New national car project should not get government bail outs, protectionism, cross-subsidy: Wee Ka Siong

Yesterday, finance minister Lim Guan Eng said the third national car project will be funded by the private sector instead of using public funds. However, the Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) has urged Lim to provide additional guarantees – in black and white – because merely assuring the public on the backers is not enough.

“Whether Proton is owned by private companies or not, during the 30 years that Proton was in existence, ordinary Malaysians had to bear as much as RM360 billion in the form of higher car prices and its correspondingly higher loans, higher car insurance premiums and higher spare parts costs. Our finance minister has to guarantee that no protectionism will be imposed that can cause car prices to increase,” MCA deputy president Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong claimed in a statement, as reported by The Star.

Wee added that although Proton was completely privately owned in 2016, the government had no choice but to bail it out with a RM1.5 billion soft loan. This was so that the national car company could repay its debts to vendors and save an estimated 30,000 jobs in the company, including those in its supply chain.

He added that Lim should also guarantee that the third national car project will not be bailed out by the government via direct loans, grants or guarantees should it suffer financially. “There should not be any special treatment given to the privately owned third national car company,” said Wee.

Tun Dr Mahathir checking out the new Proton SUV

“Nor should there be any cross-subsidy to their owners indirectly as what had happened when a government fund was forced to buy a building at a very high price from the firm that helped bail out Perwaja steel. If the minister can make those additional guarantees in writing, then the third national car project should and must enjoy the full support from all Malaysians, including myself,” Wee added.

Meanwhile, Lim told Channel NewsAsia: “I told the prime minister that we don’t have the money, and he knows it. So it is not from public funds, it’s not like Proton, no. If there are private parties who want to do it in Malaysia using their own money, I think that is something that would be worthwhile looking at – but not from public funds.”

The project has not sit very well with the public and several politicians, but if the private sector is willing to invest in the project, perhaps the thought isn’t that scary after all. In any case, the third car project, which has been earmarked for a 2020 launch, will be reviewed together with the National Automotive Policy, which will be completed by end-2018.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally support the idea that the new national car project should avoid government bailouts, protectionism, and subsidies, emphasizing the importance of private sector funding and fair competition. Many criticize past government interventions, protectionist policies, and the use of taxpayer money, arguing they inflated car prices and stifled industry growth. Several comments highlight that Perodua's success stems from Japanese backing, not government support, and warn against unnecessary protectionism that could increase costs for consumers. There’s frustration with political dynamics, with some praising Wee Ka Siong for speaking out against potential government interference. Overall, commenters favor a market-driven approach, emphasizing quality, innovation, and private investment over protectionist policies and government bailouts. Sentiments range from supportive to critical, with a common call for transparency and rational policies.

• digidigi on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:14 am

I think we should really support this guy, he is quite alone.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
    • YB Albert on Aug 15, 2018 at 12:10 pm

This dude is wayang je.Anyway,we should boycott Protiga.Rakyat should buy P1 n 2. and used cars..plus others if they can afford.Protiga is to satisfy an inflated ego…we don’t need that.PH is wasting time embarking on a ego trip.There r still many stolen billions out there in foreign banks.PH,we voted for regime change,not Protiga .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
      • This dude. Once a yesman, always a YES MAN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Pengundi Bijak on Aug 15, 2018 at 6:00 pm

It shows that MCA is very good as Pembangkang.

So let’s keep them forever as Pembangkang!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • Edwin L on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:32 pm

MCA better at pembangkang than DAP at pentadbiran. So let’s kick them both out!!

• Radzi Ang on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:11 pm

BN-MCA forever relevant as Pembangkang.

• Loudspeaker on Aug 15, 2018 at 12:54 pm

This guy should voice out 1MDB not get government bail outs last time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
    • Johnson Amigo on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:05 pm

fully funded by private sector still consider national car project? lolz

• S.Mukhtar on Aug 15, 2018 at 4:08 pm

Datuk Seri totally right on Cross-subsidy.

https://paultan.org/2016/02/18/govt-to-allow-duty-exempt-import-of-100-tesla-model-s/

• Keep on Barking Mr Wee KS. What were u doing before when u were part of the Government before? U didn’t bother to comment on this matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 28
    • There was no plans for 3rd national car/agenda by previous government

Ppl hv to thank najib for emphasizing on public transport and selling off proton to geely to revive them

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
      • But then even though Proton sold to Geely for 49.9% we still do not enjoy the 30% reduction of car price as promised by him since 2013 so happy and no thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
        • eljambu on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:23 pm

Deswai rakyat kick them out as promised.
          Rakyat janji ditepati.

