2018 Yamaha Niken Leaning Multi-Wheeler (LMW) revealed – three wheels, double forks and it leans

Something a little different is the 2018 Yamaha Niken Leaning Multi-Wheeler (LMW) scheduled to have its world premiere at the Esposizione Internazionale Ciclo Motociclo e Accessori (EICMA) show in Milan, Italy this November 6. This three-wheeler uses double upside-down front forks with 15-inch wheels mounted on single-sided front hubs.

While there are precious few details on the LMW, we can guess that its basis is the MT-09 Tracer, with tall seat height and upright riding position. Yamaha claims the LMW will deliver a high feeling of stability when cornering, and “excellent performance for spirited and sporty riding on various road surfaces and the capability to freely carve through the continuous corners of winding roads.”

From the pictures, and assuming the underlying machine uses the MT-09 power plant, claimed power will be in the order of 115 PS at 10,000 rpm and torque rated at 87.5 Nm at 8,500 rpm. The cast beam frame of the MT-09 is gone though, replaced with a trellis frame.

Bodywork up top is very much wider, to accommodate the rather larger upper and lower yokes needed for the double-fork tilting wheel assembly. Headlights on the Niken look to be a combination of projector lamps with LED DRLs, and LED turn signals are located in the wing mirrors.

It is not known if the Niken has a stabilisation system to keep itself upright at parking lot speeds, or if the steering geometry is designed for 100% rider intervention. Keep reading for more details on new motorcycle models being revealed at the EICMA show.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ben Yap on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:01 pm

why need so many tyres?

might as well make another seat beside the rider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • ex-VGM staff on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:28 am

such concept is not new and has been introduced by Piaggio and Peugoet for quite some time already.

• Aderla on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:10 pm

At least we got OKU friendly superbike

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Babydriver on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:57 pm

You just made a great point. I agree with you.

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:26 am

Your point have good intention but I think this bike with tall seat height & upright riding position will not be suitable for OKU. Just saying bro. Cheers…

• Proton oh Proton on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:12 pm

This is out of Box thinking? I understand custom made for special people to ride superbike…

• Boh Chap on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:06 pm

this bike sure get stuck in KL traffic jam. Cannot celok-celok lah….

• Bernard on Oct 26, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Thats why its suitable for a civilised country where cars are less, roads are nice and people follow the laws

• Looks cool AF. 1 more wheel and it’s an ATV !

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:17 am

Why do U want to pay extra $$$ to fix a wheel & spoil the bike for its intended purpose beside the warranties.

• archie5k on Oct 25, 2017 at 8:17 pm

now everyone can lean like Marquez with this bike..no more “gayat”

• Mokmok on Oct 25, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Can do wheelie or not?

• kopiokaokao on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:11 pm

The kind of neither here nor there design surely will fail big time :p

• It really looks like a ski mobile.
    not something i cant get used to. can be quite sexy

• armandd on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:44 pm

I think there’s no need for this. Just use a much wider front tyre to get the grip. Besides, it looks damn ugly! If you really need stability, drive a car instead.

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Oct 26, 2017 at 1:07 am

Probably need to apply new license to ride this bike, which Lesen C (Motokar 3 roda)

• karam singh on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:33 am

Toyota had created one and it is called Toyota i-road. perhaps paultan.org would like to have the news covered as well.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:45 am

We already did, in 2013: https://paultan.org/2013/03/06/toyota-i-road-three-wheeled-ev-fun-for-two/

• Chinni hari on May 20, 2018 at 1:01 am

Any