DBKL studying automated car parks for PPR – report

The possibility of automated, multi-storey car parks at People’s Housing Projects (PPR) developments in Kuala Lumpur is being studied to address the lack of parking spaces in the area, according to Bernama.

“Although the multi-storey car parks at 12 PPRs will be made this year and next year, we plan to use a new multi-storey parking with a “decking” concept which will automatically operate with the existing system to enable more efficient and easier movement of vehicles such as in Japan and Korea.

“We will also [be able to] increase the number of parking spaces there if the place [PPR] already has parking spaces – we can increase it by two to three times. So far, DBKL is still evaluating which areas are suitable for this facility,” said federal territories minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor.

The study, which is conducted by the Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) would use PPR Kerinchi as the pilot project to facilitate traffic flow in the high population density area, the minister said.

Parking is a perennial challenge in the Klang Valley, and in Petaling Jaya the matter is compounded by a lack of parking machines and with the recent introduction of the coupon system, parking coupons as well. Meanwhile in Subang Jaya, the also-congested SS15 area has recently gained a four-storey car park on the same row as the market and the Asia Cafe food court.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Fadzil on Sep 11, 2017 at 12:06 pm

According to abang, increase parking charges & petrol prices. To force pipu to support public transports…oh waiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • abah kau on Sep 11, 2017 at 3:19 pm

1 PPR house = 3-4 cars. of course tak cukup. imagine 5 blocks. 700 houses.

• topkek on Sep 11, 2017 at 6:48 pm

Low income household but 3-4 cars. Then komplen rumah mahal, Kek

• aiyah. 4 cars dont mean they are rich ma. father has 1 old waja. mother 1 old kelisa. the son has 1 perdana v6, bought at 7k. and the daughter driving a used myvi.

• Dr Strange on Sep 11, 2017 at 6:02 pm

How can I trust a person that always talk stupidity? I just dunno what this world has becoming…

• KenJi on Sep 11, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Tok, Larangan kapcai masuk KL. bila nk mula?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • applegreen on Sep 11, 2017 at 12:36 pm

Why not implement stright to all Rumawip projects? U approved 3000 affordables homes in 2-3 acres area with 1 parking bay for each house u think can sustain for longer term?

• Zam sentul on Sep 11, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Rumawip projects nearby MRT stesen so no problemo. Advance booking open for dbkl staff & family too.

• applegreen on Sep 12, 2017 at 9:12 am

If nearby, where is MRT/LRT line near rumawip kg pandan, selayang and setapak?

• Ksatria on Sep 11, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Pelan Penipuan Rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Lulla singh88 on Sep 11, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Oh this elephant agian

• Anonymous on Sep 11, 2017 at 1:06 pm

I don’t think it is viable for this system at PPR housing developments… it is much more costly to build and maintain considering the cost of maintenance fee collected for PPR is quite low.

It is better to build PPR housing on top of a vast space multi level car park underneath… imagine akin to shopping complex multi level parking with multi towers of PPR interconnected by the parking area.

• Lpost on Sep 11, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Lift flat PPR pun tak boleh maintain dgn baik selalu rosak, inikan pulak automated parking system. Tak payah studies pun dh tau.

• pengayuhbasikal on Sep 11, 2017 at 6:52 pm

Ask menteri stay PPR for 1 year, konpem lots of improvement after.

• You can’t even maintain the elevators at PPR properly. Ada hati nak buat automated car park. Siapa yang dapat contract kali ni?

• Henry on Sep 11, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Any more bright ideas?

• Ni Nak buat lawatan sambil belajar ke korea & jepun…..

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 11, 2017 at 2:47 pm

I smell certain cronies will untung besar.

I also bet, if implemented, the automated system will rojak within the year. After that, no bajet to repair, become another white elephant.

• Susukotak on Sep 11, 2017 at 2:55 pm

tengok pada kebolehan penjagaan semasa boleh jd rosak sana sini.. kete sadai kat dalam. .. teruk nanti ku nan kena makan roti nan.

• Solve the issue about residence did not want to pay for maintenance first and also the elevator issued that are common in PPR. Automated parking? It’s will not come free. Even automated elevator for people is not well maintain. Please set your priority YB.

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 11, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Now only you think?

Singapore already have it since years ago

Malaysia thinking and studying are so outdated

• go go go!!! we need more of this in Klang Valley.

• RedBeanArmy on Sep 11, 2017 at 3:41 pm

All these PPR peasants should stop polluting the road with hideous eyesores and environmental polluting cars which are often decades old. Our Govt should ban any car beyond 10 years of age since this won’t do good for people in car businesses and would contribute to irreversible and long term damage to our environment. Of course some would argue of this being too selfish but think about it, if we don’t protect our environment, isn’t that selfish either? The CO2 production of those decades old cars is way off the chart! Plus, if you can’t afford a new car after 10 years then it’s your problem, maybe you didn’t work hard enough. If you have no money, work 3-4 jobs a day don’t be a lazy ass. Shame on you low achiever peasants.

• Ben Yap on Sep 11, 2017 at 4:20 pm

if these people staying in PPR flats got money to buy a car and maintain it, they have money to buy a house.

why should the government use tax payers money to support these people?

just go and look at the PPR flats. some of them drive nice cars but buy a PPR flat. it’s all about abusing the privilege and taking advantage of tax payers’ money.

• PPR Bangsar South on Sep 11, 2017 at 6:34 pm

PPR flat dwellers may or may not own car. But they may also possibly driving company’s car.

• wawasan2020 on Sep 11, 2017 at 4:35 pm

so kalau kereta sangkut akibat mesin rosak??apa macam dato?

• If they cannot take care of people lift how to take care of car lift

• PPR Bangsar South on Sep 11, 2017 at 6:41 pm

The motive for building multi-storey parking lots is actually as a revenue generator, there is no such thing as free parking.