• Rakyat kicked them out cuz they wanted P3 and not public transports lor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Matchy on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:37 pm

They only sold them last year…

• If u have gud public transports like what Najib was heading for, then why need car at all? Then no matter how expensip oso wun affect u anymore lor. Too bad MY pipu chose to go for Protiga instead of better public transports. Now with P3 u will get even more expensip car. So u can be happy to pay more and be thankful as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • double standard on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:27 am

When Wee Ka Siong was the Minister in the Prime Minister Office during the previous government, did he ask the PM at that time for black and white that they would not bail 1MDB out?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
  • kenny fook on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:27 am

When he is not the opposition, sit there quietly and follow his master around like a puppy in need of attention. When the tables have turned, barking now like a rottweiler. But that doesnt mean that i am in view with the new local car project. Totally disastrous move if you ask me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • Same goes to PH MP now. How many are voicing out Dr M pet project now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Ahmad Pontian on Aug 15, 2018 at 5:28 pm

Banyak membaca luas pengetahuan. https://paultan.org/2018/08/14/kereta-nasional-ketiga-akan-guna-dana-sektor-swasta/

• S.Ibrahim on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:29 pm

MOF.Inc pun swasta jugak. Tapi dana tu duit dari mana? Jeng jeng jeng!!!

• he not qualify as rottweiler, only as puppy just learn how to barking.. he didn’t realise or forgot he only say yes word and diam aja before..

• IM USE TO CRY on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:31 am

Support support

• anonymous on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:35 am

if so, why BN still impose high tax on non national brand cars for the past 15 years which was not governed under Tun M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:30 pm

Try compare today car price with last 15 years.. city n vios used to be RM100k car price. Now u can get city/vios from RM70k.. if u compare with Thai, bolehland vios/city price not much different.

• Taxes was coming down. Previous City & Vios can get at 90k now 70+k oso can get. And City & Vios have much better gadgets and safety than the ancient dinosar predecessors. That is the cost u dun see in car prices.

• Even the mighty tan chong dynasty with factories everywhere across asean country never bothered to kowtow with their long lost mainland ancestors to start a national branded car and enjoying tax breaks and protection.

Why they hv not done so…. what is stopping them?

simple arithmetics, 30 million population is too small of a market to invest in rnd to build a car from the ground up.

Somehow perodua succeeded, and now even exported as rebadge daihatsus.

Proton is finally making a long lost waited comeback and now government wish to set up a 3rd competitor….

seriously , even if nobody buys protiga, gov agencies will then be forced to buy and maintain them

• Perodua had the financial backing of Daihatsu and later Toyota for R&D. Do you honestly believe Perodua engineers in Malaysia did any of the following:?
      1. Complete Engine & vehicle design
      2. Prototype vehicle build
      3. Engine calibration and durability testing
      4. Vehicle calibration for driveability, emissions, performance and durability.
      5. Systems engineering for all electronic control units in vehicle
      6. Vehicle dynamics, handling, suspension, brake / ABS/ESC tuning including tyre development
      7. Summer and winter testing, low RON, high altitude
      8. Manufacturing process capability

Or did Perodua just “plan & managed” a project that was transferred from Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • yeah, obviously , but look where they are now
        Bezza may be using axia’s platform and powertrain, but it has been designed in house, and the new myvi is perodua using existing platform and modyfying it add the latest tech even…

Maybe someday once their coffers is big enough they would probably invest in their own platform and powertrain, but that may be a decade ahead,
        Or probably straight on invest into EVs…

• BOYRACER on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:00 pm

Absolutely not.The engineers never did any of the above except no.8.All the cars are rebadged Daihatsu except the Myvi and Bezza but then again those are just redesigned.
        To do all of the above you’ll need a lot of money which if to sell only in Malaysia, there’s no economic of scale.
        By saying this, I’m not applying that Perodua is bad.It’s just the way they making business.

