Klang Valley Double Track phase two in review: Loke

Upgrading works for the second phase of the Klang Valley Double Track (KVDT) project will be under review, said transport minister Anthony Loke according to The Star.

The second phase of the 110 km-long track will incur costs estimated to be RM5.9 billion, the transport minister said. “It is too high and the tenders were awarded through direct negotiations and direct tender. This translates to RM53 million for every kilometre. It is really high and the government doesn’t agree with this,” he said.

The completion of the second phase of the KVDT has also been estimated to take seven years. “The Ministry won’t agree to this. We cannot stomach this, seven years of delay for the commuters,” he added. This second phase is from Kuala Lumpur to Klang, Salak South to Seremban and from Simpang Port Klang to Klang.

Delays in the commuter train schedules were due to the ongoing upgrading works for the first phase, Loke said, noting that one track has been closed between the Kuala Lumpur station and Simpang Port Klang and Rawang, leaving these routes without double tracks. Phase one will be completed in 2019.

This is a review of the KVDT’s feasibility, rather than an outright cancellation which was the case with the KL-Singapore high-speed rail and MRT Line 3 projects. Users of the KTM commuter will face delays from the usual frequency of 15 minutes at peak hours to 30 minutes, and from 30 minutes at non-peak hours to 60 minutes, according to The Star.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:26 am

Yes yes, better investigate. Tak masuk akal. RM53 million per KM

That also use super cheap Bangladeshi labour. Super cheap. Tak sampai RM50 per day pun gaji

• Unfettered corruption of past gahmen caused astonishingly expensive RM53 million per KM. Can go down at least 70% by open tender.

• Really? If its so cheap, who not make ur own. Talk is easy. Try digging a trench.

• MeToo on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:29 am

Yes, we need to cancel public transport improvement plan and save money so we can have another National Car to dump money into…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • Rakyat love GeelyP1.
      https://paultan.org/2018/06/08/proton-to-launch-a-new-product-every-year-after-2018-suv/

• Habisla orang nak balik kampung lain kali!
      #IniKalilahEpicTrafficJam

• Rajoo Selvam on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:29 am

Another scandal going to pop up. I wonder why everyday got BILLION ringgit scandal with the old Government?

• LimKitSiong on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:36 am

Aiya we need solution like new national car lah.. no need public tlanspot… come buy2 new national car… lai lai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • DS Nazri is right
      https://paultan.org/2017/03/02/proton-a-failed-white-elephant-project-nazri-aziz/

• Muhd Satibi on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:45 am

Our regular economist john, can you give us your comment on this matter….macam mana boleh ni?

• Review which kroni to keep and which to gip to their own kroni lor. Itu pun tarak faham kah?

• stastasta on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:15 am

if the new crony can offer 30% discount, i personally dont mind that crony gets the job

• Sick&tired on Jun 12, 2018 at 10:50 am

7 years delay for those poor train commuters, while all along 1Mdb racking up gargantuan debts.

• Muhd Satibi on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:12 am

I also sick and tired of corruption. We all suffer with delays because of dedak

• tabogen on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:15 am

when prev penang chief spend a lot even started the project no one said anything, irony lah

• Digidigi on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:18 am

yes pls review everything and save your money for protiga

• practical car lover on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:30 am

Despite my name, im actually a player in the rail industry.

Although i cant comment on the cost of RM53mil/km as we dont know the breakdown of the job scope, so for 7 years it comes down to about RM840mil/year. This should include the costs increase in material & labour costs for the next 7 years. Maybe the upgrading works also include the signalling system & stations too? those things can cost a bomb. FYI, the ipoh double tracking projects costs RM12 bil for 329km. But that project was started in 2007 and completed in 2012. but that was a price for 10 years ago.

As for the timing of 7 years, we got to remember that this is an upgrading of 110km near EXISTING tracks. Knowing how KTMB works, they only allow works during non-operational hours, and that is normally from 12am-4am, so that means 4 hours working hours per day only.

But if MOT wants to review the costs there is nothing wrong with it, just dont cancel it.Maybe savings can be done if they reduce the job scope. Anyway the existing KTMB tracks really do need upgrading, double tracking of tracks will increase the train capacity for the tracks and with more trains, KTMB can have lower headway for more frequent commuter service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Gamuda&tua on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:42 pm

Previous administration shud pour the billions from ECRL to upgrade existing KTMB tracks instead and oso double tracking.

• Alredi upgrading in progress. Reason to double track is to not disrupt usage when one line is being upgraded, unlike now. Such shortsightedness from new gov but thats alredi expected from these clowns.

• Ben-G on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:17 pm

Hi, I am curious, I understand malaysia’s rail width is about 1 meter, which limits the highest speed train can go to. Does the KVDT project also includes the use of wider track?

• practical car lover on Jun 12, 2018 at 2:42 pm

the 1 meter track is called the Meter Gauge. It is used primarily in Malaysia, up to Thailand and all the way to China. This track gauge were inherited when the British lay the tracks 100 years ago.

Normally the speed limit is determined by the train set itself. To my knowledge, the current ETS train has a Designed speed of 160kph and operating speed of 140kph. I believe that the current Ipoh – Pdg Besar double track was designed for trains up to 180kph.

So for your question, as our KTM tracks are now using metre gauge, they will upgrade to the same gauge too to ensure compatibility with existing train & tracks.

The other track gauge used malaysia is the ‘standard gauge’ that measures 1.4m. Current user of the standard gauge are the ERL, MRT, & LRT lines. The canceled HSR and under-review ECRL also uses standard gauge.

• rchoo on Jun 12, 2018 at 11:49 am

Just Tender it out (include the Chinese Rail Companies) and we can easily halve the cost.

• Gip to China complain. Dun gip to China oso complain.

• stastasta on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:17 am

give to china direct nego, without open tender, 100% markup. thats why we complain.

• kaizen on Jun 12, 2018 at 12:16 pm

Aiya…. How come a menteri can give such a comment? I thought this kind of comment comes from the people like us, whom do not have a details of the project. You cannot average out the cost per KM just like that. It is very misleading!.

If you want to review it is very much fine. Very OK. You might be able to reduce the cost, or you might not. If you make the changes here and there, change the masterplan, improve the project deliverability then there might be cost benefit for you.
    Otherwise don’t issue that kind of blunt statement, because you are a MINISTER. dude!.

• Mat over on Jun 12, 2018 at 1:12 pm

Oklar. Asalkan takdak “Red Files” sulit.

• But then investors lari wei, just like when ur FM keeps tukar debt figures.

• stastasta on Jun 13, 2018 at 10:16 am

all the previous corruption projects have been put on hold, thats why the crony investors lari.

• Ahmadjr on Jun 12, 2018 at 3:20 pm

Tiga perkara yang merosakkan negara

1) tak menepati masa
    2) rasuah
    3) cinggey / bini / awek / ehem2