Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace launched in Malaysia – 1.4 TSI Highline, 2.0 TSI R-Line 4Motion, from RM165k

The Malaysian SUV market welcomes a new entry today. New but familiar, the Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace is a larger, three-row version of the Tiguan that we’ve known since 2017. Think of it as the Mazda CX-8 to the CX-5. Like the CX-5, VW’s Tiguan – which by the way is the VW Group’s best selling model in 2019 – isn’t really known for space, so this “Tiguan LWB” is differentiated enough.

“The SUV segment in Malaysia has grown by 65% and we believe it will continue to drive and lead the auto market. With the addition of the two Tiguan Allspace variants, Volkswagen will be able to cater to different SUV seekers by offering them a German engineered seven-seater option, with performance that is unrivalled,” said Erik Winter, MD of Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM).

At 4,701 mm, the Tiguan Allspace is 215 mm longer than the regular second-generation Tiguan, and its 2,787 mm wheelbase is 106 mm longer. It’s not easy to spot this added length at a glance, and that’s a testament to good design – VW designed the rear doors to be longer, and raised the bonnet section above the radiator grille to achieve pleasing proportions.

The added length is used to fit in two more seats. With all 5+2 seats erect, there’s 230 litres of storage space; not much, but fold down the third row and you’ll get a generous 700 litres (to the window line). Pull the latches on the boot wall to fold the second row seats and the cargo area grows to 1,775 litres. So, even if you don’t really need the +2 seats, the big cargo will be useful.

Bigger body aside, the Allspace is all Tiguan. Under the hood is the familiar 1.4 litre TSI engine with 150 PS and 250 Nm of torque, available from 1,500 to 3,500 rpm. The single turbo engine is mated to a six-speed DSG wet dual-clutch gearbox, and power goes to the front wheels.

That’s the Highline 1.4 TSI. More interesting is the R-Line 2.0 TSI, which as its name suggests is more than just an R-Line kitted version of the 1.4 TSI. Brace yourselves, because there’s a 2.0 litre TSI engine with a whopping 220 PS and 350 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,400 rpm.

How much is that? Well, 220 PS/350 Nm is more than the output of the 2.0 TSI Passat and Arteon’s 190 PS/320 Nm. Power goes to all wheels (yup, 4Motion AWD is standard here) via a seven-speed wet DSG gearbox. With hot hatch stats (just 10 PS less than a Mk7.5 Golf GTI, same torque), we’re looking at the muscular guy in the class.

As for kit, the Tiguan Allspace Highline comes with full LED headlamps (with LED DRLs) and tail lights, 18-inch Kingston alloys (235/55 tyres), Vienna leather seats, 12-way electric driver seat, Climatronic three-zone air con, ambient lighting, electronic parking brake with auto hold, auto lights/wipers, auto dimming rear view mirror, keyless entry with push start, and a leather steering with paddle shifters and cruise control.

Also on are the 11.7-inch Digital Cockpit instrument panel. This colour six-view customisable screen offers a new level of personalisation with over 30 combinations options, VW says. The head unit is an 8-inch Composition Media touchscreen with reverse camera and eight speakers. Safety wise, there are six airbags, ESC, hill-hold control and a tyre pressure monitor. There’s also an electric tailgate.

Moving on, the R-Line 2.0 TSI gets all of the above plus the R-Line styling, which includes sportier front and rear bumpers, design strips on the front side panels, dual-tip tailpipes and a rear spoiler. The overall look is accentuated with 19-inch Sebring alloys with 255/45 tyres.

Inside, the sportier sibling gets R-Line sports front seats (also with 12-way driver’s electric adjustment and Vienna leather), R-Line steering wheel, aluminium sports pedals, front/rear aluminium scuff plates, Dark Grid inserts and a black headliner.

Sporty kit aside, the R-Line 2.0 TSI gets all the above Highline equipment plus a 9.2-inch Discover Pro infotainment system. This has navi with 3D view, plug-in App Connect (Apple Carplay, Android Auto, Mirrorlink) and voice and gesture control.

Also, to match the performance, the R-Line comes with Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC) with Driving Mode Selection. This provides up to 15 driving style preference and four driving modes – Comfort, Normal, Individual and Off-Road. Lastly, the R-Line has Hill Descent Control when Off-Road mode is selected.

Available in five colours – Blue Silk, Pure White, Deep Black, Platinum Grey and Pyrite Silver – the CKD locally-assembled Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace is priced at RM165,000 for the Highline 1.4 TSI and RM209,575 for the R-Line 2.0 TSI. These prices are on-the-road without insurance, and with the 2020 sales tax exemption.

The new Tiguan Allspace is on display at 1 Utama (Oval, new wing) the whole weekend from today, along with the Passat R-Line and Arteon R-Line sedans that VPCM also unveiled today.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace Highline 1.4 TSI

GALLERY: Volkswagen Tiguan Allspace R-Line 2.0 TSI

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• romance on Aug 12, 2020 at 11:23 am

(Like) Tiguan
    (Dislike) CRV

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
  • JOACHIM on Aug 12, 2020 at 11:26 am

At this price, Tiguan Allspace is a more compelling buy than CX-8, CRV n Fortuner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
    • seancorr (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 12:13 pm

But zero safety pack included for the price. No AEB in 2020 is unacceptable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
      • Avenger on Aug 12, 2020 at 1:13 pm

I don’t see you complain your 3Series had omitted AEB before this so why do you begrudge others?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • autodriver (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 11:39 am

Finally a real performance SUV arrived. 2.0tsi 220ps 350nm with 4 motion AWD is truly impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • it is so expensive compared to 7 seater Mitsu Outlander, Nissan X-trail.

