2020 Mitsubishi Xpander previewed in Malaysia – CKD, facelift, 360-degree cam, Apple CarPlay, black interior

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has announced that its upcoming Mitsubishi Xpander will be locally-assembled and not arrive as an import from Indonesia. The seven-seater crossover is set to for CKD assembly in a new production facility located in Pekan, Pahang. Previously, the company’s first CKD model, the ASX, as well as the Outlander SUV, were built at the Tan Chong Motors Assembly plant in Segambut.

The company said that its new Pekan assembly unit will feature an all-new body welding workshop equipped with new welding equipment as well as a 360 degree ED-coating and robotic spray painting system, which will ensure consistent paint finishing. The facility will also have an all-new tester line to check all safety functions on the car, including its Active Stability Control (ASC) system, before the vehicle reaches the final assembly line.

According to MMM CEO Tomoyuki Shinnishi, the Xpander is localised to meet the demands of Malaysian customers. “It will be priced competitively to cater for families and adventure-seekers who are looking for a more comfortable and practical seven-seater to make their journeys a more pleasant one,” he said.

The Xpander, which was introduced in Indonesia in 2017, will make its debut here in its facelifted form. Revealed earlier this year, the refresh adds on slight exterior revisions – with a new grille and LED headlamps among the new items going on – and some additional equipment in the cabin.

Based on that seen in teaser videos, we do know that the Xpander will come with Apple CarPlay and will be equipped with a 360-degree camera and a black leather interior. As for powertrain, this is likely to be the 4A91 1.5 litre NA inline-four cylinder petrol engine as seen in Indonesia. The mill, which offers 105 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, will be paired with a four-speed automatic transmission.

Ahead of its arrival, the company has started offering the public a glimpse of the vehicle through various showcases. The Xpander is now on show at the centre court of Mid Valley Megamall until September 13, but the teaser display isn’t showing all, just offering a view of the lower half of the the vehicle. The company added that customers can now register their interest for the Xpander at its official webpage.

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Xpander facelift, Indonesia market

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• romance on Sep 08, 2020 at 11:56 am

(Like) Xpander
    (Dislike) BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • Roti john on Sep 08, 2020 at 12:48 pm

Finally, the Game-Changing MPV has arrived in Malaysia! With this stunning design, modern engine, excellent comfort and ellegant interior, the Xpander will dominate the b-segment MPV market for sure. Moreover, the outdated Exora will be finished for good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
      • I find it oddly amusing the harder you predict doom and gloom for Proton, the harder they bounce back in record breaking sales and market leading segments. Continue the ‘good work’, you might proved to be Proton’s best salesman unwittingly. Ha ha.

• Mitsubishi on Sep 08, 2020 at 12:41 pm

Fierce front, soft rear.

• Ghani on Sep 08, 2020 at 12:58 pm

What’s the point of teasing around when we knew what it looks like across the Selat Melaka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • dong gor on Sep 08, 2020 at 2:43 pm

Just to get the siok sendiri feeling with the allocated marketing budget

• SOOO UNDERPOWERED !!! on Sep 08, 2020 at 2:36 pm

For a big and bulky MPV, 1.5 Litre engine is NOT ENOUGH ! The upcoming X50 will smoke the nuts off this ugly piece of manure… XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
    • Double X on Honda on Sep 08, 2020 at 3:08 pm

Nope, the Xpander and X50 will smoke every Honda cars

• Pitoto on Sep 08, 2020 at 3:33 pm

Same goes to Aruz la yet i see lots of Aruz/BRV zooming up the Genting. Plus X50 is in another category bro of course it will smoke them all. But can X50 ferry 7 people like Xpander, Aruz & BRV? This car mainly for ferrying extra 2 people from point A to point B like school/balik kampung run. X50 more to style, comfort and for someone who want a bit of power. Everyone got own preference when buying cars. Why would they buy a X50 when they have 7 people in their family? Vellfire/Alphard (Malaysian spec) would smoke your X50 too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • Spin Too Much on Sep 08, 2020 at 5:11 pm

Write so long, last2 compare MPV with SUV. Aduhai facepalm!

