No summonses for motorists in areas where there are no coupon agents or parking machines, says MBPJ

The Petaling Jaya City Council (MBPJ) will not issue parking summonses to motorists within its area of jurisdiction, if there are no parking coupon agents or parking machines in the vicinity. In a report by The Star, MBPJ communications officer Hasbullah Juyahir said the council was aware that not all areas within Petaling Jaya have retail places selling the parking coupons or functioning coin machines.

“The park-and-display coupon system is being introduced in stages and we have 16 shops selling them. For now, we will not issue summonses in areas where there are no coupon agents or parking machines,” he said.

Hasbullah also clarified the reason why MBPJ appointed coupon agents outside the city, stating that some of the parking agents registered their businesses outside Petaling Jaya, in Shah Alam, Puchong and Semenyih.

“These agents have their office registered in places like Shah Alam. However, they were appointed to engage with smaller agents in Petaling Jaya to sell the coupons,” he explained. The public has questioned the rationale of appointing parking coupon agents outside Petaling Jaya, leaving some busy commercial areas like PJ New Town, Section 14 and SS2 without an agent.

Currently, there are 16 agents appointed for distribution of the parking coupon booklets to shops. The parking coupons come in three varieties – an hourly coupon booklet costing RM6 comprising 10 coupons at RM0.60 each, a daily coupon booklet priced at RM25 with five coupons at RM5 each, and a monthly pass at RM100.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• So car owners, if u dun want summon, u can just take the parking machine home

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Periasamy on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:33 am

MBPJ always talk kok. Half the time, their machines are spoilt. Then we kena saman.

Then I park my car at PJ New Town to go to MBPJ tower to settle my saman, all the machines rosak still. I get ANOTHER SAMAN.

What to do? I get ANOTHER saman to pay a previous saman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • lilytan on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Going backwards with coupon. Better fix the machine rather than going flip flop. Perhaps an sms / phone based payment would be great also. MBPJ is getting lousy. Should change its name back to MPPJ.

• dong gor on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:35 am

First of all, we moved from parking coupons to machine coupons. after investing so much money on machines we decide to scrap them and reverse gear back to ‘green’ solution? How to move forward if we just switching between first and reverse gear!!!
    For whatever reasons to reverse gear, minimum expectation is to have a smooth transition.. can’t even do this just give free parking!

• potato on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:36 am

Try find a “Functioning” ticket machine at SS2 food court area, i give you a cookie.

• stckhaw on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:37 am

1. Parking Coupon solves the problem of exchanging coins and non working parking machines that swallow the coins.
    2. the minimum charge is 60 sen for 1 hour. that does not cover time for 30 mins or any time less than the hour eg 1.5 hrs, 2.5 hrs etc. Should introduce 30 sen cupons for 30 mins time in the 60 sen booklet

• Mikey on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Agree with U 100%. The paying public is always on the loosing end. We have to pay 2 hours coupon for 75 minutes parking.

• Come on… 30 sen also want to complaint?

• Dong gor on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:41 am

First of all, we moved from coupons to machines. After investing so much money on machines we then decide to scrap them and move back to ‘green solution-coupons’ . Free douuu.
    And for whatever reasons to reverse gear, the least expectation is to have a smooth transition… Can’t even do that then just give free parking!

• Last last when ask why still kena saman, they point to a hidden obscure spot when there is machine or coupon agents sleeping. Selangor run by “honest” Government. They care for the rakyat(‘s money).

• Honda Fan on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:53 am

I hope MBPJ won’t be like MPSJ, the officers got eyes problem. I got summon for not paying parking even though the parking coupon is shown clearly on my car dashboard.

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Best solution it to forego coupons and machines alltogether. Each car comes with its own registration number. Just take a photo of the parked car and bill its owner for the parking via prepaid online system. If postpaid just charge more. That way no summonses or whatsoever needed.

• Why everywhere we go have to get different type of ticket? After 2-3 years go back to the town then realize the coupon already expired.

• Sarawak has been using this coupon system for decades. Honestly much easier than the machine system. Just buy a booklet, at any parking with numbers displayed just scratch and place it at the window. Only downside is you need to replace every 30 minutes at 20cents. Monthly parking is rm40.

• potato on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Even Maju countries like Singapore still using Coupon system.

In Japan they also use machine ticket system.

Got people complain about it?

1st world infrastructure with 3rd world mentality, even Robocop will become non-functional lo.

But i tell you the reason why the ticket machines are broken, because the contractor is somehow related to gomen officers, these contractors take money and then never do maintenance so they can save money from the maintenance & repair they got paid for. there was a rumour this contractor contract will be terminated due to bad performance but i guess they already “Kao Tim” so no problem.

• Basherlogic on Sep 11, 2017 at 3:58 am

Singapore is small country. They dun even use cars as primary transport and dun care about such stupid rumour. But care to bash others.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 09, 2017 at 8:02 pm

saman only la…mbpj fine no need pay also