Geely Auto’s 2018 sales up 20.3%, breach 1.5m mark

Geely Auto has released its sales figures for 2018, and they show a 20.3% increase to 1,500,838 units. In 2017, Geely sold 1,247,116 vehicles for what was then an all-time record for the Chinese carmaker. Last year’s tally is also the first time that Geely has breached the 1.5 million units sales mark.

Over half of the total units sold were SUVs – to be exact, 857,922 units, or 57% of the 1.5m. The lion’s share was contributed by the Geely Boyue with 255,695 units. The midsize SUV – the base for the Proton X70 – has sold over 650,000 units since its launch in March 2016. This is followed by the Emgrand GS with 157,638 units and the value-focused Vision SUV and Vision X3 SUV (113,309 and 116,944 units respectively).

Geely’s first crossover on the new BMA architecture, the Bin Yue, was launched in October 2018 in China and sold a combined 23,361 units in just over two months.

In the sedan segment, the new Emgrand continues to be the best-selling Chinese sedan for the seventh year running with 246,933 units last year. The affordable Vision sedan sold 143,851 units, while the Emgrand GL sold 148,531 units, an increase of 20% in one of China’s most competitive segments.

Geely’s flagship Bo Rui GE sedan managed 44,299 units, an increase of 4% year-on-year. The carmaker’s first sedan based on the BMA architecture, Bin Rui, sold 33,084 units in the four months of 2018 that it was on the market.

The company’s Lynk & Co brand, which is marketed as a premium brand in China, had a strong showing in its first full year on the market. Sales breached the 10,000 mark for six straight months, with a final tally of 120,414 units.

Lynk & Co’s first model, the 01 SUV, sold 89,405 units, while the smaller 02 that joined late in the year contributed 21,751 units. The brand launched its 03 model in October, and the sedan found 9,258 homes in two months.

Geely says that 65% of Lynk & Co’s customers were upgrading from a foreign joint venture car, and over 70% of 02 and 03 sales were for costlier, higher trim models.

The Hangzhou-based carmaker says that its brand success has been focused around putting market demand and customer experience at the forefront of every process, from design and engineering to the purchasing and the after-sales experience. Its consumers are younger and more urbanised than ever before with more than 50% of them from first and second tier cities, and 51% being born in the 1990s or later.

Geely’s domestic dealership footprint grew significantly last year, and of the 200 new outlets added, over 45% were coming in from established joint venture brands. Lynk & Co has 212 dealerships and is expecting a further 114 new ones this year.

This year, Geely aims to introduce new models in new segments, such as the MPV market with the VF11 Jiaji. The company will also roll out mild hybrid and plug-in hybrid versions of all its key models such as the Bin Yue, Bin Rui and Emgrand GL. The Lynk & CO 02 and 03 will also feature electrification. Geely will also make use of the Compact Modular Architecture (CMA) for the first time, with the introduction of the FY11 Coupe SUV.

“In the new year, Geely Auto will continue being focused on the market, pay close attention to user demands, and increase our market share in China and globally. Geely will fully tap into the potential of our whole ecosystem, strengthen our capability to develop sustainably, and create high-quality, high-tech, and high-value products for our users,” said An Cong Hui, Geely Auto’s group president and CEO.

The company has set has set its sales target for 2019 at 1.51 million units.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• newme on Jan 08, 2019 at 1:26 pm

Still Haval sold more H6 than Boyue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:10 pm

Proton was born in 1985. Geely was born in 1997. So Proton is more senior.

Why is Geely having so much of success and expertise in car industry when it is 12 years younger than Proton?

I cannot understand why one company can sell 1.5 million cars and another company can sell only 50,000 cars.
      Why does Geely make USD$30 billion (RM100 billion) in profits last year and Proton makes RM4 mil in losses per day?

Proton also could have marketed our cars to all over the world and China market as well. World markets was open to Proton all these years.

Infact, it was harder for Geely to compete in China as there are more than 10 local car companies in China competing with Geely. Proton only had Perodua to compete with.

So why are both companies so different?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 126
      • willie on Jan 08, 2019 at 9:32 pm

Pipu here must not buy Borgward SUV.

