Proton 4X4 pick-up with X90 front-end rendered

Here’s another rendition of the Geely Haoyue VX11, this time as a dual-cab pick-up truck courtesy once again of visual rendering maestro Theophilus Chin. The visual interpretation here employs the Proton X90 render – also by Theophilus himself – which uses this Proton’s badge and grille, and its bodywork appears similar to the X90 rendition until the base of the A-pillar.

The pick-up truck design takes over from this point rearwards, where the lower edge of the bodyshell gains side steps as is commonly employed on taller vehicles, and the pick-up truck’s roof rails are beefier items compared to those on the Haoyue and X90 rendition. Here, a roof-mounted antenna also features, and naturally, a truck cargo tray means upright C-pillars.

The pick-up truck rendered here also gets the wheelarch-aping crease lines above each wheelhouse as on the X90/Haoyue, while the metal-look trim near the base of the doors and their lower crease lines are also modelled after those on the seven-seater SUV. Here, rolling stock is comprised of chunkier-looking alloys with more rugged tyres mounted.

The rear end of the pick-up truck wears tail lamps somewhat similar to those on the Nissan Navara, albeit with a more upright outer edge and what appears to be a larger inner cluster for the indicators and reverse lights. Relative to the Navara, this rendition of the Proton also has more pronounced crease lines on the tailgate, while the rear bumper features chrome covers at each corner.

Should a pick-up truck be given the green light by Proton, it will most likely employ a diesel powertrain and ladder-frame chassis combination that is typical of pick-up trucks in this segment. At present, the X90 seven-seater SUV is a more probable candidate, which would be based on the Haoyue.

Proton’s shareholder Geely does have a pickup truck, but it is electric only, in the form of the Radar RD6. Curiously, the Radar RD6 uses the same interior as the Geely Haoyue/Proton X90.

What do you think, dear readers? Would you like to see Proton release a rugged, body-on-frame diesel 4X4 pick-up truck in this style?

GALLERY: Geely Haoyue VX11

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• azrai on May 12, 2020 at 1:50 pm

Right price, right time this could be the next thing in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • Hiluxx driver on May 12, 2020 at 2:07 pm

Anytime better than any if the pick up truck available in the market now. All pick up truck drivers in Malaysia think they are driving X5 or GLE. So lansi like road is theirs. Saw an old Mitsubishi truck trying to bully Elantra this morning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • 4G63T DSM on May 12, 2020 at 2:18 pm

Looks nice.

What I would really like to see is more manufacturers doing a mid-gate setup like the Chevrolet Avalanche. So much more practical to put long items especially in a crew cab and short bed. As far as I know its the only pickup in recent times to have t (albeit, the chevy was some 8 years ago)

• Truckers on May 12, 2020 at 2:31 pm

Haoyue, like all other Geely cars, are monocoque bodied so no way it can be turned into a proper pickup. Best bet would be a 2 door ute with extra long cabin and with car like height level, ala Arena.

• azrai on May 13, 2020 at 9:09 am

In America, Honda has a monocoque pickup. Please google Honda Ridgeline.

• Truckers on May 13, 2020 at 10:13 am

How does it fare? Not so good against the Ford & Chevy pickups, even Hilux does it better. Ever wondered why only Honda has done a monocoque pickup and none other?

• donno on May 12, 2020 at 2:31 pm

I believe a pickup truck is a good addition to the proton range. It could be used to expand the market, and a new product line for geely group, as there is no pickups yet in any of other geely companies. There are plenty of chinese pickup platforms that Proton could use and put its own body design on top of it.

I would prefer the pickup to be more utilitarian in concept and design. Prioritizing usefulness and functionality over styling. It would look tough and can be easily customizable. That means its styling should not hinder the change to steel bumpers, add on winches etc.

I would love if it could follow the similar concept to
    – the new jimny. simple, tough and easily customizable.
    – similar in spirit to the old defender. utilitarian but not out of place in an urban jungle.
    – look at Jeep Wayout Concept
    – tough looks like the Nissan Titan Warrior Concept

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • Donno on May 13, 2020 at 10:13 am

Proton could do what Peugeot did.

Look up Kaicene F70 and Peugeot Landtrek

• Look alike nissan navara

• botinang on May 13, 2020 at 1:10 am

yes, proton pick up is overdue .

• Silthice on May 13, 2020 at 5:46 am

I think if Geely/Proton going for an urban pick up ⬆, they will follow Honda Ridgeline roots and maybe the aging Volvo diesel in the tow as well. Actually Proton should utilize the Volvo diesel engine and transmission to capture Indonesia and India market as they are in favor of diesel-powered vehicles for example Kijang Innova (Innova Crysta) or even Suzuki Ertiga that offered with diesel engine variations.

• Truckers on May 13, 2020 at 10:14 am

If Ridgeline was such a success, the concept would have been copied by other carmarkers and it would have found market in South East Asian roads. Right now everything points to the opposite.

