In China, Geely opens 149 4S dealerships in a day

Yup, we needed a double take as well. One hundred and forty nine Geely 4S dealerships were opened simultaneously in China in a day, marked by a ceremony at one of the new facilities in Houpu, Jiangxi. Geely says that the eye-catching move is part of an ongoing effort to upgrade its sales and service network across China in line with upgraded products.

At the ceremony, Geely also unveiled its “Geely Satisfaction” project that aims to “raise customer satisfaction beyond all expectations” throughout the ownership cycle.

Total investment for the 149 new outlets was over one billion RMB (over RM594 million), and it included 65 newly built dealerships and 84 upgraded ones. Among the new facilities, 39 joined Geely from other brands. All new dealerships must adhere to the brand’s new “3.0 era” standards for sales and service.

The company points to the JD Power China Dealer Attitude Survey, which saw Geely rise from 21st place in 2016 to 13th place last year, surpassing leading joint-venture brands in China.

According to Geely, which has a substantial stake in Proton, the implementation of its “Refined Cars Development Strategy” has seen sales grow from 766,000 units in 2016 to 1.247 million in 2017. In the first half of this year, Geely sold 766,000 vehicles, putting it fourth overall in sales and first amongst Chinese brands.

All this benefits the dealers, too. According to Geely, over 95% of its dealers were profitable last year. They sold an average of 1,314 vehicles per dealership, an increase of 31% year-on-year. Geely says that its products have attracted new dealers – in the past two years, 125 dealers joined Geely from American, European, Japanese and Korean JV brands. As of July 2018, Geely has 965 dealerships in China.

There’s plenty of fresh metal in Geely’s range. The Bo Rui GE flagship sedan was introduced earlier this year, and the Bin Rui C-segment sedan was revealed last week. Also reaching Chinese showrooms soon is the SX11 SUV, a smaller B-segment sister to the Boyue that we’ll be getting as a Proton later this year.

GALLERY: Geely Bin Rui

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jim Kohley on Aug 14, 2018 at 4:32 pm

Nothing special. It is consider the most economic car for lower class people, this volume is there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 14, 2018 at 4:57 pm

Why waste resources here? Better go after the 4 million motorist without lesen. (these are official figures)

In a population of 10 million Motorist, this means 1 in every 2.5 motorist are illegal

These motorists are the No 1 cause of accidents in Malaysia. This is a more pressing problem. 20 years ago, there were only few thousand motorist with no lesen

In 20 years, the figure has balooned up to 4 million. Anyone wants to guess how? Yes, the answer is, everytime JPJ catches a motorist with no lesen, he is magically let go with no saman or arrest.

Over time, the figure has become 4 million!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • John May 9 Nangis on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:01 pm

This is very normal in China because China people work hard. I just hope Proton workers are up to speed. For many years they have had a lepak and relax life and adjusting to Geely’s speed is a problem

From what I hear, the 10,000 Proton workers are having a hard time already with Li Chunrong’s ethics of hard work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
      • Avenger on Aug 14, 2018 at 7:37 pm

From someone who bullcraps about Ertiga being sold in Japan? Yeah, yeah we believe for sure. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • For someone who still believes in tongkat, I am sure we believe in you too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
          • Avenger on Aug 14, 2018 at 10:01 pm

Never mess with the tongkat. It may not look like anything special, but Mjolnir can only be wielded by the most worthy of Avengers. Certainly not you!

• rightwinger on Aug 14, 2018 at 8:55 pm

from what i hear you’re full of bull and fake sh!t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
        • Abdul Halim on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:19 pm

This is a car website. We talk about cars. We don’t talk about other commentators here. Please respect this site and keep your personal attacks private.

• We oso dun talk about tongkats. Please respect this site and keep discussions relevant.

• razdi on Aug 15, 2018 at 6:25 am

rightwinger, you should get a job instead of spending whole day commenting sick stuff

• Shafee on Aug 15, 2018 at 8:27 am

i think you need to go for anger management issues

• In Malaysia Geely closes 149 dealership in one day … Say no to China products. And Deng Xiao Peng should have never open up China … The world economy would be a better place

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Geely, P1, Mesidis, VolvoCar, VolvoTrucks, Lotus > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • They only want Lotus on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Used to be low scoring maker in JD power? What a coincidence with proton! But if proton really make good cars to geely eyes, it surely want to rebadge suprima, persona, iruz and saga III. Come on man. Lotus ride and handling!!

Proton = geely

• tokmoh. on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:32 pm

Geely > all

• taiko on Aug 14, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Nope, you are wrong… Geely will become world brand… their SUV will sell like hot cake here in M’sia… goto youtube look at the review… its NVH alone will make any japanese car embarrased…

• Syafiq Nikmat on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:06 pm

A smaller B-segment sister to the Boyue will be called as Bin Yue

• Ahmadjr on Aug 14, 2018 at 6:40 pm

Makan besar lah geely

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 14, 2018 at 11:03 pm

Proton has lot to catch up, not just store concept & design, branding, product mix, service quality.

It’s no surprise that we as a country are seriously lagging behind, almost as if we have stood still while the rest of the world has progressed & moved forward these two decades.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Aug 15, 2018 at 9:23 am

Yes please open your booking for the SX11. I’m waiting to buy one.

• jimjim on Aug 15, 2018 at 11:48 am

That’s why when Proton dealers protested to upgrade their antique 1S dealership to 3/4S, Geely may just have goyang kepala in disbelieve.