Mitsubishi Outlander Sports Edition launched in Malaysia – limited to 120 units, priced from RM143k

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has launched the limited edition Mitsubishi Outlander Sports Edition, which is priced at RM142,888 on-the-road without insurance. Based on the 2.0L 4WD model, only 120 units will be offered, with all them receiving unique aesthetic features and slightly tweaked kit list.

On the exterior, there’s a dual-tone paint scheme that consists of a black-painted roof paired with red metallic paint for the rest of the SUV’s body. The 18-inch wheels retain their same design but are now finished in gloss black; tyres are still 225/55 profile.

Elsewhere, the Outlander Sports Edition’s front grille, side mirror caps, side sill trim, roof rails and rear spoiler are all painted black to match the theme. Accompanying garnishes such as the new ‘Outlander’ lettering on the bonnet and rear emblems also sport a black finish.

Moving inside, there’s a rear seat DVD entertainment system with screens fitted to the back of the front seat headrests, along with a set of dedicated floor mats.

Under the bonnet, you’ll still find a 4B11 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated DOHC MIVEC petrol engine (145 PS at 6,000 rpm and 196 Nm at 4,200 rpm) paired to an INVECS-III CVT gearbox, with drive sent to all four wheels.

The rest of the equipment list is as per the standard 2.0L 4WD, including automatic halogen projector headlamps, seven-inch touchscreen head unit with Apple CarPlay support, leather upholstery, seven airbags, around-view monitor, front and rear parking sensors, and a digital video recorder. Each purchase includes a five-year/unlimited mileage warranty.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meh! Cheap looking black parts. Lucky it’s only 120 units.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Notorp on Oct 09, 2018 at 8:50 pm

Proton : Lucky it’s only 120 units.

• Pilihanraya Kalah Teruk on Oct 10, 2018 at 10:06 am

What a great car. I rather scrub toilets to earn extra money to top up my X70 and buy this Outlander

RM110k for X70 just tambah RM30k get this car

• Meh Meh on Oct 09, 2018 at 5:46 pm

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia is running out of ideas churning new cars into the market. Much like Tan Chong Malaysia.

Same old car. No facelift, add some fancy bits, change colour tone and they call it a limited run. dafuq is dis??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • C.P. MOHAN on Oct 09, 2018 at 7:09 pm

With low HP and TORQUE, it is marketed as a sports edition, REALLY!

• i think d normal purple one with the triton wheels looks way way way better

hopefully d facelift will plonk a diesel in the engine bay ( its a diesel in thr uk)

And add rear aircond

• Saja Comment on Oct 09, 2018 at 8:50 pm

The bonnet wording and placing remind me of some brand which have lettering on the bonnet also..

• pass

• Haidi on Oct 09, 2018 at 10:12 pm

Another taxi-color SUV. Boring…

• gahpadu on Oct 10, 2018 at 12:10 am

we need middle air cond blower instead of fancy exterior add on useless thing.
    oh yea. old stock need to be clear.

• rear air-cond vents on Oct 10, 2018 at 12:21 pm

MM has never listened to buyer, we only want the rear air-cond vents, then your car can sell well, get it?

• alanwong on Oct 10, 2018 at 8:12 am

This 4B11 engine was used in the old Lancer GT that I drove 10 years ago. It gave me many problems until I decided to sell it off. The driveshaft bearing and pulley was noisy during cold start even though I kept replacing the whole set every few months. Mitsubishi has failed to develop any new engines for their new models. Such a shame. I believe the same engine is also used in the ASX.

• kereta_lembu on Oct 10, 2018 at 9:58 am

An all black edition would look better than this. Still, its just cosmetics. Calling it a Sports edition by making the colors different don’t really set pulses racing.

• Ben Yap on Oct 10, 2018 at 1:16 pm

the 2.0 engine power output cannot rival honda civic 1.5 turbo.

• hariz on Oct 10, 2018 at 11:49 pm

of course la bro. the output of 1.5T is about 2.4/2.5 NA. totally different things

• No more SE… Mitsu Msia stop production because there are some issues. Produced not even 40 units in the market before stopped