• Andre Biorg on Jan 08, 2019 at 9:34 pm

China itself is a huge market. Your sales volume ensure your rapid growth. So wake up to the reality if you are still sleeping.

• YB Albert Kunci Kunta on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:28 pm

Kunta
        Do u know the Boyue drinks a litre of petrol every 6 to 7 km?
        It seems the Tongsan cina apek Dr.Li has put most of DRB local managers in cold storage.Most of the new managers are 30 yr olds from Tongsan.
        Boyue has 3 to 4 months of unsold stocks in CHINA.Our DRB is helping to clear stocks made in Tongsan.Those DRB dudes are lost.This is what happens when u dont know yr stuff.Foreigners come in ,and here we go.
        In 2 yrs,all the protong cars will be actually right handed versions of geely models.
        The iriz,suprima,exora,preve…all on display at Muzium negara.JUST A BAD JOKE FOR AUTO JOURNALISM.

• john - Pendekar Keyboard on Jan 08, 2019 at 11:23 pm

That is why john keeps typing on this site hoping that one day Proton sales will exceed Perodua sales. (Will never happen)

• azrai on Jan 09, 2019 at 8:18 am

The answer is economic of scale. With 1.5 billion people plus low FX, for sure it is a winner. While Malaysian still only 30 million people market + lording Jepunis, Europoeanis, Americanis worshiping cannot go anywhere. More like a blue eye syndrome just like most other colonial state.
        Geely is actually a 40 years old company which Li Shufu founded. And guess what? Just like AirAsia, it is totally private company, while other China not so success car company either own by the G or state G.

• Aikon on Jan 09, 2019 at 8:33 am

Old story and you know the answer already…

• Blackbeard on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:26 am

Just how ridiculously stupid are you Kunta Kinte. You don’t know China population vs Malaysia population is it? To compare Proton sales of 50,000 vs Geely sales of 1.5 million is just pure bodoh.

• Hussein on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:28 am

I think Geely just been caught lying like how Proton was caught giving higher spec car to ANCAP for testing but was caught by ANCAP

• I think troll basher just caught lying about Geely sales figures. A search for China own news channels caixinglobal.com and xinhuanet.com showed that Geely sales had been advancing for some months now.

• Rakesh on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:34 am

Very simple answer. Just one word. LAZY.

• Badawi on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:41 am

All investors use Reuters terminal or Bloomberg terminal for financial news.

New York stock exchange and ALL stock exchanges in the world use Reuters and Bloomberg terminals.

Both the terminals now say Geely sales are bad and targets not reached.

Who to bilip now?????????

• Perbezaan Proton Dan Geely on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:00 am

Geely is not pampered. Proton is pampered.

Geely never ask bantuan kerajaan China

Proton always asking for bantuan and bailout

• taknakp2 on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:58 am

Guys 54 likes came only from YB Kunta Kinte but so far no one press any like votes as proven

• Yes, we all know he likes himself multiple times and dislike others multiple times too.

• Lets See on Jan 08, 2019 at 9:56 pm

In 2017, Geely sold 1,250,000 cars while Haval only managed to shift 850,000. A 30% gap. So?

• oldme on Jan 09, 2019 at 8:18 am

now i know why proton cannot improve! pity for malaysia hv u.. sob.. sob.. sob

• MoFaz on Jan 08, 2019 at 1:34 pm

Bumpy road ahead. Geely Auto had plunged the most in 11 months, wiping USD$1.2bil off market value, after the inventory of Geely’s best-selling SUV, Boyue, rised to over three months, while that of Lynk & Co reached more than 1 month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:11 pm

95% still sold only in China. This is because Boyue have been officially rejected in ALL First World countries.

I wonder why they cannot sell in First World countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 65
      • Arshad on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:25 am

Do I believe SCMP or Reuters? Both highly prestigious news source or China company?

• taknakp2 on Jan 09, 2019 at 12:29 pm

Another many upvotes comes only from YB Kunta Kinte (aka John Minum Teh 8X) and so far no one press upvotes as proven

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:22 am

So many news reports contradict what Geely said.

I guess Geely and Proton are really brothers. Both also like to lie.

Now we know the truth. Other news agencies given different info

• Rakesh on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:36 am

I read the same thing in financial reports. Geely sales has plumetted. So, why is Geely telling us otherwise?

