2018 Hyundai Santa Fe – first images, details revealed

Hyundai has released first images of the new fourth-generation Santa Fe, which will be available for booking in its home market of South Korea starting tomorrow. The big SUV gets an all-new look as well as a range of infotainment and safety technologies.

The sole front three-quarter image shows a design that takes after the hydrogen-powered Nexo, with dual-tier headlights featuring slim upper daytime running lights and larger main lighting units lower down. There’s also the cascading grille that is fast becoming a Hyundai signature, along with prominent squared-off wheel arches and a strong shoulder line that stretches across the full length of the vehicle.

Inside, the Santa Fe takes after the smaller Kona with a three-tier dashboard – the freestanding infotainment display sits up top, followed by the slim air vents in the middle and the rest of the switchgear down below. Hyundai says the cabin uses high-quality materials and colours, and prioritises customer convenience.

Practicality, a major consideration for buyers in this segment, has also been improved. The increased length and wheelbase providing what Hyundai claims is best-in-class legroom for the second row, while third-row headroom has also been increased. Entry and egress for those in the last row has also been made easier, and a one-touch seat folding function will also be available to increase boot space if needed.

In terms of technology, the Santa Fe will be offered with BlueLink 2.0 (free for five years, up from two currently), which provides telematics services such as remote start, security and vehicle management functions, and real-time navigation guidance via smartphone connectivity. There’s also a song identification feature, developed in conjunction with SoundHound.

Additionally, a new server-based voice recognition system incorporates artificial intelligence technology from Korean tech company Kakao to improve functionality and accuracy. This enables the system to recognise more natural speech patterns, such as when asking for route guidance to a specific location.

On the safety front, the Santa Fe will come as standard in Korea with Forward Collision Warning (FCW) and Avoidance Assist (FCA), Lane Keeping Assist (LKA), Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Driver Attention Warning (DAW) and High Beam Assist (HBA). There are also a number of other technologies that are either a world first, or a first for the Hyundai Motor Group.

In the former category, there’s the Safe Exit Assist (SEA) which, in addition to warning if a passenger is about to open a rear door into the path of an approaching vehicle, will also lock said door. The Santa Fe also sees the first use of Rear Occupant Alert (ROA), which will alert the driver upon leaving the car if it detects a passenger still sitting in the rear of the car.

Lastly, the Rear Cross-Traffic Collision Avoidance Assist (RCCA) will apply the brakes to prevent a collision with crossing traffic when reversing out of narrow spaces with limited visibility. Hyundai says it’s the first time a Hyundai or Kia is fitted with such a system.

Engine choices include a 2.0 litre turbo petrol mill and 2.0 and 2.2 litre turbodiesels, although no output figures have been released just yet. An eight-speed automatic transmission and Hyundai’s HTRAC all-wheel drive system are standard across the range.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Applegreen on Feb 06, 2018 at 11:55 am

Wow..2.2 turbodiesel. This is mazda cx5 2.2 diesel challenger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Seoul on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:11 pm

The current model is using 2.2 crdi turbo diesel with 200ps 440nm. Sorry the power output is way above mazda 2.2 170ps 400nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • but Mazda CX5 diesel is lighter compared to SF…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • Sri Jayaraman on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:18 pm

Really cannot compare this car to CX5. CX5 holds its value very well.

Hyundai, within 3 years already become 60% less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
          • For a jepunis, mazda has terrible RV. A Mazda 3 (2010) can only sell at same price as City (2010).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
          • Good, intending to buy this 2nd hand. Currently the 2013 model is around RM80k and hope can drop extra RM20k tomorrow so can buy :)

• lalok on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:40 pm

Santa Fe is 5+2 seater, the rival should be CX-9, not CX-5.

• Sri Jayaraman on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:16 pm

Looks great but I hope the Gomen owned GLC Sime Darby does not price it so high like the last time. Nearly RM185k.

Such a super cheap car in other markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • No such thing. In down south, the price of this can alredi buy u a XC90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • klguy on Feb 06, 2018 at 4:02 pm

down south or down under?

• Down Under not in ASEAN. Down south is.

• Down Under? Or Singapore? If latter you’re out of mind since the republic is famous for their super efficient yet reliable public transportation and small city state.

Down Under? Substantially cheaper bro. Even CR-V 2.0 sub-RM100k at 24,990 AUD =76,833.27MYR.

RM76,833 you can get the cheapest City or Jazz.

• lalok on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:50 pm

considering CX-9 sells at 288k, 185 for SF is quite cheap i think.. another option would be isuzu MU-X, but with less power & 5-speeder with almost same price, i would say SF still a better choice.. but people choice is subjective anyway..

• Kiakona on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Not a real challenger in term of sales, only on specs XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Urmmm…..SF has been running 2.2 since ages ago

• Metoo on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:59 pm

Santa Fe 2.0turbo rm167k cheap too.

