Geely Boyue turns three, but is far from its final form

On March 26, 2019, Geely celebrated the third launch anniversary of its flagship SUV, the Geely Boyue. Now, Malaysians are no stranger to the Boyue – the C-segment SUV is known as the Proton X70, and since its launch in December 2018, demand for Proton’s first ever SUV skyrocketed to over 20,000 units.

In the grander scheme of things, the Boyue, together with the X70, have reached a record total sale of over 700,000 units. In the three short years since its debut, the Boyue has already undergone a facelift, which saw the introduction of the advanced Global Key User Interface (GKUI) system. But according to Geely, we have yet to see its final form, and that alone suggests that there would be more to come.

Geely’s unrelenting product offensive is driven primarily by constant customer feedback, as well as its goal to be among the top 10 automaker (by way of volume) in China. According to Geely Auto’s vice president of public relations, Victor Young, the company has to sell well over three million vehicles to get there – in 2018, Geely sold a little over 1.5 million units, a record figure for the company. Besides aggressively expanding its product portfolio, Geely also pays close attention to consumer trends.

As with the case of the Boyue, Geely made sure its design, which was conceptualised by senior vice president of design Peter Horbury, would meet the expectations of its target customers. The Boyue must also fit well with young professionals who are not just interested in aesthetics and quality, but in this day and age, they are obsessed with being connected. Hence, GKUI.

Locally, the GKUI system is quickly trickling its way across Proton’s product portfolio, offering a level of sophistication that many would consider up with the times, or properly premium, even. GKUI is only the beginning of this technological push, and it exemplifies Geely’s ambition of transforming itself from being a manufacturing-based company to a technology-driven company.

To that end, Young said the automaker has been funnelling around 10 billion yuan (RM6 billion) annually in R&D for the past five years, while noting that the industry average is usually half that, or less.

Despite being produced and sold largely in China, the Boyue has global aspirations. Recently, the SUV was part of an epic endurance tour, where it was driven for approximately 18,000 km from its Baoji factory in China, all across Russia, Germany and France, before reaching its destination in the United Kingdom.

Furthermore, the Boyue was used as a support vehicle for the Geely team at the Dakar rally, which saw it tackle the unpredictably treacherous terrains of South America. In Malaysia, the Proton X70 was also used as the official car, safety car and medical car for the 2019 Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF). Let’s not forget, the Malaysia-China Amazing Trip convoy comprising nine X70s is currently making its way back to Kuala Lumpur after driving some 7,000 km to Hangzhou, China.

So, in the short span of three years, the Geely Boyue/Proton X70 have definitely come a long way. Geely said while other models may make do with just a simple facelift, the Boyue will be constantly improved upon and adapted to suit the ever-changing preferences of modern consumers. “For now, let’s just say, we have not yet seen the end of this icon,” it said in a statement.

The same statement also said the Proton X70 is the first in a long line of vehicles from Geely that will help revive the Malaysian brand and take it beyond its own domestic borders. While export plans have yet to be thoroughly detailed, Malaysians can look forward to receiving the Geely Binyue SUV, as well as the new seven-seat Jiaji MPV. What are your thoughts, guys?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• the Proton X70 well needed chassis Ride & Handling tweakings from abang sulong, Lotus UK.

• Lets See on Mar 28, 2019 at 4:43 pm

Lotus Ride & Handling = Proton Ride & Handling

• johnX 2019 on Mar 28, 2019 at 8:53 pm

The end to all Proton original cars… All of them Game Over and will be displayed in Museum of Game Over cars. After all of them Game Over, Geely will replace all of them with their Game Changing Chinese cars, as well as redesigning the Tiger logo into Panda logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Sabahudin.H on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:30 am

How do you know? Lately we saw iriz and persona upgraded new tech by geely. Iriz R5 still in the really somewhere in Europe. Anyway, they have 49.9% shares. Both protonGeely selling X70 like ‘pisang goreng’. Both make profits.
          Like lotus tech, geely tech only can improve proton quality. If they make new car it is ProtonGeely car.

• Matthew you asked….. ” What are your thoughts, guys?”

A fairly simple answer actually.This is a blatant commercial for the X70. Why was it not featured and titled as an Ad?

I’m sure you will not try to convince the readers that this was a well researched piece of motoring journalism.

“What’s your thoughts on this, Matthew?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 28, 2019 at 4:31 pm

This is written based on a press release issued by Geely. It is definitely not a “blatant commercial” as suggested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Hi Hafriz,ment

I agree, it is a press release, solely designed to promote the company and its product. In my world, that’s call an advertisement or promotion.

