Ford Ranger Raptor debuts in Thailand – new 2.0L biturbo diesel, 213 PS, 500 Nm; 10-speed automatic!

Truckers, rejoice! Ford has finally unveiled the all-new Ranger Raptor here in Thailand, and it’s the first time in the Blue Oval’s history that the Raptor moniker is being used by a model other than the F-150.

The Ranger Raptor is not an all-new model, but rather an extensively modified version of the latest Ranger T6. The headlining change is of course the fitment of a brand new 2.0 litre twin-turbo diesel, producing 213 PS and a whopping 500 Nm of torque.

The EcoBlue engine is from the new Panther family, which is making its debut in the region. As a comparison, the Ranger’s 2.0 litre unit has a higher output than the 3.2 litre Duratorq straight-five (200 PS/470 Nm), and the new engine redlines at 4,500 rpm.

Power is harnessed from a new and larger intake manifold, and if turbo lag comes to mind, fret not. Ford says the biturbo setup here is comprised of a smaller high-pressure turbocharger and a larger turbocharger. At lower engine speeds, both turbos work in series, enhancing torque and responsiveness, while at higher engine speeds the smaller turbo is completely bypassed, relying solely on the larger turbo to provide boost.

Another highlight here is the new Getrag 10R80 10-speed automatic transmission mated to said engine, one that is shared with the F-150. Ford engineers say that the gear ratios have been specifically matched to the engine, ensuring optimal power and efficiency in any gear. Having 10 gears help create a wider ratio-span, improving acceleration and responsiveness. Gearshifts are also said to be quicker.

The transmission is constructed with the combination of high-strength steel, aluminium and composites for durability and weight optimisation. There’s also an all-new adaptive shift-scheduling software to help ensure the right gear is selected at the right time. Paddle shifters come as standard.

That’s not all. The Raptor name also implies that the Ranger is imbued with far more off-roadability than any of its Ranger siblings, and it is. Given the high speeds and punishment that off-road racing provides, the frame has been made stiffer thanks to the use of high-strength low-alloy (HSLA) steel, including the side rails.

Not only is the new skeleton made for taking a beating, it also allows the incorporation of new geometry for the beefed-up suspension. The front now comes with protruding shock absorber towers, while bespoke coilovers take their place at the rear axle. The latter features a Watt’s link setup (like the Everest), allowing the axle to move up and down with very little lateral movement.

A set of 46.6 mm Fox Racing Shox dampers are also part of the setup, with the Position Sensitive Damping (PSD) units capable of delivering high damping forces while off-road at full jounce, and comfort-oriented lower forces in the mid-travel zone when you’re on the road.

Those wheels you see here are 17-inch Raptor-specific alloys, and are wrapped with 285/70 profile BF Goodrich all-terrain tyres. Behind them you’ll find the uprated braking system, with twin-piston front calipers that are 9.5 mm larger than a regular Ranger’s. They clamp onto 332 mm ventilated rotors, while a single-piston 54 mm caliper handles the rear.

As usual, the visual differences come courtesy of the Raptor styling pack, starting with the unique blacked-out grille and giant ‘FORD’ lettering. The frame-mounted front bumper is designed for durability performance in mind, and features LED fog lamps and functional air ducts.

The fender flares are necessary for the longer suspension travel and bigger wheels, and are made of composite material to resist physical damage like dents and dings. These changes result in a truck that is 1,873 mm tall, 2,180 mm wide and 5,398 mm long, with wider front and rear tracks at 1,710 mm (+150 mm). Ground clearance is also up to 283 mm, while more off-roading-related numbers include an approach angle of 32.5 degrees, ramp over angle of 24 degrees, and departure angle of 24 degrees.

Elsewhere, the step board were designed specifically to prevent rock spray from hitting the rear of the truck. Ford elaborates by saying that component is made of an aluminium alloy, one that can handles loads of 100 kg being applied 84,000 times. A two-stage coating process not only gives it a rugged finish, but makes it resistant to scuffs, scratches, stains and whatever Mother Nature has in store.

While we’re at the rear, the bumper comes with an integrated tow bar and two recovery hooks rated at 3.8 tonnes. Finer details are the flush reverse sensor bezels and specially-packed tow connectors. The flatbed measures 1,560 mm wide and 1,743 mm long, plus there are holes designed to drain sand, mud and snow after you’re done fooling around off-road. If you need to tow things, make sure they don’t exceed the 2,500 kg towing capacity.

