Review the third national car project, says Rafizi Ramli

More about the proposed third national car company, which the government is reportedly working towards the formation of. Based on that revealed by entrepreneur development minister Mohd Redzuan Yusof, the project is supposedly set to get underway by 2020.

The idea of this venturing toward a working reality has prompted more to question the need for a further national car project, the dissenting voice this time coming from Keadilan vice-president Rafizi Ramli.

In a post made on his personal website, he expressed his fears that the federal government will continue to pursue the project despite the rakyat‘s clear opposition towards it. Not mincing his words, he wrote that implementing something unpopular and contrary to Pakatan Harapan’s pledges as made in its election manifesto would invite cynicism from the people.

Rafizi said that there was nothing in the Pakatan Harapan campaign or its election manifesto that includes the establishment of a third national car company, and urged that the matter be reconsidered in order to reduce a negative perception of the new federal government.

He said that the efforts toward establishing a third national car company would have a huge financial impact, and asked how much of the investment made for it would utilise public funds. Rafizi also queried as to which governing body would take responsibility for implementing the project.

Citing the supposed 2020 launch, he asked if a specific plan to assess the project’s financial impact on the country had been carried out, and if the federal government intends to abolish excise taxes to reduce car prices when the third national car is launched.

Rafizi said that since it is a policy matter, it should be brought to the Pakatan presidential council first to seek agreement with the parties forming the coalition. Although the cabinet is ultimately responsible in decision-making, he said that decisions regarding policy matters must be refined in principle at the Pakatan Harapan level before being implemented through the cabinet.

What do you think of Rafizi’s thoughts on the matter? Share your views with us in the comments section, but remember to keep it civil.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Albert on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:16 pm

Tun have to differentiate between his personal dream and the aspirations of the rakyat.
    With SST and further protectionist duties,the already suffering car buyer will be forced to buy PROTIGA,like those years when the Saga is introduced.
    Just unconceivable after winning the elections,PAKATAN HARAPAN may become PAKATAN HADANGAN OR PAKATAN HITAM.
    The 8 unfulfilled promises need Tun’s undivided attention,not this personal pet project.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 3
    • Survey on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:33 am

What if no protectionist policies and reduction of foreign car taxes? Will Malaysians support?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Temasek on Aug 07, 2018 at 1:51 pm

The problem with Malaysians is everything got to do with taking
        their money they don’t support. GST? No support. SST? No support. Car duties? No support. UMNO stealing their money? Got booted out. It’s best just to give everything for free then they support.

• Prepare! Prepare to be disappointed!
        Yeah, and make it double.
        To protect the country from importation!
        To unite all peoples within our nation.
        To denounce the evil of foreign cars!
        To get all people to buy our Protiga.
        TUN! CRONIES!
        New Car Project blast off at the speed of light!
        Surrender now and expect higher taxes!

Yowzers!
        That’s right!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
    • rightwinger on Aug 07, 2018 at 1:38 pm

wait…” the rakyat. With SST and further protectionist duties…”

I THOT YOU SAID SST BETTER. WHY COMPLAIN DOUCHEBAG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
  • Bernard on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:31 pm

The third national car must be run based on the Airasia model. Tony Fernandes can be the consultant.

The rakyat must not be burden in any way neither should the govt have any role.

It should be based on meritocracy and never ever raise the car prices, impose taxes etc of other car companies.

Any independent private businessman with money should put in a proposal. Any takers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • that’s a good idea. all parts can be sold separately. i believe most malaysian won’t opt for the indication light since most of them don’t really use it. why spend money on something we don’t use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • all cheap cheap cheap so everyone can drive???

• I am not sure if you are serious or just joking…
        ” i believe most Malaysian won’t opt for the indication light since most of them don’t really use it. why spend money on something we don’t use.”

Since we don’t use the airbags, ABS, EBD, TCS, side impact bars, spare tyres, roof grip, interior rear mirror, etc, etc, we should not have it in the car and should be considered optional equipment?