All shares the same level of cramps uncomfortable 3rd row legroom.

Toyota Rush and Mazda Cx-8 SUV have better 3rd row space

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • autodriver (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 12:36 pm

Are you serious to Outlander or X Trail? Wake up man.

CX8 has good leg room for 3rd row no doubt but Rush is not.

• Ahmad on Aug 12, 2020 at 12:52 pm

My advise? Only buy 7 seater SUV with body length more than 4,800mm. And 5,000mm will reach level of comfort.

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 7:27 pm

Ya. That’s why Tiguan Allspace clearly stated they are 5+2 rather than 7 seater. There are people like me who wanna a big SUV but not keen for sizes like CX-8 which is too bulky for me. To me this Tiguan Allspace is what I wanted but unfortunately I bought another VW earlier.

This Tiguan is good for 5 adults sit comfortably. Only in some cases like going short distance destination only open up the last row. Nowadays a family usually give birth of 2 or 3 child this 5+2 seater make sense. Otherwise why Alza sell like hot cake since Alza last row even shorter than Tiguan Allspace.

• Surprisingly well priced for the R Line model, well below that of the top of the line Toyota Rav4. Bravo VW Malaysia. Hopefully it will be a hit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
    • autodriver (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 5:05 pm

In overseas market VW is selling more expensive than Toyota for same segment model but in Malaysia VW is cheaper than Toyota. In SG Camry 2.5 dynamic forced selling SGD 155k while Passat 2.0 220ps is SGD 158k.

Malaysia Camry 2.5 is using old engine and old gearbox selling at nearly 200k while previous Passat with 220ps is selling 200k too. If bring in dynamic forced it will surpass 220k.

Regarding the after sales service it is much better now. But still no way to compare to Toyota but it is certainly better than Honda and Nissan.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 12:17 pm

Was it wise to launch the Tiguan now when the facelift was launched recently? I’m sure VCPM saw this from a mile away. That would mean the Tiguan you buy today would be outdated in a year. If I was a product planner I would have looked at my timeframe before I commit to any product launches. Even more so when my brand isn’t a volume seller. How many units will I be able to move within 12 months from the launch date to justify the costs to bring this model into the market at that price range?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • autodriver (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 12:40 pm

Arteon was launched in 2017 and Malaysia always late take several years. So even the face-lift launched few months ago in overseas market it will take 2 years at least to be in Malaysia. It won’t be possible for VW to launch the latest FL in malaysia while other more important markets are left out.

• thefact on Aug 12, 2020 at 4:19 pm

that facelift is not for Allspace i think….

• Shook on Aug 12, 2020 at 12:18 pm

WHAT? no AEB?
    only got post collision brake system.

hit people already automatic stop lah.

so call premium car with no Automatic Emergency Braking is a shame. Myvi also got.

and no adaptive cruise control too.
    no wonder lah.

Dissapointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
    • autodriver (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 4:11 pm

Stick with your mighty Myvi with AEB then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • Shook on Aug 12, 2020 at 7:20 pm

point exactly,
        wouldn’t kill them to put that safety suite.
        CR-V, 3008, 5008 all come with that.

even BMW have woken up and introduce that to all their lines.

I’ll get the Hilux 2.8 with TSS.
        ahhh.. even a truck got such active safety tech.

• Bieight on Aug 12, 2020 at 1:42 pm

Cheaper than rav4…

• autodriver (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 4:23 pm

The Tiguan Allspace 1.4tsi HL should be the hot selling models among all new launched models. Paying same price as Tiguan HL but now enjoy additional 2 seats although it mean to cater for child rather than adult. If fold down the last row the trunk space is humongous. Yes the power will be affected but if Rav 4 2.5l isn’t slow then no one should question Tiguan Allspace 1.4tsi as the sprint time is similar.

Those who waited for Arteon may turn their direction toward Tiguan Allspace R-Line now. 220ps coupled with 4 motions AWD somemore bigger interior space but price cheaper. It is very clear VW Malaysia is aiming the sales generated from Tiguan Allspace.

• Homerun! on Aug 12, 2020 at 5:09 pm

Tiguan Allspace R-Line will basically cannibalize the Passat R-Line, Arteon R-Line and Golf GTI. These models don’t make sense anymore. Much better buy than the RM200k RAV4. Good job VW Malaysia! I really can’t believe it! 7-seater with GTI motor, DCC and 4Motion! The US doesn’t even have that combo!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2020 at 9:15 pm

if only it has the safety features, then perfect

• nik botak on Aug 12, 2020 at 10:05 pm

its cheaper than the Toyota RAV4

• Maharoots on Aug 13, 2020 at 10:28 am

wonder which gearbox is more reliable and cheaper to maintain..7speed or 6speed DSG. anyways, good move by VW introducing this model at those price ranges.

• Nik botak on Aug 13, 2020 at 6:38 pm

If looking for SUV around 140-200k….my advice, when u test drive the other brand….dont test drive the tiguan or u’ll might terjebak. Dont!

• Why didn’t VCPM offer 220 PS 350NM in the Passat or Arteon? I thought globally EA888 now only comes in either 190PS or 270PS… Somehow Tiguan Allspace gets 220PS, how strange.