Perodua Aruz SUV reaches 25,000 bookings, 52% fulfilled; May 2019 sales reach 22,943 units, 106k YTD

Perodua is working to make enough Aruz SUVs to meet demand, and today the national carmaker announced it has closed the gap between orders and deliveries. The company said it has fulfilled 52% of the 25,000 bookings it has collected since the car was launched in January, with some 13,000 units delivered.

“We have managed to increase Perodua Aruz deliveries to an average of 110 units daily from 100 previously. We are continuing to work closely with our suppliers to further shrink the gap between orders and deliveries,” said president and CEO Datuk Zainal Abidin Ahmad. “The Perodua Aruz has been met with unprecedented demand. We thank all Malaysians for making the nation’s best-value SUV also one of its best-selling SUVs.”

Zainal also apologised to customers who did not receive their cars in time for the Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations. “To our valued customers whose new cars we could not deliver in time for Raya, we apologise most sincerely and humbly. Perodua is doing all it possibly can to maximise production and deliveries to shorten your wait, and we thank you very much for your understanding, patience and trust.

“We also express our gratitude to our capable local component suppliers, who have truly proven their mettle by ramping up their production and quality to meet Malaysians’ ever-increasing demand for Perodua models, all of which have well over 90% local content,” Zainal said.

Perodua also said it has sold 22,943 vehicles in the month of May, according to figures from the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA). This would put the company’s year-to-date sales at 105,743 units in just the first five months of 2019 – that’s 8.5% up on the 97,487 vehicles sold in the same period last year.

The Aruz is available in two variants, the 1.5X at RM72,900 and the 1.5 Advance at RM77,900. The latter adds the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) 2.0 suite that includes Pre-collision Braking, Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control. All get a 2NR-VE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder petrol engine that develops 101 hp at 6,000 rpm and 133 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, paired to a four-speed automatic.

GALLERY: Perodua Aruz 1.5 Advance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Char koey teow on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:40 pm

Perodua is a game changing company. The second national carmaker that have make us proud. Not only becoming top1 carmaker in here, Perodua also export cars to other countries, making it as an international world-class brand. This is also why Proton need to learn from Perodua because Perodua have a lot to teach to Proton. This way, Proton can follow Perodua footsteps to become a game changing company that can make us proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 26
    • I am so shameful to remain a rebadger after nearly 30 years in existence. Until now we don’t have a car we can be proud of to call our own. Feel very shameful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
      • P1 China Slave on Jun 04, 2019 at 9:44 pm

P1 is just a rebadger now as well. The heck you talking about you daft fanboy! LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Lolwhut? on Jun 07, 2019 at 3:05 pm

P1 at least have indigenous cars designed & developed ground up by themselves. What indigenous cars do P2 have? So shameful that they don’t have any?

• So is Toyota.

• Complete opposite on Jun 04, 2019 at 12:25 pm

Yeah, so ‘proud’ that export to Indonesia also need to be badged as Daihatsu. Even Indons won’t touch a Perodua-badged car, you call that game-changing? You must have a very low standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Daddykasi on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:45 pm

Go go go perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Lets See on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:53 pm

Really did proven that Aruz sales are running out of steam. While X70 bookings continued to uptick of 5,000 or so units breaching the 30,000 booking lists, Aruz only did a paltry 3,000 extra bookings in the same month achieving a far lower sales of 25,000. At this rate, X70 sales will continue to outpace Aruz therefore proving to be the No.1 SUV in Malaysia for the foreseeable future. This is before the CKD of X70 unleashing the full local production capacity of Proton into the market. Perodua has gambled badly in taking on the Proton juggernaut and with the eminent introduction of X50 later this year, the popularity of Aruz will soon die within this year alone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 15
  • Half year alredi still not yet beat X70 sales. Well, Toyota fanbois did say gud things dun come cheap and Anuz is cheaper than X70 right? HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • Mario and Bros on Jun 03, 2019 at 5:59 pm

