2019 Proton Persona facelift previewed, March launch

Proton’s run of product updates continues with the preview of the facelifted Proton Persona today – the B-segment sedan has been comprehensively revamped with 303 tweaks for the 2019 model year.

Set to be launched later this month – at the same time as the also-facelfited Iriz – the Persona will be open for booking starting tomorrow, March 12. As with its hatchback sibling, there will be an online flash booking for the car until March 22, with a fee of RM9.99.

UPDATE: Online flash booking for the facelifted Proton Persona is now open – click here.

Let’s start with the exterior, beginning with the redesigned front end. The sweeping chrome trim, which spans across the entire width of the car, incorporates what Proton calls the “Ethereal Bow” design, now wrapping under the grille. This grille, by the way, features the new “Infinite Weave” pattern first seen on the X70 SUV.

The outgoing model’s massive lower grille has also been slimmed down, while the air intakes flanking it (now with LED daytime running lights) have been made larger; a slim gloss black strip ties it all together. At the rear sits a revised rear bumper with a chrome strip, plus a new rear bootlid garnish with the Proton script. New 15-inch two-tone multi-spoke alloy wheels complete the look.

Inside, the Persona keeps its black and beige colour scheme but gains a frameless rear-view mirror, new part-leather upholstery and a gearknob from the X70, complete with a leather boot. You also now get features such as automatic headlights and an auto up/down driver’s side window (previously only auto down), and like the Iriz, the Persona has a new instrument cluster with cleaner dials and a large colour multi-info display.

You’ll also find a new infotainment system – a version of the Geely Smart Ecosystem (GKUI) developed in collaboration with ECARX – with a seven-inch touchscreen and the same “Hi Proton” voice control function as the X70 (minus a few commands for some of the vehicle features). As with the X70 and Iriz, the Persona gets internet connectivity via a built-in eSIM, which Proton says is a first for the segment.

The powertrain remains unchanged – there’s a 1.6 litre VVT four-cylinder petrol engine that produces 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, paired to either a five-speed manual gearbox or a CVT. Proton says that the CVT has been recalibrated to reduce fuel consumption by around three to four percent, and changes have also been made to achieve improved braking performance and refinement.

As before, there are three variants – Standard, Executive and Premium – and the specs are as follows:

Proton Persona 1.6 Standard MT/CVT
Gets as standard:

Engine and transmission

• 1.6 litre VVT engine
  • 1,597 cc naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol
  • 107 hp at 5,750 rpm, 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm
  • Five-speed manual gearbox or CVT
  • ECO Drive Assist light
  • MacPherson strut front suspension, torsion beam rear
  • Ventilated front disc brakes, rear drums

Exterior

• Reflector halogen headlights
  • 15-inch alloy wheels
  • Shark fin antenna
  • Bootlid spoiler

Interior

• Manual air-conditioning
  • Fabric upholstery
  • Monochrome multi-info display
  • Radio/CD player with Bluetooth and USB connectivity
  • Two speakers
  • Front and rear parking sensors
  • Two rear USB ports
  • 60:40 split-folding rear seats

Safety

• Dual airbags
  • ABS with EBD and brake assist
  • Stability control
  • Rear ISOFIX child seat anchors

Proton Persona 1.6 Executive CVT
Adds on:

Exterior

• LED daytime running lights
  • Keyless entry

Interior

• Push-button start
  • Part-leather upholstery
  • Multifunction steering wheel
  • Colour multi-info display
  • Auto down/up driver’s side window
  • Seven-inch infotainment touchscreen
  • Four speakers
  • Reverse camera with dynamic guide lines

Proton Persona 1.6 Premium CVT
Adds on:

Exterior

• Automatic headlights

Interior

• Leather-wrapped steering wheel
  • Leather-wrapped gearknob with boot
  • Frameless rear-view mirror
  • 4G internet
  • Voice command, navigation, music streaming

Safety

• Six airbags (front, side, curtain)

Five colours will be offered, including Jet Grey, Snow White, Ruby Red, Rosewood Maroon and Armour Silver. All colours are new for the Persona and come from Geely’s colour palette, except from Ruby Red which is a Proton hue.

GALLERY: 2019 Proton Persona 1.6 Executive
GALLERY: 2019 Proton Persona 1.6 Premium

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:03 pm

According to Proton Salesman, all their Proton models have taken a beating. Saga, Exora and Persona sales have dipped so much.

