2008 Daihatsu Gran Max minibus and pickup

Daihatsu Motor Co., Ltd has just announced the Daihatsu Gran Max, a new light commercial vehicle manufactured at P.T. Astra Daihatsu Motor in Indonesia, aiming to meet the increasing demand in Indonesia for light commercial vehicles.

The Daihatsu Gran Max comes in two body styles, a pick up truck and a minibus. The pick up truck rear can be configured as you wish – in the photos after the jump you will be able to see a classic pick up truck bed as well as a storage box.

The minibus body is the only one in its class with sliding rear doors on both sides. It also has class-leading load capacity.

Powering the Gran Max is either a 1.3 litre DOHC VVT-i or 1.5 litre DOHC VVT-i engine, which should be the 85hp K3-VE and the 107hp 3SZ-VE.

Perhaps this will be offered in Malaysia sometime soon too as a Daihatsu or a Perodua? Perhaps as a Rusa replacement.

More photos of different body styles and the interior after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 11:32 pm

Rusa replacement? not a bad idea….

simple and practical, like the Nissan Vanette…..

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 11:37 pm

Hei, it’s even better then Nissan vanette. It has VVT-i engine compare to current vanette still using caburatted engine… Hei Nissan Tan Chong, do u know that the vanette in Japan already like mini urvan and move wif fuel injection wif auto tranmission… Now i am thinking that the Daihatsu are more environment friendly..

• rugaxp (Member) on Nov 08, 2007 at 11:40 pm

what a nice looking commercial vehicle,if this launch in malaysia with a reasonable price it would be a hot target for its class

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 12:00 am

engine location?
    is it ladder framed? (looks guite a haul)

• BW (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 12:19 am

hmm…. I’m not sure about the front… looks kinda weird

• peYno-1 (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 12:30 am

if we look at viva price….i hv feeling, if we import from indonesia, the price will be cheaper than “made in perodua” one
    wat say u guys

• nanashisan (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 1:24 am

wow! most basic mini alphard. hehe

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 3:17 am

looks soooooooo simple…..bt i tot p2 are not allowed to sell a 1.5cc cars?? only 1.3cc and below….

• arcana (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 6:23 am

P2 sold rusas’ here as 1.3 and 1.6 size…..only passenger cars so far max is 1.3…although not sure if there’s actually a concrete rule for it.
    but honestly the 1.3 power should need to be bumped up to 90+ at least….its not powerful to have a 80+ bhp with today’s tech.
    how bout a 1.5 for our myvi here….?

• azrai (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 7:11 am

It looks like distort hiace and Suzuki APV. :-)

• transformer (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 9:21 am

Suzuki sold quite a lot of APV there…
    Now Toyota(other than Innova) are looking for another share from it!

• peYno-1 (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 9:34 am

Yes Suzuki APV quite popular in Indonesia…
    but in malaysia.. ppl prefer avanza ..
    poor malaysian taste

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 10:57 am

the door panel’s design is really cheap…

• forestcat (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 9:46 pm

Looks quite suitable for a family car and at 1.3L seems very fuel efficient.Are there any aircond outlets at the passenger area?

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 09, 2007 at 11:02 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:Nissan-serena-front_02.jpg

,nissan, anyway im not a fan of nissan

• engtaokia (Member) on Nov 10, 2007 at 12:09 am

glad if they has diesel powered model as diesel engine good for torque power.
    hmmm..not bad if swap with K3-VET inside with 130hp :p

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 11, 2007 at 12:42 am

The pickup version’s so cute!

• ASIMOtypeR (Member) on Nov 11, 2007 at 11:52 am

not 1.5cc.. 1.5L or 1500cc

• jason1363 (Member) on Nov 11, 2007 at 7:10 pm

kenapa feel macam proton juara?

• bmpower (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 8:07 pm

fugly.
    none can beat nissan in business use vehicle. vans perhap.
    vannette the most efficent van. lorry so so..
    isuzu still the best.

• Kuta Rent car on Feb 14, 2009 at 8:02 pm

I like for interior, and also simple

• maged on May 19, 2009 at 1:17 pm

gran maxi

• hoyhoysum on Mar 15, 2010 at 1:14 am

When are they coming up with a Van to replace the Nissan Vannette. This Vannette is a 1985 model and is only sold in Malaysia. It is long overdue design. Still runing on carburettor. Come on now it should be fuel injection with Variable valve technology. More fuel efficient and more comfort. All they come with is Juara and Rusa. Big Joke. I rather keep my old Vannette!

• Denis on Jul 14, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Best Design!

• rozaikapya on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:36 pm

I seen at JPJ Putrajaya, cute van. Hopefully value for money.

• rozaikapya on Jan 19, 2012 at 4:37 pm

I seen at JPJ Putrajaya, cute van/mpv kot… Hopefully value for money.

• hernidaihatsu.com on Feb 03, 2015 at 12:37 am

champion for selling, juaranya jualan

• Mr chin on Jun 15, 2016 at 7:51 am

Hi,how are you,when daihatsu gran max mb in automatic transmmision?