Tan Chong planning to launch new Nissan Kicks in Malaysia, along with Serena S-Hybrid and Leaf – report

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) is set to launch several new cars in the second half of 2018 and 2019, with one of the these being the Kicks. The B-segment crossover is one of the models slated for introduction in Malaysia, according to a report by The Edge.

The report however did not indicate a timeline for the launch of the Kicks, which will go up against the likes of the Honda HR-V, Mazda CX-3 and upcoming Toyota C-HR. Other models due to be launched in the country are the Nissan Leaf, which has already been confirmed and is expected sometime in Q4 this year, as well as the new fifth-gen Serena Hybrid, due sooner. The MPV is also a potential carrier to introduce Nissan’s e-Power range extender tech here, but it sounds like that one is still some way away.

The new models will help inject some much needed excitement to ETCM’s model line-up, which has been soldiering on unchanged for a good while. However, they are not expected to be big on volume, at least not in numbers the Almera, Navara and X-Trail currently enjoy.

As such, based on data from analyst reports, the company is expected to maintain its current Malaysian total industry volume (TIV) market share of about five percent (it was seven percent in 2016). Sales for Tan Chong’s local group operations in the financial year 2017 went down by 32% from the previous year, to 28,640 units.

Individually, Nissan sales declined to 27,154 units (-33%), UD Trucks to 865 units (-11%), Renault to 592 units (-1%) and Infiniti to 29 units (-75%).

The dip in local performance has been cushioned by the better performance in its Indochina (Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam) operation, which saw higher car sales by 34% to 6,913 units.

The market saw a sales increase of 14% to 5,489 units, with the biggest growth coming from Laos with 384 units (+47%), Cambodia with 219 units (more than 100%) and Myanmar with 821 units (less than 100%). The uptrend there is thanks to strong reception for the Nissan Sunny and X-Trail.

The report added that the group is targeting to expand its Indochina operations, given the positive market volume growth and higher revenue contribution from the region.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Elchino on Mar 05, 2018 at 12:36 pm

If they continue to bring in low specs model at a high price, how can they expect to sell large volume. For a start, specs up d X-Trial first. It’s a good car but the low specs such as only 2 airbags etc is a turn off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • 12yrsold on Mar 05, 2018 at 12:39 pm

The reason Tan Chong went down by 32%(2017) from the previous year to 28,640 units is bcos they sell older models.
    Looks like bringing in new models will improve the sales numbers. The longer the delay, the more ETCM will loose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Well said. I hope they will speed up the process. Anyway totally agree with u, delaying is not a wise market plan.

• applegreen on Mar 05, 2018 at 12:42 pm

https://paultan.org/2017/09/25/malaysian-auto-assemblers-hoping-for-govt-support-in-the-form-of-tax-breaks-export-incentives-report/

Govt’s support is needed for automotive players esp P1, DRB & ETCM. Provide higher tax exemption for localisation & reducing excise duties

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • stastasta on Mar 06, 2018 at 1:54 pm

i doubt gov will support chinese controlled business to compete directly against GLCs (drb hicom and umw).

• old horse on Mar 05, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Qashqai and notes also!

• SpongeWai on Mar 05, 2018 at 1:01 pm

Where is the X-Trail facelift & Almera facelift??!

• What Almera facelift? The 2015 one? There’s no new Versa/Almera that I can find on the net, outside of fan photoshops.

• turborider on Mar 05, 2018 at 1:08 pm

Don’t Kick, this is boring, Do Qashqai!
    Why Nissan Malaysia don’t want to bring in Qashqai with proven track record of sales?
    Your management team still not aware or act don’t know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Qashai is a C-RV competitor. Tan Chong isn’t stupid, nobody can win against the C-RV. Even Toyota has conceded their mid segment SUVs to Honda (no idea what they’re thinking with the CH-R, C-RV price in the H-RV dominated market) Unless you can price it below RM100K. Introducing a significantly new model means changing factory equipment to suit new model assembly. To do all that and get killed in sales by Honda, that level of dumbness has only been observed by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Nobody cud replicate Proton 3sedan sukses – Saga, Persona & Perdana. SUV? What??

• Nissan Kicks? Luls.. the design is so-so only.. it has been in the market for 2 years.. the design is not fresh anymore and it looks cheap.. we want nissan Qashqai, new Micra and the new Nissan Altima. Those are the amazing ones.. not this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Gerard on Mar 05, 2018 at 9:12 pm

Yeah Teana looks like a grandfather car. Tan Chong – bring the Altima. Thats what people want

• If u dont even know what is the market going on, Teana is basically Altima marketed in ASEAN region. In Aussie land, it is called Altima but it has the exact same features like Teana in Malaysia.

