QUICK LOOK: 2020 Honda City RS i-MMD previewed in Malaysia – Sensing, LaneWatch and rear disc brakes!

Honda Malaysia has just held a local preview of the new City, giving us our first proper look at the fifth-generation B-segment sedan. We’ve already provided you with a detailed article of what’s coming, but for those of you who are more visually inclined, we’ve got a brief walkaround video just for you.

Malaysia will be the first market to get the City with the Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) hybrid system, equipped with twin electric motors. The most powerful of these motors makes the headlining 109 PS and 253 Nm of torque and drives the car most of the time, while the 98 PS/127 Nm 1.5 litre petrol engine acts as a generator and provides direct drive at higher speeds, where it is most efficient.

Besides the hybrid powertrain, the car will also be offered with a new twin-cam (DOHC) 1.5 litre i-VTEC naturally-aspirated mill for petrol-only models. In India, it makes 121 PS and 145 Nm and is paired to a CVT, and we’re expecting the same setup here.

The pre-production prototype you see here is the hybrid in sporty e:HEV RS form, meaning that for the first time in Malaysia, the petrol-electric model sits at the very top of the City range. Of note is that this car has the Honda Sensing suite of safety features and rear disc brakes, both of which are not offered anywhere else.

But enough writing – let our man Hafriz Shah take you through all the new features of the new Honda City, which will be launched in the fourth quarter in the year. As usual, we’ll be bringing you all the latest news of the car as and when we get them, so keep it locked here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:07 pm

Can change ECU to make engine trigger at low rpm? Then 200 ++ hp.

The Power of Dreams :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
    • Norlia on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:25 pm

This the all new Handsome Prince all gurls love.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 25, 2020 at 8:50 am

What about the Hybrid battery cost? Capacity? Twin motors needs Twin batteries?

• Proton Cina on Aug 25, 2020 at 9:44 am

Did Proton Saga designer join Honda Japan ?

Utterly terrible

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:32 pm

It doesn’t work that way. The i-MMD system in the City is a series hybrid, not a parallel hybrid – meaning that the engine is used to to generate electricity rather than power the car. It can clutch in to drive the car at higher speeds, but the single-speed transmission means it can’t be engaged below a certain speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
      • omegle on Aug 24, 2020 at 8:10 pm

Definitely the game-changer hybrid car, all waiting for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • ThePolygon on Aug 25, 2020 at 12:52 pm

Damn… Nissan’s e-power would have been the first fully electric driven with an engine to power the batteries but…. noooo… goes to Thailand instead.

• the best horsepower can get only 98PS at hi speed,
      Top speed is very low and struggling, especially balik kampung drive

This is a hybrid city for city drive

• This the best urban city n balik kampung sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • pyraxle on Aug 24, 2020 at 8:48 pm

IMO, for balik kampung trip as long as the car can get up to 110-120kph without hassle/lag like the current city enough already bro, laju2 time balik kampung mau pergi mana? Malaysia when balik kampung season sure jammed everywhere or full of lane hoggers, 120kph also hard to reach during that time hahaha. The boot space, AC for rear passenger & FC also not bad so it’s a perfect city + balik kampung B-segment for small family.

• Hantu Raya on Aug 26, 2020 at 9:43 am

Jokers like you see the ‘110’ sign as roadside decoration is it? Can drive as fast like mak bapak punya highway is it? Never know how to obey law is it?
          That’s why jokers like you need to kena tarik telinga for being stubborn and stupid-
          Stubborn for not obeying the law (110 also cannot obey what about the rest? Yet tokok about mat rempit…) Stupid for being educated enough to have a decent life yet but bodoh with numbers shown on roadsigns…

What so bloody hard? 110 means 110 la… You also like them stupid libtards that believe 2+2=5 is it…

That’s why M’sians can’t have good things…
          need stupid laws for stupid jokers. That’s why I suggest mandatory speed limiters to ALL cars sold I M’sia- 2 million Ferrari also limited to 110 with.

Sad reality of M’sian drivers, the more educated they are, the more money they have, the worst example they become.

• Ajibkor on Aug 26, 2020 at 11:02 pm

Imma educated, have more money. but Imma good behave.

• can switch the electric motor, search for tamiya hyperdash lol

• Brian on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:14 pm

Wheelbase. What about the wheelbase? Long or short one?

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:17 pm

Would be interesting to know the kerb weight of this City in relation to the tyre wear and tear.

• Straightforward on Aug 24, 2020 at 7:07 pm

185 tyre too Kurus, cheapskate looks

• Jetson Leong on Aug 25, 2020 at 3:32 pm

yalah kasi tayar besar 16 inci tapi kurus macam tayar basikal, nak kasi cantik saja tapi tak penting kan keselamatan, too bad !

• Main² on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:47 pm

pre-production prototype?

