Parking coupon system alternative to machines in PJ

There will now be an alternative to using machines for purchasing parking tickets in Petaling Jaya – a coupon parking system can also be used, according to the Petaling Jaya City Council, The Sun reports.

“This system is implemented to manage the control of car parks in Petaling Jaya. It is also an alternative to the existing parking machines. This system will include all the on-street parking currently existing in PJ,” mayor Datuk Mohd Azizi Mohd Zain said.

Three types of coupons will be available – an hourly coupon booklet costing RM6 comprising 10 coupons at RM0.60 each, a daily coupon booklet priced at RM25 with five coupons at RM5 each, and a monthly pass at RM100.

“With this system, there is no more excuse of the parking machines not working. The booklets will be available easily at most retail shops,” Azizi added. At present, there are 16 agents appointed for distribution of the booklets to shops.

The new parking system will be implemented across Petaling Jaya once the services of current concessionaire, Godell Parking, are terminated. More than 700 ticket machines cater to 21,000 parking bays, however, more than half of the machines are faulty, the report said.

We’ve been here before, of course. The coupon method for parking payment was used previously in Petaling Jaya, but was discontinued in 2001.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• tarmiziali on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:02 am

PJ perihatin. Hidup Selangor !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • AhKeong on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:12 am

Very funny…Now my area (Not PJ) they want to stop using coupon system and back to putting coins in those parking machine.

• inb4 somebody made lotsa money printing these… oh wai.. other side..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Cukur la ckit john, MY aman… oh wai

• Cukur now I can cover my dashboard with coupons for whole day parking, then throw it everywhere like in Southoverlordland… oh wai..

• TEACHER MPAMIRE on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:19 am

Good good welcome back to the 18th century…wat has gone wrong here ?? Wat?

• Mikey on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:39 am

The coupon is from MPSJ meaning Majlis Perbandaran Subang Jaya. This cover Seri Kembangan, Puchong & Subang Jaya. The hourly coupon booklet costing RM5 comprising 10 coupons at RM0.50 each.

The hourly coupon booklet costing RM6 comprising 10 coupons at RM0.60 each is for Petaling Jaya. Why do we need dual parking system?? Because currently more than half of the machines are faulty – according to the report. If 95% of the machines are in working conditions, we do not need a coupon system.

My take is – A coupon system means U have to pay in advance to buy the booklet & “hourly” meaning U pay 2 hours even if U are parking for 1 hour 15 minutes. Smart way of increasing revenue that I must say.

• Leonardo on Aug 30, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Adopt Touch nGo is best

• DBKL alredi using TnG for their machines. If not using scratch and win cards, how the scam -i mean- contracted printer earn money?

• Some say why pay money in advance to them for using their servis… oh wait.. thats TnG. But same same anyways.

• The Saint on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:40 am

IMO, the coupon system is more convenient and more practical vs the machine.

Machine is more costly and vandalism and maintenance has always been an issue, not to mention the inconvenience when it is raining.

• 12yrsold on Aug 30, 2017 at 3:47 pm

U must be one of the very few who pay for parking even when it is raining !! Bravo Saint. I guess its not easy living up to your NAME.

• hate the coupon system, you pay upfront and such a hassle

• now we are going backwards

• Susukotak on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:54 am

other country already used machine can accept credit card. we turn back to coupon system which is not user friendly. occasional user like me a bit hassle to park the buy a coupon then go back to the car then do the business.
    Hopefully MBPJ & MBSA can consider 10 minute parking lot for certain location especially at ATM. school or any suitable location.
    Pun heafty fine for user park more than 10 min.
    Tq

• Shafiq on Aug 30, 2017 at 1:03 pm

In London, they use apps to pay for the parking lot. But for sure their enforcement is good.

We can practice this in Malaysia and along the way, the enforcement will be improve

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Aug 30, 2017 at 1:59 pm

jockey service can solve all the problem here. classy too.

• Parking app on Aug 30, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Shah Alam, the neighbor of PJ is already using parking app.

• Habislah going around Selangor! MPK use coins, MBSA use app, MBPJ use scratch & win cards.

• viknes36 on Aug 30, 2017 at 3:30 pm

omg, plz la use the mobile app. Book will have expiry and those who dont travel rarely to PJ is waste. Book total waste of time and paper. GO PAPERLESS!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 30, 2017 at 8:17 pm

long ago should be like this

• Watch it flop like Subang Jaya