FIRST LOOK: 2020 Proton X50 1.5TGDi Flagship – full exterior and interior walk-around tour of new CKD SUV

It has been a long wait but the Proton X50 is finally here! Well, almost all of it, because while we know quite a lot about the B-segment SUV during a recent media preview, pricing remains a mystery for now. Nonetheless, if you’re interested, the order books will be open starting tomorrow on Malaysia Day, September 16, with a booking fee of RM500.

UPDATE: The Proton X50 has been officially launched, and it’s priced from RM79,200 to RM103,300. Full report here.

If you haven’t read up on the details, we have plenty of that in our initial preview post as well as a spec differences breakdown. There’s also plenty of static shots of the X50, but for those who prefer a video tour of Proton’s latest model, you’ve come to the right place.

On hand to take you on a walk-around tour of the X50 is Hafriz Shah, with the range-topping Flagship variant being the star of the show. The Flagship is just one of four variants that the X50 will be offered, with the three others being the Premium, Standard and base Standard – all locally assembled (CKD) in Tanjung Malim.

All variants are powered by a 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder petrol engine, but there are some differences across the range. The mill used for the Flagship, which was co-developed by Geely and Volvo, comes with direct injection, with outputs expected to mirror those in other markets – 177 PS at 5,500 rpm and 255 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,000 rpm.

Every other variant beneath the Flagship gets a port-injected version of the engine, which is unique to Malaysia and is rated at around 150 PS and 226 Nm. Both engine types are mated to seven-speed wet dual-clutch transmission, with drive going to the front wheels – no all-wheel drive option here.

So, sit back and enjoy this tour of the new X50. Has it impressed you given the hype building up to its reveal? Will you prefer it to other rivals in its segment? More importantly, will you buy one? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2020 Proton X50 1.5 TGDi Flagship

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mee Hailam on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:36 pm

Malaysians are so happy today. For 30 years, we waited for a local car that was safe with excellent specs. Every year, we waited and waited. It never came.

Finally, The X70 came. It was such a relieve to Malaysians. Now, this X50 has come.

All I can say is, thank you Geely, thank you Li CHunrong and thank you China for caring for Malaysians and giving us finally a safe car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 41
    • Lolwhut on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:31 pm

The new x70 and x50 seems good. But geely did the majority of the work right?

I know Proton workers converted it to RHD (which is not an easy task). Props to them.

But the original car engine and chassis is from Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:30 pm

1 engine or 2 engines variant? Why both also 3 cylinders

• Bruh... on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:09 pm

Read the article for an answer

• Leafable on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:55 pm

X50 rival is Mini Countryman & Lexus UX..

• Roti john on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:05 pm

“I play everyday during my childhood, I struggle a lot when I am old. I study everyday during my childhood, I am a successful person when I am old.” This statement interprets Proton and Geely today. “Proton does not learn anything with Mitsubishi, today Proton became a rebadger. Geely learns a lot during old days, today Geely became a leader.” If only Proton learn many things from Mitsubishi, Proton could have created a true masterpiece for all Malaysians with own technologies. Sadly, today Proton needs Geely help to survive and Geely is leading Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
          • AliAhKauRamasamy on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:06 pm

Q: Will you prefer it to other rivals in its segment? More importantly, will you buy one?

A: Definitely yes and yes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • If 10% of 1.6mil govt servants sapot n buy this x50. not buy sushi n sekenhen alfad, civic, mustang. Proton konpom terlajak laris, ayuh warga2 penjawat awam!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Michael Chong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:27 am

What a superb car, only problem would be RV. Based on Haval and Cherry, China cars sure depreciate a lot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
          • Steven Ong on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:47 am

Geely was only born in 1997. Proton was born in 1985. And yet, Geely has to teach Proton how to create great cars.

How is a younger company like Geely having so much of cash reserves of over RM100 billion?

We also had the oppurtunity to export our cars globally and to even China in the 80s and 90s.

Infact Geely was at a disadvantage. They could only sell to China only.

