Baby dies in accident after striking dash – don’t wait for enforcement to begin in 2019 to use a child seat

We bring you news of yet another tragedy involving the loss of a child’s life. According to the News Straits Times, an eight-month-old infant has died after her head struck a dashboard in an accident in Dusun Pantai near Kota Tinggi yesterday.

Kota Tinggi police chief Superintendent Ashmon Bajah said that the driver lost control of his Honda Civic and swerved into the opposite lane, colliding head-on with a Proton Wira. “The impact of the collision caused the infant to be flung head first on to the dashboard and died instantly,” said Ashmon, adding that the case was being investigated under Section 41(1) of the Road Transport Act 1987 for causing death by reckless driving.

Parents, we’ve been here before. Time and time again we have warned of the dangers of leaving a child unsecured in a moving car. Just because it’s technically not illegal right now to not keep your kids fastened in a child safety seat doesn’t mean you should.

The last we checked, the enforcement of mandatory child seat use was only supposed to come into effect in 2019. Back in 2015, that lead time seemed like way, way too long, and even now it’s coming too late to save the life of this child. Whether this latest incident will spur the transport ministry into action remains to be seen – it has already responded to the recent fatal accident involving defective Takata airbags.

But whatever happens, fine or no fine, you really shouldn’t wait until next year to start using child seats. It’s your child’s life at stake, after all – not your wallet’s. Enough is enough, and we hope that this incident will finally get parents to keep their children secured properly in their vehicles. Under no condition should a child ever be left unsecured in a moving vehicle.

Kids who weigh under 25 kg (weight is a more accurate measure than age) must be placed in a child seat (Group 0+, 1 and 2, fitted in a rear-facing position for as long a period as possible), and those under 36 kg should be secured with seat belts, together with either a booster seat or booster cushion (Group 3). These are absolute necessities, not optional.

More than that, it’s absolutely vital that they be seated in the back, and not at the front. This is to position your kids away from the front airbags in case an accident happens. You should only ever place a child seat or booster seat in the front if your car has a front passenger airbag off switch (not many cars do) – and even then, only as a last resort.

Please share for public information

Posted by Richardt Piek on Sunday, 14 December 2014

And of course, you should never hold your child on your lap when sitting in front. Apart from the fact that your arms are not strong enough to restrain your child in the event of a collision, you would also be subjecting them to the full force of the airbag, potentially causing a broken neck and a fractured skull, as well as facial injuries on yourself – as the video above shows.

An airbag deploys extremely rapidly, using controlled explosives, inflicting considerable impact on the front passenger if he or she is not secured properly. This can be dangerous to adults who are unfastened, let alone small children, who can be flung backwards violently by an inflating airbag.

Now, there’s no saying that using a child seat would have absolutely saved this child’s life, but it would have definitely minimised the risk. And this didn’t have to come at a steep cost. Don’t be deterred by expensive name brands – there are affordable, ECE R44-certified child seats out there, for just a few hundred ringgit. That’s much, much less than what most people spend on a phone every year, and in any case, how can one put a price on a child’s life?

Parents, readers, please share this to avoid such horrific tragedies from happening again.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Heng Lee on Jun 04, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Back in 2015, who is the smart Minister??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Rajoo Selvam on Jun 04, 2018 at 5:35 pm

Actually, the requirement has been there for some time now. No need to wait for 2019 for the actual law to be implemented. But we have a bigger problem

The problem in Malaysia is corruption. Just like back seat belts, it was never enforced. Everytime JPJ or PDRM catch an offender, the offender gives duit kopi and the offender is let go and is back on the streets.

So even in 2019, even when the law comes into effect, if our PDRM and JPJ are still into their duit kopi attitude, the law will serve no purpose.

It is only through enforcement that we can make this law work.

There will be many pondans who will come here and say it is the responsibility of the parents to buy and use a car seat. I agree. But just like back seat belts, Malaysians never follow.

SO, we need strict laws and strict enforcement of the laws.

Let us hope the new clean Government cleans up JPJ and PDRM and makes enforcement a priority. Before this, we had a highly corrupted Government and they condoned the duit kopi culture. Well, that has come to an end.

Let us hope for cleaner times ahead and also enforcement of car baby seats and back seat belts too. Even until today, when you drive, you see every other person whatsapping on their phone. Rakyat still not scared of PDRM and JJPJ cause they know they can give duit kopi and escape punishment. All this must stop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • All ministers under BN are smart. The leader is smartest of all

• All ministers under BN are smart. Too smart then, too late now to save the life of this child. Semoga roh arwah baby dicucuri rahmat dan ditempatkan di kalangan orang yang beriman.