Unless of course, you are talking about Maxima. Thats one hell of a nice sedan but only for the US market.

• If they bring in Qashqai also with the lousy low specs.

• seancorr (Member) on Mar 06, 2018 at 12:17 am

I’m not sure if u know this but even though the Kicks was introduced back in 2016 it’s introduction to the rest of the world only happened way into 2017 and the US will only start selling it in June 2018 so it’s not TC’s fault for a late intro but Nissan is slow on it.

• Sonyman1 on Mar 06, 2018 at 11:05 am

Chill it bro. Typical MY pipu wants… fresh design, high spec, reliable & cheap. HRV lol

• Is alright. Take your time to plan. If u want a best fengshui time to launch, year 2020 also is ok. All your models launched here u can only afford to facelift them with cosmetic accessories, do u know how other countries hv launched what kind of upgrades in Nissan models? Take your time, you are not as popular as u think about yourself anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • We want the qashqai

• The new Serena Hybrid @ 130K is a steal!

• India only sell rm53k, how much mesia tc sell price…?

• Did the Nissan designer really look at the C-HR, the HR-V and CX-3? And then seriously think that his design is better than any one of the 3?

Or did they just go “OK, I’ll just aim to be the ugliest. Even though I have the benefit of seeing what the others already designed.”

• If Kicks is launch b4 CHR, then it has chance and habislah CHR. But launch it too late and Boyue will eat Kicks for breakfast.

• How now?? on Mar 05, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Whats the specs and pricinv Mr PT for thia kickers la dei??

• Paul Tan on Mar 05, 2018 at 6:28 pm

there is nothing to report as of now as the nissan kicks hasn’t been launched in any other asean country yet. normally the thai spec car will give us an idea of what the rest of asean will get in terms of engine etc. but it has not been launched.

• Nissan should put Tan Chong out of its misery.

• No longer low cost on Mar 05, 2018 at 3:45 pm

The problem with ETCM is they still insist that the Malaysian market is primed for cheap knock-off. By looking at the number of C-Classes on the road these day, ETCM needs to start providing better speced cars with more creature comfort than more cheap plastic trim.

They really need to emulate Honda and brings the oversea models here with all the bells and whistle at competitive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Sabree4 on Mar 05, 2018 at 6:53 pm

Knowing most carbuyer nowadays are downgrading frm more exp car brands. ETCM has positioned itself well, Car is juz a mode of transport frm point A to B anyways.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • seancorr (Member) on Mar 06, 2018 at 12:07 am

Are u so sure about that? Apart from Honda who is enjoying good sales the rest of its rivals are suffering….meanwhile sales of Benzes and BMW’s are at an all time high in Malaysia

• example of ppl talk without facts or someone who talks by looking at the mirror.

• Ur statement and reality tarak ngam wei.

• timmy on Mar 05, 2018 at 3:46 pm

At least better than nothing.
    Fingers crossed for Juke Nismo RS, Note Nismo (normal car buyers) and ultimately brand new units of 370z and GTR Nismo models (upper middle class car buyers).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Bulls**t Tan Chong. You kill Nissan brand in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Its because of Tan Chong Malaysia’s pitiful management team, Honda Malaysia is number 1 Japanese brand in Malaysia with crappy built quality and extremely poor aftersales.
      If Tan Chong Malaysia have exact models sold in Japan, Singapore, USA and Canada, Honda will never be 1st here.
      These Jokers must do something quick to topple the big H in bolehland. Currently Nissan is the number 1 brand in Japan. Disgrace on you Honda. Jaguh Kampung Jepun Malaysia. LMFAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
      • Sadly, there are millions of butthurt Malaysians here who are way to Bias towards Honda branded cars.
        They are Foolish people who never compared or tried to compete with Japan’s number one bestseller, Nissan.
        Nissans have long been greater in terms of design,power, more beautiful and overall have far superior built quality than Hondas. True AF facts.

• Budak ni on Mar 06, 2018 at 8:22 am

It’s Toyota (with Daihatsu) no.1 in Japan. Prius, Alphard and Harrier are anywhere.

Nissan only sell well with their Serena and Leaf.