• If you have those criteria, you also can succeed but do you have it?

• Mr. Octopus on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:48 am

So the RM1.5b soft loan was justifiable during BN reign but PH cannot do regardless of justification?…

What kind of statement is that?

Not a PH supporter here, just an observer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:32 pm

P1 already exist n 30k pipu lost job is not small number. P3 is not even exist yet why take the risk if we already know what will happen.

• That was to correct a mistake. What Dr Wee is saying we should try not to start the mistake in the 1st place. Otherwise the loss will be much higher than just Rm1.5B.

• komarad on Aug 15, 2018 at 12:26 pm

MOF Inc..?

• Money comes from private sector mah! They never denied the money was from taxpayer or not, right?

• Mikey on Aug 15, 2018 at 12:28 pm

This must be the ONLY time I agree with Cry Wee wee.

• Alson P on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:08 pm

Gogo Protiga.!! We want Protiga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • lut you on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:41 pm

Guan ying ma can promise anything without “black and white”

• Wee Tin milo kosong on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:57 pm

Some people never even knew this guy existed prior to GE

• Manual Swift Sporter on Aug 15, 2018 at 1:59 pm

Dear Dr. M,

I would like to start selling karipap, and I would like your assistance in promoting it in the capacity of a prime minister.

Grateful if you can talk about my karipap, and my karipap only, every 2 days, on your blog, in parliament and during official announcements etc. Remind those that chose to eat dirty imperialist sandwiches instead of my karipap how unpatriotic they are, and maybe talk about how Malaysians should only eat my karipap for the rest of their life like how Japanese only eat sushi till they puke and die.

There’s no need to fund my RM10 venture, pinky promise my own favorite Saudi Prince can pay for it justtttt fine. That said, it would help if you levy extra taxes on sandwiches and sushi.

Love,
    Secret Sushi Chef.

Ps: Rendang stall is asking for the same favour but let’s just pretend we don’t know him.

• Bernard on Aug 15, 2018 at 2:01 pm

Now can talk big. Last time quiet as a mouse.

Coward!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Same L0rr on Aug 15, 2018 at 3:58 pm

Yeah. On paper no bailout. Profit masuk pocket, loss gov bailout

• vVivi Zurianti on Aug 15, 2018 at 6:58 pm

This Wee Wee guy is so irrelevant and useless, last time and now…..

Any associations linked to Wee Wee must have been really embarrassing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 7:05 pm

This one, I support you. In fact the whole country should support him on this issue as it will affect all of us if Govt starts gerymandling the approved price of imported & CKD cars.

• Thank you for speaking up. Lge did not talk about additional protectionism which will hurt the rakyat’s pocket when we are already paying one of the highest prices for cars in the world. I vote for PH to see car prices come down, not up and will vote against PH if this nonsense goes through.

• FrankC on Aug 16, 2018 at 9:40 am

No bail out fund, no direct subsidy to perotiga, no import duty protection – OK agreed
    Government should consider rnd grant or automation incentive or cost reduction effort & quality improvement rewards for parts supplier.. after all proton failed because of its part supplier below quality and high cost..

With government indirect support to parts suppliers that will directly impact our automotive industry. They in turn will hv ability to grow as supplier to other companies

• Why wait after election and talk so much ah? And when asked during Parliament, don’t want answer and keep swaying away from the “now” finance minister. Get a life la, the finance minister ask you questions and you cannot give an answer. When the new government want to make things right after their 61 years of “crap”, now you tell people what to do. And the funniest thing is you tell people the wrong doings of what you did for the past 61 years that the new government didn’t do their job. Come on la, wake up, it’s a new era. Out dated la you. Very Geli la the bench warmers bark…. let the new guys teach the things old guys new things la and clear all the rubbish for u mr..

• Darren on Aug 17, 2018 at 11:11 am

Although I do not support any political parties, what this guy said has some relevant points to it.