Daihatsu has introduced the new Gran Max in Japan, which is set to go on sale from September 4, alongside its rebadged cousin known as the Toyota Town Ace. The Gran Max will be produced by Daihatsu’s Indonesian subsidiary – P.T. Astra Daihatsu Motor – and will be exported to Japan, marking the first time that Daihatsu models produced overseas will be sold in the country.
As before, both versions of the light commercial vehicle are available as a panel van or a pick-up truck guises, depending on the needs of businesses who purchase them. Toyota’s version of the model can also be ordered with a refrigeration unit or a power lift mounted behind the cab for more specialised requirements.
Power comes from a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre four-cylinder engine – the same used for the Perodua Myvi and Aruz – that develops 97 PS at 6,000 rpm and 134 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. The engine can be paired with either a five-speed manual or four-speed automatic, along with a choice of front- or all-wheel drive, regardless of the body type selected.
Visually, there’s very little to tell the Gran Max and Town Ace apart aside from their badges, but they do differ slightly from before thanks to new LED headlamps and restyled taillights. Besides that, you still get A-pillars that are angled to promote more headroom and improve visibility, as well as plenty of ergonomic and practical design elements for easier ingress/egress and cargo loading.
A more significant update is the fitment of active safety systems, including autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, lane departure warning, erroneous start prevention with brake control, front vehicle departure alert and an automatic high beam function. This is standard for both models, along with Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), traction control and two airbags.
2020 Daihatsu Gran Max
2020 Toyota Town Ace
Daihatsu uses Toyota technology, so this is very good. Not like China junk with no quality
And Toyota celup other people’s car like Mazda2 turned into Yaris but ultimately they failed. Moral of the story, Toyota cannot do anything right even celuping other people they fail.
Just like Honda, Honda also celup other brands that ventures with Honda-GM Motors which turned from American cars into Honda Cars. This means that in few years time, honda designers will not designing their engines, EV platform and not designing for some line up models for honda cars. Now I know why honda designers are getting more lazier
This is why Perodua is Malaysian’s favourite carmaker. Perodua Game Changers are using Toyota’s technologies unlike Proton. Using Toyota’s technologies made Perodua cars reliable and long-lasting
Copy paste: “I hope Perodua fanboys don’t come here and say this tech will be in their Perodua cars.
ha ha ha ha”
Copy paste: “When did Perodua has all-wheel drive, lane departure warning, erroneous start prevention with brake control, front vehicle departure alert and an automatic high beam function, when some models still come without VSC?”
I better buy Perodua because P2 got resale value than P1. Even this Daihatsu also got RV
I hope Perodua fanboys don’t come here and say this tech will be in their Perodua cars.
ha ha ha ha
But Perodua already has this tech, no?
When did Perodua has all-wheel drive, lane departure warning, erroneous start prevention with brake control, front vehicle departure alert and an automatic high beam function, when some models still come without VSC?
Axia also got AEB la.
Only exora alza excutive jual mahal apa pun tak ada
Pedestrian braking isn’t AEB-lah. You try using that so-called AEB at highway speeds and see if you don’t ram the car in front.
Especially hoping for one of the honda salemen also never come here said that honda is a better buy and also one of the honda salesmen shouldn’t also said that honda is good rv as which reliable is already going backwards. So don’t ever talk about performance first, that’s not our priority. Honda salesmen should make concern that why almost honda models don’t come with Honda Sensing especially for City Turbo, upcoming City Hatchback, BRV, even latest HRV facelift and especially for Civic (only top spec)
Is this why Perodua sells 4X more cars than Proton and Perodua ahas never asked 1 sen of bailout as opposed to taking RM20 billion in bailouts?
Dulu troll bangga P2 4X sales.
Lepas tu troll bangga P2 3X sales.
Last last troll masih bangga P2 2X sales.
Sekarang <2X sales, apamacam? Tahun depan 1X sales Albert Yong masih banggalah?
You and your “Perodua sells 4X more cars than Proton” story dah basi la bro. At last count they can’t even sell 2X more than Proton. With such meteoric rise, Proton could soon overtake Perodua sales without the benefit of a volume making small cheapo car.
If like this, can they export Avanza from Indonesia to Malaysia with VSC?
In your dreams
Do we get the window van Daihatsu Grandmax In malaysia? Or is it just purely panel and semi panel van? It’s a good sized car for small businesses but with window can, we won’t need to go back to puspakom and register as commercial van. Private use is really good.
Even commercial vehicle got led. Ridiculously in malaysia altis still got halogen headlights.
You mean Honda Civic Malaysia also use halogen headlights and no changes for facelift including interior, unlike other brands. What a big shame.
Why most of light commercial vehicles such Gran Max or NV200 doesn’t come with or have option for auto transmission in Malaysia? My staff complain driving commercial vehicles in traffic jam is pain in ass because of manual transmission. This does impact the staff morale and creating unnecessary stress. I asked the car salesman but they put the blame on government but doesn’t explain why.
No such thing is gomen fault lah. You see hilux comes with auto gearbox, even heavy trucks and buses comes with automatic. That is just stupid excuse from salespeople blaming others for their miss.