• According to P2 sales, MY pipu prefers RV over safety features so yes, remove them and inflate RV price instead. Thats what the MY pipu wants.

• Are you serious that you don’t know whether is he is joking?

He is making fun of bad drivers’ habits of not indicating turns la, hello. And also if you use the turn signal, some ppl purposely don’t let you pass.

• digidigi on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:39 pm

now is clear, if Anwar be pm as soon as possible, then the p3 disaster won’t happen, the old man still have his 2020 and national car dream, now alr August 2018, if malaysia really can come out a car maker that more advance than p1 within one n a half year, this is not malaysia alr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:25 am

If Anwar PM..Tun might interfere n not support him oso like what he did to Pak Lah n Bijan.

• enough with this national car rubbish already, get car prices lower now

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
    • NOOO.. Car price should not be lower. Build more public transport infra instead, both for inter-city and intra-city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Red jacket on Aug 07, 2018 at 3:55 pm

NO. 600k new vehicles registered per year currently. If lower the price, 1mil per year. In 10 years 10 mil cars otr.

We should be more like EU. More public transportation (fast train, tram).

• Yang mahal on Aug 07, 2018 at 7:28 pm

Car price already drop when GST set to 0%

• And estimated will go back up for ever and ever when SST comes in. So?

• kenneth Fook on Aug 06, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Come on man… We clearly dont need another national crap when alot of the more crucial issues have yet to be sorted out. We are suppose to create revenue for Malaysia not by spending money on some clear disastrous project in which the raykat will have to bear the consequences of such silly move from the fed govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Sotong is just a disgruntled politician who missed his boat to the big show becoz of his tongue. Bapak cant care less and will forge ahead towards the iceberg as he has alwiz done. The pipu r just the passengers, thats all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • Ikhwanimiti on Aug 07, 2018 at 10:55 am

Bro Anwar is back. Noktah.

• Near, far, wherever you are
      I believe that the heart does go on
      Once more you open the door
      And you’re here in my heart
      And my heart will go on and on..

u jump.. i jump Tun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Cipano on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Unless it’s a driverless car project, i’m fully support it

• Proton milik Ah Beng on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:10 pm

Actually its the SECOND, as Proton is no longer national

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • kifuat on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:20 am

You think Perodua is still nasional….go figure out

• Geli Proton on Aug 07, 2018 at 4:51 pm

Kifuat… Geely will supply all major parts from China … as local vendors cannot meet Geely 30% price reduction. Proton will be reduced to an assembler only. Unlike Perodua who source and buys parts from local vendors…so you go figure out who qualifies as national car …nak pandai sangat tapi bukan … You must be a Proton staff and worried to lose your job soon to Ah Beng

• Nothing “national” with P2 since Day 1. National car assembler only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Just to refresh your memory, NAZA and INOKOM is also a National Car.

• Bad idea…

• Firm want to promote e scooter, or e unicycle and e shoes to a short distance, to MRT or LRT, not a third national car project. Cars are a headache, so many cars in the road, and the road hot jam during peak hours.

• John May 9 Nangis on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:24 pm

We don’t need another car project because Rakyat have sacrifised so much the past 30 years to keep Proton alive.

Malaysians have sacrificed enough for Proton and its protectionism. Because of Proton, all car prices have gone up 700% since 1985.

For example, Toyota Corolla in 1985 was RM20k. Today, in 2018, the Toyota Corolla is RM139k

The same Toyota Corolla in Japan has only risen 50% from 1985 to 2018.

Car prices actually have gone down over 30 years all over the world due to automation, robotics and economies of scale despite inflation.

50% vs 700% – a big huge difference Malaysians have to pay.

According to statistics, Malaysians have overpaid by RM350 billion for cars from 1985 if one were to compare if Proton was NEVER born.