But compare the bookings with X70 and Perodua Aruz. How many people book for Proton X70? And How many people book for Perodua Aruz? There are over 30000 people book for Proton X70 whereas 25000 people book for Perodua Aruz. There are many reason why many people nowadays gradually buy Proton than Perodua even though there are few more years to be the sales leader for Proton. Some facts that I need to mentioned to you again and some facts that I haven’t mentioned you again before. Let’s start to share my reason

Firstly, Proton X70 have many equipment features, many technological features and many safety features even though Proton X70 that is imported from CBU that cost from RM99K to RM123K. But soon in the several months later, Proton Malaysia will start to sell CKD Proton X70 to the consumers which will be cheaper which will help to increase more Proton Sales. Now, compare with Perodua Aruz, even though Perodua Aruz doesn’t even have enough features from Toyota Rush, it is cheaper from RM73K to RM77K. However, Perodua Aruz is very slow compare to Toyota Vios, Toyota Yaris due to Perodua Aruz that gets only 4 speed automatic even though Perodua Aruz that gets 1.5L Dual VVT-I Engine. In other words, sitting inside Perodua Aruz while driving, there will be noise cabin when driver drives at more than 110km/h compare to Toyota Vios, Toyota Yaris and X70 is more quieter than Perodua Aruz which Yaris and Vios have 7 speed auto while X70 have 6 speed auto. Moreover, Toyota Yaris and Toyota Vios including Proton X70 have many features than Perodua Aruz.

Secondly, Proton Service Quality is doing much better than Perodua Service Quality. This is because I have got some feedbacks from Facebook Post and said Perodua Service Quality is getting bad. Furthermore, There are also major problems about Perodua Myvi due to thieves that stole Myvi Wheel Tyres was which will make Perodua Myvi Owners will be more riskier. As I said, Those Perodua Owners who drive Perodua Myvi, they will be more regret in driving Myvi. Moreover, Perodua Alza, Bezza and Axia have lesser safety features than Persona, Saga 2019 and Iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
    • Sad man on Jun 07, 2019 at 12:11 pm

Which is why I have always told people, a good Toyota doesn’t mean a good Perodua. God help those who thought they have bought a Perodua thought they are driving Toyota. SMH.

• Because that’s the only illusion P2 salesmen can use to sell their cars: That a Perodua is a cut price Toyota. The truth is far from that, and those who got fooled are starting to voice their discontent with P2’s bad aftersales.

• Celup King on Jun 03, 2019 at 6:04 pm

The only models selling are Myvi and Axia. Aruz still lagging X70 sales, while Alza and Bezza sales have lagged Exora and Persona & Saga sales respectively after Proton revealed the truth of costlier servicing for these Perodua cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • Abd Kadeer bin Bustaman on Jun 03, 2019 at 6:29 pm

Wow, what great achievement. Malaysians know Perodua quality!

It is the best way to own a pure Toyota at half the price. This is why Perodua has already sold over 106k cars to date.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • yawnz on Jun 04, 2019 at 11:54 am

People buy Perodua because it is cheap not because it is good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
    • Perodua is pure Toyota? Whatever you are smoking, better stop before it kills your brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • Vader on Jun 05, 2019 at 8:22 pm

Err bro. It already did. See the lazyass so easily figured out copy paste BS he constantly vomits on all news articles.

• Lets See on Jun 07, 2019 at 9:35 am

You mean it also inherits all those scandals like Fake Qualitygate, Carpetgate, Subspec Steelgate, Airbaggate, Fake Emission Datagate, & sending a non-existent G model Aruz for crash testinggate? (No wait, the last one was purely Perodua cheating MIROS).
      It’s no small wonder why our road death tolls have been steadily climbing. It’s because solely Perodua is pure Toyota quality which is crap!

