Govt takeover of four highways, new congestion charge system, means less toll for motorists – LGE

The government’s proposed RM6.2 billion takeover of four highway concessionaires will not see motorists be free of toll, but we’ll be paying less, according to Lim Guan Eng, reported by The Star.

The four highway concessions are Litrak (the operator of LDP), Sprint, Kesas and the Smart Tunnel. Gamuda owns significant stakes in the companies, and its board of directors has voted to accept the government’s offer.

According to the finance minister, the takeover bid is being done in the name of public interest. With the congestion charge system in place, the highways will be toll-free during off-peak hours and toll rates will be 30% cheaper outside of peak hours.

“This is because the government is not an organisation looking to make a profit. We have taken out the element of profit and are doing it for the public good unlike private enterprises which must make a return,” he said in parliament today.

Answering questions from MPs, Lim said that a study was conducted by a local financial institution before the takeover formula was presented and approved by the cabinet in February. He added that the formula will see the government save at least RM5.3 billion in compensation to the four concessionaires for not raising toll rates over a period of between nine and 23 years.

“It will also see consumers saving up to RM180 million in toll charges during the concession period which will help increase household income by at least RM2 billion during this period,” he said.

The minister stressed that the highway takeover move will not incur cost to the government and that toll rates would not be increased. This is because the takeover will be financed through bond issuance, with congestion charges used to pay off the debt.

Lim later told reporters at the parliament lobby that congestion charges will be imposed throughout the concession periods (between nine and 23 years), but it was the government’s hope to abolish toll altogether after that. However, nominal toll charges may still be imposed to cover operational and maintenance costs.

The government intends to implement the new congestion charge system by January 1 next year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• badar on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:09 pm

RM6.2 b enough to buy over whole Gamuda or produced 10 hollywood superhero movie, Nobi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 16
    • Leave this highway issue to the works minister. Nobi should focus on his portfolio: clearing debt.

• Jaychao on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:15 pm

Agreed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
      • Angry Voters on Jul 10, 2019 at 3:00 pm

Agreed. More logical to implement No tolls during peak hours, when the morning rush and evening. Charge tol only from 11pm-5am.

• to encourage more cars to use the highway during peak hours? I thought the crawl now is already bad enough.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 09, 2019 at 9:44 pm

HEAR! HEAR! YOU SPEAK THE TRUTH!!!

• haha… better than previous gov… build road build tolls even in the city to city, town to town within the same state…

not everyone use toll morning back evening.. at least some benefit from this move.

so you think remove toll like you say eat chicken, then drive to kfc and eat just like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Fordist on Jul 10, 2019 at 12:49 pm

Do you realise who made that decision to build toll roads everywhere? Yes, the guy sitting on top of the current government.

So who do you think should be blamed?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • please check your facts on Jul 10, 2019 at 1:49 pm

please check your facts, how would 6.2b be sufficient to buy over a 9.6b market capped company? and that is excluding any premium on goodwill

• History Bender on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:29 pm

The company value is overweighted. It needs a scandal to pull down that valuation just ngam-ngam to 6.2Billion. But no worries, these folks in the Cabinet are masters at this dark arts. Leave it to them.

• YB Kinte on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:11 pm

Wow. This is great news. Thank you for such a kind move. This will save us a lot of money. Janji sudah di tepati.

I hope those frustrated don’t come here with 50 dupes and kutuk our great and kind government.

Cannot blame them, before they took over, they thought debts were only RM100 billion. After they took over, they saw the hidden debt of RM1 trillion.

So with such a big hidden debt, how to give totally FREE tolls?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 95
    • Rakyat Malaysia on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:19 pm

Wow the blind trolling is really thick. Where’s the janji to abolish toll? Stop talking crap.

• Copy Paste on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Copy paste: “Abolish toll mana? Janji mesti ditepati!”

• Sick & Tired on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:03 pm

Not only big hidden debt, Cash advances oso ..

• If nobi is doing his finance job n not this highway job then the debt shld hv been cleared

• Aura89 on Jul 10, 2019 at 7:23 am

This senseless (and likely paid) shrill has no place in this blogsite. Please leave if that is your intention. Like really.

• Ahcong on Jul 10, 2019 at 7:44 am

Yalorrr, typical most Malaysian mentality, semua mau free. They think road maintenance tarak pakai duit ka?