To make sure its underbelly isn’t damaged, the Ranger Raptor gets a bash plate made from 2.3 mm-thick high-strength steel. Along with the silver-finished skid plates and transfer case undershields, the following items are protected – radiator, Electric Power Assisted Steering (EPAS), Front End Accessory Drive (FEAD), front cross-member, engine sump and front differential.

Inside, the Ranger Raptor’s cabin gets the a makeover in line with its Ford Performance label, and includes seats that are designed for off-road high speed performance. There’s also blue stitching and leather accents in various areas, and the driver has a sportier steering wheel and magnesium paddle shifters to play with. Lastly, the cluster has been tweaked to encompass the various drive modes.

Under the Terrain Management System, there are six modes to cycle through. The first two – Normal and Sport – are tailored for on-road use and are pretty self-explanatory. The off-road modes – Grass/Gravel/Snow, Mud/Sand, Rock and Baja – are the remaning four, with the last one setting up the vehicle for maximum performance off-road, like what drivers need in the famous Baja Rally.

Other bits of equipment include an eight-inch touchscreen for the SYNC 3 infotainment system, a rearview camera and a suite of safety systems – ESC, Trailer Sway Control, Hill Start Assist, Hill Descent Control and Load Adaptive Control.

There will be five exterior colour options for the Ranger Raptor – Lightning Blue, Race Red, Shadow Black, Frozen White and a unique hero colour called Conquer Grey – accompanied by Dyno Grey accents. According to Ford, the new Ranger Raptor is “set to turn heads throughout Asia Pacific and around the world.” I’m sure many of you are hoping that Malaysia will be among the countries receiving the performance pick-up truck. Fingers crossed, guys.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Just what I wd like to drive on Thailand’s roads.. fed up with their (lack of)road manners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 07, 2018 at 9:22 pm

I am amazed!!! It has even higher torque than a Porsche 911 Carrera S

• John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:27 am

Double edged sword. This will be a big hit in Malaysia. Hopefully buyers don’t stinge and pour dirty Euro 2 diesel in it.

I hope either buyers pour clean Euro 5 diesel our our Government bans Euro 2 diesel completely. Euro 2 Diesel was banned in Europe in 1994, 24 years ago cause it was proven to be poison and cancer causing.

We are still using it 24 years later

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
      • MeToo on Feb 08, 2018 at 11:12 am

Its only 30nm more then the current WildTrak.. nothing to shout about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Yusuf Iman Bin Quek on Feb 08, 2018 at 11:42 am

But 1.2 liter less in displacement, that is alot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Abdullsss on Feb 08, 2018 at 12:52 pm

It is not just the numbers. Study the torque curve when it is published. You’ll have a flatter torque curve and with higher rev limit, it will be a different beast. The 10speeder helps too.

• Have you driven a Ford with that engine? I guess not because if so you’ll know its pretty bad.

• Bernard on Feb 07, 2018 at 10:34 pm

Worse than Malaysia? ?

• What is this strange feeling enveloping me? Am I falling in love? With a super Ford pickup? So be it. <3 <3 <3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:16 am

This is going to be car of the year. Really wow!!

• Richard Lum on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:09 pm

2.0L bi-turbo diesel 500 Nm, 10-speed auto! Take my Dmax!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • No point if you won’t utilize it.

500Nm –> you would go off-road?
      10-sp AT –> you can only reach 4th due to jam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • John Fake News Sdn Bhd on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:21 am

500NM torque, you can even pull a broken down 4 ton lorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Elchino on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:14 pm

Wow, just can’t wait for it to come to Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Elchino on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Just can’t wait for this to come to Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • halloha560 on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:25 pm

(Like) 2018 Ford Ranger Raptor
    (Dislike) 2018 Mazda BT 50

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 6
  • I’ve been eagerly waiting for the reveal, and it does not disappoint at all!!! Can’t wait for it to be brought in to Malaysia, and I’ll definitely take one if it’s priced below RM200k. Really excited about this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 07, 2018 at 8:53 pm

actually…a bit underwhelming the design….but beauty is within…

• Yes agree. I’d ditch the grill and fabricate my own. Put a nice rear cover thingy and some big lorry horns

• I thought Ford make their own 10-speed transmission? Surprising to see them going for a Getrag.

