Ford Ranger Raptor to debut in Thailand on February 7

After several months of teasing, the new Ford Ranger Raptor will officially be revealed on February 7, which is just a few days away. This is according to a post on Ford Thailand’s Facebook page, and the performance-oriented pick-up truck will most likely break cover in the kingdom.

Based on what we’ve been shown in the past, the Ranger Raptor will most likely pack a high-output turbodiesel engine, providing larger figures than what the standard 3.2 litre Duratorq is capable of. A variety of drive modes are also available, including Baja and Sport modes, along with a four-wheel drive system.

There will also be plenty of Raptor bits to make sure the pick-up stands out visually from a regular Ranger – new grille, bumpers, upgraded suspension, wheels and many more. Put together, the Ranger Raptor should make easy work of difficult terrain like the Borrego Desert in the United States as well as the Australian Outback – places where development of the model took place.

Shortly after its Thailand debut, the Ranger Raptor will be introduced in Australia on February 8. No word on if the model will be introduced in the US, but given how the nameplate has been reintroduced there, it should be expected.

GALLERY: Ford Ranger Raptor spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Wong Fei Hong on Feb 02, 2018 at 2:21 pm

Ya Raptor, just be careful of the fragile turbo hose, turbo kit, noisy brake pad, short-life belt tensioner and alternator, lousy under carriage, not reliable buttons and powered windows… I can go on for hours cause I am driving a Ranger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Jebat on Feb 02, 2018 at 2:45 pm

What you pay is what you get. Ranger is tax free here.

• Ramasamy Karupiah on Feb 02, 2018 at 3:31 pm

All the best cars now are launched in Thailand. Thailand is now the Detroit of Asia. Any launches, Japanese and Mat Salleh companies choose Thailand.

I wonder why nobody launches anything in KLIMS and in Malaysia anymore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • BMW 8series previewing in MY for Southeast Asia in 22/2/18. Booyah!

• Haji Mahmod bin Jamin on Feb 04, 2018 at 3:19 pm

previewing and launch two different things. OMG

• Dedak-toyoshit on Feb 02, 2018 at 3:39 pm

hi toyota salesman. dont be scared. you can go jual nasi lemak

• apamau on Feb 03, 2018 at 7:53 pm

Quite agreed to what you say..normal city drive or not flat off road is fine, but for really rough terrain and steep terrain, it can’t survive long.

3 of my friend hv to change fr ranger back to to hilux in less than 2 years.
      The ranger can show off in baja or outback in us, but they should hv tested the car in malaysia, especially those who hv to rely on them to commute to their durian or rubber tree farm which hv rough and steep terrain, it can’t tahan long.
      As for other accessories, i believe is still fine.

• Had my Wildtrak 3.2 auto since June 2012,now 215000km never hat your probleams.

• Elchino on Feb 02, 2018 at 11:06 pm

Are we also getting this here?

• Halloha560 on Feb 03, 2018 at 10:11 pm

(Like) Ford Ranger
    (Dislike) Mazda BT 50

• Great suspension, new high output 2litre turbo and new 10 speed box.. if its under 1.45m thai baht it’ll be a steal imo.