MRT will help lower CO2 emissions by 34,400 tonnes

The Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) is expected to reduce up to 34,400 tonnes of carbon dioxide emissions yearly, in a report by The Sun Daily. The service first started limited operations in December last year, and recently, the 51-km long Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line was fully opened to the public.

Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar, natural resources and environment minister, said the ministry is targeting to slash carbon dioxide emissions by 300,000 tonnes by 2030. This will allow the country to hit its target defined by the Nationally Determined Contribution (NDC) submitted to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) under the 2015 Paris Agreement.

“The MRT operations, in addition to reducing air pollution especially in the city of Kuala Lumpur, is also beneficial from an economic point because the price is cheaper than using one’s own vehicle or a taxi. Indirectly, the quality of life in Kuala Lumpur is more safe and improved,” he said.

It has been suggested that the MRT service will help reduce the number of vehicles on the road, especially on roads from Sungai Buloh or Kajang heading towards Kuala Lumpur. In fact, MRT Corp projects 160,000 fewer vehicles entering KL daily based on the estimation of 400,000 MRT riders per day.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• If there is MRT “leakage” of funds (as any Malaysian will suspect), then the pocketeers will buy more V8, V12 cars that will pollute more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • 10-20yrs old iswara waja teksi & metrobus. now we r saving the world, betul2 syok!

• If u have proof or source, pls share link

• halim_dr on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:12 pm

After thinking about it for several days, I decided to take the MRT from Curve to KL Sentral. I have in the past taken the Hong Kong MTR, Singapore MRT, British Tube and NY Subway.

Here’s my conclussion about the Malaysian MRT:
      1) The Malaysian Siemens train sets from Germany are the best trains, better even than the 4 countries above. Silent, smooth comfortable and wide with fantastic acoustics when announcements are made.

2) The KL Sentral MRT station suffers from improper signage placements. More disabled friendly lifts and escalators need to be placed for the disabled and the elderly.

3) Sadly, there were leaks inside the station and it was obvious when the foreign cleaners were seen mopping the puddles during a downpour.

4) Quite a few ticker vending machines had notices saying they do not accept bank notes, but coins only. Which is not well planned, if you ask me.

5) Some of the staff at the counter were not well trained and tend to flare when the station crowd picks up.

6) The station escalator system which is I believe made by Schindler is world class and on par with those found anywhere else around the world.

7) The station lightings and automated announcements were world class and on par with global best standards.

This is my personal opinion only.

• Planting more trees around the stations will oso help. And add planter boxes on the stations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Bernard on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:55 pm

Don’t you know all this will be destroyed! You think this is Norway ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • We gotta start somewhere. Rather than being pessimistic, lets plant them 1st then educate pipu to take care.

• If gov have ur kinda mentality, then nothing gets done and nothing gets improved.

• Bernard on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:56 pm

On paper….maybe

• ex-VGM staff on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:08 pm

When Toyota launched the 2nd gen Prius in Malaysia in 2009, they found this fact. The 1.8 litre hybrid car produce a lot less CO2. An equivalent corolla altis with normal 1.8 engine produced a lot.more. in a span of 1 year, the amount of carbon produced by corolla is about 1,000kg more than Prius. Or 1 tonne.

• I wish to take the MRT but did you guys even plan properly when building it? I tried taking the MRT twice but I couldn’t even find a parking. Just look at your Suntex Station, you built such a small open space car park with like maybe 50 bays? How u expect us to take the MRT when u dont even provide sufficient parking bays. I even took the effort to go the next station to see if there is sufficient parking (Sri Raya Station). It ends up that multilevel parking is not even opened. I gave up and decided to drive instead. Seriously, improve on your planning

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Do be informed that while MRT is by gov and opened on schedule, PnR r by 3rd parties which may have delays and this is punishable with fines.

• Minah on Aug 10, 2017 at 5:36 pm

What’s the point of MRT if they provide more parking spot? I’m confused. Isn’t it supposed to encourage people to ride public transport?

IMHO, I think they should improve other public transport connecting to each other. Hopefully, in the future, we don’t need those parking spot. We can just walk to the nearest bus station, ride a bus, then take the train. Just like in developed countries.

• In developed countries, pipu walk 20mins to reach areas. In MY, pipu bash gov if they need to walk even 5 mins.

• weather forecast on Aug 12, 2017 at 5:08 am

developed countries mostly have 4 seasons. even in summer the air is still cool and dry. u can walk to work for miles and take public transport without breaking a sweat. try that here in msia u will end up smell like a cow when arrive in the office…just take any local public transport in the evening to get what i meant… how smelly it is inside these trains or buses or lift.

• Just see our neighbor la. Singapore. They can do it why can’t we? Singapore got 4 seasons ka..?

Improve the connecting buses so that we don’t have to walk so much maa..

• Ahmadjr on Aug 10, 2017 at 1:40 pm

We produce our electricity from coal and natural gas…