We had world markets to sell our Proton.

What happened?

• Ahmad Zain on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:50 am

A China made car for a Malaysian car company!

• Monana on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:20 pm

Why 3 cylinders? Clearly u didnt read much.

• alldisc on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:26 pm

Hope they got kaler in Ketupat green, heh3

• Geely 3-potter on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:23 pm

Can it be 1.4T but 4-cylinders instead? So only flagship gets the 1.5T 3-cylinders.

https://paultan.org/2020/04/20/2020-geely-binyue-pro-to-get-new-1-4t-mill-in-china/

• Joh Ung on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:04 pm

3 cylinder dah cukuo bro. Power nand torque already delivered. Not like P2. Sure u ni P2 Salesman..

• Ais kacang on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:36 pm

I hope Proton can learn a lot of knowledge from Geely instead of only producing logo and stick it on Geely’s car. With 30 years of automotive business, Proton should be able to create a Game-Changing cars but what Proton always create are Game Over cars. This is because last time when Proton partnered with Mitsubishi, Proton learnt nothing at all. With Geely giving Proton a chance to create 2 homegrown cars, I hope Proton does not screw up again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
        • Copy Paste on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:32 pm

Copy paste: “It’s actually probably only one fanboy with many dupe accounts. Kunta, Mee Hailam, Nasi Lemak, Lolwhut(w/o the ?), Albert, Ais kacang, ASB, Yee sang, and probably 1000 more others, sound like the same person with the same typing style.”

• Lolwhut on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:55 am

@Copy paste, I am the Lolwhut without the “?”.
            None of those are my dupe accounts.

• Roti john on Sep 16, 2020 at 4:48 pm

Enough la Copy Paste or john or whoever it is, how many times do I need to remind you that I am not Kunta.

• I also hope my Perodua can learn a lot of knowledge from Daihatsu and Toyota instead of only producing logo and stick it on Daihatsu and Toyota cars. With 28 years of CKD car assembly business, Perodua should be able to create a Game-Changing cars but what Perodua always create are Game Over cars. Our cars are so unsafe we keep Game overing people. I am so sad for that. This is because from the start when Perodua partnered with Daihatsu and Toyota, Perodua learnt nothing at all except to send all profits back to Japan. With Perodua, we only make Japan richer while we became poorer.

With Geely giving Proton a chance to create 2 homegrown cars, I hope Proton screws up Perodua again like they did with Saga, Persona, Iriz, Exora, X70 and today with X50.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • Joh Ung on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:11 pm

hahaha..menangis org P2 baca..secially sales man. After this no one go for P2 showroom..so pityful

• madeinchyna on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:22 pm

Power window nyer ok mou?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Superb, can be open and close with voice commands. The technology is at least 5 years ahead of Perodua, a year ahead of Honda and Toyota in Malaysian car market.

• Jon Ung on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:06 pm

Sudah mati kutu ke? Nampak sangat P2 Sales man sudah mati akal..

• Thayanand on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:52 pm

they convert but the steering is off center.. preve also same problem…

• Lol. This is a preview showcar, somebody played around with the steering and didnt bother to straighten back lah. That also people can complain. WTH! Dont tell me you never skewed your steering before.

• I am so ashamed my P2 and Toyota designers cannot design such a beautiful car like this sporty and good looking design. What we got is far uglier and inferior Rocky D55L that will be slaughtered by this superb Proton SUV.
        I am so malu right now to say I sell P2 cars and none currently and future will be good looking as this car. So malu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Car lover on Sep 16, 2020 at 3:48 pm

They (RHD) doing so badly , no choice but to bring (geely) their car in and rebrand it , at least rakyat pay Less to get more goodie or spec, this not what you want ? So rather buy those Juara , or cheap car with super under spec ?

