduate from Sam Bodoh kindergarden. Cakap macam budak kecil lagi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • Jilbaber on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:43 pm

With that price tag and in these beloved country, this car is meant only for the enthusiast..otherwise people will go for the German’s

• Jilbaber on Oct 21, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Oh…this is Lexurized Toyota Crown (Hybrid)

• ben yap on Oct 21, 2013 at 6:58 pm

0-100 in 9.2 secs? that’s slow. when u finish your capati and teh tarik, the car still barely hit 100km/h.

• Something wrong with the price tag! How could a GS 300h be more expensive than a GS 350 F Sport????

• On Friday, no more tax exemption for hybrid CBUs.

• Korean Fan on Oct 22, 2013 at 5:07 pm

For the many in Malaysia, they will off course go for BM or Merc. But in many parts of the world, BM and Merc has no place compare to Lexus. US and Middle eastern countries are the examples. So don’t underestimate the car because of your local world view.

• MingCort on Oct 23, 2013 at 2:33 pm

I stay in Oman and later moved to Dubai for 5 years. Lexus is still far below category of Merz & Bmw. They look at is as another good toyota.

• No car worth its price in Malaysia! Does myvi worth RM 50k or saga worth RM40k considering their quality?

Again, the problem is our government, not the car manufacturer.

So if you can’t afford half a million car on the road, don’t say it doesn’t worth the price.

You can’t do anything also even if it worth the price.