Kia Seltos appears on Malaysian website – 1.6L MPI with 123 PS/151 Nm, EX and GT Line, launch soon?

At the end of last year, Naza Kia teased the arrival of the new Kia Seltos, which it said will be launched in 2020. Fast forward four months and the B-segment crossover appears to be nearing a local introduction, having popped up on the official Kia Malaysia website.

The Seltos will apparently be available in EX and GT Line variants, and both look to be powered by a 1.6 litre Gamma naturally-aspirated MPI four-cylinder petrol engine, sending 123 PS and 151 Nm of torque.

Kia Seltos appears on Malaysian website – 1.6L MPI with 123 PS/151 Nm, EX and GT Line, launch soon?Kia Seltos appears on Malaysian website – 1.6L MPI with 123 PS/151 Nm, EX and GT Line, launch soon?

It is mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox, and the car will likely only be offered with front-wheel drive, following class norms.

Beyond that, not much can be gleaned about the local specification, but the website does list items like LED head- and tail lights, a flat-bottomed steering wheel, an eight-inch touchscreen infotainment system, Qi wireless smartphone charging, ventilated seats, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, a sunroof and, interestingly, a head-up display.

The Ajerul received images of the Seltos in Malaysia

Expect most of these to be exclusive to the GT Line, which will also get a seven-inch colour multi-info display instead of the EX’s 3.5-inch monochrome screen, along with black faux leather seats and single-zone automatic climate control.

We already had an inkling of an impending launch following a preview event in February, where Naza Kia showed two variants of the Seltos. Images of the car on a trailer have also cropped up on The Ajerul Facebook page, so it looks like it’s not long to go – although we probably still have to wait until the movement control order lifts first.

GALLERY: Kia Seltos previewed in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton X70 and Honda HRV is more bargain.

I heard its CBU from India so that’s why so expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Rempah pembunuh Covid-19 on Apr 16, 2020 at 10:56 pm

Kia Seltos will be a Game Changer here. With it’s stunninf design, complete feature, Korean quality and reasonable price, Proton X70 will struggle to fight this Game-Changing SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
      • (Like) Kia Seltos 1.6L MPI with 123 PS.
        (Dislike) Proton X50 1.5T 180hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
    • Avenger on Apr 17, 2020 at 12:12 am

Anything India touches is doomed to fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 11
      • Child of Bodom on Apr 17, 2020 at 9:09 am

Just like AirAsia

• Amran on Apr 17, 2020 at 10:11 am

Kesian the workers. All downline got 75% paycut but not the owners. He still got the gall to ask bailout from govment even though AA is not govment owned.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 17, 2020 at 1:11 pm

Loan, not bailout.

• Sick & Tired on Apr 17, 2020 at 5:14 pm

AA is finding 1001 excuses not to refund back the monies on cancelled flights instead converting them into AA credit points. You think Tony won’t use the same excuses and “convert” the loan into bailouts? Haha!

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 17, 2020 at 1:17 pm

Just like SsangYong and JLR which is not profitable either.

• YB Albert on Apr 17, 2020 at 10:41 am

Make no mistake.When MCO is lifted,car buying sentiments will NEVER be the same again.
      Gone are the days where the saleman can sweet talk “Tak payah fikir.Beli je.Saya urus loan 100%.”
      With so much uncertainty,I reckon car sales will take a massive hit 30-40 percent,especially higher end models.
      Now,people might even just make do with their older cars,just spend a little more on repairs.
      The micron size virus has changed consumers’ spending pattern.

• Looks dope
    Pricing is fair
    Will sell well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Korean can only compete with Japanese 10-20 years ago because of 20-30% cheaper and better specs…with same price as Japanese now, I don’t think u can sell well, be realistic please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Lemonguy on Apr 17, 2020 at 8:20 am

Their spec actually better than japanese car especially honda and toyota

• Wheres the turbo?

