2019 Proton Saga: 4AT, CVT servicing costs compared

When Proton launched the newly facelifted Saga last week, one of the biggest changes was the use of a Hyundai-sourced four-speed torque converter automatic (also used in the Kia Picanto), which replaces the previous Punch CVT.

How does the new transmission affect the maintenance cost of Proton’s entry-level sedan model? Well, you’ve come to right place, as we’ve prepared a handy table to compare just how much it will cost you to maintain the Saga with a conventional automatic and CVT over a five-year period (or 100,000 km mileage).

Keep in mind that these figures were taken straight from Proton’s official website and MyProton mobile app at the time of writing, and actual prices may vary. Also, other factors like fuel consumption and consumables (brake pads, shock absorbers, batteries and tyres) aren’t considered, as they are based on individual ownership.

Looking at the table, the cost of every service interval is equal between the Saga AT and Saga CVT, with the only difference being at the 60,000 km/36-month mark, when the transmission needs to be serviced. The transmission oil used for the Hyundai four-speed is certainly more expensive compared to the Punch CVT (RM216.80 versus RM165.03), but the CVT requires a filter (RM156.12) that adds to the service cost.

With other items factored in, the service cost at 60,000 km for the Saga AT amounts to RM626.70, or RM105.17 less than the Saga CVT that costs RM731.87. Across 100,000 km/five years, the Saga AT is marginally cheaper to maintain compared to the Saga CVT (RM3,002.42 versus RM3,107.59)

So, there you have it. The new Saga, with its four-speed automatic transmission, is slightly cheaper to maintain compared to the previous CVT-equipped model. The switch comes as Geely is already a customer of this transmission in China; it is a proven unit and four speeds suit the affordable nature of the Saga.

The Saga’s pricing is reflective of this, as the automatic variants of the Saga start from RM35,800 for the Standard, which is a few hundred ringgit less spec-to-spec compared to the old Executive CVT is replaces. Meanwhile, the auto-only Premium is just below the RM40,000 mark at RM39,800, or RM2,000 lower than before.

What do you think of Proton’s switch from a CVT to a four-speed automatic for the Saga? A step in the right direction or do you prefer the previous transmission more? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Vader on Aug 15, 2019 at 9:31 am

Saga cheaper, servis cheaper. Hail Proton Baru !!

• Proton Owner on Aug 15, 2019 at 9:57 am

Punch CVT so good why need to change?

• Anonymous on Aug 16, 2019 at 1:59 pm

It was good technically, but sadly under-appreciated by the public. They are often compared to conventional “slushboxes” (automatic with torque converters), but almost no one knows that they are actually clutch-based. I told this fact to a Proton sales rep back when the Iriz first came out and he wasn’t sure whether to believe me. So naturally, people have the wrong expectation on how the Punch CVT should feel and drive so they used it incorrectly and never get to reap its benefits.

It’s been almost a decade since the Punch CVT was introduced but hardly anyone acknowledges it, and even less who would learn how to use it properly.
      So why bother wasting money on consumers who just doesn’t care? People like me who actually have adapted to the clutch-based CVT are only a handful. Besides, it’s a budget sedan that is among the cheapest in the country. As buyers of the Myvi have proven for over a decade, when it comes down to it people here don’t actually care if it’s a 4AT if the car is that cheap.

• Andrekua on Aug 17, 2019 at 12:39 am

Honestly I wouldn’t be so sure if you’ll want a clutch based CVT. We have a City with first gen CVT that was using a clutch as well. Guess what, after 10 years, it’s now showing a lot of problem. Even changing a recond one wouldn’t fix it.

Initially, we even bought the clutch pack from Honda SC and asking them to change the clutch. After we bought it, the technician himself chicken out and give all sort of excuses like no experience to no guarantee it will fix our car problem. In the end, they restock the clutch pack and turned it into credit for car servicing.

• Anonymous on Aug 19, 2019 at 12:15 am

That’s from improper usage. People use it like an automatic with a torque converter, which is incorrect.

When letting off the brakes you should let the car roll on its own before applying the throttle. Only after the car has rolled you can apply the throttle, but even then there’s a trick. You can feel the clutch fully engage after a LIGHT application of the throttle. Only then can you begin your regular acceleration. “Regular” acceleration off the bat will likely delay clutch engagement. The clutch will slip too much and the gearbox will give more time for the input to catch up.

• Are you impulsive blood boiling driver? on Aug 16, 2019 at 2:00 pm

CVT is more suitable for civilised driving style Drivers.

• Ben Yap on Aug 15, 2019 at 9:59 am

it should at least be a 5 speed automatic. that’s the bare minimum in a modern car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Iqbal9510 on Aug 15, 2019 at 9:20 pm

It’s a sub 40k car, what do u expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Agree. The return to Dino tech.

• Aikon on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:49 am

People won’t pay for it. Simple as that. Economics. Understand the target market and expectations first before spewing rubbish.