• Sama Kunta Loo on Jun 08, 2019 at 3:12 pm

@ Lets See: Also they got “no temperature gauge” disease (they even removed the bloody temperature gauge in new Myvee where old and Lagi Best/Icon Myvee have it which was very very danger driving around). They like your car overheated until burning smell came out so that customers can buy a new same crap.

• Saywhat? Say whatever u like. Who care. U syiok sendiri lols…

• Abd Kadeer bin Bustaman on Jun 03, 2019 at 6:30 pm

Proton 25,000 YTD
    Perodua 106,000 YTD

Enough said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • DRB Q1 profit RM120M
      UMW Q1 profit RM80M

Enough said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Celup King on Jun 04, 2019 at 4:06 pm

Sell more means more profits goes back to Japan.
      Enough said!

• Yaa…
        Perodua 70% owned by JAPAN while Proton 49.9% owned by CHINA.

• Roticanai on Jun 04, 2019 at 5:57 pm

Sells more x70 and profit back to china. P1 built car tara bagus punya sales.

• X70 Buyer on Jun 07, 2019 at 3:09 pm

I don’t mind making China richer. We came from there anyway, and their economy needs the money. What benefits do we get sending money to Japan? My ancestors not from there and Japan is filthy rich, so they don’t need more money. Which is why I prefer sending money back to China and not to Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Loyacheena on Jun 08, 2019 at 3:56 pm

So u can balik china now la. Door open for u to go back china for good. Lols. U make more money there so go back there lar.

• Actually Proton 35000 YTD

• Toyota 25000 YTD

• pokmud on Jun 03, 2019 at 6:35 pm

Perggghh Mantap! P2 Lagi2 Hebat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • basherlogic on Jun 03, 2019 at 7:55 pm

Ekonomi MY goin bankrap , but Perodua Aruz SUV & Proton X70 SUV sellin like hot cakes!

• Trulypassion on Jun 03, 2019 at 8:27 pm

Meanwhile monthly up to date sales. P2 is overly huge winner with 22,943 car sold in May. While looser p1 only manage 6,136 car sold in May. Kipidap p1, try ur best to best p2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • typical malaysian on Jun 04, 2019 at 11:26 am

wow, cool story. winner as in..? sub-par features? plastic interior? being cheap? yes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Trulypathetic on Jun 04, 2019 at 12:29 pm

So passionate for what? Money earned flow back to Japan and you here thinking it’s so good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • NobrainlarU on Jun 04, 2019 at 5:55 pm

Well dude. U get wat u pay. So most mesian bought honda toyota mazda mitsubishi kia hyundai nissan misidis volvo vw, whr do u think the money go? Same oso back to origin country. No brainer.

• Your brain use for what on Jun 08, 2019 at 7:17 pm

Hah say people no brain but did you use yours? How many cars are P2 selling a year compared to all those brands you mentioned? Yes, Peroduas are cheap but don’t forget that P2 got a lot of preferential treatments that make it have one of the highest profit ratio.

• Proton 10611 car sold in May, stupid.

• Why I saw more cx5 than aruz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Kipidap on Jun 03, 2019 at 9:02 pm

Proton X70 is way better, it’s a no brainer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Mekanik Kowok Nai Kroja on Jun 04, 2019 at 6:43 pm

If you wanted to buy Aruz with leather seat, go for Advance. Why, we mechanic don’t want to waste time to install the GearUp seat cover. 2nd, its pricey not worth it.

• Pretend SUV, seats 7, reasonably priced, Japanese underpinnings. If you can’t beat them…. Looking good for Perodua

• Lets See on Jun 07, 2019 at 3:12 pm

Yes, lets go one step further and call it PeroKosong or P0 because their cars are all kosong specs with ancient technology and subpar safety standards. If they didn’t send an “ehanced” car for NCAP testing, they would get Kosong Stars. So lets call it PeroKosong.

• spock1976 (Member) on Jun 08, 2019 at 10:17 pm

101hp and u call that SUV? Sigh… i used to drive vios which had the same engine and it was barely enough for 4. For me i need 140hp at least for SUV or MPV.