• Adam Esham on Jun 03, 2020 at 1:54 am

The reason it wasn’t a success was that Australia and SEA dealers requested for Diesel versions however honda never had a diesel engine nor wants to develop one.

• A better route would be Ford’s Maverick lineup. Diesel engine, reliable 6-speed, smaller body reminiscent of the old Rangers. If they somehow could bring them here to SEA, id trade in my pickup straight away.

• Benny on May 14, 2020 at 1:50 am

I’ve been dreaming about 4×4 proton for years. Hoping for a 4×4 with more affordable price

• Overdo ugly looking. X70 is more refine

• Jaguh on Sep 08, 2020 at 9:16 am

Very good looking and spec

• I’m not fans of pick up truck but I think I will buy this if it is being produced

• Bernhard Barkman on Nov 27, 2020 at 7:42 am

YesProton pickup with a strong diesel engine would be a good seller

• mr.shahazli on Mar 07, 2022 at 2:08 pm

we waiting for proton pick up truck with diesel engine for the competitor pick up truck in the market

• Fordist on Mar 20, 2023 at 4:42 pm

Will be an Underpowered Truck yet Makan Minyak.

• Calvin on Mar 20, 2023 at 7:29 pm

I would like a proton jimny – retro look

• Calvin on Mar 20, 2023 at 7:30 pm

I wud like a proton jimny with retro look.

• Pick up are taxed similar to national cars do i doubt if proton interested to compete in thos segment. That is why trucks are affordable compared to other type of foreign brands.

• Plus there us no awd version of geely haoyue ( x90). Sny truck must be based on the x70.

• protonpower on Mar 21, 2023 at 12:04 am

This 4×4 will be good if powered by 1.3VVT @ 94HP engine by Proton with 14-inch rim. Silverstone should be default tire supplier due to how good quality their tires are. If paired with Punch’s CVT gb, this truck will be a god’s servant.

• brip brip brip on Mar 21, 2023 at 9:04 am

a hundred moments later… x90 still in camoflouge

• lawaaaa…xpected price?

• Joy Good on Mar 21, 2023 at 6:14 pm

Is there be like suzuki jimmy looking vehicle next time?

• Marvin Ng on Mar 21, 2023 at 9:24 pm

Yes, go Proton !!!

• Lim Lam Seng on Mar 22, 2023 at 7:48 am

How far it could compare to Toyota Hilux, so far as I’m using now is very powerful.

• no need to make up render lah just google search what pickup does geely have and change the grill done a real proton pickup lol

• Will be great if they have the right price point. I will certainly be interested as Chinese auto quality has come a long way since the early days

• Van Heuse on Mar 22, 2023 at 9:26 pm

Make sure it is affordable.below 80k….if not bye bye be

• Launch it quick

• Richard Dutton on Mar 22, 2023 at 11:49 pm

Launch it quick

• Concerned citizen on Mar 23, 2023 at 5:06 am

This theophilus chin work is only a waste of time cuz the model is only imagination on things tht doesnt exist.
    They also like to post this kind of content to encourages nonsense talking, hope & gossip on a model that Proton doesn’t plan to build it at all.

This kind of content should not be exist as they want all those keyboard warrior playing their role to “shine” lol.

If you really want to design a car, then design it with your OWN design if you desperately want netizen to praise & valid your skill. This Photoshop things doesn’t help car culture & industry. Honestly.

• Concerned citizen on Mar 23, 2023 at 5:07 am

this theophilus chin work is only a waste of time cuz the model is only imagination on things tht doesnt exist.
    they also like to post this kind of content to encourages nonsense talking, hope & gossip on a model that proton doesn’t plan to build it at all.

this kind of content should not be exist as they want all those keyboard warrior playing their role to “shine” lol.

if you really want to design a car, then design it with your own design if you desperately want netizen to praise & valid your skill. this photoshop things doesn’t help car culture & industry. honestly

• Local malaysian car in Malaysia we can get low prices for Malaysian but sell to overseas they are get lower prices around RM 20K below market price…for us they sell 80k-100k then say we don’t support local brand…

• Concerned citizen on Mar 26, 2023 at 5:14 am

Seems like you didn’t understand economy. You also doesn’t compare why price of proton cars in developing countries such as Pakistan is lower vs developed countries such as UK. However, Proton is no longer sell cars in developed countries such as UK. Saga in Pakistan have lower price than City & Vios but their price difference is not that high.

• Why follow other pickup trucks trend. why not give more leg room at the back passengers this concept will go famous. if the back passenger seat has more legroom and comfortable. most probably people using cars will convert to this pick up because Got legroom. If only proton can do it. What do you think about this suggestions guys.

• Aaron Snehraa on Mar 31, 2023 at 10:43 pm

I which malaysia will want to go for it 4×4 market because as everyone know the demand is very hi for now as we all know we did have one spec that was arena it was going good but that all a student the market stop don’t know y .hope this time malaysia model 4×4 will be full spec and best price below 80k it’s already good for the start up market

• Raoff Othman on Dec 17, 2023 at 2:52 pm

#Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva #Xtiva