Klang Valley Double Track project on track – end 2019

Rehabilitation work for the Keratapi Tanah Melayu (KTM) Klang Valley Double Track project is on course, according to the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD). The 42 km rehabilitation work between the Rawang-Salak Selatan and Sentul-Simpang Batu line is expected to reach completion by the end of 2019, said SPAD chief executive officer Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah.

“Some of the works done includes the upgrading of KTM’s 16 stations, the signalling and electrification system, and the installation of the tetra radio system for the overall KTM network except for Gemas-JB,” he said following a visit to the site of the project.

The remedial work is much needed in order to alleviate delays and cancellations due to failure and derailment as most of the track is more than 20 years old, he said.

The RM1.41 billion KVDT project, which started in the third quarter of last year, includes the laying of new tracks that will be easier to maintain, the replacement of 20-year old signalling equipment to reduce metal theft and service disruption, installation of radio systems, upgrading of 16 stations and a new feeder station in Sentul for generation of more electricity to increase train frequencies. The upgrading project is the reason for the longer waits KTM Komuter passengers are facing now.

Responding to a question on the work schedule, unexpected delays will not be a key matter, as quality of work is of the utmost importance, said Azharuddin. “Having said that, the contractors appointed however, have assured the commission that they would be able to get the job done on time,” he said.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 27, 2017 at 7:28 pm

Look at the train in the picture. So malu. And we think we are first world? Disgraceful.

This should have been done 20 years ago. Instead of that, we wasted money on other nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Abang baca la dulu artikel on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:05 pm

And…what does the train pic have to do with tracks upgrading works??

Also you said that the tracks should be replaced 20 years ago when it was just laid down +-20yrs ago? What logic is that.

Upgrading works is a must. But inconvenience cannot be avoided. If you dont do it today, you still have to do it tmr, or the next month, or the nexy year. The bottomline is that they are doing the upgrading works now for the use for the next 20 years. Remember to leave a memo to your children to complaint when they do the next upgrading works in 20 years time k.

• Albert on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:17 pm

How many folks have benefitted from this white elephant?Rm14 Billion gone.
    NOw ,somemore money ….keep spending to make contractors happy.
    My friend took a train to Ipoh,lately.Only 20 passengers on this soc called double track.
    What a waste.KTM forever losing money cos of incompetence.Remember the Hungarian railbus with no air con? In the scrap yards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Definitely not you on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Well seems like you are not the target market then. Just be open for a bit. It just gives more choices for the people to get from one place to the other. So you are saying we should not have more public transport? And everyone should only drive their cars? Thats seems like a really great way for worse traffic.

Hey at least that 20 cars on the road with those ppl that used the train. Or you secretly wants our public transport system to fail just to say ‘see! I told you so!’

• He do wants our public transport system to fail, just cuz her works for….

• Need MOAR public transport!

• See? Our Gov is prihatin to the Rakyat

• If the train has only 20 people sitting then it should be discontinued otherwise it is a burden to the national coffers. How come our cities have millions of people but so little public transport? Don’t even have pavements for people to walk. KTM is not viable and people there should rely on their own bikes and cars. Truth is it exists as dedak for those jagoh kampong folks. BN will never discontinue it.

• shinkansen on Feb 28, 2017 at 7:42 am

What an iconic photo you used representing this KVDT article bro…looked like not representing Klang Valley and might be taken the early 80s….he he he

• That train needs a serious water wash !! lol