All the potential buyers went to buy the X70 instead despite being out of their price range and different category

Looks like with the X70, Proton shot itself in the foot

So, end of the day, every month, Proton sales are the SAME.

End of the year, don’t be surprised if total sales just 70,000 (now 60 plus)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
    • Roti john Sdn Bhd on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:47 pm

Aiyoooo. The front face already look like game over car. How to compete with other game changing sedans then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Mario and Bros on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:55 pm

Whatever it is. I suspect you must be coming from Nissan Salesman or P2 Salesman. Which I seeing you every time bashing Proton, Toyota, Volvo, BMW, Mercedes and others. And moreover don’t ever think that john is using other names like my username named as Mario and Bros and other 30 dupes. You are the one who use over 50 usernames. So please stop saying that I am using other usernames. It is only you that you use other usernames

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Grande on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:08 pm

Interior hard plastic got change ?
    If not … Thank you, Next

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • Lolwhut? on Mar 11, 2019 at 7:07 pm

How much are you willing to pay? 50k? So tell me which car that cost 50k has soft touch plastic all around.

• This segment all the car used hard plastic exclude those luxury brand.

• Peter on Mar 12, 2019 at 3:53 pm

The 80K new Vios use hard plastic … same as current Honda City, HRV … maybe you’re looking a right car for the wrong price, on the wrong expectation

• The best gets better.

P1, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Roti john on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:48 pm

The worst gets worse

all, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus, L&C, Polestar > P1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Celup King on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:44 pm

Failed trolling is failed trolling. Try harder bro. Try much harder.

• anonymous on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:23 pm

so cheap! still offering 2 speakers, classic key fob, 2 airbags, no brake assist. what a fail marketing. that’s why Proton is behind Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
    • Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:57 pm

Do you even read the article? It stated the base model get ABS, EBD and BRAKE ASSIST, i repeat, BRAKE ASSIST. Oh and VSC. Put the 2 speakers aside when you can add it at Brother’s, it’s still better than your Bezza bro where only the full spec offering VSC, no 1.5 engine & sampah handling. Memang berbezza dari persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Just another person on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:34 pm

Are you confusing Brake Assist with Autonomous Emergency Braking? I hope you know they’re not the same thing. Brake Assist have been around since 1996 even became standard in cars from 2009.

• Absolute Rider on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Oh man, no more black paint?

• Ariana John Grande on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:38 pm

I would like a list of those 300++ parts that were improved on both the Iriz and Persona respectively though. Just curious.

• John Mata Kucing on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:41 pm

Wow, pandaila oghang malaysia design kereta.

• Optimus on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:44 pm

The seats, wow! Quite the intricate pattern for a car in this price range. What a stunner! Good job Proton!

• Old horse on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:44 pm

Good luck…

• Dylan Ch'ng on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:48 pm

Can I assume that competitor B is Bezza and competitor C is City?

• No more leather seats? Why?? Then pls add rear seat foldable headrests..

• Hidhir Kamal on Mar 11, 2019 at 12:56 pm

Should be 1596 cc instead of 1496 cc, typo i think.

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Mar 11, 2019 at 1:40 pm

Yep, an error on my part, sorry about that. It has been fixed, thanks for pointing it out!

• Susukotak on Mar 11, 2019 at 2:25 pm

No worry Jon bro. this the final opportunity for Msians to grab P1 homegrown indigenous car, so ayuh geng. Sama2 sapu smue Persona!

• YB Albert on Mar 11, 2019 at 4:50 pm

All the current Campro powered Protons with facelifts are actually just buying time,before Geely complete range of right hand drive versions arrive.
      You cant depend on just selling X70 to generate sales,cos not many people can qualify for a rm100k loan.
      So ,the goyang kaki have to produce something to generate sales for the saga,Iriz,persona.
      By 2021,most of the current campro powered cars are considered Jurassic..so Proton fanboys have 2 more years to syiok syiok .After that ,only Muzium negara will stock the last last production batch as ‘a failed white elephant.”
      If Geely didnt acquire part of proton,taxpayers will still be paying into the money pit.Thank you,Dr.li for saving protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Celup King on Mar 11, 2019 at 9:43 pm

Meanwhile petrol guzzling dinosaur Vios engine still on sale since 2003. When will your Toyota replace their 16 year old engine?

• Hi proton vs android auto&apple car play
    Which is better?