• Brian on Feb 07, 2018 at 10:13 pm

Gonna start saving up for this beast

• Better than Tacoma, but bring in here nobody recognise

• Bernard on Feb 07, 2018 at 10:33 pm

Looks too advanced and complicated for msian mechanics to handle .
    Does the after sales service centres have the expertise to handle this competently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Afeeq on Feb 07, 2018 at 10:34 pm

How is it not available for us in the U.S?

• The bodykit will be available from kedai Brothers in next month. Plug n play to bog standard Rangers. So u get the looks but not the go, but its okays.

• keyboard on Feb 07, 2018 at 11:12 pm

(Dislike) Current Mitsubishi Triton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
  • Woah power man this monster Ranger. For those who complain endlessly about my brand new Honda HR-V or CR-V got scratched here and there, just buy this Ranger Raptor.
    Case solved in one day. LOL. The driver can even push or probably drive over the stationary City and Jazz cars who are in the way. No offence ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Eternalgl0ry on Feb 07, 2018 at 11:21 pm

Take my money now

I want this for my next vehicle upgrade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Like: Fox Shox, 10 speed transmission, BF Goodrich tyres, low fuel consumption,

Interested to see what rpm will Ecoblue rev out these HP & torque

Dislike: Sime Darby may slap it with insane price tag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • superbird #43 on Feb 08, 2018 at 2:33 am

Hooray…..
    Next time, we can swap the Wildtrak’s rear axle and suspension with the Raptor’s and nobody realises that.

• sohai on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:47 am

Put mustang’s ecoboost 2.3 Into ranger raptor and I will take it.

• Aduh! Looks like I’ll have to wait… Sorry Wildtrak… RAPTOR seems to be a real monster… Hmm question now is, when or will it be launched in Malaysia…….

• C.P. MOHAN on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:08 am

Some say will never use such power but the “ädrendalin” is knowing that we can like those with super martial art ability.

• Same L0rr on Feb 08, 2018 at 10:21 am

Buy Hilux better.. value for money & good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
  • autodriver (Member) on Feb 08, 2018 at 11:08 am

In future the ranger may fitted with “prime mover” gears in 12 or 16 gear ratio. It is quite meaningless to put it as steptronic for ranger. The ratio is just “too close” and driver will be “busy” to shift gears.

• autodriver (Member) on Feb 08, 2018 at 11:11 am

Semi bucket seat for Ranger, they thought the driver is going to push 4×4 till 220km/h and also take the sharp corner at high speed with “All Terrain” tyre???

• El nino on Feb 08, 2018 at 12:53 pm

(Dislike) 2018 New Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Sputjam on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:08 pm

It will be nice if they can put this new engine in the everest.

• DaKLKid on Feb 08, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Hey looks great. Hopefully engine/trans/ whole powertrain exceeds the Wildtrack issues or Ranger issues in general.

I’m saying bye bye to my Triton VGT this year so lets hope
    A/ MY receives this beast
    B/ Price is not insane

If under RM155K then hmmmm! If around RM150K maybe. If RM145K done!

Face it, for the Wildtrack group you splurged on a 3.2L and dressed it up with suspension, rim/tire and bodykit they already hit the RM150K.

• Elchino on Feb 08, 2018 at 8:04 pm

This truck will really be a hit over here. More powerful than a wildtrak & very much cheaper road tax!

• There is no official price in Thailand, but there are some suggestions it will be 1.4 to 1.6M baht. (175 – 200K ringgit. It would be great for bad roads and flooding in the wet season. The main problem is the size (its 320mm wider than the standard ranger). It’s also longer and taller.

• Will be abt rm190k here…

• Mark from Predator XR on Feb 16, 2018 at 8:36 pm

I mean, why can’t we have biturbo diesel pickup like Australia has the Nissan Navara BiTurbo already?? Why msia can’t have something new but keep on selling techs that 10 years retarded then other countries has…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Mark from Predator XR on Feb 16, 2018 at 8:36 pm

I mean, why can’t we have biturbo diesel pickup like Australia has the Nissan Navara BiTurbo already?? Why msia can’t have something new but keep on selling techs that 10 years retarded then other countries has…