Toll collection to end at 4 toll booths from Jan 1, 2018

Malaysian prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, during his Budget 2018 speech, has announced four toll booths will cease collection from January 1, 2018.

The affected toll booths include two in Selangor – Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau – where Class 1 vehicles (Two axles with three or four wheels, excluding taxis) are currently required to pay RM1 and RM1.10, respectively.

Meanwhile, the remaining two toll booths are at Bukit Kayu Hitam, Kedah and on the Eastern Dispersal Link, Johor. With this news, how much do you stand to save a day on toll payments?

For more information on Budget 2018, head on over to our main updates article, here.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• C. P. MOHAN on Oct 27, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Sorry if not very excited over this toll abolition because I believe the tolls and many other tolls should not be there but nevertheless relieved for the abolition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 21
    • 85 Year Old Man on Oct 27, 2017 at 7:18 pm

How to trust this? 4 years ago also we were promised car price reduction of 30%.

Every year since then we waited waited and waited.

But terbalik, car prices went up higher and higher and higher every year the past 4 years.

So, how to trust?

Also, the Government will have to pay compensation to their own GLC UEM few hundred million.

At the end of the day, it is still using rakyat’s money. This means, schools and hospitals will get lesser funding.

Rakyat still suffer whatever case

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 114
      • Dude.. what good is good. Just accept it n enjoy life. Always complaint 24/7.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 85
        • Michael Arulampalam on Oct 28, 2017 at 7:34 am

The concessionaires still have to be paid BILLIONS in compensation. Where do you think the money is going to come from?

This was a Grand Masterplan. They contract was extended another 20 years just few years ago (2015) so that now, it can be “abolished”

So now, untung lah the concessionaire.

Why the contract was extended in 2015? Better to just abolish it then and further untung cause no compensation need to be paid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 65
        • Carol on Oct 28, 2017 at 11:22 am

Good? You do know that they will extend the tenure of other toll concessionaires due to this abolishment! Nothing good comes out from this.

• Rightwinger on Oct 28, 2017 at 8:07 am

Hello, Sungai Nyior (Butterworth) toll house is still standing. What happened to the promise to demolish that toll house if oppo won election in 2008?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 12
        • Hishamuddin on Oct 28, 2017 at 11:20 am

same like 30% reduce car prices. Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world but our GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world.

It is hard for Malaysians to buy cars without sacrifice.

• Kangkong on Oct 28, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Opposition did not win federal la. Those road belong to federal gorvernment. Not state government.

• Woi bangang. Toll is under federal government la

• oh mak lu on Oct 28, 2017 at 11:49 pm

state government has no power to do that. If they had, whole selangor also would have no toll anymore. dont talk about penang.

• These people have selective memory recall. Just like tun

• RM2.10 x 2kali x 20hari = RM84/bln.
      Gonna refill back RON97 for 330e Bimmer^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 22
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Oct 27, 2017 at 8:23 pm

Just say thank you and be grateful…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 48
      • Michael Arulampalam on Oct 28, 2017 at 7:54 am

Government does not own money. They are using your money (taxpayers)

Someone use your money to buy you a gift and then you say thank you to him?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 19
        • Michael, from which kindergarten are you from? Say I use my money and buy school shirt for you and you use it everyday to school. Somehow you fell and not very succesfull because you are just stupid. Then you want to repay me back because my investment is just not wrong. I will say thank you because it is ur effort to give back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
  • Good job government. Kudos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 71
  • whammybar on Oct 27, 2017 at 6:47 pm

if i am not mistaken, i read that Plus Berhad extended concession period to Dec 2038, sg rasau and batu 3 included. if this termination were to take place, means govt must compensate UEM Group hundreds of millions RM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 18
    • Rooney on Oct 28, 2017 at 12:28 am

If based on your fact, gov compensate UEM, which pays dividends to gov, then go back to gov pocket, so everybody happy what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 18
    • Henry on Oct 28, 2017 at 8:58 am

There is no free lunch. Someone somewhere has to pay for it.