Would you agree, Hafriz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Mar 28, 2019 at 8:16 pm

Technically, all press releases are meant to promote its own brand. But it’s up to us to choose if it’s relevant, or of any use to our readers. This, a Geely Global release that directly mentions Proton, is definitely newsworthy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
          • Hafriz, we are actually agreeing about what the article is, that is a promo and/or press release.So there is no dispute there.

My initial point was that it should have been highlighted as a press release and not have the inference that it was an article written by Matthew, which it obviously wasn’t.

I have no issue on how many Proton promos Paultan release on their site as it’s business for the company and will possibly reap some reward for publishing certain articles.

Making it clear that it is a press release and not a journlist’s written article is my only point.

Have a great day.

• What are you babbling about? This is your first time visiting a automotive site? Or you just got knee jerk reaction because this press release about the X70, otherwise you wouldn’t mind if it’s press releases about other cars? Well, which one is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Unknown on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:26 pm

Paul Tan and team are in essence journalists, which some calls it ‘the press’. And if this is related to a Geely press release, isn’t Paul Tan and team as PRESSMEN obliged to report a PRESS RELEASE?

You don’t have to be here. You can find other “journalists” reporting on fantasies that suits your taste.

• To “LOL” and “Unknown”.

See my response to Hafriz above.

That may clear up some of your concerns.

Keep it civil guys. We read this site because we enjoy the site. However sometimes certain issues need clarification in my opinion.

See ya !!

• ThAboIt on Mar 28, 2019 at 3:10 pm

I’m waiting for Bin Yue

• isengard12 on Mar 28, 2019 at 3:26 pm

Geely is trying to emulate what VW Group has done to the likes of Seat & Skoda. What we would like to see is to have Proton inject their own engineering prowess into our “localized” Geely, thus creating a product that differs to the original Geely’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Over 700k in just 3 years? Wow! Give it another 5 years and it will far surpass Mivi 1million units that took them 15 years to arrive. Somemore China sales in a market that has so many competitors. Geely & P1 both now got bright future together and going up and up.

Geely, P1, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • China got big population. Of course, Geely can sell so many Boyue.

Malaysia population is small. But yet, Myvi can sell millions. And remember, our previous corrupted government made our car prices one o f the most expensive in this world.

Use common sense john

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
      • Papagores on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:01 pm

We all knew previous corrupted government was rotten to the top. When they ride luxury Equanimity ship. Malaysia population ride Myvi only. Kangkungapabossku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Troll Hunter on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:25 pm

It doesn’t matter if you have big population or small population, if the car is no good nobody will buy them. Which is why even in China, Peugeot sales are still terrible there. When the car is not good and not reliable, it won’t sell no matter where.

Neither does corruption has anything to do with car prices. Even the most expensive in the world, car ownership continue to grow. So this proves corruption and most expensive car prices didn’t affect the population from buying more cars.

The only reason why the population buys Myvi is because it is cheap, nothing else. If the market was opened, Myvi sales would be dead.

Use some common sense and think about this Kunta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • VW is also unreliable, like Pijot. But then, many people in China still buy their cars.

I’m also not kunta bro. But nice try

• JOACHIM on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:02 am

Only you said that. People in Germany, the rest of Europe, China, and America never complained about Volkswagen cars being unreliable. Stop lying to us, Kunta.

• yawnz on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:36 am

JOACHIM, what about VW DSG problems? Last time, China VW models got recalled

• JOACHIM on Mar 29, 2019 at 2:34 pm

Only certain batches got recalled due to wrong calibration. After the fix, there is no more problem. Cars with DSG continues to sell well there.

• Damon Lee on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:37 pm

I still prefer Proton X70 than Pakatan Flying Car…. oops.. I mean Flying Drone.

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:46 pm

John + common sense = error 404

• I like roti john on Mar 28, 2019 at 8:49 pm

Good one bro! Haha

• Wait a sec. Aren’t you the same one that told us those Malaysia-China roadtrip X70s had a lot of broken parts and engine problems but this was disproved by Matthew’s clarification? I rather believe the statement of PaulTan writers than a fake news person.

• Logical Deduction on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:03 am

Proton+Geely = Game ON!
          Perodua+Toyota ASEAN = Game OVER!

• tokmoh. on Mar 28, 2019 at 6:04 pm

So Myvi can sell much more la? Then why didn’t?

Because the truth is they’re happy just becoming jaguh kampung, milking national car benefits dry.

And just because China got big population, doesn’t mean it’s easy to sell. Especially when Geely is privately run by owner Li Shufu, while all their other rivals are govt owned with foreigners JV as well.