• The poor Geely trying so hard to be an Audi and BMW .. or was it a BMW and AUDI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 44
      • Lets See on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:35 pm

Better top up abit to buy HRV 1.8 kan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • TiredOfIt on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:53 pm

They don’t need to try and be the overexpensive no RV brands like that. They can do well on their own and offer bargain quality products…

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:37 pm

Fully agree well done Proton! You have been the love of rakyat for the past 30 years giving us good, affordable and lately safe cars. With Geely support, we expect you continue to grow and continue your excellent track record to provide us good, affordable cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
    • The biggest news to rock 2020 M’sian automotive scene and out comes our bored Perodua salesman furiously pounding the keyboard with his multi-names. It must be so good if he hates it that bad. Well done Proton!

• Sabah sabah on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:10 am

Malaysia is a poor country now. Even a geely can also excite the public. This is like what happen in africa. German or uk and any advance country even Thai or. Vietnam has no excitement abour geely or potrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Well, Perodua did set a pretty low standard about affordable cars in Malaysia. Now, it’s up to Proton to raise the bar for what an exciting affordable car should be. Poor in wealth is not as bad as poor in mentality so, ponder on that, troll.

• TiredOfIt on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:56 pm

So much denial from this comment alone. So.. much.. its.. painful.. to.. read..

• Hantu Raya on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:32 am

Lol… Mamat ni baru kluar gua agaknya… P1 has producing 5 star NCAP cars since Preve…. Way before Geely

• Rex Sharma on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:36 am

I see the same troll with many names have come out. He loves to say “Dont get me wrong….”

So many people with different names like to use this phrase.

Ha ha. Spotted!

• azrai on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:38 pm

Abang-bang Civic FD and older are now changing their dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Amran on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:51 pm

So obvious now Perodua Rocky worth the wait,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
    • Michael Chong on Sep 15, 2020 at 5:57 pm

You cannot compare Japanese technology with China technology. There is a reason why Toyota VVTI technology is sold in over 200 countries globally but China car is 98% sold in China and a few third world countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 41
      • frankster on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:48 pm

you should also take into consideration on japanese automotive industry age vs china’s automotive industry age. given a vvti engine to u in the year 2020 and an geely engine. whats ur say ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Alvin Yap on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:55 pm

Grow up lah fanboy. Japanese technology is good, but others are catching up the game as well

• According to Google there are only 195 countries. You must’ve include the Moon, Mars, Saturn, Venus, & Pluto by mistake. I’m sure you’re right and they should be referred to as countries ;-)

• This china company made volvo & merc better after they owned volvo & has 10% shares in Daimler mercedes

• hotwheel on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:25 pm

Good, less people on the waiting list for this car.

• Perodua Roki just same as Haval M4 size, no worth to wait just buy X50 with L2 semi-autonomous.

• this car is going to sell like hotcakes..the specs are decents, and engine/transmission is good…this should kill HRV, seltos and others..only disappointment is the AEB should be standard like almera, safety should be paramount here..i dont think anyone will actually use sunroof here la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • my_driver on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:10 pm

Funny to hear hafiz said, “if you r interested, the turn signal still on the left.” And its not the first i heard. Did proton heard that also, would they even think about change to right hand side like normal malaysia car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Fakta on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:15 pm

Turn signal on the left has it’s uses, like holding your phone but still indicate signal not like an a-hole.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • JOACHIM on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:34 pm

I guess Merc, Beemer, Audi, Peugeot, VW, Renault, Volvo, MINI, didn’t get you memo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Bob Mali on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:33 pm

But those car have their fuel pump slot on the right instead of left, so this will be the first combination of left side fuel tank & signal. WOrld first

• my_driver on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:16 am

Those cars all are original made for left hand drive with different road system than ours (opposite way). Their turn signal is near their left windows when they drive. And they didnt change for our road system properly.

• And so? I have never heard of luxury car owners complaining about turn signals being on the other side, only people with cheaper cars seems incapabled to managed turn signals that is normal for luxury car owners.

• The homegrown Proton cars are also designed with left hand drive in mind for export.

• Yea I agree, why signal stick on the left, ooh they follow European style but I prefer rurn stick on the right like most Japanese cars.