• Bro, the Nissan Note is Japan’s best selling car right now. Want to comment, read up more please and dont get offended. Your welcome.
          https://www.automotiveworld.com/news-releases/nissan-note-tops-japans-january-sales-rankings-2/

• Kleeo on Mar 05, 2018 at 5:13 pm

Disappointed that ETCM is not bringing in the Note e-Power. It’s a really economical car with reliable technology that can be a Myvi and Jazz killer. Since none of the other models in the new lineup are what I’m looking for, I guess Nissan is not for me.

• Dont like Perodua Myvi and the Hideous Jazz GK5 cars, buy recond Nissan models bro like me. Case closed.
      ETCM management have no guts and are childish people who dont have goals in their lives.

• Wait.long.long on Mar 05, 2018 at 5:40 pm

Nah, very unlikely.

ETCM rarely sell any car that isn’t been manufacture within ASEAN, except of Serena.

Even ASEAN built Nissan Note, March, Pulsar, Sylphy and Juke been absent from our market.

• Aero (Member) on Mar 05, 2018 at 8:26 pm

The Kicks will definitely boost Nissan sales locally. Tan Chong just needs to keep pricing reasonable, because unlike the CH-R, the Kicks doesn’t give off the ‘cutting edge coupe-SUV’ aura that the 4 year old HR-V does… let alone the newer CH-R. The Kicks looks like a ‘normal’ small SUV, and the interior is ‘just fine’. Nissan has played it very safe with the Kicks. Even the Eclipse Cross looks more imaginative.

The new Nissan March will also be perfect for TCM right now. But knowing TCM and Nissan, they will probably launch the sedan version of the March (i.e. Almera replacement) first, and skip the March entirely. Just 10 years back, both the sedan and hatch version of the Nissan Latio (Almera’s predecessor) were sold here, both as CKD models. So why can’t TCM and Nissan do the same for the upcoming Almera-March generation ?

One of the reasons behind Honda Malaysia’s sky high sales is because they sell both of their B-sedan (City) and B-hatch (Jazz) locally as CKD models. UMW Toyota and TCM Nissan only sell their B-sedans (Vios and Almera), but not the B-hatches, not even as CBU models.

A few years back, UMW Toyota sold the B-hatch Yaris alongside the Vios, but the Yaris was a CBU model and was too expensive to be relevant. Today, Mazda and Mitsubishi sell both their B-hatch/sedan here as CBU models, but not CKD. Only Honda Malaysia (among the Japanese-badged players) sells a CKD B-hatch, and so, they have a virtual monopoly in this segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Malaysian car buyers are also included. Their mindset are focused solely on Honda Honda and Honda until death bro. In reality, their vehicle’s built quality and aftersales are very poor. Its like Apple’s Iphone. Same case.
      In Japan for example, Honda is not number 1. Their have rivals toppled them including Nissan.

• Nice..
    Kick in..
    Set price around BRV territor..
    You will see HRV(axle beam) sale drop and C-HR collecting dust..

• Richard Ang on Mar 06, 2018 at 10:46 am

It is because the govern policy,
    The spec are lack a lot.
    I think ECTM will focus in indo-china rather than malaysia.

• I think ETCM should focus more on its luxury arm Infiniti. I am currently driving Infiniti and it is a very good brand with great driving performance and luxury in it. Nissan should really look into Infiniti by introducing more up to date models with better platform and not utilizing chassis from 2 generations before.

Nevertheless, ETCM should also fight for government grant. After all, ETCM is a Malaysian company that will somehow benefit the economy and the nation as a whole. Unless the Government view this company thru a racial lens.

• ckwhy on Mar 08, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Nissan definitely is coming back in a big way with Kick. HRV in Malaysia is Honda best selling model, Tan Chong have made a very good choice by introducing Kick as a contender in this segment. All Tan Chong got to do is spec it right this time. A few thousand more expensive than HRV is still fine if you got more features. Just look at the new Myvi, most ppl are buying the highest end.

• ben siew on May 21, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Nissan Japan is dumping all shits products in this country, Malaysia. One thing for sure they will not dare to do it in USA because Uncle Sam will make Nissan bankrupt in this developed nation.
    I had very bad with Nissan Malaysia and I will never consider buying another Nissan products.

• Mithalisa on Sep 15, 2018 at 10:40 am

If the price is right.. Why not. B out of comfort zone la. Design is very nice.

• Would love to see Kicks kicking elegantly.