Against all odds, Geely came out strong. While others become complacent, Geely saved up to buy Volvo in 2010 and still prudently spend their profits to better themselves.

• Hayenadeblue on Mar 28, 2019 at 7:20 pm

And now our cars are cheaper? Pls lah, throw the politics away. This is cars site.

• You forgot that Myvi basically doesn’t have any real competitor until the arrival of Iriz. Seems like your common sense is skewed towards certain convenient facts only.

• Even after Iriz came, Myvi still sold much more bro. hundreds of thousands of people bought the latest myvi. Iriz maybe only 40,000 sales since 2014

If the Myvi was so bad, less people will buy it. People prefer to buy a car with a Japanese engine

• Lets See on Mar 29, 2019 at 12:30 am

You’re right.
            If Myvi was so bad, less people will buy it which is why Myvi 2nd generation only sold 44,000 cars compared to 50,000 Iriz. The bulk of the 1 million came from the 1st generation where it didn’t have competition.

• Wilson Khoo on Mar 28, 2019 at 10:49 pm

john got too many dupes and fake names here.

• Recko on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:08 pm

Is there a reason Proton is not receiving any of Geely’s sedans?

• Jelutong on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:22 pm

Im waiting for binrui

• Teh Kai Hean on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:30 pm

Honestly I am satified with X70 entirely, with all the specs offered at this price, except its design and sunroof quality… still holding back mainly due to front car exterior design… If the front design is sth like mazda cx5 or honda crv, I definitely have long bought it d….temporarily using car still, looking forward subsequent edition with improvement mainly in these two aspects…. I am not a car expert, but a sincere buyer expecting a better out look of x70.. Thanks

• P. Alyanna on Mar 28, 2019 at 6:16 pm

Wait for the CKD, it will have more Malaysian design input. Very gooding!

• ThAboIt on Mar 29, 2019 at 5:12 pm

I agree totally. As much as I admire the X70 for their features, I’m not fond of the exterior that much. I can accept the front fascia but the rear need more work. Some other SUV has more appealing rear then the X70 currently. But my oh my the Bin Yue is much better looking!

• Mr Hakim on Mar 28, 2019 at 5:52 pm

I hope they gonna make long wheel base version as China customer always love and hope Proton will rebadge that.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 28, 2019 at 8:18 pm

improve the fuel consumption

• Logical Deduction on Mar 28, 2019 at 9:20 pm

Try asking owners of 2.4/2.5L engined cars if they have better fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 29, 2019 at 10:03 am

why the negativity? so better geely be jaguh kampung like the past and tell ppl their car better than others or just accept status quo.

u want a more fuel efficient 2.5L engine? look at mazda’s skyactiv. Otherwise, a more fair comparison, look at some of the forced induction engines from BMW< VW, Toyota etc which have higher output and more fuel efficient.

One issue with the Proton is the weight, improve it for the next gen la! Overall x70 is a good car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Logical Deduction on Mar 29, 2019 at 1:58 pm

CX-5 2.5L = 7.1L/100km
          X70 1.8L Turbo = 7.8L/100km
          Outlander 2.4L = 7.8L/100km
          Xtrail 2.5L = 8.3L/100km

Its FC is among those Jap SUV that has similar horsepower lah. Apa mau cakap lagi macha? If you want to complain about fuel guzzling, be fair and complain about it for Outlander & Xtrail too. Otherwise, you will look like a selective memory fool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
          • redpilled on Mar 29, 2019 at 4:58 pm

OMG!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 31, 2019 at 8:20 am

in town FC? highway FC? real life FC? you know ke?

put in output and acceleration figures also. you continue be jaguh kampung, defend your potong geely.

we all want improvement not just sit there be happy

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 29, 2019 at 11:23 am

Macha, 1.8Turbo + 70+% efficient 6Speed Auto + 1.7 tons kerb weight + 90 kilo Semi Value driver + start stop KL traffic.

How lah to improve fuel economy? Take Grab lah. Then your X70 mileage is to infinity & beyond.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 31, 2019 at 8:22 am

plus..got extra weight from fetching your daughter around

• Lawrence on Mar 31, 2019 at 12:53 am

Proton, Lotus, Volvo, Polestar, Emerald, Terrafugia, London Taxis, Kandi, Smart…We have seen this pattern before in the industry…, an auto company spreading itself so thin that it is hard pressed to manage it all.
    But then again the man in charge says we’re basically just dealing here with a couch and some wheels.
    In contrast, GAC has shed some of its weaker tie-ups and is focusing well on its own brand product.