• I myself prefers on the left as I control steering with my right hand, so it really is a personal preference but somehow idiots make it a “thing” to have.

• azrai on Sep 16, 2020 at 8:59 pm

No matter where you put it, either it is on the left or right side Malaysian still reluctant to give signa when driving. Full stop.

• TiredOfIt on Sep 17, 2020 at 3:43 pm

Oh really? Looks like I won’t be buying one then.. NOT!! Who cares about that!? Its not an integral part of the car that matters.. smh

• VAPER on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:24 pm

Now all the specifications has been revealed, we anxiously wait for the biggest mystery of all….THE PRICE.

My prediction: RM 73,888 to 93,888.

Priced it like this, I’m sure it will be a super duper hit for Proton. Get ready for minimum 3 months waiting list.

• ewewew on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:11 pm

My prediction:
      Standard: 75888
      Executive: 81888
      Premium: 87888
      Flagship: 98888

• Alvin Yap on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:58 pm

I guess the flagship model will cost more than 100K…

• yusry on Sep 16, 2020 at 4:13 pm

with flagship with the only TGDI engine which makes additional 27 PS and ADAS, definitely above 100k bt below 110k, its meant to target same segment buyers, say subaru XV, HRV (entry price 108k), and maybe, just maybe, pickup owners (huge market)

• john is otak batu on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:41 am

U should try predict 4D. above figure base on ????

• Lee Cun Giler on Sep 16, 2020 at 8:52 am

I think you’re spot on yhere, mate

• yusry on Sep 16, 2020 at 3:24 pm

the flagship price will surely overlap the base spec x70 by small margin, so u get to choose between more spacious base x70 or bells and whistles of x50

• I think around 75, 800 to 103,800.

• Nice product..
    But not a big fan of 3-cylinder turbo and dual-clutch
    Since it is the first time launch in Msia, will wait for more feedback from first batch buyers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Ben B on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:07 pm

No need wait bro,few China cars reporter already testing this Binyue more than 1years ago and all of them confirmed it have some minor shaking from that 3 cylinders engine during city stop and go driving. It would be more obvious when the engine mounting rubber aging and get harden.

• Ben B on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:18 pm

Seem like your have good experience on cars, most of the time the first batch of model have some problems due to the company eagle to launch thiers product. Don’t forget this is also the first batch of car that convert from LH drive into our RH drive. Good luck to you guys out there not to be the testing mule of the 1st batch production.

• john is otak batu on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:45 am

Smart way. Just watch & learn from others mistakes.
      Give u 1 like!

• No..it’s 4 cylinder turbo..all new engine..different with geely version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Do you think that the current Proton will introduce a 3-cylinder engine that will shake like Perodua?

• Proton geeting’s better, well done

• PT X50 on Sep 15, 2020 at 6:56 pm

TOP variant = RM99,888 ? RM109,888 ?
    Lowest variant = RM78,888 ? 80,888 ?

Good Mid SUV from Geely via Proton.
    Important is hope Malaysian people can have good & good price

• Wow, tahniah to tiger logo company for successfully obtaining a car developed by other people in other countries. Way to go. Your fans who called out other more successful companies for rebadging all these years have now lived long enough to see you also become a mere rebadger.

Meanwhile, the Gen3 Myvi supercar is now rebadged in other countries. Just sayin’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • Rahman on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:43 pm

It’s actually probably only one fanboy with many dupe accounts. Gary, Alan, Aura89, Brian, Bro, etc sound like the same person with the same typing style.

• Rosman on Sep 15, 2020 at 9:45 pm

john, you mean?

• Ya sure, anyone saying anything realistic about your castrated tiger is a dupe. Fanboy logic, LOL.

• Why So Serious on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:20 pm

Sure Kunta. We bilip you and your dupe names.