We have really spent a lot of money to save Proton. Many Malaysians have suffered paying high 9 year car loans just to keep Proton alive

Enough is enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:26 pm

1983 Mercedes 200 in UK was 20,000 pounds

1983 Mercedes 200 CBU in Msia was RM57,000

2018 Mercedes E250 in the UK is 32,000 pounds

2018 Mercedes E250 CKD in Malaysia is RM400k

Thank you Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
    • Sparcov on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:08 am

RM 2.2 equal to USD 1. In 1983, we can buy Wan Ton Mee for RM 0.50 per bowl.

RM 4.00 equal to USD 1. In 2018, we can buy Wan Ton Mee for RM 7.00 (KL kopitiam rate)

Mana Salah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Tenkiu Bapak! I luv u!

• Ahmadjr on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:46 pm

Rafizi vs azmin rasa lah selamat sikit negara sebab orang cerdik dan berani. Ini antara zahid vs kj, sorang indon, sorang lagi kuat ngeteh kedai mamak. Mana lah tak kalah

• Jascha on Aug 06, 2018 at 8:59 pm

I agree with Rafizi’s point of view, if the government insist on establishing the third national car company then the investment made must not utilize more than 1/3 public funds. At the same time AP must be abolished and excise duty being reduced.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 07, 2018 at 10:34 am

No way the government will reduce the excise duty, they will do it in reverse by increasing the excise duty to “protect” the 3rd national car. The main purpose is the “tax” as it is huge income to government. The 3rd national car is just an excuse or a puppet for the government to gain more income.

• Robert Parameswaran S/O Kuppusamy on Aug 06, 2018 at 9:26 pm

Sigh, all this nonsense is about supposedly elevating our local engineering capabilities…lord knows if that will ever happen. Our education system is what is at fault. Zero meritocracy further compounds this problem. Ultimately, having a 3rd national car program with borrowed tech and compromised specifications is just a waste of time and money. We already have 2 national car programs that do just that. Rafizi should focus on abolishing APs, proper liberalization of the market, AFTA style etc….these are the real issues, not this 3rd national car program…

• HELLO? Rafizi is the one asking TDM not to focus or even think anything about 3rd car la. TDM is the one itchy

• Tz1234 on Aug 06, 2018 at 9:28 pm

Definitely a no for such project. Instead Proton should take Geely participation in country auto industry as an opportunity to expand, at least an export hub to right hand drive market and advancing our engineering and technology.
    We really do not need another kereta National.

• Mohamed sedek on Aug 06, 2018 at 9:32 pm

Kereta nasional ketiga boleh dilancarkan dengan syarat engine ya gunakan bio diesel dari Minyak sawit. R&d secara serious hendaklah dijalakan untuk meningkatkan penggunaan Minyak sawit.menteri & Mpob ????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Ksjajaj on Aug 06, 2018 at 9:40 pm

Why iriz look so nice in picture you post? So classy, and elegance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • 1Malaysia on Aug 06, 2018 at 9:44 pm

3rd national car project is solely an drM ego wish. all the while PH is suggesting to reduce tax on automotive, if the 3rd national car launch, will it be another proton-like protection & force all malaysian drive low quality vehicle like 30 yrs ago?

• Old fox didn’t change stripes at all.

We already have 2 national car makers. And both only successful BECAUSE HIGH IMPORT TAXES force rakyat to buy those substandard cars!

Who wouldn’t rather drive a higher quality Japanese or even Korean car if price is exactly the same, or cheaper!

The cynicism that Rafizi mentioned – yes, we all suspect you are peeved that Proton doesn’t want to buy power windows from your overpriced, substandard suppliers anymore?

• Lala land on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:01 pm

No to another national car!

• camtakpro on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:08 pm

Perhaps in GE15 we have to vote BN just to sell off another national car project to China.

Pls no more Proton II.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • AGREE 1000%.

How many more billions to be spent on crony suppliers with overpriced substandard parts. Then everyone suffer because of the high car prices.
    Do it with your own money, not govt money.
    Only the cronies are happy

• Be fair on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:06 pm

Agree with Rafizi. M only want to save his vebtcronies in P1 before they’re sacked by Geely because of poor quality /high price.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 06, 2018 at 11:56 pm

Agree. Need to discuss in detail what this plan is. The rakyat wants to see a lower price in cars not to pay more tax & jack up the price of imported cars to protect the 3rd national car.