• David on Apr 16, 2020 at 10:04 pm

Ridiculous price for B segment

• SK Lim on Apr 17, 2020 at 10:14 am

Because for that price you could buy much better and bigger C-segment SUVs.

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 16, 2020 at 10:05 pm

1.6NA with just 123ps and 151nm to move this at least 1.4 tonne vechile is absolutely underpower. The new Seltos engine output even lower than my 2010 Forte which I feel the power just adequate to move the 1.3 tonne weight. Kia got the new 1.4T and existing 1.6T, it will be good to bring in the turbo version than the NA. Or else at least bring the 2.0NA to move the beast.

• Welcome to this version of the multiverse, where Naza thinks people are going to buy a Korean B-Segment SUV above RM120k. Legend has it their management team are still high on different substances.

• najib on Apr 16, 2020 at 10:23 pm

Isn’t the Sportage a bigger and better car for a similar money?

I expected to be priced in the RM100-100K range.

• Me and my wife own a Kia each. I drive a Sorrento 2.2 CRDI and my wife a Rio. They are solid cars and I’ve been wanting to change my wife’s Rio for a small SUV.
    I’ve been eyeing the Seltos but I am not gonna spend this much money on a NA 1.6 MPI engine. Guaranteed to be underpowered and high in fuel consumption. I was hoping for either the petrol or diesel turbo version.
    I am almost certain to narrow my options to Proton X50 or Perodua D55 1.0 turbo.
    Naza as a distributor in Malaysia sucks. Bottom line, great car but wrong engine spec and over priced. Even more pricey than C segment Sportage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • Presto on Apr 17, 2020 at 9:15 am

Agree man. Been waiting on this car since last year. But 120k on a B segment? Ridiculous. Might as well spend that much on a Mazda.

• Kunta Kanta Konto on Apr 17, 2020 at 2:05 pm

I kinda agree. I got K3 with 1.6 Mpi and sometime feel like underpower. If Seltos going to put in same powertrain can be as good as dead

• Toymachine on Apr 17, 2020 at 5:48 pm

Well it is CBU priced …no more CKD KIAs in Malaysia as the naza gurun plant has been bought over by PSA … so blame the excise duties for CBUs for the high price…

• Maria on Apr 16, 2020 at 10:56 pm

Indian spec. No 1.6 tgdi turbo the fish 1.6 na. No active safety feature aeb lkas blind spot warning. Price same like japanese brand. Good luck Kia for selling Seltos. I’m kind dissapoint with Kia. Great car with bad engine and spec. And 1 more thing, Kia currently trying to be like samsung, selling the same model with different internal for each market. The korean and Aussie spec actually longer in lenght (4370mm vs 4315mm) and wheelbase(2630mm vs2610mm) than Malaysian Seltos. Kind feeling cheated with Kia

• Zoom zoom on Apr 16, 2020 at 11:22 pm

B segment 1.6 Kia Seltos RM 121k vs C segement 2.0 Kia Sportage 122k

• Malaysian on Apr 16, 2020 at 11:55 pm

Was looking forward for this. Considering one. But the powertrain is a deal breaker for me. Why no 1.4T?

• My thoughts exactly. For some reason Kia Malaysia appears to have a habit of using underpowered powertrains in their B-segment offerings.

• Malaysian on Apr 17, 2020 at 11:05 am

True that. Rio came with an underpowered powertrain. The car really has potential. Good luck selling this Seltos. People will wait for the X50 now.

• Ben Yap on Apr 17, 2020 at 12:13 am

too expensive for a 1.6 korean car. it should be priced below RM100K.

• Sportage how la on Apr 17, 2020 at 1:24 am

Almost similar price of base kia Sportage.
    Did they solve the gearbox problem in india?

• Pubow on Apr 17, 2020 at 7:51 am

WOW is already 2020 100k above car still using lever handbrake, sohai ka Naza Kia?