The Gomen’s revenue per year is finite. So they’ll take some here and give some there. In the end the taxpayers pay for everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Smokey on Oct 27, 2017 at 6:54 pm

Wasn’t the batu 3 toll given 20 years extension in 2015?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • 1. Government will have to pay compensation to Plus for early toll collection termination. Tax payer is the one that has to bear this cost in millions. The correct way is to buy back from Plus.
    2. Both Kesas and NKVE still has toll running. It will choke and bring Federal Highway to a standstill as everyone will jump into this toll free highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Finding Duri on Oct 28, 2017 at 7:14 am

Cheaper to use public transports than driving. KTM, Kelana Jaya LRT, MRT…

• oh mak lu on Oct 28, 2017 at 11:50 pm

Cheapest way is to use a bike. But people with a little bit more money then the rest do not do that because afraid to die.

• 12yrsold on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Cheapest if U walk or faster if U bicycle. No air pollution, no need to pay parking, No road tax/insurance to pay plus healthier too.

• NO HAPPY on Oct 27, 2017 at 8:01 pm

So sad…m soooooo use tooooo the jam at the toll….now wat m i going to do with my free time ah?? Wat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Oct 27, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Takut dgn orang johor kedah dan selangor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Andrekua on Oct 27, 2017 at 10:55 pm

Duke2 just opened. RM2.50 leh.

Funny part is how they completed the whole highway but the bottom public road which suffered huge damage during the construction was not restored. Purposely leaving the public road bad so that you’ll use the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Jason Chee on Oct 28, 2017 at 7:21 am

the bottom public roads of SPRINT highway all so nice. those areas around damansara, hartamas, duta. good job!

• Ben Yap on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:43 am

i was hoping for LDP toll to be abolished. We pay to get stucked in the jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Ride kapcai so no problem.

• LDP do not belong to PNB & UEM. NSE/Federal Hiway do

• Andrekua on Oct 28, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Unfortunately the best way to avoid jam on LDP is by waking up early. Used to work in Subang many years ago, travelling via LDP. A difference of 15 minutes (reach ldp toll at 7am compared to reaching toll around 715am) would result in massive difference in travelling time. If 7am, would reach glenmarie before 8am. If 715am, would reach before 9am. It is scary how much could change in 15 minutes.

• There were developers proposed to build a bridge and road at cost price to directly link Puchong (Tesco/Lake Edge area) to USJ (bypasssing LDP toll) but the government rejected it a few times. The government rejected it even though LDP is congested most of the time. They just wanna continue to suck money from road users. All the government slogans of caring for us are BIG FAT LIES.

• Zamri mansor on Oct 28, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Hapus tol bkt kayu hitam x ada makna lgsung bg org utara.. tol jitra rm1.60 tu yg sptutnya dhapuskan.

• Anonymous on Oct 28, 2017 at 2:33 pm

A bit out of topic here… considering there were recurring incidents on our expressways and highways where vehicles had jumped over and crashed into the opposing lanes and create jams on both ways… it is time the authorities look into and find better solutions regarding impact barriers dividing the lanes.

• infinity on Oct 28, 2017 at 2:51 pm

From my reading, the toll concessions was extended to 2038 to ensure that the toll rate won’t go up. Otherwise, we will see periodic increment of the toll rate every 5 years or so.
    Also, the Government has to compensate PLUS for the abolishment of these toll. However, PLUS is jointly owned by EPF and UEM (and UEM is 100% owned by Khazanah, which is the Government investment arm). Thus, compensation from the Government to PLUS will go to EPF (i.e. the Rakyat’s pocket) and UEM (i.e. to Khazanah – which is also back into the Government’s pocket). So, it is sort of like from right pocket to left pocket. Win Win.

• venven81 on Oct 29, 2017 at 8:34 am

if i recall correctly, there are new fishbone lanes being constructed at sg rasau/batu tiga toll. now suddenly our beloved jib kor announced about the abolition? is this for real? if it is, i happily welcome it as i’m sick and tired of these 2 tolls that are like sitting there forever after a few times of extension!

• 12yrsold on Oct 29, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Hello Gov, Only Rakyat that use the 4 tolls benefit. That is called selective/discriminating.

• Aniki Tan on Oct 30, 2017 at 12:07 am

yes, more sweet for us pls… but we will still go for change~

• Since the gomen is “buying” back the concession with our money, shldnt the gomen consider the way they are giving concessions?? It feels like “buying back 1, but giving out 2″….

• azhar on Oct 30, 2017 at 8:48 am

sendiri buat sendiri extend sendiri mansuh sendiri perasan hero..haha