Government will revoke the licences of AP holders who abuse the system for quick profits, says Dr M

The government will take action against holders of approved permits (AP) who abuse the opportunities to make a quick buck, said prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. He said that the government would move to revoke such opportunities granted to those who are eligible, but instead chose to sell them to third parties, the Malay Mail reports.

Citing the granting of open APs as an example, he said that such chances were aimed at narrowing the economic and income gap between communities. “We know that under the New Economic Policy (NEP), when we created opportunities for those who are poor to get a share of the nation’s wealth, there were those who abuse the opportunities created. As how we are aware, when they receive contracts for example, they sell the contracts,” he said.

“There are those who get opportunities for AP or other aid from the government, but they find the easy way out, by selling these chances to other parties for a fast profit. In the end, when the money they get is finished being spent, they continue living in poverty like before,” he added.

He lamented the greed of those who wish to make a fast profit through the opportunities given to them, saying that such abuses are obstructing the government’s vision and policies to bridge the economic gap.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Angry Voters on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:52 am

Easy to talk, why didn’t he revoke the APs during his 22 year reign?
    Because they sponsored his current reign of course. Again, will they take action? Naah!! Just another lip service by Pakatan UTurn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 35
    • Awang Selamat on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:44 am

How long must we live a lie when we know all the APs are sold off to other people?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Teganukitak on Jan 31, 2020 at 2:20 pm

Govt subsidized cooking oil and diesel. Smuggled to golok since long time frm KB here

• Arthur Ong on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:16 pm

you are right john, all to help your own people with everlasting tongkat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Crony on Jan 31, 2020 at 2:48 pm

Can’t blame us, you all voted for us during GE14 remember? You should have voted for the other side. Now we won. He he he he he…..

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 31, 2020 at 4:15 pm

Alas, rakyat voted right during GE14. He he…

For 60Year from Ge1 to GE13, malaysia got plundered & korup. No need compare singapura, even Vietnam & indon ahead of us now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 31, 2020 at 5:03 pm

But alas we made a big mistake. Now car prices going up and up
            https://paultan.org/2020/01/17/new-malaysia-excise-duty-regulations-introduced-for-2020-could-see-ckd-car-prices-rise-by-up-to-15/

• Troll Hunter on Jan 31, 2020 at 3:06 pm

Yes Kunta, better to help other people and not themselves.

At least BN politicians didn’t buy themselves Toyota Velfires and Honda Accords with our taxpayer money.

• Param Cumarasamy on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:29 pm

Why these people still want bantuan kerajaan, diskaun, special privileges, biasiswas etc etc?

50 tahun tak cukup ke? Mana maruah ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • azhar on Jan 31, 2020 at 7:10 pm

that time he is in BN..this time in PH…its not the same..in BN, corruption is a culture

• Ajibkor on Feb 01, 2020 at 12:47 am

in BN, corruption is a culture..we cud only exist.

• Logical Deduction on Feb 03, 2020 at 10:05 am

So you’re telling us corruption in BN is not acceptable but corruption PH is now acceptable? What kind of double standards does PH people subscribe to nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Ghani on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:53 am

1970 New Economic Policy (NEP) epic BN failure. After 50 years, only Shame our country.

When the money we get is finished being spent, we continue living in poverty like before, tongkat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • History Bender on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:10 pm

Oh and History 101. AP wasn’t part of NEP. It was a Madey idea and he parked it under NEP but in truth it was never an NEP concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Politicians abused nep for their personal interest. NEP is communism/ socialism in disguise. Wealth sharing ideas bankrupt countries before and even russia, sweden and china abandoned it.

• Unknown on Feb 03, 2020 at 3:36 pm

Sweden still has welfare socialism and this made them the envy of EU countries.

• Crony on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:54 am

Hinting that AP cronyism will continue? Thank you my Bapa Kroni Malaysia. You scratch our backs, we scratch yours no matter you are with BN or PH or PB. He he he he he he…..

• Sarjit Singh Ahluwalia on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Crony to help the majority. Their work is to songlap their own country dry

• Mmakanmesia on Jan 31, 2020 at 2:52 pm

Under declared ckd tax & now, songlap AP.

• Mestilah kroni bantu majoriti, tengok je majoriti keluarga PM7, semua sudah didaddykasikan sampai kaya. Kalau kroni tak bantu majoriti diaorg mana boleh diaorg semua jadi kaya. Takkan le nak bantu seorg duaorg je.

• Sick & Tired on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:54 am

Enough of this AP nonsense la. This BS has been going on for decades! This AP system was designed to reward cronies! Scrap it and make it transparent so that anyone who wants an AP can bid for it. This old man has to leave asap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Shukor bin Azman on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:18 pm

Get rid of AP, NAP, NEP and affirmative policy. Let Malaysia progress based on merit.

People should be selected based on merit.

• M.Jummaat on Jan 31, 2020 at 1:10 pm

Terbongkar. Bab cilok2 oghang kite No.1! Hehehe

• Sick & Tired on Jan 31, 2020 at 10:57 am

The old man is getting senile. He has been saying the same crap since the 90’s!! Screw the AP system!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • longjaafar on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:06 am

APs are openly sold…the whole world knows that..

• Tok kok on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:13 am

Tok tok only this gomen. Oledi since many many many years ago ap holder cekik cekik customer and quick profit. Did gomen do anything? No! Tok tok only since lastime lastime oledi still no action. Songlap only in action.

• Alan a/k Alam on Jan 31, 2020 at 1:29 pm

Exactly, Shared Prosperity Vision 2030 SPV blueprint way more promising to increase the incomes of all ethnic groups, particularly us Bumi.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 31, 2020 at 11:29 am

All talk. Same reasoning given since a decade ago or more.

• You can revoke the 300mil/annum x 15 years contract with Naza first.
    That’s all that matters.

• Just get the bloody AP system off. Does nothing

• Malaysian on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:38 pm

DEB or NEP will remain forever, if everyone still categorize each Malaysian with Bumi, Malay, Chinese, Indian and many others. Which politician or party willing to remove all these? All with own agenda and they are not for the long term benefits for its Rakyat who voted for them.

• vivizurianti on Jan 31, 2020 at 12:45 pm

hahaha…what a joke in 2020!. Revoke opportunities konon?? I say, in reality that are more and widespread of cronies in 2020 la.

AP holders are the same Ali Baba-robber gang that robs rakyat, making tonnes of money from “selling” high priced vehicles. This has been going on for 2 decades. and counting.

No surprise there.

• As usual, NATO(No Action Talk Only). Those who knows Hokkien, it’s CKLPS.
    So when will the enforcement start,Tun?

• CrazyDot on Jan 31, 2020 at 4:56 pm

No GOVT will have political will to demolish AP in Malaysia, nobody!

• Yee Sang Enterprise on Jan 31, 2020 at 7:43 pm

Need to put these as manifesto next time. Haha.

• Grease monkey on Feb 02, 2020 at 8:54 pm

Head clown from ph circus bullshitting again, why need ap,just to enrich your bloody cronies? Help those M40 &B40 who are struggling every month to cari makan only.