Toyota mulls hardcore Hilux to rival the Ranger Raptor

Toyota Australia is apparently considering the idea of introducing a muscled-up version of the Hilux, according to a report by CarAdvice. The company only has the SR5 (similar to our 2.8 G) and TRD as its range toppers, but the company’s sales and marketing boss Sean Hanley said they may not be quite hot enough to compete in the long run.

“Clearly there’s a gap for us. We don’t have the level four (a model above the SR5 and TRD),” said Hanley. This comes on the back of recent waves made by Ford with its new Ranger Raptor, one that will reportedly pack a brand new 2.0 litre EcoBlue twin-turbo diesel engine and of course, the rugged Raptor look.

“However, it is clear to us that the demand sits one step above that level three now, which is our SR5. We’ve been able to fill that gap somewhat with our TRD vehicle. We certainly understand that in the future, we’ll have to examine very closely what we do to fill that gap to ensure that our number-one selling car continues to hold that momentum in the future,” added Hanley.

The Hilux is currently leading the automotive sales chart (year-to-date; approximately 35,229 units as of October 4, 2017) Down Under, and the company believes it will finish number one for the year. The Ranger trails closely behind in second place with 32,620 units. Who says competition isn’t healthy?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• muscleboy on Nov 03, 2017 at 12:18 pm

Suck it ranger! This is Monster toyota !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 28
    • citizenjohn on Nov 03, 2017 at 2:06 pm

ibn4 TRD hailuxt only has “hardcore” stickers & bodykit upgrade…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
    • No Hilux,you’re out of man’s league. on Nov 03, 2017 at 4:54 pm

I’m a man so i’ll go for rRanger raptor.Seriously,Hilux? I can’t stand the sissy look and specs!

• Ruslan on Nov 04, 2017 at 11:50 am

Like those Toyota Fortuners used by respected jpj, pdrm & kastam. Hilux great trusted workhorse 2.

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 03, 2017 at 12:39 pm

The thing is Toyota Hilux only has a v6 which is available in certain markets

But the price of it is not pleasant which is equivalent to a Ford ecoboost 2.3

Ford ranger raptor in the other hand uses the ecoblue 2L from Ford edge or expedition and transit. By adding a twin turbo will probably exceed 250 bhp and 500nm torque easily

I say is possible for Hilux to step up but their engines are very dated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Laurie K Gilbert on Nov 03, 2017 at 1:29 pm

I think one of the major image problems Toyota Malaysia are not addressing with the Hilux is the ease with which it is stolen – in the case of the new model, within seconds. As an ex-Hilux owner who had one stolen 6 years ago, the more butch and macho Toyota make their new Hilux in appearance, the less time it will ever spend with the legal owner – you love it – you buy it – they steal it.

• Douglas Tan on Nov 03, 2017 at 1:44 pm

Can’t blame Toyota for this. Blame PDRM for not keeping our streets safe. And blame the crooked officers who are in cohorts with the syndicates to steal cars.

Many are in the game. Even Kastam, Immigration control etc. Until we wipe out corruption, more Hilux will be stolen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Greenpeas on Nov 03, 2017 at 2:38 pm

MY crime index dropping woh. Grateful MY in peace..

• My england is bad on Nov 04, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Biasa la article citer pasal hilux then derails to gomen pulak

• Don’t worry, this new hilux comes with ‘double lock’ feauture that help to avoid from get this car stolen fasterly.

• Fadli on Nov 05, 2017 at 8:18 am

Dear Matt,

Did you meen Ford F-150 Raptor? or the Ranger Wildtrak?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 05, 2017 at 6:23 pm

It’s the Ranger Raptor, which Ford has officially announced: https://paultan.org/2017/10/03/ford-ranger-raptor-to-feature-a-2-0-litre-turbodiesel/