• Me la or else on Jun 04, 2018 at 7:38 pm

Me.! Tq

• Probably to support a crony. Since when was previous government ever been mindful of public safety?

• Mikey on Jun 04, 2018 at 4:48 pm

The report say – the driver lost control of his Honda Civic & swerved into the opposite lane, colliding head-on with a Proton Wira.
    – So, it is the fault of the driver of the Civic. Anyone here think it must be something to do with hand-phone

• I suspect it was more of a failed overtaking by that Civic driver.

• Terjumpa long haired woman wearing red kebaya

• Rightwinger on Jun 05, 2018 at 12:46 am

It could’ve been a cell phone or it could’ve been a roach going up his arm or crotch.

• You’re most likely right. This points to the habit of not being able to separate ourselves from our devices. Sadly, this is an issue of mindfulness and no legislation or enforcement action can bring this menace under control. That poor child is now just a statistic in our never ending love of ops this and ops that.

• Looking at the modded car, obviously the car takes priority over passenger safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Hope they pay road tax and renew insurance every year

• 12yrsold john on Jun 05, 2018 at 11:12 am

Clap clap clap. Just becos the Civic bumper have 8 holes makes the car modded ??! If the Civic have a large exhaust with wide tires, I will agree with U john. The puny tires tells me it is standard tires.

• What makes u so sure its puny tires? Look at from rear, the tayar width almost towards the edge of the car, meaning its widened tires & rims. This car is modded lah unless ur blinded to the facts.

• Jonny on Jun 04, 2018 at 5:07 pm

I am planning to buy a new Bezza G. I remember all new cars in Malaysia must fitted with ESC coming this June. But when I checked with the websites and asked the staff, they said no such thing. Either they want me to buy the old stock or the implementation is being further delayed. Now I wait for some times to see how.

• Ubah industry kerete malaysia!!! on Jun 04, 2018 at 7:00 pm

Dont take shiit from anyone…walk away from these asssholes..look at other brands…if we can ubah the gomen…we can also ubah this sohaiis ..we kick them out!.

• Sam 'Ohwai' Loo on Jun 05, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Agreed to ubah industri kereta malaysia. If this manufacturer can’t even put (or purposely omit) a simple yet bloody important water temperature gauge, I highly doubt they can standardised the ESC in all other Poodua craps.

• Change gov, change polisi lor. Untung kroni diutamakan.

• Only new launched car. Bezza is 2016 car that mfg in 2018.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 04, 2018 at 5:44 pm

WHY? Oh why must there be another unnecessary infant death !!!!

Why can’t our society take child safety seriously? Every child is a gift from God.

• Human on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:18 pm

For me, the excuse “It’s God’s will” shouldn’t be used wantonly anymore. Do not put God to the test or don’t tempt fate for the atheist out there. Use seatbelts and child seats.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jun 04, 2018 at 6:58 pm

Wow! The blue civic has “lubang-lubang” at the bumper…..JPJ, is this lubang-lubang thingy even legal??

Death case aside, the car should be impounded and thoroughly checked for illegal mods.

• Lubang lubang dun change the crashworthiness nor endanger rear ender cars. So not illegal.

• Borneo Darul Seram on Jun 04, 2018 at 8:37 pm

Lawlessness is rampant at countryside and village settlement, ie. motorist never buckle up and motorcyclist never wears helmet! Expired roadtax non insured motorcars and motorcycles is a norm!

• Add A Comment on Jun 05, 2018 at 7:18 am

Paul Tan is the only Automotive site that I see frequently reminding how important are child safety seats. Parents out there, please do not take any chances. Anything can happen anytime. You will never know and will never want to know…NEVER…the feeling of losing a child. You can only imagine but you will NEVER close to that feeling. NEVER. PERIOD. Please parents, set your priority right.

Anyway, good job Paul Tan !!

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Badut on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:31 am

Yup whereas we have clown you tubers in Malaysia who actually actively discourage using child seats

• Add A Comment on Jun 05, 2018 at 10:46 am

oh…I have never came across any. Wonder what reason they are giving to ask ppl to avoid it.

_ I have Just Added A Comment –

• blue car is honda civic?
    look at his drilled hole rear bumper u know he is speeding la…mat rempit car…always drive fast
    drill some hole to make the car lighter

• Ben Yap on Jun 05, 2018 at 9:58 am

why those rear bumpers need holes?