• Robin on Aug 07, 2018 at 12:21 am

You are a professional but no a visionary. Can’t go by bookish rules now considering the condition of the broken nation.U demonstrated.your immaturity immediately after election..Tq for the reminder but I think let the big guys handle things for now.We will ask for your help if needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Ethan on Aug 07, 2018 at 2:21 am

Absolutely agree. The Malaysian Market is so small anyway. Economies of scale don’t work well here. As someone else mentioned, Thailand doesn’t have a national car and its automotive industry is doing great over there.

We just got rid of a the burden of a shitty company that is Proton, and now we want to make the same mistakes again? For what? Whatever it is that Dr M wants to do, why can’t he do it with the already existing Proton or Perodua?

• mike smith on Aug 07, 2018 at 3:16 am

Last time around the Prime Minister and others made a personal fortune with the launch of Proton, so it makes sense that the new Prime Minister, the same as the old Prime Minister, wants to launch a third national car company, to increase his personal fortune. No other reason or need for another national car company in such a small country. Only the people will suffer as they will pay for this venture.

• RM1.50/L petrol mana? on Aug 07, 2018 at 2:23 pm

The people voted to suffer what.

• MM but not TM's son on Aug 09, 2018 at 10:06 am

Apart from crony P1, the same 4th prime minister also created the nefarious IPPs & toll concessionaires, then he put the blame on his successors.

But pipu welcomed him again as the messiah. Now pipu wants to be upset?

Ironic no?

• Spend the money on education better… to build and to have a better nation. Education 1st….

• Give TunM his chance, he’s already in the 90s. Then give his sons and daughters a chance, they cari makan too, need gomen contracts. duh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Malaysia third national car company shall be 100% focus on renewable energy with the goal for global market access from Day 1. In layman’s term, electric vehicle to be sold globally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Mikey on Aug 07, 2018 at 8:40 am

To review is a waste of time. Just scrapped it. Pakatan have 101 better things to do. ProTiga is NOT in your manifesto.

• Yes it was. https://paultan.org/2017/08/25/tun-m-wants-to-start-another-proton-if-pakatan-wins/

• contilover on Aug 07, 2018 at 8:44 am

making promise on PH Manifesto also bring huge impact of financial to the government like ablish toll RM400 billion, settle FELDA settlers loan. Did u involve in tht Rafizi?

• john is otak batu on Aug 07, 2018 at 8:48 am

This is a true Rakyat hero! Dear Tun, this is just a beginning of saying no to Ptotiga!
    Rakyat is rejecting it clearly. BTW Tun, pls focus on Malaysia’s economy & rakyat’s welfare is good enough.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 07, 2018 at 8:51 am

We seriously do not need 3rd national car brand consider that it takes “decades” to build the brand. Tun M is well known that without a justified volume there is no way the 3rd national car manufacturer can achieve economy of scale to lower down the car price. Without competitive price how on earth the 3rd national car can survive in automotive industry. Again the only trick is raise up the “import duty and local tax”.

Mean in future we are gonna facing higher price for all foreign cars especially those who afford to buy RM60-80k range foreign car now will no more able to buy in future. They will only able to buy national car with no guarantee of quality and fuel saving.

• ex-VGM staff on Aug 07, 2018 at 8:53 am

first of all – we do not make good cars. we forced the people of malaysia to buy by price protection so that the only option they have is to buy proton or buy nothing. this has been proven in many countries like UK, germany, belgium, australia, singapore, thailand, indonesia and brunei. in many countries proton had extint to a point of no return.

if proton cars are good, Geely is preparing to rebadge Saga, Iriz and Persona to sell in China. is it happening? not any time soon (later is bad since the model gets old by age)

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 07, 2018 at 8:59 am

Why Tun M wanted to do so, perhaps the intention is to “recover” the lost of GST income. With 3rd national car he will have “excuse” to raise the import duty and local tax for all new vehicles. So end up we save from GST but the road users gonna pay for higher tax. He had done it once when he was PM in the past and now he may plan for second time with even higher tax rate.