• igotnocar on Apr 17, 2020 at 9:38 am

Some people like myself still prefer lever handbrake for simplicity. i’ve not realised the benefits of an e-brake aside from its hill start aid and potential malfunction later in life

• vivizurianti on Apr 17, 2020 at 8:48 am

Naza, don’t la make too much profit selling cars. Tak baik, tau?

• Nik botak on Apr 17, 2020 at 9:11 am

That price & that engine….wont be selling well. Msian will go for x70 or hrv instead.

• aaaron on Apr 17, 2020 at 10:20 am

What on earth…. the exact same EX variant is priced at only rm89k in Indonesia… Naza kia wyd

• Cranky Nuts on Apr 17, 2020 at 10:29 am

Kia’s gamma 1.6 engine is well known not to be petrol friendly is company to a Japanese engine. The average petrol consumption is 11L/KM.

Unfortunately things will be slightly more different for Seltos due to its power to weight ratio. With a SUV size like that, I bet it will be much more heavier compared to a normal Kia 1.6 sedan.

If that’s the case, we should be looking at 8L/KM or 9KM/L instead of the normal 11L/KM.

For a RM121k price tag, what Kia should have done is down the engine capacity to 1.2cc or 1.3cc and slap the engine with a turbo charge. This will help with petrol consumption and at the same time make the Seltos different than their Japanese counterpart especially the HRV and Mazda CX3 which is also a B segment SUV.

I don’t think this Kia Seltos sales will fly off the chart based on the price range, engine capacity and petrol consumption of the car alone.

• I am buying. I love sunroof. 1.6mpi engine with bulletproof gearbox 6 speed. Saves me a lot of money. Roadtaz rm90. I will save a lot of money. This car is from namyang s. Korea.

• Thank you naza director. You heard my call. I wanted sunroof and blue color. You delivered for me

• Thank you Kia Malaysia. For bringing and doing good features in the car. I own Kia too. And will add more into garage. I know u will surprise us with pricing like you did to picanto low price

• Gabriel on Apr 17, 2020 at 11:12 am

High price is due to new tax system introduced by PH government. We can see price increases across other car maker in Malaysia as well. I know that the new PN government is busy with tackling Covid-19, but I do hope that they can spend time to look at this matter. Hope that they can revert back to the tried and tested BN taxing system where car prices are cheaper.

• ikhwan on Apr 17, 2020 at 11:20 am

They already removed it from the website

• Seltos got colorful head up display. Important for my night driving

• Is this your first time posting comments here? Komen sekali cukup lah!

• Seltos sound light mood. Syok man at night when dengar lagu. Also BOSE speaker

• Angeleyes on Apr 17, 2020 at 8:23 pm

Price is expected high, specs not that well especially the damn underpower engine, service quality way below par….just don’t waste your capital to bring this seltos here…Naza people, do you always have weed for breakfast everyday?

• disappointed man on Apr 17, 2020 at 8:29 pm

If sell below 90k for full spec is ok. If selling more than 100k abd for 1.5 NA engine.. NAZA can kiss another variant goodbye. Inside people really dont know how to run. Bring in the turbo and fight at 110k is a better deal. If not, X50 a better choice.

• Bring in the Turbo on Jun 17, 2020 at 9:17 pm

Disappointed. Was really looking forward for this car with turbo. The rumoured 120k price does not match with the spec offered. If the spec is true we Malaysian get the worse spec for this car compare to the rest of the world. The best deal from Kia in Malaysia was the Picanto.

• Disappointed. on Jun 17, 2020 at 9:36 pm

Disappointed. No turbo. Cheap rim. Worse spec Seltos compare to the rest of the world.

• I’m just very disappointed at the interior design of the car, it’s 2020 and it’s still old school gear levers and hand brakes. Climate control and infotainment is dated looking. The so called LCD cluster is still using manual tachometers like back in 2010. Don’t even get me talking about the rims bruh.

• Cancel on Aug 11, 2020 at 4:37 pm

Did they cancel or postpone?
    Same price with base model kia Sportage?