• For the smoothness of CVT in shifting through different gear ratios, I had no complains. I know some would complain about the jerkiness of the standstill to get going stage, but if you take the time for it, then what you’ll get back is a smooth response. Yes, it was slow. But hey, if you compare it to the Honda or Toyota, then you’re essentially comparing apples to oranges. It’s not fare. But if Proton can do it (optimize the software) to that kind of shift quality, I would say, WHY NOT!

• Hyundai game changing 4AT gearbox is reliable and cheaper to maintain so that is why Proton replaced their CVT with this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Ben Yap on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:16 am

i don’t understand why is there a need to compare the maintenance for both cars. both of these cars are budget cars and if maintenance cost is an issue, the owner is only fit to ride a motorbike or take public transport rather than to own a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Because these are budget cars. So, of course the maintenance cost need to be considered.

• Aikon on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:57 am

You really don’t understand markets do you? To anyone buying a budget model up to B segment, servicing costs are critical to their pocket where every sen counts. Plus, I’d rather have them put their families in a car that is affordable to maintain than on a motorcycle where in the worst case scenario, the whole family can be lost.

• King Tan on Aug 16, 2019 at 11:08 am

Every cent do counts, when my nett salary is less than 2k. This information is very useful to me.

• T-Rex on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:19 am

Switching to 4 speed auto is like switching to Dinosaur tech. Korean automatic has been proven and trustable because it’s ancient and outdated. Proton should go back to Jurassic age while others are moving towards EV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • sutheshk87 on Aug 15, 2019 at 10:40 am

It was not a surprise that proton using CVT was a bad idea, so this is highly welcomed. I rather take a 4AT than a bad CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • When Proton made a shift from 4AT to CVT… same reason. Now revert back.. same reason. What BS!!

• You are forgetting Saga 2019 is much better equipped but with price drop across the range. That is significant in budget segment.

• How about fuel consumption? Which one is lower between this 2 gearbox?

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 15, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Still not important to Boleh-Landers.

FC & RV are the only things they bother about.

• azrai on Aug 15, 2019 at 12:52 pm

The PCD for the new facelift Sagabis different from tge pre facelift becausevit share the same disc with iriz?

• Anonymous on Aug 15, 2019 at 2:47 pm

While I think the change from a CVT to a 4AT is a downgrade, I like how the cost savings is put into equipping the car a bit better. Even the cheapest variant is not as basic as before yet there is a significant price drop across the entire range. They also did good in choosing what equipment to compromise for the basic model. Engineering-wise not a fan, but if I was a buyer looking for an affordable small automatic sedan any Saga auto would be a good choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • proton owner on Aug 15, 2019 at 5:59 pm

This is fake, just asked a saga cvt owner to show the bill for 60,000km service. The ‘ori’ oil filter rm200+, oil pan gasket rm120+, oil sum pan rm180+, 5x cvt oil rm200++ plus labour rm168 will cost u a bomb. More expensive than changing timing belt.

• Lawson on Aug 16, 2019 at 6:35 am

In USA engine oil or service interval is prompted by display in dash board which in turn is managed by algorithm in the car’s computer. From Honda Malaysia sales increase since 2014 is in part of increasing oil change interval from 5,000km to 10,000km or 6 months so that it could compete with Toyota Malaysia. But no change since then. In USA, Honda had known to advise customers not to change when they come in with dash showing engine oil is still having half life. Typically in USA oil change interval by engine algorithm is from 8,000 and up to 12,000 miles. My 2018 Honda hybrid engine oil change and filter interval is still 10,000km or 6 months which ever comes first – even if using synthetic oil. To be slightly “greener” Honda Malaysia need to follow Honda USA lead.

• Thats what being used by beemer here in msia…the car will prompt when its time for an oil change

• Aikon on Aug 16, 2019 at 8:53 am

If you dare, list out the parts and pricing plus, name the outlet where your source serviced the car. Maybe your source is more fake instead…maybe…

• Proton Ex-Owner on Aug 16, 2019 at 10:10 am

This is true. Saga’s maintenance cost a bomb, way more than Bezza. You pay for the cheap upfront but you pay more at the back. Smart buyers would move away from Proton. There is a reason why Perodua’s sales is more. Consumers are not stupid unless those who buy for patriotic reason.

• Hmmmm on Aug 16, 2019 at 5:16 pm

Nope, a really smart owner knows what is scheduled in the maintenance and not get cheated by some sc. This happens to all sc from all make. Some of the sc will push this and that which is not scheduled and not necessary…..pushing the cost up to earn more profit.

Person A got cheated by sc….who is the ‘not-smart’ party now?

Still, i agree that Saga maintenance is higher but does not cost a bomb coz its still running timing belt.

• My service center told me to come to service every 5000 km for semi syntehtic oil while Proton official figures were 10000 km, so who should I follow? BTW, I know if the 6 months time came, I still need to change it.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Aug 16, 2019 at 2:12 am

4AT or CVT? I still choose manual.