Schneider Electric Malaysia electric vehicle charging stations now at Genting Highlands Premium Outlets

Electrified vehicle charging infrastructure in Malaysia takes another step, with the launch of Schneider Electric Malaysia’s electric vehicle charging station in the Awana SkyCentral Transportation Hub at the Genting Highlands Premium Outlets retail centre.

The charging station is comprised of nine charging bays, each rated for 7.4 kW via a Type 2 socket outlet, which Schneider Electric Malaysia says will provide 40 km of battery range from a four-hour charge. The facility is currently a single-phase setup, though provisions are in place for upgrading to a three-phase setup to accommodate 22 kW charging, the company said.

Located at Level B1 between pillars B5 and C5, the charging station is accessible to the general public 24 hours a day, seven days a week, available to use free of charge; standard parking charges apply at the Genting Highlands Premium Outlets parking facility. The Awana SkyCentral Transportation Hub houses the Awana Bus Terminal, which serves Resorts World Genting and the Awana SkyWay cable car system.

“We can confidently say that many of our customers drive premium urban vehicles which have petrol-electric versions these days, and there is a need to have (EV charging facilities) at the carpark,” said Resorts World Genting vice president of hotel operations Ganesan Subramaniam. The transportation hub carpark averages 50% occupancy during weekdays, with weekends and public holidays seeing ‘over 100%’, he added.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Parking terlajak laris on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:33 pm

Is it FOC? we Msians wan everything FOC u know

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 10, 2019 at 10:52 am

Rich ppl sure like one. Parking fee RM4 per hour + Free Charging of PHEV.

• Sarjit Singh Ahluwalia on Sep 06, 2019 at 5:37 pm

All this is good but where is our National Carmaker’s EV? Malaysians have been waiting 7 years now for the Iriz EV.

Proton’s showcased this car in 2013 but said it needed many more billions ringgit in grants to perfect this car.

Malaysians are still waiting….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Ais cair lagi on Sep 07, 2019 at 10:22 am

More importantly, where is the Perodua Hybrid? Hybrids are more affordable than EVs. 16 years in the making, still no news at all. This must because Perodua is sleeping, like you said in another article.

• Sanjay on Sep 07, 2019 at 7:51 pm

I agree. Majority working in the Perodua plant always tidur, this is expected. Want everything free and easy

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 09, 2019 at 6:46 pm

We should close down Perodua and only let the real Malaysian automaker continue: Proton.

• Another fake news. At this point, whatever you say loses any credibility instantly.

• seancorr (Member) on Sep 06, 2019 at 6:57 pm

Wow the power rating damn crap lah must well don’t do it until they get faster chargers. Imagine you come up to Getting with your Taycan…so how long you need to charge before you head down lol

• How do they prevent useless drivers without an EV or PHEV from parking there? It’s at B1 next to the escalator lobby, prime spot for parking vultures.

• Electric slide on Sep 07, 2019 at 12:47 pm

Wonder how much (electrical) charge the downhill trip generates.

• Add A Comment on Sep 10, 2019 at 9:43 am

40 km of battery range from a four-hour charge…

I think this is a scam. They want you to stay in GPO for more than 8 hours for you be able able to travel back home. 8 hours baru 80km ya…if u come from anywhere further…good luck.

• 1D10T Detector on Sep 10, 2019 at 1:47 pm

pls stick to your kelisa/mybi, you definitely have lack of knowledge when it comes to PHEV, simpan sikit…

• AZAMIRUDDIN AHMAD on Sep 10, 2019 at 9:47 am

Big car always don’t know how to park properly.