Soon Malaysia will take over Singapore’s spot to become most expensive country to buy car in the world. He will makes up the name of Malaysia to global again if he still active in year 2020 to roll out the 3rd national car.

• On one hand the country is debt badly. On the other, DrM wants to spend money for his own indulgent.

How much money has been spent on Proton by the gov even after they bought over by DRB? How much money has been taken from ordinary people in the form of high excise duty when buying non-proton cars? One entire Malaysian generation has been deprived of good quality cars. Lets stop it.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 07, 2018 at 9:13 am

two words. thank you. sincerely from everyone. we really don’t need this project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Mohd Redzuan Yusof you are the one man, you are the few one who are clear and dare to speak out for the people… that why you get my vote during the GE14..

• Proton owner on Aug 07, 2018 at 9:47 am

Please stop creating another third car manufacturer. We malaysian need cheaper car and high quality car.

• He is right that most of us do not support the 3rd national car project. The high taxes and the protective measures that will be implemented to protect it means from last time till we now we still don’t know how to make a car. The government can go ahead with the 3rd car project if there is no protective measures to prevent all of us to buy what we want. An open market with no barriers to import and export is the way forward if the desire to do a national 3rd car project. Not a close market with protective measures.

• I love America on Aug 07, 2018 at 10:39 am

I see peopel wanting it to be electric, Malaysia can’t even make proper gas cars, what makes y’all think it can make an electric car? LOL

• Henry on Aug 07, 2018 at 10:49 am

Yes, only if it is a private investment project.

• I love America on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:05 am

I live in the US and even my school peers drive Mustangs, meanwhile Malaysians are driving low quality Protons. Why doesn’t the government just do away foreign taxes? Malaysians would be able to afford better quality cars.

Don’t give me the excuse of tax revenue. PH didn’t say anything when they took away GST and lost billions in revenue.

• You have been away for too long. Now we have very high quality Perodua cars, on par with Toyota. And just as fast as the Mustangs too.

• wkakaka on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:19 am

Agreed with Rafizi, a third national car would be another huge burden on our backs if Ma*****r decides to increase the taxes AGAIN.

Somehow this feels like he’s trying to kill 2 birds in 1 stone; reduce the debt deficit (might as well just keep GST?) and to help his ailing cronies that are unable to sell their sub-par parts to Proton or any other car manufacturer any more.

• MusTanG on Aug 07, 2018 at 11:58 am

Whether P1 ka P2 ka P3 ka, gov will never abolish excise tax. That’s one of the main income for the government.

Ppl keep on shouting TUTUP PROTON, but let me tell you this, even if P1 tutup, we still have to pay them excise taxes lah.

Of course that doesn’t mean I support the P3 idea.

• Robinhood on Aug 07, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Whatever it is, we support free market. Only competition can bring improvements. Protectionism breeds complacency and cronyism at its highest order. So, don’t blame when you are voted out in the next GE. The people are watching whether you are as corrupted as your nemesis.

• shaun shaun on Aug 08, 2018 at 7:36 am

an old man obsession. back to d malaysia lama when he was pm. v have been hookwink

• KA Daniel on Aug 08, 2018 at 8:04 am

Thank you Tun for kickstarted the 1st and 2nd national car projects that put us ahead of many other asean countries. Unfortunately, the protectionism policy adopted eventually made car makers to choose Thailand over Malaysia as their destination to set up assembly plants. We lost many job and opportunities in the industry. The auto policy has been “slightly liberalised” over the years yet we the consumers still pay top dollars . Instead of launching the third national project which the rakyat is against for, the government should instead pursue to fully liberalize the auto industry.

• TDM has this fetish obsession with cars. please do it with your own money. the rakyat fully reject this project adter suffering for 35 years of proton. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. NO COMPROMISE.