Singaporeans yet to settle 37,506 summonses since 2014, amounting to around RM4.2 million – report

It seems Singaporeans have yet to keep up with traffic summonses they’ve incurred in Malaysia – according to The Sun, as many as 37,506 summonses involving citizens of the island nation remain unsettled since 2014, making up more than half of the 61,057 outstanding summonses issued to foreign vehicles.

Drivers in foreign vehicles racked up a total of 81,708 summonses over the past three years, said Bukit Aman’s traffic investigation and enforcement department director SAC Sharul Othman Mansor, with 50,616 of them belonging to Singaporeans.

“A total of 20,651 summonses have been paid, but we still have more than 61,000 yet to be settled,” he said. “There is no excuse for these foreigners not to settle their summonses as they have various avenues to do so. They can easily check and pay their summonses at 900 kiosks in Singapore, online, traffic branches, at Johor Premium Outlets as well as at the Gelang Patah rest areas.”

Sharul added that between 2014 and last Saturday (November 25), police officers have written around 20 million summonses to both foreign and local vehicles, with more than 12 million still outstanding. He said that since 2000, Singaporeans made up the bulk of the summonses issued to foreign vehicles.

Police has said that its efforts to get Singaporeans to settle their outstanding summonses, which amount to around RM4.2 million, will continue. Conversely, motorists across the Causeway have told the media earlier this year that they were willing to pay for the summonses, but wanted proof that they were the ones who committed the offence, citing cloned vehicles used on Malaysian roads as a cause for concern.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 12yrsold on Nov 27, 2017 at 11:14 am

Asking Singaporean to check & pay their summonses are like asking Malaysian to do the same. Humans are all the same be it MY/SG/US/UK. Humans will NEVER pay summons unless…

• Ask to pay before leaving. Why so difficult? Set up another booth at checkpoints. Provide proofs when asked so no need to complain. Fair enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • 12yrsold on Nov 27, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Now that’s what I call providing a solution to a problem. Thanks for sharing bro. Cheers…

• Then jammed because of it, My pipu is the one who kecoh. Funny is it.

• Zahmin on Nov 27, 2017 at 2:49 pm

This is why Singapore will always have more brains than Malaysians. This is why their GDP Per Capita is 6x that of Malaysia. And this is why the SGD is 3.3 to the RM Ringgit.

No need scientist or rocket science. Singapore implemented this 20 years ago. You don’t pay saman, you cannot even leave the country. At immigration, you will be caught.

In Malaysia, we still cannot think of that simple solution. We will have 10 mesyuarat to bincang and study the solution. The mesyuarats will take 20 over years. But still no solution.

So simple lah. Just prevent any Singapore car from returning to their home country unless they pay any saman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Film asspert on Nov 27, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Unless Interpol break into their house and catch them alive…..Pay or jail.option..

• YB Albert on Nov 27, 2017 at 6:55 pm

Simple.Those cars with even 1 unpaid summon,stop the dude…create a few lorongs for Uturn back to Lee Hsien loong to shame them.

• MeToo on Nov 27, 2017 at 11:22 am

Msia cars pay every single summon in SIngapore…

While Singaporean dont give a damn about Msian summons…

The only difference is…ENFORCEMENT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • innsbruck on Dec 01, 2017 at 7:32 pm

that is the good n the bad thing about msia that i will miss whenever i drive abroad… i dare not exceed speed limit at some places a 30km/h (swiss) coz there are thousands of speed cam.. here in msia u can have sunday morning drive without a fear of getting a ticket…. that is msia

• Type R honda is a toy on Nov 27, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Block all cars entering malaysia that have yet to settle summons.

• shawn lim on Nov 27, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Just threaten to ban SG cars from driving on Malaysian roads … SG govt will step in to help collect guaranteed.

• Slirh on Nov 27, 2017 at 1:20 pm

I failed to understand the statement that our law enforcement agency which states they cant collect the summons. Our immigration and Police are already integrated. Stop them from entering or if they try to leave, detained them at our king’s pleasure until they pay up. No ifs or buts. Everyone is not above the law and Singaporean should know these better as the have one of the strictest law in the world.

• Andrekua on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Talk cock only…

How many outstanding summons by Malaysians? Own backyard also lazy to do enforcement, now want to target Singaporeans who only come once or twice a week? Got so hardworking or not?

• Want money but never want to do works. Malaysia style, get used of durian jatuh.