VIDEO: Toyota’s Raya ad tugs at car and heartstrings

It was last night that this writer realised that Hari Raya is one week away (didn’t Ramadan just start?), which led me to search Youtube for this year’s Raya ads. Warm of course, but 2018 isn’t shaping up to be a vintage year for tear-jerkers. Then, I stumbled on Toyota’s Raya ad today and it’s my new favourite.

When one’s in a sentimental mood, there’s nothing like reminiscing about the good old days, and festivals are all about family. The well-worn but still mightily effective theme is the love and sacrifice of our parents, and that it’s never too late to give some back in return.

The C-HR is a rare cool modern Toyota, but it’s overshadowed by the old timers here

The proverbial rose-tinted glasses is common among car enthusiasts, too. Old cars are always “better” than their modern counterparts. “They don’t make them like they used to, bro,” they say. We’re progressing and/or greying, but our four-wheeled dreams are perpetually stuck in our formative years. Some of us are still living in Japan’s glory days, while the boomers remember European cars fondly.

Toyota’s Raya ad combines both. It follows the life of Afiq, who remembers rides in his dad’s Liteace van (this was before MPVs) around the taman. He grows up, gets restless and does very well for himself. Extremely well in fact, when you had an AE86 as a young man, have a big house, the gorgeous Sarah and what must be the cutest daughter in the world. Jealous, man!

Hero Afiq has done very well for himself, but he never realised his father’s love for him

Afiq then gets an epiphany just in time for Raya, making the busy man realise that he has a great dad. Awakened, our hero does a very sweet gesture for his old man, ending in smiles for the family and tears in our eyes. Oh, what a feeling!

The four-wheeled props are amazing too, but did everyone in Malaysia drive a Toyota back in the day? Surely no, but we salute the effort to ensure every car in every frame is a Toyota, mostly period correct. Gosh, it makes me want to pop up my Toyota’s headlights now and drive home to buy my old man dinner.

Stupid onions!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dotsnek on Jun 08, 2018 at 6:58 pm

Dang, that Trueno will never get old.. NEVER!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Abdul Wahab Khalid on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:56 pm

Toyota sales are increasing every month. They are doing well. Just like Perodua. Both doing very well.

Pity those who spread fake news that Toyota is not doing well. Now already kalah teruk teruk, still want to spread fake news about Toyota sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • “We are not like some other competitors, (in that) we will delete some features. Actually, based on our understanding of the Malaysian market, we will add some features that local customers are interested in,” – Yang Jun GeelyP1 VP

• umang on Jun 10, 2018 at 2:09 pm

Hidup GeelyP1 ! Hidup Tun !

• so why didn’t Proton do this the past 20 years?

Why wait for China to give us what we wanted? Isn’t Proton our national car company born to help Malaysians?

• ah meng on Jun 10, 2018 at 10:02 pm

Ady done, 6 airbags + ESC ,you must crawl out from some cave

• P1 was the 1st local brand to achieve ANCAP 5stars. P2 bila lagi?

• camtakpro on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:12 am

P1 was the 1st and the only one with tethergate.

• Tethergate no risk to kirr.
            Axlecabutgate high risk to kirr.
            P1 > P2

• camtakpro on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:13 am

Main feature we want from Proton is cheap price.

• lol gen2 driver on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:28 am

john, told you, you must work harder. there are a lot of car better than gen2

• But Gen2 still better car than ur crappy Mivi & Vios.

• lol gen2 driver on Jun 11, 2018 at 2:30 pm

my son, why cant understand? beside of saying mivi & vios crappy but still bothering them so much, work harder for not only mivi & vios

• rightwinger on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:06 pm

one for sure, that kid aint got no chump change. that thing cost an arm and a leg.

• Mohd Shahab on Jun 10, 2018 at 12:11 pm

Salesmen in Honda, Toyota and Nissan showrooms told me sales are exploding!!!!

Non stop sales. Berlambak until salesman cannot cope.