• John Doe on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:15 am

Because for the past 60 years they never once look at the figures from BNM. For 60 years they have been making alternative budgets pluck from thin air.
      Sometimes I really wonder what they do in parliament previously.

• YB Kinte on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:13 pm

Hopefully our regular troll does not come here with his 50 different dupes to try to create an impression so many hate our kind Government.

In actual fact, everyone loves the good acts done.

1) No GST
    2) Cheaper tolls
    3) Petrol fixed at RM2.08
    4) Cheaper car prices with SST
    5) Cheaper 800Mbps broadband at RM159
    6) No more leakages and corruption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 71
    • lilytan on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:32 pm

No 4 is joke of the year. GST 6% cheaper than SST 10%?

• Why do we still need TOLLS? on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:35 pm

It is very simple. Government needs money to maintain the over bloated civil service of 1.6 million people.

Until we downsize the civil service, the Government will need toll money to maintain the largest civil service in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • another atok on Jul 10, 2019 at 1:10 pm

bro..all countries do not count military, police, health and education as civil service

• Dr Strange on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:33 pm

If downsized then who will teach your future generations, keep you safe from harm, send you to the hospital, and at hospital cure you from disease? You better knock on sinsehs’ door in the middle of night and make sure you have plenty of money on hand cause private healthcare isn’t subsidised. My fees will literally kill you if the disease didn’t already.

• kunte ignorant on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:29 pm

you actually believe the human waste they feed you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • Such a good ostrich you are. What a wonderful pet Bro has.

• lilytan on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:31 pm

Toll free and less toll is not the same. Promised not fulfilled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 30
    • Alex Chan on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:37 pm

Everything also want free. Work hard like people in other countries. Too much of pampering and special priviliges have made people very lazy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • ARealChinese on Jul 09, 2019 at 6:03 pm

Preventing more tolls to be made is considered less tolls too.. I’m wondering if you’re actually a chinese or just a cover up..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 39
      • Call me by your name on Jul 09, 2019 at 10:26 pm

What about SUKE?

• John Doe on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:19 am

It takes a smart person to know this is going really wrong.
        Obviously you’re not one of them because instead of wondering why is the government suggesting to be indebted so much with no realistic savings, you’re wondering about race.
        I suggest you keep your wondering thoughts in private.

• Angry Voters on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:38 pm

Nak tipu siapa? Congestion charges only works against peak users & that happens during rush hours to & from work. Other countries uses congestion charges for encouraging travelers to use public transportation but our public transportation is like s**t, ever since you make it harder for Grab drivers and cancelling more MRT & Rapid bus projects.

Go try it yourself instead of talking & screwing us!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 18
    • You write it exactly right congestion charges works during peak hours that is why it is the right move to do congestion charges rather than flat toll! Ppl travel late night can pay less. May I know if you have better/construction suggestion on this?
      So easy we keep complaining whatever decision made but in reality it is no easy issue. Worsestill when some just like to be spoon-fed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Jeremy on Jul 10, 2019 at 12:57 pm

Did you even read finish that erudite comment? The answer is clearly and obviously there: Improve the public transportation network that it makes traveling on highways during congestion period an OPTION not a MUST. If Nobita minister wants to do his part in this idea, go mandate private companies to have flexi workhours for their employees. Leave the transport matters to the Transport Minister.

• GetScrewedTooOften on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:29 pm

Yeah stop screwing the rakyat. Very painful worrr

• DonkeyKong on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:50 pm

They issued bonds to raise funds for the concession takeover, which will see them charging toll on the highways beyond the concession period. So in effect, the government is incurring and guaranteeing debt for this exercise. Furthermore, it looks like the tolls will be perpetual for the maintenance of these roads, rather than having them transferred to be fully under JKR as federal roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
    • Short term effect (until concession period)
      – No more toll hike
      – Off peak hour charges (reduce 30% or free)
      – No more compensation to operator

Long term effect
      – Toll after concession is over for maintenance

Not sure
      – Opex budget for maintenance
      – Gov debt (but gov said, it’s self paying. Hence sustainable unlike MRT & Pan Borneo)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • John Doe on Jul 09, 2019 at 4:56 pm

Let’s wait and see hole path highway soon with maintenance not carrying out , almost guaranteed , then few years later said it’s losing too much and sell back to highway company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • John Lim on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:05 pm

I only travel during peak hours, so will incur congestion charges , which i presume will be same rate as current toll charges. Therefore, unable to see how i can enjoy the savings….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
  • Manifesto Dicapati on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Abolish toll mana? Janji mesti ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
  • Right click an replace Toll to Congestion

• pengayuhbasikal on Jul 09, 2019 at 5:49 pm

those BODs also clever…they expect their toll collection will be less in future once those MRT projects completed and maintenance cost going up each year … better sell now … why no mention of advertisement space rental to pay off debt/maintenance..