• Ben Yap on Mar 11, 2019 at 1:18 pm

even after facelift, the car still doesn’t have any mechanical changes. why no plonk in the CFE unit for the high spec?

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:59 pm

Why didn’t Honda put the 1.5T in your dad’s Civic into City FL then?

• Amran on Mar 11, 2019 at 1:20 pm

Dr Li chunrong mantap !!

• The Persona sales same as Vios, cannot beat City.

• pengayuhbasikal on Mar 11, 2019 at 1:59 pm

This persona and iris not selling well because of design defect to rear passenger..for rear passenger to get out from the car…you need to squeeze your feet to get out from the car…proton should move the rear seat further or redesign the bottom cushion and make the lower part of the rear door trim slimmer…

The bottom part of B pillar is too close the rear seat.. that is why you notice a special curve at the B Pillar bottom trim…

• Road Killer Machine (R.K.M) on Mar 11, 2019 at 2:00 pm

Sooo much better than that Iriz FL! Would be perfect if the rims are dual tone and all black interior.

• plotonghaha on Mar 11, 2019 at 2:03 pm

Aiya cvt punch again? Buy that plotong car and later u still havent finish paying loan the gearbox kong oledi. Plus stupid timing belt engine will cost you more for replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • This car looks like a frog!

• Ugly but will sell well in Bolehland.

• Anana on Mar 11, 2019 at 2:31 pm

Does the 303 parts improved in this Persona include parts durability as well?

• Personaian on Mar 11, 2019 at 3:12 pm

The executive variant like already had everything, the premium adds on like unnecessary. But hope they retain the full leather seat.

• Why dont redesign tail light? Just redesign lower part of tail light to avoid modification of rear body, rear bumper much easier to mould new one.

• Pawn All Sharks on Mar 11, 2019 at 3:48 pm

down payment RM9.99 only! How many more debtors will failed to service hire purchasing loan soon?

• Anonymous_C on Mar 11, 2019 at 3:53 pm

awaiting sales report for next 3 months

• YB Kunta Kinte on Mar 11, 2019 at 4:02 pm

Must say this looks a bit better than previous one. Is that a new colour as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • PlainBS on Mar 11, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Any interested?

• 2 airbags in standard variant..fuhh

• tokmoh. on Mar 11, 2019 at 4:22 pm

Rear seats still no adjustable headrests. Orz

Does standard get 60:40 foldable rear seats?

• Max291 on Mar 11, 2019 at 4:40 pm

Got hybrid? Yeah!

• Mr tiny legs on Mar 11, 2019 at 4:42 pm

The side profile of this car is hideous. Making the tyres looks tiny. Preve side profile is the best design by proton. But since this car is rounded mazda kodo design can make it look better. Maybe Master Theo can do something about this.

• I think it will look better if it has rear kink like honda city. horizontal lines can help break the view

• heyheyman123 on Mar 11, 2019 at 5:08 pm

still with the jerky cvt and the same sh*t brake?

• PhatJho on Mar 11, 2019 at 6:07 pm

Come on Proton just give us X50 ady. Not interested in the previous line up.

• Syer1n on Mar 11, 2019 at 8:45 pm

I genuinely love proton. I really do. But even proton have their bad side too.

I mean, they need to stop telling bs such as the ethereal bow design language, ertiga=third row. Stop it. Non car-enthusiasts don’t bother while car-enthusiasts already know those are just geely current design and suzuki original nameplate.

I seriously love the iriz before the facelift but this bs from proton gotta stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • where they learn to draw the car design?
    why does it has to has a tiny wheel and bulging body…like those days the proportionately wrong ford fiesta sedan, mazda 2 sedan (the previous version)

• Amran on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:25 am

Campro vvt & punch cvt? Definitely nope! Next car please

• Pakulupapito on Mar 12, 2019 at 12:00 pm

The facelift looks better but still cannot beat last gen persona shape, last gen looks better as a sedan, a sporty+elegent looks. This gen looks like a frog.

• Keith Han on Mar 14, 2019 at 9:06 pm

Not bad.. Price will be the key for Persona & Iriz..
    I think price will be around 38k – 48k only.

• Zoom Zoom on Apr 24, 2019 at 10:15 am

Really good pricing from Proton. Is only half of City / Vios pricing. 18 yrs ago.. a 1.6 waja kosong also cost RM 60k+