SO much of trust and confidence rakyat has to Jepunis cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • karam singh on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:45 pm

Its …. wait for it
      Legendary

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:49 pm

I love the adv..very well executed…so touching indeed…can touch everybody orso…the chr is superb…but the real heroes are the two oldtimers of course…kudos umw toyota for such a brilliant idea…i can see tears running down paul tan’s rosy cheeks…sob sob…

• John Kalah Teruk on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:04 am

Now no GST, Japanese sales are at unbelievable high! Toyota, Honda and Nissan just minting money!!!!

There so much of confidence in Jepunis cars

• Abdul Khatib on Jun 09, 2018 at 11:30 am

Last month Toyota beat Proton…..OMG OMG OMG. Car so expensive also can beat Proton

• camtakpro on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:17 am

Where are those SEG and KE70?

• Exactly like the hot classic NMD sneakers.
    The C-HR is a rare cool modern Toyota.

• karam singh on Jun 08, 2018 at 11:43 pm

Good looking but Overpriced,crampy SUV.
      If dont sell , then throw in TRD kit look sporty but move & drive like tortoise. mehhhh

• Lolz! Toyota marketing strategy now is to upsell bodykit with stickers, use old cars to sell new cars, and get their pipu to badmouth other brands.

• transformer on Jun 10, 2018 at 2:14 pm

many previous administration Vvip are product ambassadors of Toyota Velfire. hihi

• Singh is King! on Jun 10, 2018 at 10:17 am

Good looking On fleek yo!

Safety-wise, 7 airbags, ABS, EBD, VSC, TRC, BSM and Rear Cross Traffic Alert RCTA

• Drives like a kura-kura, handles like a sampan, drink like a lembu, looks like a dugong

• camtakpro on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:16 am

Simple math:

C-HR = CX3 size + Altis engine + Camry price.

• Sukakereta on Jun 11, 2018 at 8:58 am

Rare? yes.. with halogen headlamp when even sub RM50k Myvi has moved to LED.. very rare indeed! :)

• 1NZFE on Jun 08, 2018 at 8:40 pm

They showcase all those models are good selling models

Take the Trueno old school , vios NCP93, C-HR and the Innova

way to go Toyota !

• Donno on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:00 pm

WBU 7943

My dad’s liteace is just a few numbers differnt than this, WBU 84xx. This is a 1990 liteace, and the original colour should be metallic, my dad’s metallic light blue. The flank stickers should be the cresent type. Those on that van is for a model a few years later, probably 1993. Wheels should be steelies with protruded small center caps. What a memory going back raya in the liteace, with the 3rd row seat all by myself as the stiff springs made the ride at the back very bouncy.

• Optimus Prime on Jun 08, 2018 at 10:02 pm

Liteace. My all tine favourite. Hahaha

• Legenday Trueno (Corolla AE86) is the best.

• Dun bother, Malays dun buy Toyota. They only sapot Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Nice ad.subtle brand promotion while promoting family values.

To all PT readers selamat hari raya.hati2 di jalan raya. Spend some quality time with your family this festive season

• ZAM.integra on Jun 09, 2018 at 5:37 am

OMG!..just now I’m suddenly relized why my 4yrs son never get bored waiting for me every day just to hop in my old non aircond ride “tcr bean”. neither my old “b16 teggies”…thanks to the ads that reminds me the golden time I’ll m creating now with my son

• Make me cry for sure

• arowana on Jun 09, 2018 at 2:29 pm

nice ad.. but dang, dat overtaking Innova really videobomb all

• Purushottaman Raman on Jun 09, 2018 at 9:05 pm

Yea, missed those days with our faithful Toyota Corolla KE20 and Toyots Corolla DX, with our family for more than
    15years.

• Add A Comment on Jun 11, 2018 at 7:25 am

No child seat and no wear seatbelt at the back…a big NO NO Toyota. When only will you treasure Malaysian life ?

– I Have Added A Comment –

• Ben Yap on Jun 11, 2018 at 10:40 am

Man, this boy is truly lucky to have a dad that looks like jackie chan!

• Jared on Jun 11, 2018 at 5:08 pm

You mean stupid ninjas.