I believe in the Investment Houses more because they invest BILLIONS USD for clients.

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:47 am

News reports all concur that Geely is doing very badly. Paul Tan, can you please verify this news?

• To the basher who says Geely sales went down: HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Geely, P1, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 28
    • john makan Roti John on Jan 08, 2019 at 4:45 pm

To john who says Proton sales went up : HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

All, Geely, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > Projohn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • John Cinta M01 Lingerie on Jan 08, 2019 at 10:38 pm

John Minum Teh 8X becomes john makan Roti John and YB Kunta Kinte

• Ghani on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:29 am

never bilip fake news from john. He told us Malaysia has cheapest petrol in the world and cheapest car prices in the world

• Aziz Mahmood on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:55 pm

He also syok sendiri say BMW copied Proton.

Would a world 1st-class manufacturer which has won MANY awards copy a design from a company that 90% of the world has never heard about before?

• Frozen on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:21 pm

If you were referring to the infamous Gen2-X6 similar shapeline, here is some facts and figures: Gen2 came out in 2004, X6 came out in 2007. This is the figures. BMW may or may not copied whole of Gen2, but it is undeniable that X6 took inspiration from Gen2. This is the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Ghani on Jan 09, 2019 at 7:28 pm

I definitely won’t believe someone who hijacked my name! Go find your own name and stop the lies you peddle.

• I feel for u bro! He even attempting to curi my name.

• Rakesh on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:39 am

Geely sales go up, China become richer. Proton X70 go up, China still become richer.

Cause 50% of all profits Proton makes go back to China.

This is why to break even, Proton has to sell 400,000 cars this year.

• Copy Paste on Jan 09, 2019 at 6:24 pm

Perodua sales go up, Japan become richer. Perodua Aruz go up, Japan still become richer.

Cause 90% of all profits Perodua makes go back to Japan.

That is why until now, Perodua still sells outdated, unsafe cars.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:18 pm

Lucky China is saving Proton. Lucky China is teaching Malaysians how to do and run a business. Pity GLCs. No business acumen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
      • Yes. Pity the Swedes. No business acumen. Lucky got Geely to save VolvoCar. Oh wai….

• 1.5 mil sales VS 55,000 sales on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:22 pm

I think better for Geely to bring in more workers from Geely China into Proton plant in Malaysia

Cause we can see the big difference in sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
      • Really? Guess who is putting more restrictions? Certainly NOT Proton https://paultan.org/2018/07/25/geely-under-watch-for-malaysian-proton-workforce/

• Arshad on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:24 am

Geely kena kantoi lagi. SCMP and Reuters say opposite. Say share price sliding. Say missed targets.

I guess Geely kena kantoi like Proton. Always lie about their sales figures

• Rakesh on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:37 am

So shameful local company get so much of protection from the Government also, still sales can go down so badly.

Don’t forget, all profits will go back to China now

• John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:50 am

I think last laugh is those that found out Geely has lied.

I think John, people laughed at you finally

• Aziz Mahmood on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:24 am

No one said Geely sales is going down. That is fake news.

People are saying that Proton sales will continue go down even when Geely is trying to save the company

• Aziz Mahmood on Jan 09, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Hmm, looks like Geely lied about their sales!

So apparently, in reality, Geely is not making profits.

Both Geely and Proton have something in common. Both lie to the rakyat. No wonder they are perfect for each other

• Interesting coz these articles have been in the news for the last few days. There are news reports that Geely Boyue stockpile in China are 3 months old now.

https://www.breakingviews.com/considered-view/geely-flags-chinese-car-pileup-ahead/

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-china-auto-geely/chinas-geely-sees-sales-growth-evaporating-as-car-market-struggles-idUSKCN1P114X

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Badawi on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:43 am

Bloomberg and Reuters said Geely got huge stockpile of unsold cars.

I guess now they can dump these unwanted cars in Malaysia!!!!!

• Badawi on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:44 am

I think Geely just got caught with their pants down!!!