• CX-5 is same segment as Tucson. CX-9 is the more suitable rival for Santa Fe. That being said, the Santa Fe just keep getting better with each new generation. The interior especially, looks to be a huge improvement over current model in terms of perceived quality and aesthetics.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 35
      • remote on Feb 06, 2018 at 6:26 pm

2018 Hyundai Santa Fe is much better than 2018 Mazda CX 5 because 2018 Hyundai Santa FE is very nice exterior design, more safety features, interior equipment has more features, engine is more powerful, interior design is also very nice and 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe also have 8 Speed Automatic. Where 2018 Mazda CX 5 is not very nice for both exterior and interior design, doesn’t have much interior features compare to 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe, 2018 Mazda CX 5 engine is not very powerful compare to new 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe engine, 2018 Mazda CX 5 has not much safety features compare to New 2018 Hyundai Santa Fe and 2018 Mazda CX 5 is only 6 speed automatic compare to 8 Speed Automatic. Overall, 2018 Hyundai Santa FE is better choice compare to 2018 Mazda CX 5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Both exterior and interior are nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Feb 06, 2018 at 12:08 pm

Wow that interior! The Koreans are really moving forward

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Really handsome suv, no major complaints

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Guess someone really liked Mazda 6 new design a lot with the center LCD and the small light and big grill at the front.

• wwoooooowwwwww!

• Marieta on Feb 06, 2018 at 2:02 pm

I hope it retain the B-Piller aircond vent like previous version with the rear aircond vent in the middle console

• policeman on Feb 06, 2018 at 2:31 pm

No point getting Korean car. CNY is coming really no fun when have to park far far away during family gathering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 39
    • Letstorque on Feb 06, 2018 at 2:55 pm

I drive a Saga. i guess better take Uber to family gathering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Foolish comment.Not everyone can afford a brand new or used car. If I take the train and grabcar to CNY gathering how? Whats the problem?

• Proton Ke Arah Kuasa Dunia on Feb 11, 2018 at 3:20 pm

Lol this would be the case 5-10 years ago but Korean cars today are on par if not better than it’s competitors esp the Japs . Heck I would dare say the Korean beat the Japs in terms of styling and features. The Chinese are catching up fast too. I guess with more options on the market, more power for consumers!

• apamau on Feb 06, 2018 at 2:35 pm

Wow.. nice, if it come with better safety, better ride and better 2.0 turbo, will definitely upgrade mine.

• passion on Feb 06, 2018 at 3:11 pm

How can we break the mindset of Malaysians that the Korean cars a no good. That is the question.

• Chris on Feb 06, 2018 at 7:13 pm

I have a Kia, and no way anyone can make me buy a Korean Car… The risk is too high. I beg my Kia not to spoil every month…. i also, searching for Car workshops every now and then to treat the KIA terminal illnesses…

No more… just no more…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Dug Ong on Feb 06, 2018 at 7:56 pm

Kimchi car fuel guzzlers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • kiaownertoo on Feb 06, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Mind stating what Kia model? Owning Kia Forte for nearly 8 years now..very2 reliable car indeed. Infact, i’m eyeing to upgrade to another Kia car..the Optima GT

• salesman toyota on Feb 06, 2018 at 10:27 pm

keep your lies to yourself indeed we are more mature to think which are good which are not

• Elchino on Feb 06, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Any chance we can get this new model in Malaysia before the end of the year?

• papers on Feb 06, 2018 at 5:09 pm

Bye Bye to 2018 Mazda CX 5. Soon later people will buy Hyundai Santa Fe 2018 in the future and new Hyundai Santa Fe is very nice design and better engines and more safety and more features compare to 2018 Mazda CX 5 where 2018 Mazda CX 5 designs looks a bit terrible compare to New Hyundai Santa Fe 2018, 2018 Mazda CX 5 engine is underpowered compared to Hyundai Santa Fe 2018 and also Mazda Infotainment screen is too small which 4.6 TFT Inch compare to Hyundai Santa Fe 2018. So I recommend you to buy Hyundai Santa Fe 2018 rather than buying 2018 Mazda CX-5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • I am current owner of Santa Fe. Though I can’t say the car is without problem, but I enjoyed my ride a lot. If this car comes in with a price range of RM170K, I will upgrade. Hope the center console and the gear stick armrest area are raised higher than the current gen, which gives a further feel of premium.

Exterior front is great and sleek. Very modern. But the rest of the body is just “another SC

Mazda CX-5 is a different segment, and is a 5 seater. So some guys here are not giving a fair comparison. I would have gone for CX-5 if I am willing to give up my rear seats. In the current CX-5, interior has superb quality and design, when you compared to the Santa Fe DM. This new generation, however, will give a very good contention to all other SUV in Malaysia.

Both Santa Fe and CX-5 resale value sucks like crying baby. But grown up people who buy good cars like these understand better than just resale value.

• Victor on Feb 07, 2018 at 2:04 pm

Bye Bye to both CX5 and Santa Fe !!

No more interested and going for more up market premium SUVs– upgrading to premium brands

Thanks for all previous CX5 and tease Santa Fe reviews..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Matthew Chu on Aug 15, 2018 at 12:19 am

If you love the car, who care Resale Value? And I believe Santa Fe has less problem too, Diesel engine 2.2 is mature enough after so many years on Road. Korean are improving a lots nowaday. Just like Samsung, Kpop Dancer, Bboy Street Best Power Move & Many many things are now International Standard Worldwide Recognized Brand Of Korea If you do. It know, you are really Out Dated sorry to say this, but you really need to Upgrade a little ☺️☺️☺️