• Troll Hunter on Sep 16, 2020 at 1:41 am

Enough with the Game Over fake news kunta. Up there you said Gary, Alan, Aura89, Brian, Bro, etc sound alike but so many names keep quoting the same “over 200 countries”, which one is the fanboy with many dupe accounts? Didn’t Hafriz already reminded us all before not to post fake news? Please bertaubat kunta, I know you can do it!

• Vader on Sep 16, 2020 at 4:26 pm

Coming from the person with multiple names and even hijacking current usernames, I find your lack of proof… disturbing.

• Syerin on Sep 15, 2020 at 8:24 pm

Since you sound like a total automotive expert, i present to you the Youngman car brand. If being rebadged by other brand is your cup of tea that is.

Proton developed a lot of home grown model no one bats an eye. Perodua developed 1 home grown model and you lose your mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • vivizurianti on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:16 pm

P1 sales pickup and Honda sales downspires. Honda salesmen and saleswomen at their Showroom are now so free they can play candy crush all day.

• Ben B on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:22 pm

Coming City RS hybrid sound good, use electric motor which don’t need extra maintenance like what turbo turbines need.

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:21 pm

This guy keep attacking Honda #ambikkau

• I think this is a HRV and all the other similar brands in the same segment KILLER

• C.P. MOHAN on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:32 pm

VFM, comparing this with others.

• Ohyea on Sep 15, 2020 at 7:41 pm

Just withdraw RM500 from atm, tomorrow 9am go straight place booking…

• Ben B on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:25 pm

9am too late bro. 8am already long queue at outside office there,conffirm

• thepolygon on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:59 pm

Good one. One X70 for the big SUV and X50 for the smaller segment. Now FY11 for the coupe please… then the whole family complete.

• Long live proton on Sep 15, 2020 at 10:59 pm

Price it appropriately, and this will be a new hit.

• Thayanand on Sep 15, 2020 at 11:50 pm

Proton introduces good cars,but the mechanics and after sales service sucks big time… whenever there is parts to be ordered,the standard answer is i tak tau bila sampai…. and I takes 3 to 4 months after many follow up to arrive… also the steering off center is an issue from Preve models.. bila mau belajar la beb…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 12:38 am

why would anyone buy the hyundai kona after seeing this is just beyond me

• putra on Sep 16, 2020 at 8:13 am

Add Paddle shifter for X50……..

• Jon Ung on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:10 pm

Don tadd another cost la.. Nanti surpass 100k u pon tak mahu beli. Current setting already enough for normal malaysia driver. No one use paddle shift anymore. Except P2..untill now searching for paddle..too slow…

• vivo x50 pro on Sep 16, 2020 at 8:57 am

Malaysian people will get all new 1.5 liter turbo engine 4 cylinder.Congrats proton geely.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 16, 2020 at 9:57 am

It’s not 4 cylinder. They’re all 3 pot

• Fireblade on Sep 16, 2020 at 5:08 pm

Are you sure? My sources tell me Standard, Executive and Premium are 4 pot whereas Flagship will have 3 pot…..

• Navaratnam on Sep 16, 2020 at 10:00 am

This is an awesome piece of toy.

• Vincent Cheng on Sep 16, 2020 at 11:36 am

Can reconfirm the 1.5 MPI engine? I read others review stated that this is totally new 1.5 4 cylinder engine, not 3 as claimed here.

• msia driver on Sep 16, 2020 at 5:19 pm

will book 4 units tomorrow, this is super hot car 2020 int he world..

• Jon Ung on Sep 16, 2020 at 7:07 pm

i heard booking already over 5K. Sole like hot cake..

• leo_girl on Sep 17, 2020 at 9:09 am

definitely will buy and buy! Good Job Proton !
    Im soooo in love with this car

• Not-just-a-car on Sep 20, 2020 at 11:23 pm

Proton has screw the Rakyat with oversubsidies benefits, gave us lousy cars with useless power windows, lousy service, etc.. Seems like it now takes the chinese to save them… still, I will never support Proton ever again. Msians are easy to forget the cost this national car have bring to the nation with nothing to show for but a re-badge.