Proton & DRB-Hicom U Creative Car Challenge (PD3C) 2018 – new design competition for 15 local institutions

Proton and the DRB-Hicom University of Automotive Malaysia (DRB-Hicom U) officially launched the Proton & DRB-Hicom U Creative Car Challenge (PD3C) 2018 at the DRB-Hicom U campus in Pekan, Pahang yesterday. The new design competition will see 15 teams from various local institutions of higher learning battle it out to design a concept car for the future.

With the tagline, “Designing the Future Car, Today,” the contest will run for a total of six months, with the final round taking place in Pekan from September 27 to 29. The teams will be required to conceptualise their design and create a full-scale rolling prototype during that timeframe, using various Proton models as base.

Up for grabs is a grand prize of RM7,000 and a trophy, while second-, third- and fourth-place teams will receive RM5,000, RM3,000 and RM1,000 in cash prizes respectively. There are also consolation prizes including medals and certificates.

Shortlisted during a pitching session on March 6 and 7, the institutions taking part in the competition include DRB-Hicom U itself as well as Universiti Malaya (UM), Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), Asia Pacific University (APU), Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP), Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UniMAP), Institut Kemahiran MARA (IKM), Kolej Kemahiran Tinggi MARA (KKTM), Universiti Sultan Zainal Abidin (UniSZA), Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM), TAFE College and ADTEC Melaka.

Proton also took the opportunity to hand over the cars to the teams during the event. These include the Exora, Preve, Suprima S, Saga BLM, Gen.2 and Iriz, which were selected for the participants during a draw earlier in the year.

A Car Modelling Challenge will also be organised for institutions that were not selected for PD3C. Participants will be required to create a 1:4-scale model using clay, cardboard or 3D printing over the course of four months. Prizes include RM2,500, RM2,000 and RM1,500 in cash prizes for first, second and third places, and there’s a RM800 entry fee inclusive of RM800 inclusive of accommodation and meals in Pekan.

Meanwhile, the public will be able to participate in a Design Battle targeting professional automotive designers, lecturers, graduates and students. Held during the final round in Pekan, individuals will be given four hours to sketch and render their design, with cash prizes including RM1,500, RM1,200 and RM1,000 for first, second and third places. There is a RM300 entry fee inclusive of accommodation and meals.

For more information and to register for the competitions, visit the official website.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Go MARA Go! Usaha, Taqwa, Mulia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • “the public will be able to participate in a Design Battle” So for those bashers who think their design is better, heres ur chance to put up or shaddup.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 386 Thumb down 38
    • awg1031 on Mar 21, 2018 at 3:24 pm

can’t agree more..

• tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2018 at 6:42 pm

Yes, if really talented, not just Proton want you, you’ll also get opportunity to go to Shanghai, Gothenburg, Barcelona and Los Angeles to work with Geely Design.

With Proton, you can go much further than anyone else here. You will embark on an adventure of a lifetime, achieve great wonders. Together, as part of Geely family.

Perodua, kek, design sedan tonggek buntut, Myvi no front mid cupholders, toppest kek. If not for Toyota engine, Perodua are really crap tin milo.

Proton, Geely > all

• tokmoh. on Mar 21, 2018 at 7:10 pm

I should add, you will be able to work with and inspired by a true car designer legend, Peter Horbury.

This is Proton’s way of giving back to society. And a gesture of friendship with China. By opening and sharing their expertise with us, Geely has recognised our local talents and will support them to soar higher than they could possibly imagine.

• TF Yong on Mar 21, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Proton should just hire our talented local homegrown and underrated designers from MIMOS

• Concept design ≠ Product ready design

• SuprimaX on Mar 22, 2018 at 11:02 am

Mimos Head of industrial design, Saharudin Busri ex proton honcho can deliver better.

• pomen bawah pokok on Mar 22, 2018 at 6:09 am

john , if DRB & Proton dare to open the U creative car challenge to public the bashers will teach the P1 engineers how to make a good car , waiting for Proton & DRB when the day will come , all the bashers waiting

• Same L0rr on Mar 21, 2018 at 3:56 pm

you can design what ever you want azlano. But if the engine is still old campro vvt/cfe, it can not sale well.. of forget, try to reduce the car weight too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
    • Old campro still better than fossilized Toyota engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0rr on Mar 21, 2018 at 7:21 pm

Better? Why malaysian still dont buy iriz? Suzuki Ertiga cam sale well than junk iriz old campro vvt..
        Number of sale tell everything..
        Please answer me, why malaysian dont buy junk iriz? Dont blame buyer.. give m1 point of weakness junk iriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • Dun sell well? U smoking high on something kah? It outsold ur any of ur crap dinosars.

Number of sales dun tell anything. Or ur admitting VW is better than toyota, becoz it overtook ur jepunis lord now?

• Same L0rr on Mar 22, 2018 at 3:22 pm

But vw is not proton. You can not accept perodua is far better than proton. It is about perodua & proton. Not vw & toyota.

• topkek on Mar 22, 2018 at 5:11 pm

Normal with basher, when P2 vs P1 they said look at sales number, when VW vs Toyota, they dun want to accept lose pulak

Topkek

• Rajoo Selvam on Mar 21, 2018 at 5:14 pm

well said. This is why Proton only sold 3000 plus cars in February compared to Perodua’s 18,000 cars.

Big big difference in Toyota engine (2018 Myvi uses Toyota Vios engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • yawnz on Mar 21, 2018 at 5:24 pm

Yeah but after buy later pening coz cannot get 20.1km/l fuel consumption

P2 makes kepala pening

• Hahaha! P2 fanboi dreaming Mivi using toyota engine. Yeah, from their museum collection lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
        • Rajoo Selvam on Mar 21, 2018 at 6:24 pm

P2 3 months sales just on Myvi alone is the same as 1 year sales for Proton entire range.

Belum kia Axia dan Bezza lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
          • Less junk or more junk is still junk. Whats there to be proud of?

• Amran on Mar 22, 2018 at 8:05 am

Jualan bezza pun saga + persona x dpt lawan. 1 model Bezza 3k, proton 8 model 3k juga. Hahahahahahah

• Olang beli P2 becoz its murah bukannye bagus.

• LeoRNado on Mar 25, 2018 at 11:58 am

Before 2005, org beli proton sbb bagus atau sbb murah?

• Proton oh Proton on Mar 21, 2018 at 4:22 pm

I still love my P.Waja… fully design by Malaysian Team.

• Ismet ulam raja on Mar 21, 2018 at 5:44 pm

Many tuners car shop near Sunway Pyramid can make beautiful customized car , DRB Hicom should send all PI design team there , people already sick with P1 design

• If they have the talent, then do enter “Design Battle” catagory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 13
  • Those U design tak blh pakai punya