• alldisc on Aug 25, 2020 at 8:59 am

That means it’s produced not for sale but for some other purposes like VTA, assembly QC etc

• Chris on Aug 24, 2020 at 5:49 pm

Proton Saga lol

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 24, 2020 at 6:19 pm

So it wont have a good top speed

• DonkeyKong on Aug 24, 2020 at 7:52 pm

During cruising, you don’t really need peak horsepower and torque to sustain cruising speed. With a 1:1 transmission ratio (I don’t think the direct-drive clutch has an overdrive ratio?), top speed should still be comparable to the non-hybrid City doing highway speeds in top gear (with overdrive ratio). Considering how the current Honda City with 1.5-liter SOHC powerplant can be frequently seen speeding at over 150-160km/h on our highways, I don’t think the i-MMD City will be any different once it’s up to speed.

• panjang on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:32 pm

This is Malaysia bro….
      Name the top 5 fastest car u see everyday…

• Jelly on Aug 25, 2020 at 7:36 am

Slower than Saga top speed

• Karam Singh on Aug 25, 2020 at 9:00 am

It will get to 110 very fast.

• Driver on Aug 25, 2020 at 9:45 am

140KM/H is enough and most of cars can achieve that. Holding this speed too long is not a good idea on public highway.
      Any further top speed is for car that is build for that, but not this one and it is never design for high speed.

• Ah Chong on Aug 25, 2020 at 11:50 am

It can get to 175. I don’t know why you would want to reach 175 (not a sports car) and it can almost do volvo speed so that’s good hahaha.

• Very nice honeycomb grille below the thick rhino bar above the front bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Lolwhut? on Aug 24, 2020 at 10:44 pm

Ehh, City facelift alrdy has that since 2017. This is old news stuff.

• the previous/current model proportionately is better than this latest model actually.
    this one when launch in thailand with its tiny wheels looks even weirder

pre-production? does that means the lanewatch etc may be removed at final launch model? ^^

• Chris Lau on Aug 24, 2020 at 9:53 pm

New 3 series rear light design

• Waaa… Rear disk brake! Ini pun boleh jd highlight ke? Aduiiiii… Dah 2020 pun kecoh rear disk brake… Apa laaa… X de benda lain lg bagus ke?

• hazri on Aug 25, 2020 at 3:41 pm

not so important but necessary to be highlighted since honda remove rear disc brake of previous city GM6. the writer just do his job as a informer. no need to be harsh.

• lolYes on Aug 24, 2020 at 10:32 pm

130K???

• Datuk on Aug 25, 2020 at 2:00 pm

Current siti hybrid rm84k also not much buyer,
      Like that too expensive

Honda hybrid daily drive not fuel saving enough to convince buyer

• Silthice on Aug 24, 2020 at 11:26 pm

Honda really surprised the Malaysia B segment sedan with impressive offering just don’t shock us with the pricing as well.

• fuel economy and better pick up is most important for people nowadays and also for this segment..for city and also highway drive..fuel cost will go up eventually… low top speed should not be an issue..who drives at 160-200km/h anyway..our speed limit is 110 km/h. Hybrid and electric cars are the future, so its good Honda bringing it to Malaysia especially at lower priced cars..hope they price it competitively…but I would wait for a facelift model to come out in about 1 -2 years time, in case any issues with this drivetrain or hybrid system..Malaysian weather is different to other countries…gives honda some time to iron out some issues..

• noTurbo on Aug 25, 2020 at 8:13 am

so i bet nissan will be the same when coming here to malaysia, using NA engine instead of 1.0L turbo.

• kicewa on Aug 25, 2020 at 1:42 pm

For this new DOHC 1.5l n/a engine , in my opinion, honda should make it much better HP compared to SOHC. There is no significant improvement or are there?
    Regarding RS version compared to previous version IDCD, combined output is 132ps , why new version IMMD just got 109ps?

• Better just give us 1.6 I-DTEC 120PS 300Nm
      Don’t understand why Honda trying to give us 1.5Hybrid with 98PS petrol engine for highway hi-speed drive

• We can already know there will be no adaptive cruise control since there is only camera and not radar sensor. AEB and lane keep alert are possible

• Ollie on Aug 25, 2020 at 6:05 pm

Rear disc brakes were present in 1990s cars

• Maibiking on Aug 26, 2020 at 9:42 am

I’d say this car will go max RM105k that is without SST with all the new features on the RS

• Neville on Aug 29, 2020 at 9:39 am

Looks amazing. Loving it. But hybrid? how durable is it? If banjir, how? KL and Selangor area known for flash flood.

• SBchen on Sep 03, 2020 at 7:21 am

Sorry to say
    kereta city baharu sesuai untuk budak-budak melayu baru nak up kerja makan gaji tak sedar diri
    atas lebuh raya mula perasan laju dah berani cucuk
    kereta D-segment c-segment 2.0 turbo dll

• Hayeri on Sep 07, 2020 at 8:08 am

I personally think for stand-alone car review, there’s no need to cover your face. It takes away your facial impression and lowers the quality of presentation. Hope you and your colleague will look into this in the future.

Anyway, thanks for bringing quality review!