• My 2 sen on Jan 08, 2019 at 2:45 pm

China is one of the most competitive automotive markets in the world, with almost all carmakers present in the country. The consumers there are spoilt for choice, either from international brands or the numerous local ones. To be able to achieve sales increase despite the slowdown of China’s economy shows that the overall product lineup is popular with the buyers and the reputation of Geely is improving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • All these sales is in mainland China?

• All > john on Jan 08, 2019 at 3:14 pm

Geely Auto has released its sales figures for 2018, and they show a 20.3% increase to 1,500,838 units. In 2017, Geely sold 1,247,116 vehicles for what was then an all-time record for the Chinese carmaker. Last year’s tally is also the first time that Geely has breached the 1.5 million units sales mark.

Meanwhile…

Proton HOLDINGS has released its sales figures for 2018, and they show a 50% decrease to 10,000 units. In 2017, Proton sold 20,000 vehicles for what was then an all-time record for the National carmaker. Last year’s tally is also the first time that Proton has breached the 100 thousand units sales mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jan 08, 2019 at 3:53 pm

Maybe they are really changing minds across the world soon. They are after all the number 1 Chinese carmaker by volume.

• newme on Jan 08, 2019 at 4:57 pm

Proton clowns .. when they were with Mitsu, they talked good about Mitsu, then with Citreon, they defended the French to the end, then with Honda, they praised Honda kow kow, after that with Suzuki, they idolise Suzuki.
    Now of course they worship the China Geely….
    Tomorrow if nasi kandar pelita bought them over, they will tell you pelita have the best auto tech in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Yep Just like u trying to tumpang Toyota glamour. No shame kah?

• As John would say, your crying and screams are music to my ears. Hahaha!

• p2macai on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:05 am

Honda Salesman and P2 Salesman detected

• rally_fan (Member) on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:11 am

sorry dude.. but you totally do not make any sense of all.. when you partner with another company or someone.. of course you will talk good things about them.. dont tell me you get married and only talk bad things about your wife/husband?

• Aura89 on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:59 am

Still dreaming are you? Sorry but I have never heard such claims by Proton. What they did do is take the base model and imprved it so much that even Mitsubishi Japanese engineers were impressed by it.

• old dog on Jan 08, 2019 at 5:38 pm

When will be the local made version?
    CHINA doing business will NOT benefit the local workforce, we have seen it in Johor development, ECRL, its all for the chinese workforce back at mainland. Wake up.

I bet 2019 Proton wont even able to CKD the X70.
    Assemble the seats maybe…production line no way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • John Menangis Kuat Kuat on Jan 09, 2019 at 9:49 am

The truth hurts but our jaguh kampung cannot accept that their knowledge is ZERO.

China works so hard whole day and never minum teh 8X in a work day

• rally_fan (Member) on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:12 am

dont you read the news?? proton are already building an entire new factory line since early 2018 to build the x70 in tg.malim.. thats millions of RM spent, in malaysia, on a plant that hires thousands of malaysians.

• samad on Jan 08, 2019 at 7:34 pm

There seems to be two contradicting
    news with regards to Geely.
    PT reporting rosy sales while SCMP and Reuters are reporting the contrary with reports of share prices skidding / missed sales target /sales growth evaporating and dire 2019.
    So which is fake news ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • We anti fake news

• rally_fan (Member) on Jan 09, 2019 at 10:16 am

read both news together and you will understand. they sold more cars than in 2017, fact. but they fell short of their target for 2018, also fact. like all public listed companies, falling short of targets will definitely see a drop in share price. As the paultan article said, targets for 2019 have been set at 1.51 million, which is a very conservative target this time.. my guess is, in anticipation of the “dire 2019”. so what fake news are you talking about?

• Bashers only know to cherry-pick the news they want to hear. Read an article “Geely shares down” straight away condemn without even reading the whole article. Geely is actually doing pretty good compared to other Chinese brands, but bashers and paid propagandists will never admit that.

• Kento Momota on Jan 11, 2019 at 10:53 pm

Just curious. Does Geely total sales incl 49.9% owned Proton, tt will add 69.7K units.

• kzm (Member) on Jan 09, 2019 at 11:37 am

U should know how to interpret the news. Of cuz Geely missed the 1.58M sales but still achieved 1.50M sales. Sales growth decline is not only happen to Geely but all car maker in China.