• smart badak, do you know that the pricing formula and compensation clauses are all provided for in the concession? Govt cant just simply buy back at any price it wants to.

• Call me by your name on Jul 09, 2019 at 10:30 pm

They can always buy the toll concessionaires like what BN did with PLUS last time then they can buy uncle kentang’s price rm0.10

• Amran on Jul 09, 2019 at 7:14 pm

Why no tolls until now? Hancing?! Kching kching!

• Jaychao on Jul 09, 2019 at 8:14 pm

Stupid planning

• What’s your planning then, genius?

• P.Alyanna on Jul 10, 2019 at 3:37 pm

Then what do you want us peons to do, if going work during congestion period is not viable and public transport is unavailable?
        Walk the kilometers to opis and back?
        Is this what genius can think of?

• skodamalaysia on Jul 09, 2019 at 11:09 pm

How about ?

1) Duke
    2) Besraya
    3) Akleh
    4) MEX
    5) Guthrie

U/C

6) SUKE
    7) DASH
    8) West Coast Expressway (WCE)

• Carlover on Jul 10, 2019 at 7:36 am

Ph don’t keep their promises. Toll free n congestion charges whatever is the same thing. Really king of spin. Who will be benefited most from this,? Must be bosses, not rakyat.peak hour is where normal people rush to work. They are going to pay full toll fee. Just my 2 cents view.

• Heskey on Jul 10, 2019 at 7:49 am

Hope my roti canai price will go down after this

• panjang on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:14 am

Dont worry guys, next election the oppo manifesto will include ‘Properly abolish toll’ and after the election we will switch side once again so we will again becomes keyboard warrior in any online site/portal mentioning abt how the janji is dicapati+teh ais ikat tepi.

We will try our level best saying/defending this and that suggestion is the best and how the previous gomen is best.

What we fail to see is that most of the rulers are still the same, enjoying their stay while we continue with our daily lives which include the mandatory queing at ATM machine every end of month.

• John Doe on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:20 am

He should spend more money for his hair. Maybe then brighter ideas will come out from it.

• Bg org bodoh pegang kuasa jd beginilah. Sana sini pusing2…

• Ben Yap on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:43 am

the non peak hours and peak hours will be 5am to 1am (peak hours) and 1:01am to 4:59am (non peak). rest assured, untung mesti mau.

• lanfear on Jul 10, 2019 at 9:50 am

off-peak hours and outside of peak hour is the same thing
    you need to rewrite this sentence:
    the highways will be toll-free during off-peak hours and toll rates will be 30% cheaper outside of peak hours.

• PT Reader on Jul 10, 2019 at 11:35 am

1 suggestion :

If can’t for fill promise, at least make every Saturday & Sunday toll free for all nation..

• Ah meng on Jul 10, 2019 at 11:58 am

We vote for free tolls.. Not congestion charge

• Happy Rakyat 2.0 on Jul 10, 2019 at 1:46 pm

It is a very good movement from new government! This will benefit both ‘rakyat’ and government in short and long run. Good move! For those still condemning this move, please go read some management stuff!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Normal Guy on Jul 10, 2019 at 1:49 pm

Removal of tolls is an absurd move. Tolled roads are there for a reason: they give a choice to avoid badly jammed roads which charges no toll. If tolls are abolished then all highways will be jammed. Then we complain again say everywhere jam and consumption increase because stuck in jam bla bla bla. Malaysians, Malaysians…when will you ever learn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • When you go Puchong, where can you avoid the LDP? If there is an alternative, many would take it and not jam the LDP on a daily basis.

• Implement the RFID system quick, I don’t mind paying tolls but I hate to queue to pay tolls.

• Angry Voters on Jul 10, 2019 at 4:45 pm

We mind paying tolls cause we voted for no tolls. Now janji is capati.

• That’s you, I don’t mind paying small amounts to keep the road free of pot holes, pebbles and garbage that could cost me more in terms of maintenance. Look at the condition of federal Highway. I did not vote for no tolls, I voted for no corruption and no najib.