• matt farrel on Sep 08, 2020 at 10:40 pm

I own an Xpander in Indonesia, for me, the 1.5 liter engine is more than enough for a 7 seat family car, if you wanna go fast then get an EVO lah

• Ben Yap on Sep 08, 2020 at 3:38 pm

the hp is so low and far from the more powerful BRV. Mitsubishi should have tune the Xpander to be at least 130hp and 160Nm torque. with a mere 105PS and 4 speed auto, it will struggle tremendously to go up to Genting with fully loaded 7 passengers in it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 08, 2020 at 5:21 pm

Seriously, how many times a year do you actually go up genting…. Let alone with 7 people?

If you have to ferry 7 people up genting regularly then you would have bought the wrong car. You would have be better served with a more capable car. If if you do go up genting that regularly, me thinks this car segment is quite a few steps under your affordability level.

This in on par with every thing else in the segment. The Aruz, Alza, Ertiga and slightly more powerful BRV. All will struggle up genting, let alone with seven passengers.

• Truckers on Sep 08, 2020 at 10:35 pm

So you consider 7 gerbils as passengers? Not much of a challenge….

• matt farrel on Sep 08, 2020 at 10:42 pm

I own an Xpander in Indonesia, I have been up the Indonesian equivalent of Genting Highlands which is Puncak, south of Jakarta, and literally it went up the hill no issues, the car was fully loaded and we have been there a few times since we got the Xpander a little bit over a year ago…

• so now every car buyer need to go genting with fully loaded passenger
    no other place to go?
    lol

• Abd Hamid on Sep 08, 2020 at 4:44 pm

Put bigger engine 1.8-2.0 liter, better

• Price price price….

• Fakta on Sep 08, 2020 at 7:22 pm

Indonesia already launch, preview for what.

• Muhammad Arshad Bin Mustapaha on Sep 08, 2020 at 10:57 pm

Kalau harga hang sekitar brv.. mksudnya 80k(na engine)…. ok mmg akan conquer market malysia lah.dijamin…. yelah import kan.. aruz 70k national car.. tp kalau harga hang start 90k.. hmm.. sale mcm rush la jwbnye. Oh BRV dan avanza bukan tak ok.. tp design lama, serupa jugak alza dan exora. Excep brv ni sbb style lah..

• CKD nro..membaca amalan mulia

• Amran on Sep 09, 2020 at 9:40 am

BRV ady 80k and still didnt conquer market. Instead X70 came and conquered all markets nearby.

• mana ada import
      ckd ni
      pasang kt malaysia dh ready stok

harga 70k -80k baru berbaloi

Quote:
      “Hopefully price at +-80k or lower/ more competitive
      atleast able to compete with Toyota Rush Rm88k++
      (price before discount/ rebate/ promo rm5k++ not mistaken)

Rush:
      ====
      ASA 2 -With (Pre-collision Warning, Pre-collision Braking, Front Departure Alert, Pedal Misoperation Control),
      Blind Spot Monitor (BSM)
      Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA)
      6 SRS Airbags (Driver, Front Passenger, Side & Curtain)
      Parking Sensors (Front & Rear)
      Panoramic View Monitor (PVM)
      Digital Video Recorder (DVR)
      Reliable brand (toyota)
      and much more
      https://toyota.com.my/vehicles/suv/rush

• Another car with below par safety rating of 4 star ANCAP launching in Malaysia in 2020. Government have to put a stop to all this irresponsible act by car manufacturers. Not safe enough, no launch. That is how you should care for your citizen.

• horrayooi on Sep 13, 2020 at 8:01 pm

The only letdown is the 4 speed auto. At least it has a proper temperature gauge for a B segment vehicle.

• Serupatapixsama on Sep 19, 2020 at 9:21 am

driven both aruz and rush…feels underpowered and brake feels inadequate for its weight and wheel size. For sure can reach genting but it will struggle. However space for 7 people is quite good and pretty well equipped for its price tag compared to the BRV.

• Prema on Oct 07, 2020 at 7:52 pm

Im interested