REVIEW : 2020 F48 BMW X1 LCI in Malaysia – RM225k

The F48 BMW X1 LCI range in Malaysia currently consists of two variants – the entry-level sDrive18i and the sDrive20i M Sport. In terms of pricing, the two are not too far apart, with a difference of about RM17,000 separating the two. But if you really want the X1, the sDrive20i M Sport, at RM225k (with sales tax waived) is the one to spring for.

First off, it’s powered by the larger B48 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine, delivering 192 PS and 280 Nm of torque. This is clearly a step above the sDrive18i’s B38 1.5 litre three-cylinder engine, which puts a mere 140 PS and 220 Nm. Both cars get a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission that sends drive to the front wheels, but the 2.0L is much quicker, requiring just 7.6 seconds to do the 0-100 km/h sprint compared to the 1.5L’s time of 9.6 seconds.

Performance aside, the sDrive20i also gets the nicer M Sport treatment, featuring blacked out window surrounds, roof rails, grille slats, and anthracite headliner as well. The M Sport suspension lowers the car and offers slightly better handling characteristics, and the dual-tone 18-inch wheels and twin exhaust exits help round things off nicely.

Niceties include the 8.8-inch touchscreen head unit with BMW iDrive Operating System 6.0, dual-zone automatic climate control, passive cruise control, handsfree powered tailgate, Parking Assistant, and a reverse camera. At the time of review, the sDrive20i doesn’t feature autonomous emergency braking (AEB), but BMW Malaysia said AEB will gradually become a standard feature across its model range.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• msia driver on Aug 11, 2020 at 12:19 pm

lolzz RAV4 price is same like BMW,,good luck for yr sale

• Optimus on Aug 11, 2020 at 1:05 pm

Toyota Harrier & RAV4 more premium & prestij.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2020 at 8:33 pm

the toyota has better specs than the tin kosong bmw though.

• Susah la on Aug 12, 2020 at 11:37 am

Specs simply can’t courtesy back the driving pleasure of BMW X1 has been offering. TNGA platform is good, at least from what they used to be, but still no BMW level yet, and abit overhyped TBH. Try test drive the RAV4 and u will find the gearbox reaction is so slow that even my grandma can shift faster than it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 8:28 pm

lol what BMW driving dynamics? the x1 is a fwd car that posers syok sendiri buy think they made it

• Damien Pop on Aug 13, 2020 at 10:14 am

I bought the m-sport version RM222k. Do I feel I made it? Nope. It’s just an entry level beemer and i feel contented. Its bloody fun and acceleration is good enough. I feel like buying a RM200k+ car for you is like a big deal, maybe you are too poor for this. And also, you should go test drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 13, 2020 at 10:40 pm

x1 = fun. lol. what is this world coming to.

• Damien Pop on Aug 15, 2020 at 5:57 pm

why? too poor and esteem too low to step into a beemer showroom to test drive? Boo hoo~ i think the only thing you could afford is the onscreen keyboard on your mobile phone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 18, 2020 at 1:09 am

lol Damien Pop has so low self esteem after buying a poser BMW that he calls out anyone that cannot afford an entry level BMW poor. Congrats sister, you made it. hope that satisfies your shortcomings.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 11, 2020 at 12:35 pm

Who’s gonna plonk down money for the non AEB version? Better wait for fire sales or top up for when the updated version arrives.

• Jonathan Khan on Aug 11, 2020 at 1:47 pm

This is probably the most boring dashboard can find in any car.

CX-5 is better in handling.
    Rav4 is better in handling, comfort, space and Features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • X1 and Cx5 owner on Aug 11, 2020 at 7:41 pm

Cx5 and Rav4 better in handling? Are you joking? I took the X1 m sport to track and it did pretty well. If it was cx5 or rav4 ill probably be dead. Btw, I own both cx5 and x1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • Damien Pop on Aug 13, 2020 at 10:10 am

Cx5 is very nice to drive, towards urban city driving. But in terms of slight aggressive driving, I agree that you will probably end up dead. Cx5 is meant to drive like an auntie going around town and its superb comfortable. However, if you wanna wanna have some fun, you cant beat the beemer’s handling, you can chuck it like crazy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 18, 2020 at 1:11 am

lol, sure go ahead and take a corner like crazy, i want to see how your fwd aunty mobile roll like a turtle

• tatu880 on Aug 11, 2020 at 1:48 pm

Great review as usual, Matthew! The editing is also spot on!

• First proper review of X1 LCI in Malaysia, nice one, Matthew! Given the same price range with the 320i, how would you choose this and the 320i?

• Matthew H Tong (Member) on Aug 11, 2020 at 2:56 pm

My personal pick is the 320i, hands down. But for more senior people who want an easy, tall-riding car with a big boot, the X1 is a pretty compelling choice. Also, thanks for the kind words!

• i somehow feel Matthew is trying to tell us don’t buy this yet.

• Tun F on Aug 11, 2020 at 9:49 pm

No lumbar support???? Seriously? Anyway Matt.. Good review dude